Old 27th October 2016, 20:34   #196

Re: Aprilia SR 150 unveiled at the Auto Expo. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 65,000

The cold start 'issue' on my Vespa vx125 rears its head in winters, for me here in Delhi. Or if the scooter's not been used for say 4-5 days. Apart from the usual ways around it (pump the kick starter slightly a few times before the full kick start, if necessary with the choke on/pulled) it often is just a matter of 'walking' the scooter a few metres forward and back. And the, often, seems to startup with greater ease (e-start.)

Last edited by desdemona : 27th October 2016 at 20:35.
Old 28th October 2016, 12:11   #197

My cold start issue is gone now.

The idle rpm was set too low, I adjusted it myself, now it takes just one crank with choke and then I hold the throttle gently for it to warm up.

One more negative I found was that the front suspension is too firm.
Old 1st November 2016, 19:35   #198

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
My friend got his Aprillia SR150 delivered during the Dussera week. Had a short ride on it.
NK,

Can you please check with your friend about the exact location of the showroom.

I would love to do a test ride, as am currently looking for a "runabout"

Any update from your friend ?

Can you please PM me the friend's number, if he is ok, to enable me to touch base with him personally

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
Old 1st November 2016, 19:38   #199

Got the first service done today.

A wash, change of engine oil, oil strainer and O-ring was done. An unwarranted consumables charge of 80+ INR was also slapped, and I warned them about it, saying that this is the last time am paying this, and that consumables should be charged only for what you really use for the vehicle.

The idle RPM was checked, and the clutch and brakes were cleaned. I had also requested lowering of the headlamp beam which was done after I pointed out again when vehicle was ready for delivery.

The MotoScoot feels much much better now, I did the service though I had both the time and kms pending, at 500 kms on the ODO as I could feel the engine getting gruffier, and there have been instances of a new engine seizing to due to the oil strainer getting clogged. I do not regret that decision now. Paid 328 INR for the service. (Would have been 250 odd bucks if the unwarranted consumables were not added to the bill)

Would suggest fellow owners to do the service at around the 400 kms mark, as the first service is critical.
Old 1st November 2016, 20:22   #200

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post
NK,

Can you please check with your friend about the exact location of the showroom.

I would love to do a test ride, as am currently looking for a "runabout"

Any update from your friend ?

Can you please PM me the friend's number, if he is ok, to enable me to touch base with him personally

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
Sure. A pm is on the way.
nkrishnap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2016, 20:22   #201

Originally Posted by rajivr1612 View Post
High seating. I am 5'6" and feel that's the lower cut-off for this scooter. I can manage with both toes touching the ground. If you are shorter then forget about this scooter.

Originally Posted by DRIV3R View Post
Seat is a bit high and most users would not be able to place feet flat on the ground
Not to dispute anything said above, but giving my thoughts on this.

Shorter guys (I am 5.5') I would say, don't get disheartened by this comment - do a test ride and then decide.

The Tech Spec of the SR 150 is as follows shows the Seat Height as 775 mm.

Name:  untitled1.png
Views: 2613
Size:  15.1 KB

I ride a Bonneville (T100 spec) with the standard seating height, which is exactly same - 775 mm (30.6 inches). I can plant both my feet very well on the ground with even chappals (don't do it from safety point view). The bike weight over 225 KG when fully fueled.

The weight of SR 150 is much lesser than at 122 KG.

The leg lengths of people differ and that is the one matters in this - I have a 30" in-seam for my trousers. That's why I am suggesting that you do a test ride on this matter.

Also the bike compresses a bit when we sit on it (I weigh 70 KG)

Don't give it up without test riding just because of these comments.

Just my two bits

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
r_nairtvm is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th November 2016, 13:51   #202

Made a booking via Paytm.
Its been 15 days since I have made the booking. Its still stuck in "confirmed" status.
No call from the dealer or any confirmation regarding the booking.
Can anyone else whose made the booking via paytm guide me on this.
Old 6th November 2016, 16:15   #203

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
Its been 15 days since I have made the booking. Its still stuck in "confirmed" status.
No call from the dealer or any confirmation regarding the booking.
Can anyone else whose made the booking via paytm guide me on this.
I must have been one of the first people to order it via Paytm. My order date was 16 August. For quite some, there was no movement on the status.

Paytm is lax in their business so do not depend on them. Now that you have confirmation of booking just deal with the showroom. That's what I did in my case.

Motoplex was not very helpful at the beginning. But then I called the showroom manager and tried to understand the problem as well as explained my side. He was understanding and I got the bike in the 3rd week of September. A month since my online booking. I'm expecting this to be longer now since they might have more demand.

Paytm was less than helpful in adding the Cashback to my account. It started with my mistake of not applying the promo code during payment check out. So I wanted to cancel my order and put a new one in. However I was shocked to know this money is non refundable. But Paytm agreed to add the cashback manually which took two good months, about 15 emails of follow up and a final last gasp effort where I wrote to their CEO.

Within a couple of hours of writing to the head, they had completed the formalities. I don't understand why it takes escalation for people to do a job which is theirs from the start.

I hope you have lot less hassles as I have. However, I am a rather impatient person so I can get annoyed with such people very soon.
Old 6th November 2016, 20:49   #204

Update after 20 days of ownership :
Mileage :- Got 35 kmpl, 100% city riding in choc-a-bloc traffic.
Suspension :- Rock hard. After many days today I rode my Wego. And the difference is like chalk and cheese. On the Wego I feel like riding on magic carpet.
But I have no regrets, every time I take the SR150 on the road it puts a big smile on my face with its performance.
rajivr1612 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th November 2016, 09:30   #205

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
Its been 15 days since I have made the booking. Its still stuck
Originally Posted by nitrogary View Post
I must have been one of the first people to order it via Paytm.
As a question - is it mandatory to use Paytm to do the booking ? Can't one do the booking through a dealer ?

Bit confused about the use of Paytm on this.

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
Old 7th November 2016, 09:34   #206

As a question - is it mandatory to use Paytm to do the booking ? Can't one do the booking through a dealer ?

Bit confused about the use of Paytm on this.

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
It is not mandatory. I was too lazy to go to motoplex and book it in person. It's pretty far from my place too..
nitrogary is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th November 2016, 16:42   #207

When the motoscoot was launched, there was a 100% payback when the booking was done through the PayTm site. So for the 2000INR booking amount PayTm would give a cashback of 2000INR which can be used for other purposes. Hence people talk about booking through the PayTm app.
Old 8th November 2016, 10:11   #208

Most of us are aware that the ride quality is very hard.

Yesterday I was going through X-bhp and one of the members mentioned he filled nitrogen and kept tyre pressure at 24 & 26 psi front and rear respectively.

The ride quality has improved he says. Since I am not a member there, I cannot discuss this there.
Members here may kindly confirm if this is OK to proceed with.

Last edited by GTO : 8th November 2016 at 17:31. Reason: grammatical errors
rajivr1612 is online now   Received Infraction
Old 8th November 2016, 10:42   #209

Originally Posted by rajivr1612 View Post
Update after 20 days of ownership :
Mileage :- Got 35 kmpl, 100% city riding in choc-a-bloc traffic.
Suspension :- Rock hard. After many days today I rode my Wego. And the difference is like chalk and cheese. On the Wego I feel like riding on magic carpet.
But I have no regrets, every time I take the SR150 on the road it puts a big smile on my face with its performance.
That's really nice to hear! What is even more nicer to know is that Aprilia was spot on with respect to the expected mileage.
Old 8th November 2016, 22:24   #210

Planning to buy SR150. I came to know this needs service every 3 months. My nearest service centre is 250 kms away in Calicut (It's not there in Mangalore which is only 20 kms from my home). I know this is a comparatively powerful scooter. So, is it possible to ride for 250 kms in this with the same comfort as in a bike?

If not, I think I will have to borrow my friend's Dmax Vcross every 3 months.