Old 19th May 2007, 08:43   #1

Royal Enfield AVL 500 launched @ 1.05lac

Royal Enfield launches 500cc Machismo

Atlast its out. Priced at 1.05lac @ chennai.

I also read that they might add FI to 500 later on for the export markrt!

ROYAL ENFIELD 500 HURRICANER: NEW BIKES for specs

Last edited by jkdas : 19th May 2007 at 08:45.
Old 19th May 2007, 09:09   #2

If only this bike were available 4 years earlier
Old 19th May 2007, 09:17   #3

ah!! I had a tough time with the selection between Mach and Electra,, I have still not booked mine and now I'm again confused!!
Can anyone tell me what wud be the advantages to own AVL 500 over AVL 350?? I'm not trying to compare both of them,, its a diff categories here but from an ownership perspective!!!!
Old 19th May 2007, 10:59   #4

new machismo 500cc

hi everybody i thought the new machismo 500cc is going to be available with the new integrated engine but it was not when do expect the new integrated engine any idea ?????/
Old 19th May 2007, 11:04   #5

where is the new machismo integrated engine 500cc bike i am very much dissapointed any news about it????
Old 19th May 2007, 11:14   #6

had experienced a proto of this some time back, and my, the production version is such a stark difference! definitely a step in the right direction, price nonwithstanding...
Old 19th May 2007, 11:23   #7

I guess this settles it. Enfield thinks the Indian customer is a fool. Rs.1 lakh + on road for a 50 year old motorcycle. ooooook then!
Old 19th May 2007, 12:19   #8

A lot of wanabe's have more moola than gery matter- so why not help them become God!!!
Old 19th May 2007, 12:20   #9

500cc and just 25bhp?
I'm myself a big Enfield fan, but, with the current lot of bikes available, I expected a lot more power and refinement. Retain the classic look if you must, but, give the customer modern technology.
Old 19th May 2007, 12:23   #10

Looks good to me, the specs and 25bhp is nice, though they could have got more out of it. Why not FI for indians, wont that be cool?
Old 19th May 2007, 14:47   #11

lets hope to see the power goes up to somewhere around 30, 25 is also fine if makes power fast like the 535 then this should be a cool bike.

read that it has good thump and only hope that its out of the AVL clatter.

and I thank RE for that Right Shift its something I prefer to have ONLY on Bullets.

i guess most of u would agree that bullet lovers are eccentric
and its valued at 1/3rd of overseas price label.
Old 19th May 2007, 14:55   #12

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
I guess this settles it. Enfield thinks the Indian customer is a fool. Rs.1 lakh + on road for a 50 year old motorcycle. ooooook then!
dont forget the previous 64 yrs and that its the oldest running production.
Old 19th May 2007, 14:58   #13

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
Some American staying in my building just got one. He is about 300lbs too and wears a black helmet (face open) so you might just run into him considering we dont liove too far apart.
Old 19th May 2007, 15:44   #14

Guys,Guys, it's not gonna be 30BHP, ( U Wish). In fact it's not even 25bhp. It's 23Bhp and approx 4kgm of torque. No Intergrated gearbox and to add to the good news, The AVL engine clatter is going to be very prominent, I'm afraid. Still, it's a new, more powerful ( By 1bhp) Bull. Oh, and it's also gonna be 20 odd kilos heavier for that additional Bhp to lug around. " One step forward, 2 steps back"....
Old 19th May 2007, 17:28   #15

Originally Posted by Puffdamgcdragon View Post
The AVL engine clatter is going to be very prominent, I'm afraid. ....
The guy I know who has one (the yank) bought it for the engine clatter. He like that retro noise.