Old 24th November 2022, 14:39   #16

re: Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh

Though 4.55L might seem steep, for the battery pack they are offering, it's worth it. Only thing I am disappointed was the charging method, it's a proprietary plug, and we don't need more of those, if it had supported CCS then we could have used the existing charging network itself.

Also, no word on regeneration, whether it is present or not.
DarthVeda is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 15:21   #17

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Why are they using chains for the rear wheel?
Won't there be a power loss from the motor to the wheels by using the chain?
bobbyblr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 15:27   #18

Ultraviolette F77 specifications and official pictures

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283651352.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283653578.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283655804.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283657952.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283660625.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283662604.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283743970.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283747101.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283753538.jpg

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-fb_img_1669283762660.jpg
Venkatesh is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 15:30   #19

Originally Posted by bobbyblr View Post
Why are they using chains for the rear wheel?
Won't there be a power loss from the motor to the wheels by using the chain?
Compromise between safety, longevity and also avoiding slippage especially when wet. Chain also provides a better feel and audible feedback.
Jaggu is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 17:02   #20

I hope thats not a range extender on the rider's back

Love the concept but not the price. Range is going to inhibit people and adoption in the short term I think. Hope they find some traction in the market, it appears that they have put in a lot of time and effort in developing this product.

Remember seeing the prototypes on test in Bangalore from pre-covid times (I guess thats a new classification on era).

Just wondering about the longevity of a chain sprocket set up in battery powered two wheelers. Experts any inputs?
Caramba is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 17:20   #21

Price, power to weight, acceleration times, top speed, all seem to handicap it against the likes of a Duke or a CB300R. I’m pretty sure the handling will also not compare favourably but I’m happy to wait for reviews. On the whole, kinda a damp squib to me, after the years of titillating. Still, there may be takers - people who want to go electric with the form of a motorcycle and some amount of performance.
RT13 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 17:32   #22

^^ I was thinking the same thing. At near 200 kgs, this bike looks like it won't really as compete in terms of speed and agility with the CB300R or Duke 390, all the while demanding more money upfront.

---

Wonder what the price comes to after the government subsidy. Anyway, lost interest after looking at the weight spec and seating position. They've done up the aesthetics amazingly though. The contours, the stance, the choice of colours... all very well done. Loved the bluish grey.
drt_rdr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 17:55   #23

There is no Govt subsidy on two wheelers costing above 1.5L.
anilupadhya is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 19:00   #24

Originally Posted by anilupadhya View Post
There is no Govt subsidy on two wheelers costing above 1.5L.
Are you sure about that? Last Sunday I got my Ather 450X delivered to me. Ex-showroom price is well above 1.5 lacs (Rs 1,70,354/-) to be precise. Yet I received a FAME 2 SUBSIDY of Rs 55,500/- & state subsidy of Rs 10,000/-. Refer the price break-up below as an evidence.

Ultraviolette F77 electric bike launched at Rs 3.80 lakh-ather-price-breakup.png
AutoIndian is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 20:26   #25

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Are you sure about that? Last Sunday I got my Ather 450X delivered to me. Ex-showroom price is well above 1.5 lacs (Rs 1,70,354/-) to be precise. Yet I received a FAME 2 SUBSIDY of Rs 55,500/- & state subsidy of Rs 10,000/-. Refer the price break-up below as an evidence.
Interesting. I'm confused now.

Attached are the 2019 and 2021 notifications from the fame2 website. There is a change to clause 20 and 21 of the 2019 notification in 2021. however there is no change to Annexure 2.

Also if you forward to timeline 00:45 on the video.

File Type: pdf E__didm_WriteReadData_userfiles_8th March 2019 Gazette Notification FAME-II.pdf (511.5 KB, 128 views)
File Type: pdf E__didm_WriteReadData_userfiles_227493.pdf (1.25 MB, 126 views)
anilupadhya is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 20:29   #26

This is how the base model compares to the naked BMW G310 R

The F77

Weighs 33kg more (20% more weight )
Makes 3BHP more (10% more powerful, )
Takes about 0.5 sec more to do 0-100 (~6% more time, Meh!)
Has roughly the same top speed.
Priced roughly the same.

Tank range is an issue though at just 110odd km in ballistic mode, i.e. the mode that this thing should be ridden in. It could be a good alternative for anyone looking for a fun bike for City use. Not much else would be possible though.

The higher variants could work in EU though as A2 bikes. All the best to Ultraviolet for their product.
antz.bin is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 20:44   #27

What a disappointment.
I was actually excited for the launch of this bike, hoping that this would be the performance ev bike that many were actually looking for.
But that 200+ kilos, 0-100 timings and the expensive price tag.

Spec wise it competes against 300-400cc bikes while the price tag is competing with 600cc segment.
k491 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 21:14   #28

Let's wait and see the response. The biggest disappointment for me is how aggressive the riding position is. Definitely not my cup of tea
jaganm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 21:36   #29

At that price this should literally be the fastest Indian with respect to outright acceleration. Why is it that electric vehicles with lots of torque on paper fare poorly on this. With 95nm this bike should go 100 in 3 seconds or something (if they were able to use that)
Old 24th November 2022, 21:43   #30

Not an aggressive pricing for sure. I was really excited for this one and really enjoyed their style of updating the community through YouTube videos.

I think the biggest miss would be lack of CCS support for charging as the bike was rumoured to come with CCS for better charging experience. The folks at Talking Cars also mentioned this in their channel in a video.

Anyways, it is out of my budget as of now and let's see what reviewers have to say.

Congrats for the entire ultraviolette team for bringing the product to the market. Hope they delivers.