Old 11th October 2021, 20:01   #31

re: BMW Motorrad C 400 GT Maxi-Scooter, now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakh

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
A proper 250-350 cc Maxi Scooter (like Forza / T Max etc) should ideally cost about 2.5 - 3.25 L ex showroom as right price. At that point, it may actually have enough takers to justify marketing it here.
An equivalent from BMW at twice the price or more is really just going to be left as a halo product. While I have no doubt it will have its takers, it really truly does get slotted in an awkward no man’s land and even I’m struggling to understand who exactly that target customer is.

Even folks who ride a 26L+ GS 1200 admire Hondas for what they’re worth. If they wanted a proper premium scooter in their garage and both these offerings were sold, my sense is they would more likely pick a Forza at half the price. Sure there will be takers of every kind of exotic product and the BMW scooter is one of those. But to me, the true potential (which itself is limited) of the maxi scooter segment lies in the Forza / big Burgman / T MAx sort of segment, at relatively, the right price.

We should remember that in terms of aspirational value (“want” factor, not “need” factor), some of these mid price maxi scooters like Honda / Suzuki / Yamaha segment will also compete with the new age electric scooters at the other end of the curve, which are just as desirable but just in a very different way. Say the Ola S1 pro is available today along with a Burgman 200 / 250 plush maxi scooter (or similar). Assume one is 1.4 lakh and the other is 2.8 lakh. I can afford either. Both qualify as scooters I would “want”. I would struggle to choose between the two.

Of course my “head” may simply plonk the money in a Nifty Index fund instead of picking either but I can’t rule out the card being swiped on a 2L (+/-) segment, in a moment of weakness. Until then, I will stick to being a keyboard warrior on maxi scooter threads.
With you on that, but yea its BMW..

Anyways, wish someone in Bajaj Product management gets a whacky idea to build something like this with the D400 Engine. Then we will have something that fits the bill right away. Not too hopeful since we haven't even seen a fully faired or an ADV 400 from Bajaj yet.
anand.shankar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 20:27   #32

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
A proper 250-350 cc Maxi Scooter (like Forza / T Max etc) should ideally cost about 2.5 - 3.25 L ex showroom as right price. At that point, it may actually have enough takers to justify marketing it here.
THIS. I would so buy this. But we need halo products like the BMW for others to play catch up and create a range in between the existing tiny ones and the halo product. I hope manufacturers make note and bring in 25-26bhp scooters. I will definitely buy it and I know tons of matured tourers who will lap it up in large numbers too.
shankarbn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 22:23   #33

Available to check here in Delhi tomorrow. They should sell the first lot easily. A lot of people having BMW bikes always want their partners to ride one and this should be easily picked up irrespective of the price. How many actually ride, especially in Delhi will be a different matter though
BMW Motorrad C 400 GT Maxi-Scooter, now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakh-screenshot-20211011-10.50.35-am.png  

Turbanator is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 13:03   #34

The all-new BMW C 400 GT is now available in India at an introductory ex-showroom price of INR 9.95 Lakhs.

Name:  20211012_131641.jpg
Views: 681
Size:  135.1 KB

Available in two colours - Alpine white and Style Triple Black (which costs Rs 20,000 extra).

The all-new BMW C 400 GT is powered by a 350 cc liquid -cooled single cylinder 4 stroke engine that is paired with a CVT gearbox. This engine has been rated to develop a peak output of 34 hp at 7500 rpm and 35 Nm at 5750 rpm. The 0-100 Km can be achieved in 9.5 seconds with a top speed of over 139 km/h.

The new C 400 GT comes with a Multifunctional instrument cluster with 6.5-inch full-colour TFT screen.

BMW Motorrad Multi-Controller gives the rider quick access to vehicle and connectivity functions.

The scooter comes with BMW Motorrad Connectivity App. Some other key highlights of the scooter include Automatic Stability Control (ASC), Seat Storage Compartment with optimized lighting and USB charging socket.

Last edited by Venkatesh : 12th October 2021 at 13:33.
Venkatesh is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 13:07   #35

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Hey, Sorry guys. Should have communicated better. Let me rephrase; The category being scooter/(sub category being maxi) - would customers be willing to shell out 7 big ones? (
First we say manufacturers do not try. When they try we ask if it will work. Kind of chicken and egg situation. It may or may not work, however looking at our spending habits and the way our economy is expanding I feel it may be able to create a niche. I for one will prefer to tour on a 400 - 600 cc maxi scooter all day long. The comfortable ergonomics and the overall ease will surely see one of these with me.
Mr.Ogre is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 13:09   #36

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
BMW Motorrad C 400 GT launched in India at Rs 9.95 lakh
Haha

So now instead of discounts on higher end cars, BMW will be giving out this scooter as a complementary gift
sunilch is offline   (40) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 13:26   #37

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
The all-new BMW C 400 GT is now available in India at an introductory ex-showroom price of INR 9.95 Lakhs.

Available in two colours - Alpine white and Style Triple Black (which costs Rs 20,000 extra). ]
Did, I read that correct?
Rs/CC, this has to be one of the most expensive contraption on our roads.
Apart from gracing the garage of few elite people, i don't think they will be able to sell many of these.
akshay4587 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 13:36   #38

Good, at least its a psychological pricing and they just didn’t quote 10,15,000 ex showroom for the Triple Black colour option
SnS_12 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 14:39   #39

The Aerox suddenly looks like the deal of the century!

Jokes apart, I sincerely believe that there is a significant market for well-priced premium scooters that combine the performance of a motorcycle with the convenience of a maxi-scooter. Yamaha have hit that sweet spot in the budget-premium segment, others should really take a leaf out of their book (once the sales figures are out). Honda especially with a smaller Forza model, and maybe BMW can consider bringing the 400's price down to slightly saner levels.

Last edited by Sudarshan42 : 12th October 2021 at 14:44.
Sudarshan42 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 15:14   #40

Wow, surprise, surprise, really Come on guys, we were expecting the ex-showroom price to be in the region of INR 8 to 10 lacs. BMW has done exactly that, so why are we acting incredulous as if the impossible has happened.

All the expressions “oh silly BMW, who will buy this scooter now”, “what were they thinking” etc, etc, etc must have been expected by BMW from the general population and they have shown they don’t give a damn about the general population.

They must have done their homework, scoped the market for serious buyers and must be expecting to sell X number of units only (no number chasing). I am sure they will be booked (or must be already booked) and sold easily. So, advantage BMW and mission accomplished

Cyborg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 15:31   #41

I wish I have enough money to buy this beauty . But just in case the below information on the scooter as I read online was interesting
BMW uses aluminium cast alloy wheels to keep the weight light. The front is a 15-inch wheel that uses 120/70 tyres whereas the rear one is a 14-inch wheel that uses a wider 150/70 tyre. The usable fuel tank capacity is 12.8 litres whereas the reserve capacity is around 3 litres.
A 25km/l mileage means, you get to go 300+ which is decent enough for a quick long ride.
Balaji31582 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 15:47   #42

That is an introductory 12L on road price for a 350cc scooter. I think they are charging this much money for the badge than the actual scooter.

BMW Motorrad C 400 GT Maxi-Scooter, now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakh-09a951cdd6c0437dbcee6b689fb6338a.jpeg
amvj is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 20:20   #43

The pricing is indeed menacing. But I am happy someone is at least trying this segment. I have always thought the maxi scooter segment has tremendous potential. We are one of the largest two wheeler markets after all. But then the offerings in the market till recently were all rather drab. This launch could well start the maxi scooter trend in India.
Old 12th October 2021, 20:42   #44

First bike delivered from Motorrad Mumbai -

BMW Motorrad C 400 GT Maxi-Scooter, now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakh-fb_img_1634051407575.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 12th October 2021, 22:53   #45

First bike delivered from Motorrad Mumbai -
Will soon become the first and only one in yellow in India too
SnS_12 is offline   (10) Thanks