Old 10th December 2018, 12:49   #496

Re: BMW G 310 R and G 310 GS launched in India

Originally Posted by MaheshY1 View Post
That's too low for a 310.
No doubts about that considering its shortest in class bore/stroke Ratio of 1.28 with the longest final drive ratio of 2.47.

Which simply leads me to presume that BMW's targeted user base was not the heaver/older kind like us.

IMHO, though not much can be done about the cylinder, going for a more shorter sprocket setup might at least improve its versatility as far as usable torque goes with a not so significant effect on its cruising and top speed abilities considering the intended use the motorcycle was built for.

Last edited by ashwinprakas : 10th December 2018 at 12:53.
ashwinprakas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2018, 20:48   #497

Re: BMW G310R & G310GS launched at Rs. 2.99 - 3.49 lakh

Read that the twins are being offered at a discount of 70k by some dealers. That brings the GS310 down to 3.5lacs and which is high but still kind of acceptable for some.

Mods: please delete as seems to be posted already

Last edited by Nilesh5417 : 10th December 2018 at 20:51.
Nilesh5417 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th December 2018, 12:00   #498

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
Read that the twins are being offered at a discount of 70k by some dealers. That brings the GS310 down to 3.5lacs and which is high but still kind of acceptable for some.

Mods: please delete as seems to be posted already
I just spoke to the Pune BMW Motorrad dealer and he confirmed that a minimum of Rs. 40,000/- and as far as I can make a out a max of Rs. 60,000/- may be on offer for both bikes. So the GS comes down to Rs. 4,06,000/- if Rs. 40,000 is the discount and Rs. 3,86,000/- with the Rs. 60,000/- discount. Similarly the 310 R comes down to Rs. 3,46,000/- with the Rs. 40,000/- and Rs. 3,26,000/- with the Rs. 60,000/- discount.
bevivek is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2018, 14:35   #499

50,000th BMW G 310 rolls out from TVS plant in Hosur

BMW G310R & G310GS launched at Rs. 2.99 - 3.49 lakh-50000thbmw310ccseriesmotorcyclerolledoutfroc818.jpg

Torque_Curve is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2019, 15:07   #500

Saw brake pad service bill. Rear brake pads for 310R costs just 5911.00, labor extra.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 5th January 2019 at 08:31. Reason: Break> brake.
Old 4th January 2019, 19:30   #501

Originally Posted by RSimonS View Post
Saw brake pad service bill. Rear brake pads for 310R costs just 5911.00, labor extra.
How much does the RR310 rear brake pads cost? Since the bike's same - the pads also should be same right?

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 5th January 2019 at 08:31. Reason: Quoted post edited.
Old 4th January 2019, 19:34   #502

How much does the RR310 rear brake pads cost?
Rs 1050/-

I think it should be the same pads. But going by BMW attitude, I don't think they will allow pads to be outsourced stating warranty issues.

With many issues being highlighted with the bike - owners might not risk warranty atleast for the first two years.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th January 2019, 19:46   #503

Originally Posted by RSimonS View Post
Insane pricing. For my Bonnie, the rear brake pads is around 2500

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 5th January 2019 at 08:42. Reason: Quoted post edited.
dinu2506 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th January 2019, 00:34   #504

Rs 1050/-

I think it should be the same pads. But going by BMW attitude, I don't think they will allow pads to be outsourced stating warranty issues.
But how will they know the difference? Since, it's not something that needs to be done on schedule, one can easily get it via TVS and no one at BMW will even bother looking at
Old 5th January 2019, 00:39   #505

But how will they know the difference? Since, it's not something that needs to be done on schedule, one can easily get it via TVS and no one at BMW will even bother looking at
Yes. True. If TVS sells over the counter.

Also, just to add - if someone used up the rear brakes so fast, that's really not the proper braking habits - he's probably using way too much of the rear brakes (ineffective too!) than the front.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2019, 00:42   #506

Yes. True. If TVS sells over the counter.

Also, just to add - if someone used up the rear brakes so fast, that's really not the proper braking habits - he's probably using way too much of the rear brakes (ineffective too!) than the front.
Correct, perhaps Banglore BMW riders can collectively buy a New TVS and use it to get the spares

I think, TVS and others give spares on the counter, they just need VIN.
Old 5th January 2019, 07:28   #507

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
....... For eg., BMW jackets and accessories are so much accessible online and it's not like before where they enjoyed a WOW REACTION! ......
Could you please list out the online websites where BMW jackets and riding gear is easily available?
I really appreciate the build quality of their riding gear. I have the Rally3 riding gear set. 7 years of riding, off-road riding and abuse and they still look like new and are just not ready to give up. I'm actually bored of it now. And multiple other brands riding gear have come and gone in between, but this just stayed rock solid.

I'd appreciate if some online shop has the availability in size and models of this riding gear. And I do hope that it's built in the same build quality.

Talking of build quality. There does seem to be a downward trend. Not just in these small bikes but the big 1200s too. I think one should lap up any air cooled 1200 if it's available in the market. I have seen a few great pieces at great prices. Its the true fill it, shut it and forget it bike.

I have changed only oils and oil filters till now in the past 7 years of my bike. Still feels like new. Plastics feel new. No sounds or squeaks.

And 15 days back just changed the air filter, brake oil and spark plugs. That's it.

Not just a superbike, but cheapest maintenance bike I have ever owned till now. Of course servicing done myself and the fng.

Can't say that about the newer crop of BMWs I'm sure!
navpreet318 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2019, 07:40   #508

Hey buddy, There have been so many instances when I was surfing for clothes, BMW stuff came up. I was not looking for BMW gear specifically. I'm not sure if they are original, but they do come up often. I'll definitely PM you links. Regarding your observation of air-cooled engines, what more can I say except 'old is gold', Treasure your well performing bikes!

Originally Posted by navpreet318 View Post
Could you please list out the online websites where BMW jackets and riding gear is easily available?
Old 5th January 2019, 08:29   #509

Originally Posted by navpreet318 View Post
I really appreciate the build quality of their riding gear.
It's all rebranded AFAIK - so you can get the same quality with top brands at cheaper prices.

Their GS boots for examples are SIDI - costed 56k for the BMW branded one, for the same model that had a price of 40k in shops.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2019, 11:01   #510

It's all rebranded AFAIK - so you can get the same quality with top brands at cheaper prices.

Their GS boots for examples are SIDI - costed 56k for the BMW branded one, for the same model that had a price of 40k in shops.
Yes but the Sidi boots wont have the BMW logo like the TCX boots dont have the Ducati logo