Old 22nd March 2016, 11:15   #31

re: The 1st-gen Royal Enfield Himalayan thread!

I did a short TD yesterday at Rajkumar road showroom. The overall experience was unexciting, maybe because I ride a Mojo. The Himalayan looks fine, nothing great. The brakes were okay, power delivery was very linear and performance was very boring to say the least, you won't feel that pull in-spite of having 32nm of torque. The weird sorts of noise from the engine still haunts my ears. The only good things were the seats and handling. Seats seem comfortable for longer runs and the handling is good despite the weight. The bike is built for a purpose, I hope people make use of it for that.

~Cheers
Old 22nd March 2016, 12:19   #32

Since most of the impressions are already provided by the fellow BHP-ians in detail, let me just briefly jot down my impression on the bike.

- In no way is it a perfect bike. Shows the RE DNA through some ugly welds, missing screws and minor oil weep from the crank casing on a new TR bike!
- Impressed on the stable chassis. Good feedback too!
- Brakes were good. 80-0 with absolutely no drama. Front end dive is not at all bad as I expected
- The bike is not designed to blow you away in any department. It is just a perfectly comfortable mile muncher and is a very lovable motorcycle
- Did not notice any engine clatter as mentioned by some. But when pushed above 5-6K RPM the bike makes an unpleasant noise and begs for mercy! May be RE way of rev limiting! Felt that the engine is gasping for fuel after 5k. Have a feeling that playing around with the jets can release a bit more juice
- Mirrors were a joke!
- You won't win any traffic light GPs with this. But you should be able to win some endurance challenges
- Comfortable seats and posture. The stance while standing up is perfect, Everything falls on your legs and hands naturally

Now this cracked me up! This is the jerry can mount on either side of the fuel tank. RE has just welded some 10mm(?) hex nuts for giving the thread for the mounting bolts! It doesn't make a difference, but
The 1st-gen Royal Enfield Himalayan thread!-img_20160321_143154386.jpg

Will I buy one and am I impressed? ABSOLUTELY! Knowing the shortcomings of the bike, I would certainly like to own this. But only along with my 390, just because I am still addicted to the rush it provides. If I had the Vitamin M right now, I would have booked one right away. RE has a real winner in their hands until KTM decides wake up from the ADV slumber.
man_of_steel is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 14:11   #33

Originally Posted by man_of_steel View Post
Now this cracked me up! This is the jerry can mount on either side of the fuel tank. RE has just welded some 10mm(?) hex nuts for giving the thread for the mounting bolts! It doesn't make a difference, but
Mate as a matter of fact this addition does make a difference while tightening the bolts and securing them from the other side for a tight fit. There are similar welded hex nuts on the all metal chrome plated battery box cover used in yesteryears RE Bullets. I have two battery box covers of the same make and yes it does make a difference while fastening the solo bolt to secure the outside foldable battery box cover and keep the connection secure while being tight. One need not worry about the hex nut falling off and getting lost as it is welded to the joint through which the bolt passes. A good addition IMO.
Old 22nd March 2016, 14:52   #34

Originally Posted by navin_v8 View Post
Mate as a matter of fact this addition does make a difference while tightening the bolts and securing them from the other side for a tight fit.
Understood your point, but you misunderstood mine. I am so totally against having to use a spanner on one end while securing a bolt from other end. But if they wanted to make a thread for some bolts to go in, a solution like this on a final product is best termed as a Jugaad. For reference, you should see how well KTM has put on a threaded mount for the saree guard on the piping for the rear mud flap! Spot welding a couple of nuts is not a solution for a final product!

Having said that, it does not make any difference. But made me chuckle!
man_of_steel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 15:07   #35

Originally Posted by man_of_steel View Post
Understood your point, but you misunderstood mine. I am so totally against having to use a spanner on one end while securing a bolt from other end. But if they wanted to make a thread for some bolts to go in, a solution like this on a final product is best termed as a Jugaad. For reference, you should see how well KTM has put on a threaded mount for the saree guard on the piping for the rear mud flap! Spot welding a couple of nuts is not a solution for a final product!

Having said that, it does not make any difference. But made me chuckle!
I got your point mate, but KTM does not sell at the same price as the Himalayan does. I am sure the price would go up for the Himalayan if such things are offered(even though small addition but will add up to the final cost). However I agree that a threaded mount would've looked better.
Old 22nd March 2016, 15:49   #36

I got your point mate, but KTM does not sell at the same price as the Himalayan does.
You are right. In fact, they sell one at a lesser price than the Himalayan - D200.

I am sure the price would go up for the Himalayan if such things are offered(even though small addition but will add up to the final cost). However I agree that a threaded mount would've looked better.
I like the Himalayan from what I've seen in the pictures and some of my buddies who have ridden the bike had mostly positive things to say about it. But the negatives stick out like sore points though. I mean, c'mon, how hard is it for a company like RE to get the welding right!? When Bajaj-KTM can do it, why not RE? The nuts welded for the jerry can holder are a clear example of RE losing interest mid way and opting for what we Indians perfect in - JUGAAD! My personal opinion is all RE products are half baked and quality to price wise, Bajaj-KTM are light years ahead.
Sorry for going

PS: I completely agree with Sojogator coining the term 'Adventure Commuter' for the Himalayan.

Last edited by Porschefire : 22nd March 2016 at 15:53.
Old 22nd March 2016, 15:52   #37

... KTM does not sell at the same price as the Himalayan does. I am sure the price would go up for the Himalayan if such things are offered...
Cheaper or more expensive, is there any other manufacturer in India/World who use welded bolts instead of threads ?
Old 22nd March 2016, 16:22   #38

but KTM does not sell at the same price as the Himalayan does. I am sure the price would go up for the Himalayan if such things are offered
While it is ok to like a product, going to such an extent to say threaded mount would have increased the cost to defend the Himalayan is not being objective IMHO. The D200 which costs lesser than the Himalayan, makes similar power from a smaller power plant, has better finish from the views provided by the people who have test driven the bike. Agreed Himalayan is different to the KTM's and the H's main strong point is its suspension. But defending what is glaringly obvious as a half baked idea will not make it any better.

I too fell in love with the looks of the H. To be honest, I never liked any RE bike till date but the Himalayan was the one bike which made me sit up and look at it!! But the niggling issues and lack of QC that is evident from the test drives makes me wonder when will RE get their act together.
abhinav.s is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 16:45   #39

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
You are right. In fact, they sell one at a lesser price than the Himalayan - D200.
Originally Posted by abhinav.s View Post
While it is ok to like a product, going to such an extent to say threaded mount would have increased the cost to defend the Himalayan is not being objective IMHO. The D200 which costs lesser than the Himalayan, makes similar power from a smaller power plant, has better finish from the views provided by the people who have test driven the bike. Agreed Himalayan is different to the KTM's and the H's main strong point is its suspension. But defending what is glaringly obvious as a half baked idea will not make it any better.

I too fell in love with the looks of the H. To be honest, I never liked any RE bike till date but the Himalayan was the one bike which made me sit up and look at it!! But the niggling issues and lack of QC that is evident from the test drives makes me wonder when will RE get their act together.
Although I knew it some one would bring in the Duke 200 and its elder brother while discussing the Himalayan. The Duke brothers are street fighters whereas the Himalayan is a dual purpose ADV touring motorcycle which No other manufacturer in India offers as of now. Looking at what RE has offered at that price it would be fair to give them some time to sort things out. I am in no way defending it mate, you can read the latter part of my statement wherein I say I agree a threaded mount would've looked better.
I like the Himalayan from what I've seen in the pictures and some of my buddies who have ridden the bike had mostly positive things to say about it. But the negatives stick out like sore points though. I mean, c'mon, how hard is it for a company like RE to get the welding right!? When Bajaj-KTM can do it, why not RE? The nuts welded for the jerry can holder are a clear example of RE losing interest mid way and opting for what we Indians perfect in - JUGAAD! My personal opinion is all RE products are half baked and quality to price wise, Bajaj-KTM are light years ahead.
I wont try to bring out the issue of breaking parts of Duke brothers as it would clutter this thread.
PS: I completely agree with Sojogator coining the term 'Adventure Commuter' for the Himalayan.
That's a big statement from someone who has not test rode leave alone owned the motorcycle as yet.

Originally Posted by Sojogator View Post
Cheaper or more expensive, is there any other manufacturer in India/World who use welded bolts instead of threads ?
You should have read the latter part of my statement where I agreed for having a threaded mount. By the way I believe these are no ordinary hex nuts but specialised Hex Weld Nuts that are used for heavy duty and rugged industrial applications. I agree it looks industrial on a motorcycle but could've helped RE keep the costs in check while keeping it simple. To answer your question yes a Hex Weld Nut is indeed used in automobile fastening applications.

I would like to understand the threaded mechanism of the one KTM, is it possible to post pictures of the same and how it works.

Last edited by navin_v8 : 22nd March 2016 at 16:48.
navin_v8 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 19:20   #40

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
It is so painful to be reading all these ride reports, coz I still havent managed to get my hands on one

I swear, I called every single showroom in Delhi and Gurgaon yesterday and not one had a test ride bike available!!!!!! Delhi - coz of the stupid BS4 thing and Gurgaon folks just did not have the bikes. What gives?

Anyhow, planning to get a test ride this Friday afternoon. I am thinking there's hardly gona be a crowd and I might get a decent long ride

But I am glad that the bike is at par with folks' expectation, a few comments around stickers and clatter notwithstanding. Cant wait to test it and see for myself
Hey Karan,

Well this sunday when I was on the GFR, there was a test ride Himalyan at the GGN-FDBD toll. A lot of people were taking test rides. I was in a hurry so could not ride it, but this indicates that their are test ride bikes somewhere.
The bike had TN registration though which I thought was not very common. Maybe media test ride bikes now doing rounds as showroom test ride bikes.

Rachit
Rachit.K.Dogra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 22:39   #41

Originally Posted by Rachit.K.Dogra View Post
Hey Karan,

Well this sunday when I was on the GFR, there was a test ride Himalyan at the GGN-FDBD toll. A lot of people were taking test rides. I was in a hurry so could not ride it, but this indicates that their are test ride bikes somewhere.
The bike had TN registration though which I thought was not very common. Maybe media test ride bikes now doing rounds as showroom test ride bikes.

Rachit
Yes Rachit there indeed is a TN registered matte white Himalayan for testing in Gurgaon. One of the folks who test drove it took it from Gurgaon to Faridabad and back. The dealer allows the test rider to go without a pillion so its totally dependent on the riders. The dealer told me when he questioned the long ride the rider retorted saying that he really loved the experience and wanted to ride longer

Here is the photo showing the number of the test Himalayan in Gurgaon.

p.s. I was lucky to ride it for 3+ Kms
The 1st-gen Royal Enfield Himalayan thread!-3e75d5e7ebbc4ca5b30401b87c464337.jpg  

deevee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2016, 23:10   #42

Is 21 inch tube freely available ? I guess it would be very hard to find locally in case of a puncture, which is bound to happen if the bike is an all terrain one.
Old 23rd March 2016, 07:39   #43

Originally Posted by The Great View Post
Is 21 inch tube freely available ? I guess it would be very hard to find locally in case of a puncture, which is bound to happen if the bike is an all terrain one.
Should be available with CEAT dealers. If not now, in a couple of months it will be.

Generally off-road tyres don't puncture easily as compared to onroad tyres. The block design pattern helps in puncture resistance.
Old 23rd March 2016, 10:03   #44

Now that you guys brought it up, I do remember seeing the welded nuts on the front frame. That was really disappointing to see. Not only the Duke 200, even the R15 has EXCELLENT fit and finish. I do not think I've seen any rough edges on either of these bikes.

Although the 1.55 lakh ex-showroom price a bargain, at that price I would expect really good fit and finish of the motorcycle.

The fairing bikes alongwith the KTMs under Rs 2.5 lakhs all seem to have really good wiring. The electrical wiring for Enfields have always been a shoddy job. The older Enfields were the worse, the Classics bought a better wave of wiring with rubber coverings in the headlight console and sideboxes.

Although I didn't get to spend enough time with the Himalayan, can anyone post pics of the wiring (instrument console), running over the chassis, under seat fixtures, battery, capacitors, fuses etc?
Old 23rd March 2016, 11:38   #45

I got your point mate, but KTM does not sell at the same price as the Himalayan does. I am sure the price would go up for the Himalayan if such things are offered(even though small addition but will add up to the final cost). However I agree that a threaded mount would've looked better.
slightly OT, and Intention is not really to compare these two bike, but from the COST point of view, i have always felt RE bikes are over priced and even service and spares cost is comparatively higher. 390 offers much better equipment for the price its being sold at, and if a similar configuration was offered by RE, they would have definitely priced it much higher then current 390s price.

Almost all of us have been blown by the Himalayan pricing, but personally, i still feel the bike is slightly over priced for the equipment on offer. Hype the product and its speculated price point high so people already have made a mental map of the price, and launch it at a slightly lower price, and every one is happy with a feel good factor. Just for the sake of Cost comparison, i feel even mojo offers better value for money then H.
Nothing to take away from the fact that RE is more of a lifestyle product without much competition, hence enjoys the premium pricing. Also the fact that there is no other adventure tourer available around this price point, and we must applaud RE to attempt it, but purely from cost or rather value for money, i feel its slightly overpriced.
nasirkaka is offline   (2) Thanks