Old 28th October 2018, 06:49   #1

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill

The BMW premium experience, doing the rounds on WA -

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-img20181027wa00072.jpg

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-img20181027wa00062.jpg

G310R service bill is 9257/- at 2100kms.

Rs 4196/- just for cleaning the motorcycle and chain lube, Rs 2391/- for labour charges.

Justified?

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 28th October 2018 at 06:53.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 07:27   #2

Re: BMW G310R & G310GS launched at Rs. 2.99 - 3.49 lakh

Rs 4196/- just for cleaning the motorcycle and chain lube, Rs 2391/- for labour charges.

Justified?
That is way too high. I feel now customers are being taken for a ride citing the BMW name.

Also, the rates for labour, BMW check and cleaning do not add up. Could you please elaborate the costs? Is it multiplied by a factor or something?
nikhn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 11:19   #3

Justified?
Incredible, modern day motorcycling summed up in a single post, owner must've felt uber manly swiping his card to pay 4k for a lube-job.

On a serious note, it makes more sense to let go of the warranty as the 4K saved per service would be more than enough for a major overhaul I believe.
ashwinprakas is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 12:53   #4

Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
On a serious note, it makes more sense to let go of the warranty.
Or, it makes even more sense to “sense” the upcoming doom when the entire spiel to sell the Bike hangs on “brand name” and “premium ness”, despite there being much superior and / or competent products available for a much lesser price tag.

A made in India Bike costs more than what it does post exporting to the US. Are you kidding me?! I’m not drinking the Koolaid, thank you very much. It does burn my brain cells when you see page after page of discussion on the brand and little else that makes the motorcycle. Really goes on to show what an immature market india is. You think this would ever fly in the western civilisation?? Same product, exact same bike, different customers. Says a lot, doesn’t it?

This was expected, but 4K + for a wash n wipe??? This is how much it costs to professionally detail a car, in and out. No?

Hope the owner is at least feeling premium / elite. Eagerly waiting for posts that justify this highway robbery, much like the pricing of this bike.

Last edited by Urban_Nomad : 28th October 2018 at 13:06.
Urban_Nomad is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 16:52   #5

Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
Goes to prove, poverty is a mindset, a form of insecurity.

If the owner derives satisfaction from being ripped off then who are we to judge.

I still stand by the fact that a Pulsar with some money put into it can outperform the GS anyday and return way more smiles/rupee spent.
Guy's it's still way cheaper than servicing the cheapest BMW sedan in India. The German Trio's service costs are atrociously high.

Compared to that, this is peanuts while you can still enjoy the snob value of that badge.

If everyone put a value to spending on these German machines, then they would probably never be in business in India.
stanjohn123 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 17:49   #6

I have a feeling that there are going to be a lot of bargain basement priced BMW 310s in the second hand market within 2 years. Im willing to bet they will drop to the Rs 1.5 lac price range which is what Ninja 250s go for these days. This is amazingly audacious servicing pricing by BMW India and could finally spell the death knell for the BMW twins in India. I wonder what percentage of owners actually tried to get the service costs and took it into consideration while purchasing the 310s.

If I really wanted the BMW badge and didnt want to deal with the handling charges and wallet busting purchase and service cost, I would buy this instead, all for Rs 2,330.

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-51bbokidzal._sl1001_.jpg

Much easier to flaunt the BMW badge in the office this way, no need to drag people to the parking lot !

Link to purchase - https://www.amazon.in/BMW-Travel-Mug.../dp/B004EZFKE8
neil.jericho is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 18:19   #7

Originally Posted by stanjohn123 View Post
Guy's it's still way cheaper than servicing the cheapest BMW sedan in India. The German Trio's service costs are atrociously high.

Compared to that, this is peanuts while you can still enjoy the snob value of that badge.

If everyone put a value to spending on these German machines, then they would probably never be in business in India.
Your statement pretty much sums up the market positioning of the BMW twins in India - buy only for snob value and nothing else.

Thankfully, BMW Motorrad will not have to shut shop on the 310 twins because India has an abundance of customers who just want to pose and wouldn't mind paying INR 1600 for cleaning the bike! (no direct reference to anyone here or otherwise)

For everyone else, there is the Apache 310RR which is better looking and better spec'd and hopefully a LOT cheaper to service!

Last edited by Porschefire : 28th October 2018 at 18:21.
Porschefire is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 22:19   #8

Originally Posted by nikhn View Post
Is it multiplied by a factor or something?
Multiplied by brand factor -

Even if they had used up an entire bottle to give a full lube bath to the bike, it would still cost a fraction of that 2627/- he was charged with!

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-untitled.png

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 28th October 2018 at 22:22.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th October 2018, 22:22   #9

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill

Chain spray - Rs 1462 & cleaning is Rs 1165!!

Motul 400 ml of lube & chain both put together don't cost more than 1K in Amazon India!! And using the cleaner liberally lasts more than 5 times to clean the chain

Some excerpts...
So how is it to maintain these entry level BMW bikes? Well, one owner of G310R has shared the detailed bill of first service. The bill total amounts to over Rs 9,200 with taxes.

BMW running-in check costs Rs 1,793; Cleaning Motorcycle costs Rs 1,569; Engine oil costs Rs 1,996; Chain spray costs Rs 1,462; Chain cleaning costs Rs 1,165. Below is the detailed bill
Full story here - https://www.rushlane.com/bajaj-domin...-12285757.html
aargee is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 11:32   #10

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
Your statement pretty much sums up the market positioning of the BMW twins in India - buy only for snob value and nothing else.

Thankfully, BMW Motorrad will not have to shut shop on the 310 twins because India has an abundance of customers who just want to pose and wouldn't mind paying INR 1600 for cleaning the bike! (no direct reference to anyone here or otherwise)

For everyone else, there is the Apache 310RR which is better looking and better spec'd and hopefully a LOT cheaper to service!
For reference, first service was around 1160 rupees (With a change of engine oil and filter) and second service was around 400 rupees. This is madness, i can understand the labor charges can be high, but around 4500 for chain lube + chain clean + cleaning is daylight robbery.

FYI, sometimes i drop by at service center for some minor adjustments, not only is it done for free, they usually clean and lube the chain of the bike for free at TVS.
AtheK is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 11:44   #11

Re: BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill

Amazing loot that BMW is able to pull off! In comparison, KTM charges 300 for chain cleaning and lubing and I always insist on striking that off since I don't find value in spending 300 for lubing and cleaning when I do it regularly at home.

I guess BMW sees G310R and S1000RR through same lenses and hence such unbelievable charges. It makes me wonder if BMW is interested in establishing and expanding themselves in India or are content being a marquee brand present in a handful of cities. This might be the reason why G310R was launched so late here and then priced at quite a premium.
ksameer1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 13:41   #12

I don't see the problem. As far as BMW is concerned, the time and effort needed for chain servicing and bike cleaning is the same for 3 lakh G310 or 20 lakh S1000RR.
Why should they charge less? The owners are clearly Ok to pay more for the brand value.

I think this sums up my opinion perfectly: its-okay-if-it-doesnt-make-sense-to-you

motorcycles are personal. And therefore your subjective assessment of the situation doesn't apply across the board. Neither does mine!
timuseravan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 13:58   #13

Got the Annual Service Done on my Chevy Spark done yesterday. The bill was around 7,500.

It surely ain't a BMW.. but is surely a 1,000 cc, inline four

Last edited by payeng : 29th October 2018 at 14:00.
payeng is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 14:05   #14

Originally Posted by timuseravan View Post
I don't see the problem. As far as BMW is concerned, the time and effort needed for chain servicing and bike cleaning is the same for 3 lakh G310 or 20 lakh S1000RR.
Why should they charge less? The owners are clearly Ok to pay more for the brand value.
Still he has been looted, even if you go by the hallowed brand philosophy.

Here's a bill from the Bangalore dealer which was shared earlier, which shows 1/10th of the amount charged for cleaning + lube.

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-img20180909wa0032.jpg

BMW G310R owner shares first (atrocious) service bill-img20180909wa0033.jpg

This bill also cleaning shows that cleaning motorcycle by BMW is fixed at 190 per hour as also seen in the OP. However, whereas the Bangalore dealer has charged for 2 hours of cleaning the motorcycle, Kolkata dealer cleaned the motorcycle for a full 8 hours. Bangalore dealer has also not charged for the consumables (Clean + lube) as it comes included under the other tab, but Kolkata dealer charged him 8 times of what a set of full bottles cost!

Please dont tell me you still think its justified!

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 29th October 2018 at 14:19.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 29th October 2018, 14:17   #15

I pulled up the service costs for the BMW S1000RR that I had got from the BMW showroom in Cochin.

- 1st service at 30 days and / or 1000 kms
Key things to be done are changing engine oil and oil filter. The rev limited 8500 RPM gets removed. Expected amount Rs 10,000.

- 2nd service at 12 months and / or 10,000 kms
Key things to be done are changing engine oil, oil filter, air filter and checking valve clearance. Expected amount Rs 15,000.

- 3rd service at 24 months and / or 20,000 kms
Same as second service.

- 4th service at 36 months and / or 30,000 kms
Same as second service plus front fork oil, spark plug replacement and brake fluids if required. Expected amount is Rs 20,000.

Additionally front brake pads cost Rs 20,000 and rear brake pads cost Rs 9,000.

The labour for 5 minutes units of time is Rs 190. This brings the hourly labour cost to Rs 2,280. When you add tax tax, this adds up to Rs 2,690.4 per hour.
neil.jericho is offline   (7) Thanks