Old 6th October 2020, 19:09   #316

Re: The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh (page 6)

I have seen the single tone Matte. In fact all the colours were shown in launch videos.
Originally Posted by NH08 View Post
In single tone, they have 'Pearl Night Star Black' without adding 'matte' or 'metallic'. I have not seen this colour in any photo/video of CB 350 so far. If the above photo is actually that of Pearl Night Star Black colour, then I will go for it.
Old 6th October 2020, 19:10   #317

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
What's interesting is the Non Dual-tone glossy black bike. The tank is all gloss black, no gray strip there. If you recall they had just the matte Black in single tone. This is unusual
It seems Honda goofed up in brochure.

'Pearl night star black' is available in both DLX and DLX pro. But in brochure they have shown it as matte finish in single tone and glossy in dual tone. Now Powerdrift's photo confirms it as glossy black

Attaching the brochure colors.

EDIT: just now saw new posts after my reply. @Sebring Do you have photo of Matte black bike? Curious to see it.

PS: they have mentioned the Matte Green color as 'Matte Marshall Green Metallic'
The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-screenshot_20201006185714954_1.jpg  

Last edited by texmonster : 6th October 2020 at 19:28. Reason: Adding information
texmonster is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 19:26   #318

Pune has highest number of 2-wheelers and Honda don't have BigWing showroom here, crazy !! Are you serious Honda? How on earth they miss Pune?

Coming back to bike, looks very promising by pictures and specs. They have priced it sensibly too. Eagerly waiting to see in person and ride one. Hope will get a chance soon.
Old 6th October 2020, 19:26   #319

I don't have a photo, but I did see it in one of the videos. It's the exact matte you have in your shot. In fact I wanted glossy black single tone and the showroom personnel told me it's not available. Then I shifted to the Pro thinking I'll do something about the gray strip (which I don't like), post purchase. Matte is cumbersome to maintain. This is interesting to see. Thanks
Originally Posted by texmonster View Post
@Sebring Do you have photo of Matte black bike? Curious to see it.
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 19:59   #320

'Gloss black' is indeed available in CB350. Apart from PowerDrift, today's pictures from BikeWale and Bike India confirm it.
The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-screenshot_20201006195522077_1.jpg  

texmonster is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 22:23   #321

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Pune has highest number of 2-wheelers and Honda don't have BigWing showroom here, crazy !! Are you serious Honda?
Yes, I did a double take too. Seems the BigWing dealerships are in Kolhapur, Thane and Mumbai only! I wonder how non BigWing dealers like Pashankar auto will get a demo/test drive bike. The person who is taking the bookings at Pashankar auto however assured me that it will be available for display next week, keeping my fingers crossed.

Interestingly, today I got a phone call from Honda - asking me if I had completed my booking and if I was satisfied with the experience. They were tight lipped about the on road / final price and the person on the phone didn't reveal anything. All he said was that the dealer will be able to share you details. Is the final price slated to be opened up tomorrow i.e. 7th Oct 2020? Also, has anyone else booked this motorcycle and got a similar feedback call?
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 22:59   #322

It is so interesting to read all your discussions about a new launch, and it is brave of Honda to enter into a cliché market of the Enfield. So far, the product looks promising, and I seriously hope they back it up with a good after sales.

I also hope they bring their 500 line-up soon enough, I'm desperately waiting for the CB500X!
ManasN95 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 08:15   #323

Not yet. I will get a call on 12th of October. 12th and 13th, a lot will be revealed, hopefully. Pune and Bangalore are the biggest markets for two-wheelers. Surprised that it was left out. My SA told me the next big BigWing will be in Pune ('already coming up', he said)
Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 View Post
Is the final price slated to be opened up tomorrow i.e. 7th Oct 2020? Also, has anyone else booked this motorcycle and got a similar feedback call?

Last edited by Sebring : 7th October 2020 at 08:32.
Old 7th October 2020, 11:01   #324

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
Excellent points. Would agree with most of them barring one caveat - the proof is in the pudding - let's wait till the first batch of bikes roll out. A lot of us on the forum went ga-ga over the Jawa bikes; and once deliveries started happening (after the lo-oo-ng delays), people realized how bad those were.
I agree with you 100% over here. Nobody has ridden the bike so far and these are just display bikes.

Irrespective of how successful the Honda turns out to be, I (and many other RE owners) will be thankful to Honda for introducing some much required features in these retro bikes - for e.g. alloy wheels! Hopefully RE gets the cue and provides upgrades at their end too.
To be fair, Royal Enfield does offer alloy wheels as an accessory for their Classic series, it costs Rs 10,000 and is listed on the Royal Enfield website. The now discontinued Thunderbird X also had alloy wheels right out of the showroom. It is the Himalayan and the 650 twins that dont have these as OEM accessories, which really is a head scratcher of a decision from Royal Enfield. They are doing so many other things right in the Indian and global markets, this one decision stands out as a poor one.

I still maintain that Honda will expand this market, and will not eat into RE share. RE has a slice of our heart, and enjoys emotional quotient
On further contemplation, I too believe that the Honda CB350 will be more of a threat to the sales of other manufacturers who have products in the same price range and that Royal Enfield will be happy to co-exist with the competition from Honda in the long run. The new CB350 will strongly appeal to those buyers who have a Rs 2 - 2.5L budget but did not want the (perceived?) lack of reliability and image associated with the Royal Enfields and hence turned to other options.
neil.jericho is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 14:28   #325

Today's Autocar India Honda CB350- First look:
https://www.autocarindia.com/bike-ne...st-look-418822
Old 7th October 2020, 14:57   #326

Infractions: 0/1 (9)

I'm trying my best to ignore it, or just glance across it without fixating (obsessing?) on it, but is it just me or do you guys not feel there is something really off or weird about the headlight dome placement. Its giving the front on and even side on look of the bike a bit of a bulldog look. I feel its a tad too low. Not in keeping with the beautiful flat round RD and CB domes of yesteryears.

Cheers, Doc
ebonho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 03:43   #327

The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh (page 6)

Originally Posted by tchsvy View Post
'1.9 lakh rupees around' is what I have heard, ex-showroom?

Not sure about Classic 350 but, this is a death knell for Imperiale 400, and the whole Jawa lineup. I guess 1.9 lakhs is the ex-showroom price for the DLX variant. IMHO, looks wise, this is not going to offend anyone, the colour scheme may attract comparisons with Splendour, but the road presence will eliminate those comparisons. Specs wise, it's going to be a good city bike and with relaxed ergonomics, I don't think cruising around within the speed limits will be a problem, and sounds nice. With all the accessories and riding gear, Honda is going to promote this as a lifestyle vehicle and with the hint that there will be a CB with bigger engine, they are betting big on this. All in all, Honda has a got most of things right with this launch, IMHO.

EDIT: Just noticed that this is going to have 5 gears, a 6th cog could have been nice though.

All looks good except for the terrible Hness name. Seat height might be a bummer for the average height Indian.

Last edited by gautam99 : 8th October 2020 at 03:46.
gautam99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 10:35   #328

Originally Posted by gautam99 View Post
All looks good except for the terrible Hness name. Seat height might be a bummer for the average height Indian.
I'm 5'7" and was able to flatfoot it easily. I don't think it will be a problem
jaganm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 11:08   #329

Originally Posted by jaganm View Post
I'm 5'7" and was able to flatfoot it easily. I don't think it will be a problem
That’s good to know. I thought seat height was 800 mm.
Old 8th October 2020, 12:43   #330

Saw the Honda H'ness today at the Honda Bigwing Showroom in Gurgaon. I must say it is a good looking bike and has proper big bike looks. Compared to my Jawa 42, it looks one size up (at least 20% larger) and looks quite handsome in person.
If anything, this bike begs for a bigger engine and also bigger tyres! Hope our wish comes true when they launch it with a 500 cc engine.
The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-threequarter.jpg

For 1.9 lacs, this bike really gives a lot for people to desire for. I liked it especially in the Red colour and in that colour the silver mudguards don't look too much out of place. The bike has a kind of mixed retro-modern feel to it and some elements like the front headlight are modern while the Mudguards are very retro.

The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-front.jpg The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-rear.jpg The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-frontclose.jpg

It is able to pull off the look well inspite of this hotchpotch design language.
The engine sounds nice and has a throaty rumble (but it was inside the showroom and sound was resonating so I would like to hear it more in outside environs).

The Honda H'ness CB350, priced at Rs. 1.90 lakh-side.jpg
Today they were having media shoots and did not have the bikes outside. The test rides will begin from 20th October onwards (when the bikes are registered).

I was able to put my feet on the Ground comfortably (I am 5'8" , Medium built) and the seat height feels just right for me. The Handlebar geometry also feels better than my Jawa 42 and should be comfortable - though that can be judged well only with a proper test ride.

This bike would definitely be a good replacement for my Jawa 42, when they launch it in a 500cc version!
(though it is too early for me to be selling my Jawa 42 - it has done only 300km since I got it in Mar 2020 due to the lockdown! )

Overall, loved the Honda, and with the reliability of Honda being its being strength it can really attract a lot of young buyers. The target for this bike will not be the 40+ age group loyal Enfield buyers, but more the 25-35 Age group (2nd time) bike buyers who want a easy to maintain and well built mini-big bike!
I honestly feel that this bike should be able to sell 10-15k bikes every month to start with with limited presence in few cities and once they expand to more cities, it should be able to do 20-25k per month.

Last edited by Behemoth : 8th October 2020 at 12:49.
Behemoth is offline   (11) Thanks