Old 26th October 2017, 10:09   #16

re: The Kawasaki Ninja 400. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 4.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by payeng View Post
Yeah but KTM does it at HALF the Price (of the Baby Ninja) in INDIA (only in India).

And if one wants a Dhoom Bike the RC390 is there.
That's because the KTMs have half the cylinders.
I know that doesn't account for the entire difference in money, but, just saying.
abhishek46 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 10:29   #17

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
As CrazyDriver mentioned, in most markets it is an entry level, beginner sportsbike that many learn riding two wheels and get their A2 license. The long wheelbase, high clip-ons makes it very good tourer as well.
Exactly, Im quoting from the link http://www.artmotorcycletraining.co....le-licence.htm
"A2 Medium Motorcycle Test

This test must be taken on a minimum of a 395cc motorcycle with a power output of between 25 kW (33bhp) and 35 kW (47bhp).
When you have passed the A2 licence you can ride any machine of any cc but it must produce no more than 35 kW or 47bhp, you can carry passengers and ride on motorways."

This is for those between with the minimum age of 19. Once they cross minimum 2 years of riding or turn 21, they can take more tests to be able to legally ride more powerful motorcycles.

This is why the N400 is capped at 45 HP. And this is also why people are disappointed that BMW chose to go to the lower end of the power spectrum with the 34 HP (as per the BMW USA site) 310R instead of competing with the more powerful 40+ HP offerings from the Japanese. And if you get them when they are young, you stand a better chance of retaining them as customers once they upgrade to the bigger motorcycles in their twenties.

The other option that manufacturers have is offering bigger capacity motorcycles that ideally make a lot more than the 47 HP but are made A2 compliant. This can then be undone after the owner gets the required licesnse but power is capped to twice that of an A2 motorcycle (i.e. 2x of 47HP). Like the Ducati Monster 821 for example - https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocia...-a2-restricted. Or the Yamaha MT 07 - http://www.visordown.com/news/genera...h-yamaha-mt-07
neil.jericho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 11:06   #18

Excellent bike but the pricing will decide its future for volume sale. Their N650 and ER6N are priced around 5.85 EX. KTM is sub 3L on road. This bike has huge potential and knowing kawasaki who can make up the lost margin in service and spares, they should price it very aggressively and around 4L on road.

Else this will fall into the Dominor category of, though a good bike but, there is always a better and powerful 650s by spending slightly more(in case they price it at 5L on road).

Having said that, its a kawasaki and will have its fan club for the wonderful twin and unprecedented quality of bike/parts and feel. Excited !!!!
VW2010 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 11:19   #19

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
Excellent bike but the pricing will decide its future for volume sale. Their N650 and ER6N are priced around 5.85 EX. KTM is sub 3L on road. This bike has huge potential and knowing kawasaki who can make up the lost margin in service and spares, they should price it very aggressively and around 4L on road.
4 Lakhs On-road for the N400 would be almost like a day dream.
The existing N-300 itself is 4.5 Lakhs On-Road.

If the N-400 matches the old N-300 in pricing, that should as well be fine, in my opinion.

To bring down costs, they could launch a naked 'Z' version as well, at around 4 Lakhs On-Road.
abhishek46 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 11:24   #20

Originally Posted by abhishek46 View Post

If the N-400 matches the old N-300 in pricing, that should as well be fine, in my opinion.

To bring down costs, they could launch a naked 'Z' version as well, at around 4 Lakhs On-Road.
Ya 4 lacs OTR is not happening, Benelli 302r is also selling for around 4.4 lacs. I agree with you if they can price it on par with the current outgoing model, it will be a good deal. It will still be 2 lacs cheaper then the 650.
Old 26th October 2017, 11:34   #21

Ninja 1000 at 9.98 L was always a day dream but it happened. I will not be surprised if Kawasaki surprises the Indian market with aggressive pricing. The old N300 had a best month sale of 60-70 last year. At the same time the 390's were doing close to 600-700 a month. If Kawasaki is happy with similar sales , they need to get the pricing right(at least old 300 price). Anything over 5L, one can/will easily look at ER6N or N650 with a stretch. And at 5L this is equivalent to two RC390(give or take).

This is what i told my friends that 4.25 on road would make this very attractive for every KTM 390 Potential buyers and that is what Kawasaki should aim for.

Last edited by VW2010 : 26th October 2017 at 11:37.
VW2010 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 13:29   #22

Is the new engine only coming in Ninja? Or are there any plans for a Versys 400?
Versys 400 would be absolutely perfect for Indian conditions.
timuseravan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 13:56   #23

I would think the 300 engines will be completely replaced with the 400, and hence its the versys 400 that we might soon see in india!

And yes, at that power figure etc, the v 400 makes great sense.
Old 26th October 2017, 15:48   #24

I have a question, usually all new launch will go through some testing, does Kawasaki also follow the same approach. Case being, i don't think we had many spy shots of the last releases from kawasaki (new 300, 650 or the 1000).
Old 26th October 2017, 16:03   #25

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
I have a question, usually all new launch will go through some testing, does Kawasaki also follow the same approach. Case being, i don't think we had many spy shots of the last releases from kawasaki (new 300, 650 or the 1000).
There have been multiple spy shots of the new entry level Ninjas since January. The production version itself was spied back in July.

https://gaadiwaadi.com/next-generati...h-2017-091401/

https://www.rushlane.com/amp/new-kaw...12246755.html/
Old 26th October 2017, 16:05   #26

There have been multiple spy shots of the new entry level Ninjas since January. The production version itself was spied back in July.

https://gaadiwaadi.com/next-generati...h-2017-091401/

https://www.rushlane.com/amp/new-kaw...12246755.html/
Sorry i wasn't clear, i meant specifically in India.

Like 302r was spied testing in India almost a year before launch.

Link: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...-48-lakhs.html

Last edited by AtheK : 26th October 2017 at 16:11.
Old 26th October 2017, 17:01   #27

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
Sorry i wasn't clear, i meant specifically in India.

Like 302r was spied testing in India almost a year before launch.

Link: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...-48-lakhs.html
Then you're right. I doubt Kawasaki does any sort of India specific testing.

That said - Benelli could have been spied because it was an all new model internationally as well, with India being one of the markets considered for sale. Hence they could have just used the occasion to test it here too.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 17:06   #28

Then you're right. I doubt Kawasaki does any sort of India specific testing.

That said - Benelli could have been spied because it was an all new model internationally as well, with India being one of the markets considered for sale. Hence they could have just used the occasion to test it here too.
Ok, then i guess we can actually look forward to a Q2 2018 Launch for the Ninja 400.
Old 26th October 2017, 18:50   #29

Originally Posted by abhishek46 View Post
That's because the KTMs have half the cylinders.

I know that doesn't account for the entire difference in money, but, just saying.
More accurate explanation is because the KTM's are manufactured at Pune.

payeng is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2017, 19:25   #30

Originally Posted by payeng View Post
More accurate explanation is because the KTM's are manufactured at Pune.
The biggest positive of the KTM 390s.

And it's biggest negative as well! Because the quality control is extremely disappointing.

A friend and BHP'ian just bought a brand new 390 last month and already has second thoughts about the purchase due to the sheer number of niggles faced. The last one even left him stranded and the new bike had to be towed to the service center. It doesn't help the mindset when another friend in our circle had previously sold his KTM due to frustrating niggles too!

Duke/RC 390 is brilliant value - yes. However, for those who can afford a little bit more - the Ninja 400 could prove to be a worthy and troublefree purchase in itself.

PS - Provided Kawasaki don't skip ABS this time. Without ABS, it's good not to launch the bike itself.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks