Old 30th August 2024, 18:18   #391

Re: Honda NX500 launched at 5.9 lakhs

Originally Posted by asininite View Post
The NX500 does one thing very well and that is highway touring. It's not fast for that price bracket, it doesn't handle that amazingly well, suspension isn't capable off-road... it doesn't do the 'one-bike garage' trope well enough. Again bringing up the pricing, 7-8lakhs for a strictly highway tourer is a hard pill to swallow. If you load it with accessories like racks, USB charger, guards.. you'll be looking at a near 1 lakh increase! That's why I suggest going up to the powerful and more capable Versys, or going down to the Himmy. Versys is costly, while the Himmy is vibey but both are better motorcycles and can do a LOT more than the NX500. The ability to do a lot more with your bike means your experience with your bike will be a lot more enjoyable, and you'll think about keeping the bike for longer. Obviously in a 3-bike garage, where you can swap out to another bike as your mood dictates, the NX500 shines for those occasional tours. Anything else and ... you'll be thinking about that price tag.
I have one thing to say about this whole thing. Mainstream motorcycles don't exist in the market without price tags, just like any other product. We are not talking about collectors specials here. When you judge a motorcycle, the price tag and running costs are one of the major points of consideration. It cannot exist in a free space where it's oblivious to any comparison with it's peers.

The CB500X was overpriced and the numbers were abysmal until they discounted the product by a huge margin. NX500 is still overpriced but not as much as the CB used to be. They are both excellent motorcycles and fit for a one bike garage but at the right price. They are best selling motorcycles worldwide for one reason, they are priced affordably in most markets except India.

Does that mean one shouldn't buy one? no. If someone believes money is no object and the motorcycle is providing him a combination of abilities that's not found on other bikes, fair enough. But for 95% of the market, it's not worth paying almost 4-5L extra. One can argue that it's worth paying 1-2L more than a Himmy or ADV390 for the japanese peace of mind and I can get behind that thought. But the CB or NX are not double the motorcycles compared to a homegrown ADV.

Despite paying the most for an NX compared to the rest of the world, the lacklustre approach towards the Indian customer from Honda India is appalling to say the least. Keeping the customers hanging for almost a year after it's launch, without any communication.

I honestly hope Kawa can pull a rabbit out of the hat with the upcoming localised Versys 300X. That's going to eat into whatever little market share the NX had. And you can only blame Honda India's incompetency for that.

Last edited by b16h22 : 30th August 2024 at 18:24.
b16h22 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 30th August 2024, 20:48   #392

Ride the two back to back (I have) and the Himalayan 450 has a much better chassis-suspension tune (till the chassis breaks, may be?).
I cannot agree more - I did back to back test rides some months back and had longish rides on the Himalayan more recently. It is baffling how RE have managed to make this chassis-suspension setup.
My dream bike would be the Himalayan chassis-suspension setup with the NX500 engine/gearbox comb
timuseravan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2024, 10:39   #393

Originally Posted by 7000plusrpm View Post
Booked one in white. The tentative time of delivery is October first week. Patiently waiting now
Surprising and contrary to what I have been told by the big wing dealer in goa. No new shipments are planned this year and he has no communication about it from Honda. His rationale is that they will not import anything before Jan as they don’t want 2024 manufactured bikes to land at the fag end of the year.
Old 1st September 2024, 13:38   #394

The segment is going to explode soon though - with the entry of the (old, but reliable) Kawasaki Versys X 300, Aprilia Toureg 457, Tiger 400 and the RE Himalayan 650 - many different machines that are going to question the relevance of this CBU even more!
(Slightly off-topic and as it turned out, mostly rant. But I've typed all this already here; so kindly bear with me)

This is why it's particularly interesting to me. For years, I believed manufacturers selling CBUs despite the obvious lack of value-for-money, was some sort of 'testing the waters' scenario- in that, they could introduce a brand with premium appeal, develop a customer base, who'll pay the extra looking for exclusivity or whatever, gain network, feedback, etc.- and all this, I thought, could result in them committing to produce the same in our country. If this could happen, I think it would've by now. ADV in motorcycles, for better or worse, has gotten to what SUV is in cars. I don't know what else they're waiting for. Only conclusion that I'm starting to believe, is that given current economic conditions- income inequality, how it makes financing disproportionate, how well premiumisation has caught on, how synonymous 'imported' still is to 'high quality' in India, etc.- it is perhaps simply easier to make similar (or better, as opposed to CKDs) profits with CBUs, using the overpriced native-premiums to up-sell. So, the way I see it, I pay too much either proudly or reluctantly- either way I'm having to have to convince myself.

Except for RE, thanks their own R&D in England, any global manufacturer's product entry in India- even the CKD ones- has been nothing but 'would've been cheap bikes if it weren't for the premium appeal'; same goes for other developing nations as well. I mean, the very same TVS's 310 is a 'rambunctious stunt bike' in Brazil AND a 'luxurious middleweight premium offering' in India- how BMW pulled this off is beyond me. Bajaj's production still tops out at the 390s, and there's no sign of anything beyond that in the foreseeable future. Bajaj does make a strong case, of being capable to produce larger bikes, of the bunch. But, nothing seems to have changed since the ZX-6R days, and it's been about two decades! Now, Hero has also gotten in on this, convincing a practically bankrupt Harley to sell singles in India, because perhaps this is the only place where it is most likely to fly.

Now coming to the actual topic, I can perfectly understand how 'value-for-money' could be subjective. I'm typing this on a PC, built of parts that I paid way too much for in the peak of the pandemic. Yet, this has been well worth it to me. But, I'd have to go all in on some sort of Stockholm Syndrome to call it 'a good purchase'. I know the NX500 is exactly what I'm looking for- the perfect tourer that is capable for some off-roading; covers most that I'm likely to do. But if I'm on one, I would be confused if I had bought a ride or gotten taken for one. That is simply it; and is hard to shake no matter how much money I have.

Last edited by BullettuPaandi : 1st September 2024 at 13:42. Reason: typo
BullettuPaandi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st September 2024, 14:58   #395

Originally Posted by asininite View Post
why should they not get an additional 1.5 lakh and buy the Versys 650 (with adjustable showas, 20 more hp, better spare parts availability).
I have sat on both bikes but haven't ridden either of them.

Despite me being 6 feet I would happily consider the Honda over the Versys as the Versys was extremely top heavy and even I was struggling to move the bike around in the parking lot. The Honda NX500 is incredibly easy to ride as it's weight and seat height is very manageable compared to the heavy Versys. Yes power is down but as a highway tourer the NX500 has got enough power to cruise at triple digit speeds all day long and even pass vehicles at such speeds.

Plus the clutch of the NX500 is hands down the lightest clutch I have ever used in a big bike. Using it in traffic is a breeze. The Versys clutch in comparison feels like pressing a hand grip during a workout.

And yes the biggest advantage is that the bike will get you to where you want to go without issues. I ride with a lot of KTM Adventure riders and it's a fantastic bike in it's own right but it has a lot of niggles that I find owners just accept as normal. If you want a trouble free bike experience the KTM Adventure or the Himalayan 452 isn't going to give you that.

Last edited by bf1983 : 1st September 2024 at 14:59. Reason: Typo
bf1983 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 11:21   #396

Originally Posted by lionell View Post
Surprising and contrary to what I have been told by the big wing dealer in goa. No new shipments are planned this year and he has no communication about it from Honda. His rationale is that they will not import anything before Jan as they don’t want 2024 manufactured bikes to land at the fag end of the year.
The not importing anymore in 2024 makes sense. Since these are CBUs, there are restrictions on the number of units that can be imported.
I was under the impression that the quota for Honda this year is already finished. Hence, no more NX500 this year.
When I received the call, even I was surprised. And this was confirmed by two different dealerships from two different cities in WB. They seem confident about delivery in October. I will share any news that I can get from them.
Old 2nd September 2024, 11:56   #397

Originally Posted by 7000plusrpm View Post
The not importing anymore in 2024 makes sense. Since these are CBUs, there are restrictions on the number of units that can be imported.
I was under the impression that the quota for Honda this year is already finished. Hence, no more NX500 this year.
When I received the call, even I was surprised. And this was confirmed by two different dealerships from two different cities in WB. They seem confident about delivery in October. I will share any news that I can get from them.
While not wanting to end up with 2024 manufactured units sitting at the yards makes sense. The case here is slightly different primarily due to two reasons: 1. They have 100+ bookings so they will be able to liquidate before the end of the year.
2. Their lot size of import has been quite low, probability of them ending up with old stock is not going to happen.

Two dealers that I have been in touch with also seem positive about Oct delivery, the only unknown is what color will be available and how many units are going to be available.
Old 2nd September 2024, 16:22   #398

Originally Posted by ManneAtWheelz View Post
Forgot Moto Morini X-Cape?
Originally Posted by handsofsteel View Post
oh yes! great bike, but, does it even sell?
At least it is available with the dealers unlike Honda.

Originally Posted by Aragorn View Post
Hey Legal_Eagle - having ridden the predecessor (CB500x) over considerable distance, all I can say is you can't put a price to the overall execution of the bike.
What are the differences between the CB500X and the NX500? Is is just the name and graphics?

The NX500 is as heavy a Himalayan 450, but its weight balance is sublime. Barring the Scrambler 400x, none of the machines you have mentioned achieve this. For example - it takes huge effort to pull up the Himalayan 450 from its side stand.
Yes this is the biggest problem I'm facing with the Himalayan 450.

The other issue is Honda's sales & marketing set-up.
Typically (not limited to the NX500)
- First they launch a good bike (not great, just good).
- They price it exorbitantly.
- You can't buy it at a normal Honda Dealer.
- You can't buy it at a Big Wing Dealer (unless its a CB350)
- You can buy (or should I say book) it only at a Big Wing Topline Dealer (I think there are 4 in the country).
- You will have no clue when it will be delivered or if it will be delivered.
- If you do get it, you have no clue if you will get parts.

But Honda wants you to buy it (and some people do buy it) just because it's a Honda when you can just walk in to the showroom of it's competitors and ride away the same day.

Better still, look at the localised Honda CB350 platform.
Very over rated bike.

I appreciate Bajaj / KTM / Triumph for making a platform that is affordable in India and yet has global appeal.
+1 to that.

The much dreaded call arrived today. BigWing Goa said the deliveries have been pushed to October 2024. With the onset of monsoons, and the fact that I will be getting back on the saddle after a gap of 5-6 years, I was anyways going to limit my riding in these months. Took the hard decision to hold on to my booking of the White NX.

Fingers crossed.
Recently spoke to the BigWing dealer in Goa and he said we'll 'know' the availability of the next batch of NXs in November 2024.
Didn't know that this was available in the normal Big Wings. BTW is this the Margao dealer?
pedrolourenco is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 16:48   #399

Originally Posted by pedrolourenco View Post
Didn't know that this was available in the normal Big Wings. BTW is this the Margao dealer?
Yes. I booked at Honda Big Wing Goa South. They are now allowed to sell upto 750cc that includes the Transalp.
lionell is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 17:51   #400

At least it is available with the dealers unlike Honda.
On a lighter note, it is available with the dealers precisely because it doesn't sell

But seriously, completely agree with your assessment on the Honda strategy. I would never buy one till I am not sure of the OEM's commitment to the supply chain.

I only wish the competition increases in this segment so as to get these guys off their high horses. I would love to see the 'Creta moment' in this segment soon. One bike, decently priced, run away with the numbers.
handsofsteel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 19:20   #401

Yes. I booked at Honda Big Wing Goa South. They are now allowed to sell upto 750cc that includes the Transalp.
I had visited them before they shifted to the current location. That time they were only selling the CB350 and it's derivatives.

Originally Posted by handsofsteel View Post
On a lighter note, it is available with the dealers precisely because it doesn't sell
But that doesn't necessarily make it a bad bike. I was close to buying it but then some friends suggested I go for a smaller bike to get used to an ADV and then move up.

But seriously, completely agree with your assessment on the Honda strategy. I would never buy one till I am not sure of the OEM's commitment to the supply chain.
Same here. More than that, I wouldn't want to buy if there are alternatives just because of their attitude of telling the customer "We will decide if you can buy it or not."

I only wish the competition increases in this segment so as to get these guys off their high horses.
We already have options from Moto Morini, Benelli & Suzuki plus the single cylinder options; KTM 390 Adv and RE Himalayan 450.
Old 2nd September 2024, 22:38   #402

But that doesn't necessarily make it a bad bike.

We already have options from Moto Morini, Benelli & Suzuki plus the single cylinder options; KTM 390 Adv and RE Himalayan 450.
Never said that Moto Morini is in any way inferior to the competition. It is another one of those that I am unsure of from the supply chain perspective compounded by a relatively unknown, completely absent support structure in India. Therefore, I wouldn’t touch it with a barge pole.

Of the lot that you have mentioned, none of them truly appeal to the buyer who wants peace of mind along with some degree of desirability. Which is why when I bought mine a few years ago, only the V strom, v650 and the Honda 500 were the only practical choices. Of these, the Suzuki and Honda ruled themselves out due to the aforementioned reasons leaving only the versys which was already long in the tooth. It has, however, repaid me back with its bullet proof reliability and assured availability of spares./ support. Six years down the line, nothing much has changed with respect to the options.
handsofsteel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th September 2024, 14:29   #403

Originally Posted by b16h22 View Post
I honestly hope Kawa can pull a rabbit out of the hat with the upcoming localised Versys 300X. That's going to eat into whatever little market share the NX had. And you can only blame Honda India's incompetency for that.
What would be even better is if the rumoured Versys 300 turns out to be a Versys 500. The 300 engine is anyway a very old unit and the new 500s make more sense!

Last edited by Turbanator : 6th September 2024 at 14:44. Reason: Fixed Quote.
Old 12th September 2024, 15:45   #404

Originally Posted by kkSolo View Post
What would be even better is if the rumoured Versys 300 turns out to be a Versys 500. The 300 engine is anyway a very old unit and the new 500s make more sense!
While the Kawasaki has proven in terms of reliability and availability of spares, the Honda still has an edge when it comes to cost of maintenance and spares.
Just wish Kawasaki some day fairs on the cost front as well.
Old 12th September 2024, 17:09   #405

- You can't buy it at a normal Honda Dealer.
- You can't buy it at a Big Wing Dealer (unless its a CB350)
- You can buy (or should I say book) it only at a Big Wing Topline Dealer (I think there are 4 in the country).
Big Wing dealers are facing good loses and hence some of these are lines are getting blurred I hear. Heard from a trusted source that a dealer lost 5 years of earnings from the regular Honda 2W showroom over the last couple of years with Bigwing.

The normal Big Wing dealers sell from 200cc machines (Hornet 2.0) upwards now, while some of the dealers have been relaxed the upper ceiling to include the Transalp, and not just the NX500.

Afterall, Transalp is the only big bike from the stable that seems to be getting imported for the most part of this year.