Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2019, 22:13   #1
BHPian

When you can't afford that Tiger, you build one! My (Modified) Mahindra Mojo

Hellooooo Team BHP!

It feels good to be here.

A little bit about me before we get down to what the title promises.

I am a Design Engineer by profession and a petrolhead by heart. I have been an automobile aficionado since as far as I can remember with my earliest memories running around the house with a plate in hand, making sounds of horns blaring and tyres screeching.

I was born and brought up in the UAE. Grew up gawking and drooling at the insane automotive scene over there. Moved to Bangalore to pursue my B.E. Returning to India was a slap in the face. The roads, the cars, the dynamics! They were so different!

I have lost all interest in cars since moving back to India. Luckily though, that affection has found its place in contraptions having two wheels lesser.

The bikes I have owned till now -
- 2011 Honda Unicorn Dazzler
- 2016 TVS Apache RTR 200

The Dazzler was a stop gap measure to navigate the notorious ORR traffic in Bangalore. It was a no frills daily commuter which returned 55-60 kmpl on my daily office commute (~50km) . Suffice to say, it did it's job.

When you can't afford that Tiger, you build one! My (Modified) Mahindra Mojo-.2.jpg
Smooth drivetrain, good looks, comfortable seats and great mileage! The perfect commuter!

I covered roughly 6000km on it before I had to let it go once I got transferred to Pune.

In Pune, with a daily commute of less than 5 km, there really was no need of a bike. But monsoons in Pune are addictive. The need wasn't there, but the 'want' definitely was.

Fortunately, around the same time, there was an offer on OLX for a less than a year old RTR 200 going at around 60% of the OTR price. The owner was going on-site and wanted to sell it within a week. Checked out the bike in person. Loved it. Bought it.