Old 17th September 2021, 00:18   #556

Re: Ola's made-in-India Electric scooter, now launched at Rs. 99,999

^^ I have booked S1 Pro in Coral Red at the stroke of midnight because my son wanted to book it, and said we can always cancel if we didn't like the scooter after test ride. So it is done!

Now about the Fame 2 subsidy. Do we have to claim it? How does one go about it and how much is the amount?
Gansan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 06:32   #557

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
^^ I have booked S1 Pro in Coral Red at the stroke of midnight because my son wanted to book it, and said we can always cancel if we didn't like the scooter after test ride. So it is done!

Now about the Fame 2 subsidy. Do we have to claim it? How does one go about it and how much is the amount?
You need not do much. In fact the subsidy won't be given to you but directly to the Manufacturer. The ex showroom price of 129999 already includes the FAMEII subsidy of 59550 for the S1Pro. Before vehicle delivery (theoretically speaking, after registering), you'll have to fill up a subsidy form with an Aadhar number and sign it. The manufacturer will use this form and get the subsidy amount from the Government.
hemanth.anand is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 11:53   #558

So what is the score? How many scooters were booked in the past two days?
Old 17th September 2021, 12:10   #559

So what is the score? How many scooters were booked in the past two days?
"Scooters worth Rs 1100 crore"
They haven't given the number of units sold. Must be more than 100k units. (Sales not bookings)
Old 17th September 2021, 12:23   #560

I had tried numerous times to pay the full amount on app but every time after clicking on the payment link, the page failed to load and "Could not connect to server" message was displayed. It is really pathetic to even think that servers are not able to match the demand.
Old 17th September 2021, 13:24   #561

Ola sells e-scooters worth 1100 crores in 2 days.

This is more than what the entire 2 wheeler industry sells in same amount of time.

Incredible.

https://swarajyamag.com/news-brief/o...-on-1-november
satishv1987 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 14:08   #562

Originally Posted by udaikalra01 View Post
"Scooters worth Rs 1100 crore"
They haven't given the number of units sold. Must be more than 100k units. (Sales not bookings)
1100 crore divided by 20k gives 550000 units booked. They can only mention bookings as of now, not sales. No units are sold as of now, not until full payment is made.
Gansan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 14:29   #563

1100 crore divided by 20k gives 550000 units booked. They can only mention bookings as of now, not sales. No units are sold as of now, not until full payment is made.
Well Sir, did you think Ola would calculate based on 20K ?

I would put this way...(99999+129999)/2 = 114999 as average to consider both S1 & S1 Pro sales

So, 11,000,000,000/115000 = 95652 scooters (not even a lakh scooters sold) & that explains why they kept the window of purchase open until today morning 3:00 AM
aargee is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 15:03   #564

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Well Sir, did you think Ola would calculate based on 20K ?

I would put this way...(99999+129999)/2 = 114999 as average to consider both S1 & S1 Pro sales

So, 11,000,000,000/115000 = 95652 scooters (not even a lakh scooters sold) & that explains why they kept the window of purchase open until today morning 3:00 AM
Exactly. But again, all these numbers without even showing the scooters to customers. Definitely very good.
As deliveries start, people will start noticing these scooters on road. Many still don't know about it. They are delivering to most cities, which is a big plus.
udaikalra01 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 15:09   #565

I had a similar thought. Took an average price of INR 110000 per scooter, so about 100000 bookings.

This is an achievement for any EV maker(Can we call Ola an EV maker as we have not tested the product yet). I would feel Ola has proven that the hype generated has resulted in a large number of bookings. We cant compare the booking number to a IC vehicle.

Anyways, I received 3 separate messages from Ola with different timelines on when my scooter will be delivered. The third one gave me December Delivery and to ignore the previous messages.

I may not be in India in December, I have written to Ola asking what will happen if I cant pick up the scooter in the given window.
Mafia is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 15:10   #566

Exactly...But again, all these numbers without even showing the scooters to customers. Definitely very good.
As deliveries start, people will start noticing these scooters on road
Appending another thought to your point - The introductory price of 99K works a good VFM for now (even 129,999 isn't VFM for now or may be marginally VFM on longer run), but once it no longer becomes introductory, the VFM will start disappearing.

And when we started discussing why the introductory price? Very simple, whoever buys at introductory price are test mules. We're doing a free testing & once the product is stabilized, it's only price, no introductory

Someone's post in this thread sent me into shivers; if the website has so many glitches, and app hanging when trying to make payment, what if the S/W inside the scooter hangs on the road Even if the software ceases to run for a second, it becomes a question of life & death.

On this aspect, Ather has been out of question on this front from day 1 & by now, it's a very matured product.

Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
Anyways, I received 3 separate messages from Ola with different timelines on when my scooter will be delivered
Then consider yourself lucky. I made one booking & still haven't received any confirmation even for the paid money, forget alone the delivery dates. Support...ultra pathetic. Only for the first email I received a ticket number which is untouched, remaining follow-ups are stone in well

Last edited by aargee : 17th September 2021 at 15:12.
Old 17th September 2021, 15:16   #567

So, 11,000,000,000/115000 = 95652 scooters
But it is still booking, not sales. I can still cancel mine if I don't like it in the flesh.

Exactly. But again, all these numbers without even showing the scooters to customers.
I remember Tata Motors received really heavy bookings during 90's for the Indica, without anyone seeing the car. But it later fell flat on it's face.
Old 17th September 2021, 15:17   #568

So a safe estimate of sales between October - December (as per current delivery estimates that have been messaged to buyers),
can be pegged at 20-25k units a month.

Exceptional, that sort of sales volumes will be higher than the monthly sales of Piaggio, Okinawa, Hero and all the other little electric scooter brands put together.

Impressive that OLA did this without a single showroom.
shortbread is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 15:26   #569

But it is still booking, not sales. I can still cancel mine if I don't like it in the flesh
Sir, what you're saying is ethics & transparency. But that's not how hype & marketing works. And I don't see anything wrong with the tweet as well, otherwise it would've been "bookings worth" & not scooters worth isn't it?

Ola's made-in-India Electric scooter, now launched at Rs. 99,999-capture.jpg
aargee is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 17:03   #570

Just in case anyone's interested or had doubts sown by rabid comments about the veracity of OLA electric's operations,

OLA Electric's backers:

- Softbank Group (Japanese multinational conglomerate holding giant, with USD 340+ billion in assets)

- Temasek (Singapore government’s investment fund)

- Plum Wood Investment (affiliate of Warburg Pincus, the American pvt equity firm with USD60 billion+ in assets)

- Hyundai Motor Company

- Kia Corporation

- Pawan Munjal Family Trust (of Hero MotoCorp fame, ie. ex Hero Honda)

- Matrix Partners (Indo US private equity investment firm)

While none of this guarantees a successful company or a great product, I doubt OLA electric is about to run away with proceeds they made from these bookings.
shortbread is online now   (10) Thanks