Old 17th March 2021, 05:42   #46

Re: Honda CB500X launched at Rs. 6.87 lakh

Originally Posted by Kashi053 View Post
Aren't you contradicting yourself with your below post? I thought you admired 500X.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super...ml#post5008328
Not for this price man. All our expectations were about 5.5 on road maximum. This is just daylight robbery.
Red Liner is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 06:53   #47

Isn't the Made In Japan tag worth a 1 Lakh premium?
Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Not for this price man. All our expectations were about 5.5 on road maximum. This is just daylight robbery.
Sebring is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 08:11   #48

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Its not made in Japan. Only the Africa twin is made in japan. This bike is made in thailand like most of the other Honda's.
Red Liner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 08:15   #49

Shumi of PowerDrift says this bike is coming straight from Japan. Watch at 3:36

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Its not made in Japan. Only the Africa twin is made in japan. This bike is made in thailand like most of the other Honda's.

Last edited by Sebring : 17th March 2021 at 08:24.
Sebring is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 08:26   #50

Shumi of PowerDrift says this bike is coming straight from Japan. Watch at 3:36
https://Youtu.be/ZsHMCxsX2d0
I think he meant figuratively...
The 2019 Honda CB500X is similar to both the CB500 parallel-twins discontinued in 2003 and the CB500X of 2018. They are now made in Thailand, where Honda had previously focused on motorcycles with a smaller displacement.
https://www.rideadv.com/ride-adventu...-cb500x-review
Red Liner is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 10:25   #51

Over the KTM 390 Adventure, yes! Not 'made in Japan', but yes- it should be a reliable Honda.

That's what reviews and comments worldwide mention - it is worth an approx 1L premium over the KTM for the legendary Honda reliability. Perhaps even 2 lakhs would have worked in the Indian market.

But like Redliner mentioned earlier - here we can get two KTMs! And still be left with enough money left to service both those bikes for a few years too!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 11:36   #52
v12

This is ridiculous pricing by Honda. Understood it's a very simple bike as per most of the reviews being posted on YouTube - but then why the complex pricing? Seems like a paid review by Honda to most of these online portals. Most of them are harping about the good parts and not making a great deal of the ridiculous prices.

Equipment wise it does not have much to offer compared to the Versys - non adjustable forks, single disc brake up front. Power wise it's very much comparable to the 390 Adventure.

I would definitely pick the Versys over this or probably 2 390 Adventure's.
v12 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 11:53   #53

Attachment 2132833

No offense on the design, am I the only one who's seeing a chick nose instead of headlight?

I looked at the cost and closed the page. Honda is taking us granted now a days.
sunilsreenivasg is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 14:04   #54

Agreed with most of the comments here and there's no sensible way to justify this really atrocious pricing by Honda though some youtubers and Honda fanboys may still find a way to do so (simple fuss free motorcycle and legendary Honda reliability isn't a compelling justification for me to pay 20-25 % premium over expected price). No offence meant to anyone, I'm a Honda fan myself and was very much looking forward to this and other 500 siblings as a possible upgrade to my decade old CBR250R.

Just for fun, went back and checked what was the expected price guesstimated by some other well known auto publications in India. Here we go:

Overdrive: 5.5 Lakhs
Zigwheels: 5.5 lakhs (Dec 2020) revised to 6 lakhs (Feb 2021)
Autocar: 5-5.5 lakhs
Motoroids: 5.5 lakhs
AutoX: 5.5 lakhs
MotorOctane: 5 lakhs

Guess Honda either missed all of these expected price sentiments and much more or simply decided to ignore them. I don't know much about marketing / pricing but one of the strategies surely is to find what is the expected price informed customers are willing to pay and try to meet it or go slightly above it if you may.

Anyway as rightly pointed out by some members, yes it will still find some buyers who know exactly what they want and don't have budget or VFM as priority like most of us. I don't feel like Honda is aiming for more than a few units per month for this and other 500 siblings combined (assuming Honda decides to get other 500 siblings at similar premium price, which is more likely than not).

Slight OT but what worries me is the price point at which Honda will launch the new 650R for which the last known ex-showroom price in 2019 was 7.7 lakhs (just 80+ k more than 500x). Going by US prices, the difference between CB500X and CBR650R is a whooping $2,700 so anything less than INR 9 lakhs will be a miracle for 650R IMO. Kawasaki Z900 and Street Tripple R territory
camitesh is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 14:32   #55

I was one of the afore said persons who owns a bigger adventure bike and was looking to downsize for ease of use. I was waiting for the 500X launch expectantly for this purpose. I am disappointed at the pricing that Honda India has come up with, for what the bike offers. I am a self proclaimed Honda fan-boy myself, but I just cannot justify spending this much for this bike. My feeling is that the bike should have been around 5.5 lac ex-showroom. That would have still made it more than the KTM390 adventure, but atleast the buyer would have felt better paying a bit extra for the reliability, low parts and maintenance cost of the Honda bike. But this pricing is a tad atrocious.

At 6.87 ex-showroom and more than 8. something lac on road in Kerala, I will keep hold of my existing bike for now and maybe wait for either a price drop on the 500X or other options in the near future. This is truly bad pricing by Honda. It will be interesting to see how many units they manage to sell in the next 6 months.

Cheerio!
alphadog is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 15:27   #56

Crazy pricing to a really good bike, almost 30 percent overpriced. At 5 lakhs ex-showroom, a lot of real adventure touring guys would have brought this! Alas, also sharing a funny WhatsApp forward received in my group regarding the pricing
Honda CB500X launched at Rs. 6.87 lakh-5dbaa92076574385941e18b611256670.jpg  

mh09ad5578 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 16:25   #57

Originally Posted by camitesh View Post
Slight OT but what worries me is the price point at which Honda will launch the new 650R for which the last known ex-showroom price in 2019 was 7.7 lakhs (just 80+ k more than 500x). Going by US prices, the difference between CB500X and CBR650R is a whooping $2,700 so anything less than INR 9 lakhs will be a miracle for 650R IMO.
At this pricing of CB500X against the Versys 650 - it won't be surprising if Honda soon launches the CBR500R/CB500R as the new direct rivals to the Ninja/Z 650.

So yes - reasonable to expect the CBR650R to move up the ladder in terms of pricing.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 20:07   #58

Originally Posted by camitesh View Post

Just for fun, went back and checked what was the expected price guesstimated by some other well known auto publications in India. Here we go:

Overdrive: 5.5 Lakhs
Zigwheels: 5.5 lakhs (Dec 2020) revised to 6 lakhs (Feb 2021)
Autocar: 5-5.5 lakhs
Motoroids: 5.5 lakhs
AutoX: 5.5 lakhs
MotorOctane: 5 lakhs
Evo India was the most optimistic with their guesstimate of 3.8 lakhs
Evo India: 3.8 lakhs
MadTitan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 20:48   #59

The verdict is kind of what I was expecting to hear; CB500X is a good allrounder.

@Neil Jerico - Now I know why you enjoyed Adv 390 on MC Road better than 675 Striple.

Last edited by aargee : 17th March 2021 at 20:52.
aargee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2021, 20:55   #60

I am one of those who had this bike in the wish list. Somehow I always had a hunch this will end up the typical Honda style pricing.

As someone who owns a Honda CBR 250, few points that none has mentioned.

1. Horrible A$$!! Useless morons who dont even know how to service a bike proper. Every single service centre in Chennai is worser than the other. Bug Wing might be better - I dont have high hopes considering Chennai is getting Kun's Big Wing, same as their other showroom.

2. Difficulty in procuring parts - a simple mechanical seal has min 10-15 backlogs in each dealership in Chennai. I scouted beyond Chennai and checked in few districts and same case everywhere.

3. I needed a new side stand. The SA in Honda SC smiles at me and says "Side stand orders in LOT of 100 sir - please order 100 pieces and we'll deliver you the stand saar."

4 - Few bolts : Saar... Bolts in LOTS saar. Please pay Saar ( I didnt even ask the lot size).

I struck of the machine from my list that day. It doesnt matter whether there's legendary reliability, when parts cant even be procured. I'd anyday pick a product which is less reliable but parts can easily be procured.

Pay a premium first, and then be at the mercy of the stupid dealers & service centres. Yep - but you'll only hear these from Honda owners.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 17th March 2021 at 20:58.
swiftnfurious is offline   (14) Thanks