Old 29th April 2022, 22:04   #16

re: Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh

Originally Posted by AVIS View Post
I hope they work on a variant that's less noisy! Their scooters make an annoying whine, and are the loudest amongst all EVs. Just imagine the din if a gaggle of these were to accelerate at a traffic light. Even Honda CB Shine with an IC engine might be less noisy!
I felt the same (why is it noisy) till I started riding one. Now, I love that whine, especially when i accelerate in Sport or Warp mode. It is pure addiction. That whine has become so known that the moment one hear that whine, they know that an Ather is approaching.
ambandla is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th May 2022, 21:15   #17

re: Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh

Originally Posted by AVIS View Post
I hope they work on a variant that's less noisy! Their scooters make an annoying whine, and are the loudest amongst all EVs. Just imagine the din if a gaggle of these were to accelerate at a traffic light. Even Honda CB Shine with an IC engine might be less noisy!
I for one absolutely love the whine of the electric motor.
f1fan5 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th May 2022, 21:19   #18

https://www.livemint.com/companies/n...350434312.html

Hero Motocorp, NIIF (our sovereign wealth fund) and a few smaller investors have invested ₹992 crores ($128 billion) in Ather in it's Series E funding round. Hero now holds a 35% stake in Ather.
Old 13th May 2022, 13:57   #19

Originally Posted by ambandla View Post
I felt the same (why is it noisy) till I started riding one. Now, I love that whine, especially when i accelerate in Sport or Warp mode. It is pure addiction. That whine has become so known that the moment one hear that whine, they know that an Ather is approaching.
Similar to the time the KTMs were launched in India. It did not have a particularly good sound for the performance it offered. It faced lot of flak for it including saying it sounds like an auto rickshaw. Over time, the sound became like a cult, with people able to hear it and tell, a KTM is approaching, better give way
dinu2506 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2022, 20:37   #20

Ather Electric Scooter to get updated with bigger battery of 3.66 kW (current one has 2.6 kW battery).

Longer wheelbase and a bit taller, more power, more range on 2022 Ather 450X.

overall length and wheelbase of the updated 450X have been increased by 25mm and 9mm respectively from the current model.
Name:  20220625_203610.jpg
Views: 704
Size:  215.4 KB

Last edited by Venkatesh : 25th June 2022 at 20:42.
Venkatesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th July 2022, 16:47   #21

New Ather 450X Gen3 Electric Scooter launch on 19th July.

Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh-20220716_164721.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 16th July 2022 at 16:49.
Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 18th July 2022, 08:12   #22

I know they Ather have said before that the 450 will not have ABS, but I hope they give it as an option at least in the new gen model.

The govt regulates that 125cc+ petrol scooters need to have at least single channel ABS. Most electric scooters in this segment are arguably quicker and produce more torque than any 125cc petrol scooter. So logically, one could argue that they should be mandated to have ABS too, but no such rule exists for electric scooters. Why?
lordrayden is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th July 2022, 12:48   #23

With the unveil of the Gen3 450X tomorrow, small bits of information has started to come out.
Ather has posted photos on their social media platforms about testing in general and pillion rider testing in specific. The pillion rider is sitting one sided. I think this is hinting at a side step for saree clad female riders. If this is true, it is indeed a good news. I know of many people who hadn't purchased the Ather due to this missing side step.

Name:  SmartSelect_20220717061655_Instagram.jpg
Views: 616
Size:  365.9 KB

Also in a Telegram group, people had written that the Gen3 450X have started to arrive at the dealerships. Later there were pictures of Old and new gen Athers parked beside each other. The mirror design has changed. The visibility in the earlier design mirrors was restricted and looks like that issue is addressed.

Another thing from the image is that the Tyres have changed. People at Ather were always talking about Performance tyres and this looks to be implemented in the new gen 450

Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh-img20220717wa0016.jpg

So so far we know that the Gen3 450 will get the following improvements:
  • Bigger Battery 2.9kWh, 47Ah vs 3.66kWh, 74Ah
  • Higher Power: 6.4 kW vs 6 kW in 450x and 5.8 kW vs 5.4 kW in 450+
  • Higher IDC Range: 146 kms vs 116kms in 450x and 108 kms vs 100kms in 450+
  • Different Mirror
  • Different Tyre
  • Probable side foot step
  • Another thing I see is that the dimensions of the overall vehicle (in the Type approval document above) in comparison to my Gen1 450 is slightly bigger
hemanth.anand is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th July 2022, 15:09   #24

Ather 450X Gen 3 Launch event live:
Old 19th July 2022, 15:31   #25

• Bigger battery
  • Improved mirrors
  • Better Zapper N tyres (bigger size on rear)
  • Higher RAM
  • Side footstep

Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh-screenshot_20220719153317_youtube.jpg

Some nice small updates. All this for a increased price of around ₹4k isn't bad at all!

Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lakh-screenshot_20220719153332_youtube.jpg

Basically Ather has taken existing user feedback and bundled many of them into a new generation scooter. I wish they had also implemented a brake lock and offered more colors. Maybe TPMS should've been standard too...atleast for the 450x. Nevertheless, the Gen3 offers more value compared to the outgoing 450x IMO.

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 19th July 2022 at 15:42.
hemanth.anand is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 19th July 2022, 16:40   #26

I laughed when he said all our users have purchased 450x for higher performance but not riding on warp mode most of the time. We wondered why?

Really Tarun?, you are still wondering on that? Most of us bought the higher version for the range not for the WARP mode and most of us ride in NON WARP mode because:
1. Range
2. City Traffic

On the upgrade, really nice to have those, and +1 for giving the mirror upgrade for the older ones, including mine (450s). I hate those mirrors and their adjustability the most.
DarthVeda is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 19th July 2022, 16:54   #27

Ather 450X Gen3 media reviews

Venkatesh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th July 2022, 17:19   #28

Ather 450+ seems most VFM, any idea on the usable battery on 450+.
Old 19th July 2022, 18:32   #29

Re: Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lak

Originally Posted by SKC-auto View Post
Ather 450+ seems most VFM, any idea on the usable battery on 450+.
True, but I owned the Gen 2 450 Plus and if you constantly travel with a pillion, you will miss the extra range the X offers. Plus Warp mode is unmatched IMO, I absolutely loved it when I rode my friend's 450X. If your commute is let's say sub 20 - 25 km per day, then sure, go for the 450 Plus with the TPMS and I'd say you are set.

The Usable Capacity on the Gen 3 450 Plus is 2.6 kWh as opposed to 3.24 kWh on the 450x. I've attached a link with all the specifications for both the models (got it from the Ather Website)

https://https://assets.atherenergy.c...ifications.pdf
WhiskeyTangoFox is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th July 2022, 18:35   #30

Re: Ather plans 2 new variants of 450 e-scooter. EDIT: Gen 3 450X, 450 Plus launched at Rs. 1.17 lak

Has anything been mentioned about battery temperature checks/cooling mechanisms/safety features on new 450x , given recent spate of electrical fires with Electric vehicles?
Gautham_v6 is offline   (1) Thanks