Old 21st April 2022, 10:28   #31

Re: 2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon

Looks like the RC390 is going to be launched soon. Saw this on the KTM website, registered right away.
2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-screenshot_2022042110265472_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg  

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-screenshot_2022042110251783_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg  

Old 7th May 2022, 09:41   #32

2022 KTM RC 390 listed on official India website for Rs 313,922, ex-showroom.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-smartselect_20220507094047_chrome.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2022, 12:27   #33

During Jan 2022 I walked into the showroom at Selaiyur, chennai for RC 200 TD and was very much impressed with the way it rode. Specifically the low end torque that was told to be sorted. I mentioned I need a 390 and from there on my wait started. Even now, when I called the SA, he told me they have no information about the launch. This is actually not helping customers and specifically new buyers who wanted to cross shopping across brands.
Old 7th May 2022, 17:21   #34

If those prices are true, then I feel it is a little steep. 3.14 ex showroom translates to 3.7-3.8 lacs on road.

Now the gap between this and the RR310 has increased significantly. I feel someone who wants a sportsbike will now go and buy the RR310, as it is way cheaper, more accessible and has a fairing. The RC390 will only be picked up by true enthusiasts and the ones who do track days. Good days for both motorcycles, I must say.
In one way the RR310 gets the sales it desperately deserves and in the other way the RC390 gets picked up by people who knows how to ride a motorcycle and not behave in a chapri-manner with it.

If someone is absolutely hell bent on getting an RC, he might just go for the RC200 or the RC125( I must say this is a chapri favourite).

Regarding looks, the RC390 in that blue and orange scheme grew on me. I really like the design right now. And I feel it will grow on people as time goes by. Remember when the RC was first launched in 2014 people called it ugly and those same people after the launch of the 2nd gen are calling the 1st gen edgy and beautiful. Looking at the technical enhancements KTM has made, I am okay with that design and to be frank I really like it now.
saikishor is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th May 2022, 10:01   #35

A hefty premium of 35k over the older gen model. Hope its worth it. Bajaj kept the ADV at same price but RC gets all the burden.

At that price I wish they had plastered a huge "390" decal across the fairing where it currently says "KTM". At least make the flagship bike look different from chhapri favorite models.
amol4184 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 9th May 2022, 11:15   #36

Does the RC 390 come with Adjustable front shocks? If so, I don't understand the logic of skipping it on the 390 ADV, even on the 2022 Edition. Considering that KTM bikes are no more VFM, the adjustable cartridges should have been made available atleast as a KTM powerparts.
Old 9th May 2022, 13:43   #37

As a potential buyer, I laud KTM for launching the RC 390 with the adjustable suspension. I had a Duke 250 for 3 years and the only spoilsport for me was the front suspension (and lack of switchable ABS), it was alright upto speeds of 130 kmph but above this the bike used to wobble on our NCR roads.
Moreover, with the adjustable suspension now being homologated , any KTM rider can swap their front forks after ordering it from the Spare parts store.
Chandrahas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th May 2022, 14:10   #38

Originally Posted by Chandrahas View Post
As a potential buyer, I laud KTM for launching the RC 390 with the adjustable suspension.
I don't see any adjustable suspension on the front.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-pho_bike_det_rc39022inhandlebar_sall_aepi_v1.jpg

Are you referring to the rear? That offers rebound and preload adjustments.
Old 9th May 2022, 15:01   #39

I enquired from the KTM SA - Gurgaon today and he confirmed regarding the front adjustable suspension. But, I think you are right as neither the KTM India specs sheet nor the pics show the availability of adjustable suspension.
But, since a few days back the KTM India site had been displaying the ex showroom price = 2.77 lacs for the new RC 390 ( with the specs sheet mentioning non adjustable front suspension) and yesterday it got increased to 3.13, so god knows what they're planning.
Also, the SA confirmed that deliveries won't start before June end - July.
Old 23rd May 2022, 14:20   #40

Next-gen KTM RC 390 launched at Rs. 3.14 lakh

KTM has announced the launch of the 2022 RC 390. The bike is priced at Rs. 3,13,992 (ex-showroom, Delhi).

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-my22-ktm-rc-390.jpg

The 2022 KTM RC 390 looks similar to its smaller sibling, the RC 200. The bike is available in new KTM Factory Racing Blue and KTM Orange colour schemes.

The new RC 390 gets a host of new features and equipment:

13.7-litre fuel tank
Height-adjustable handlebars
Traction control
Quickshifter
Lean-angle sensitive Cornering ABS
Dual-channel ABS with Supermoto mode
TFT instrument console with KTM My Ride

The 2022 RC 390 continues to use the 373cc liquid-cooled single-cylinder engine, albeit with a few updates. The engine produces 43.5 BHP and 37 Nm and is paired with a 6-speed gearbox via a power-assisted anti-hopping slipper clutch.

The bike also features WP Apex upside-down front suspension and a WP Apex adjustable mono-shock at the rear. The braking setup consists of 320mm and 280 mm discs at the front and rear respectively.
TusharK is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 24th May 2022, 00:45   #41

I was planning on getting 2022 ktm rc390 as my next purchase but not getting adjustment suspension with that kind of pricing is a bummer. If we would have gotten adjustment suspension then we all would have been very excited because rc 390 plays as an intermediate bike for most of us and most of us want something extra over our beginner bikes.
phoenix.rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th May 2022, 09:58   #42

KTM seems to be dropping the ball a lot these days. No adjustable suspension on the 390s when the rest of the world is getting it on the adv and the RC is not going to go down well. And then there is the horrendous design of the new RC. I am glad i picked up a 2021 RC with the 2020 black and white colour scheme. The last of its kind before stocks dried up. The only reason I thought I might regret jumping the gun was if the RC got good adjustable suspension as an upgrade. But, it seems like I made the right call. At least now i have the RC the way i want it to look.
The_Medic is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 11:54   #43

Changes in the new KTM RC 390 detailed.

2022 ⁦KTM RC390 loses 3.7 kg on the dry weight.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114945.jpg

Gets new 5-spoke alloy wheels and lighter brake discs shedding about 1.1kg from the bike's overall weight.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114820.jpg

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114823.jpg

Gets a 40 percent bigger airbox resulting in 1 Nm of additional torque and improved torque spread in the lower and mid-range.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114833.jpg

The fuel tank which now has an expanded capacity of 13.7 litres.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114848.jpg

Gets a new suspension set-up for 2022 with the rear mono-shock adjustable for preload and damping.

2022 KTM RC 125 & RC 390 globally unveiled; India launch expected soon-20220608_114854.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 8th June 2022 at 12:06.
Venkatesh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 10:04   #44

2022 KTM RC 390 media drive reviews

Venkatesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 01:19   #45

Originally Posted by Chandrahas View Post
As a potential buyer, I laud KTM for launching the RC 390 with the adjustable suspension. I had a Duke 250 for 3 years and the only spoilsport for me was the front suspension (and lack of switchable ABS), it was alright upto speeds of 130 kmph but above this the bike used to wobble on our NCR roads.
Moreover, with the adjustable suspension now being homologated , any KTM rider can swap their front forks after ordering it from the Spare parts store.
Well plans have gone down the drain then, they needed to get the adjustable suspension.
Why don't these companies understand that if I'm willing to pay ~ 3.5 lacs for a motorcycle, I won't hesitate to pay 20k more for a major mechanical update and this despite the fact they already export such model. I seriously sold off my 2019 Duke 250 because it used to wobble at higher triple digit speeds.
Hope, the ABS intervention has improved considering the use of IMU. The brake lever used to stiffen unexpectedly and pulse jarringly over rough roads.