|
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 58,233 views |
![]() | #61 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Quote:
The RZ is now finally getting assembled with the love and care it received on the assembly line in Japan in 1980. Years of neglect and wrong craftsmanship really messed up this rare JDM RZ and I am glad I could rebuild it to a level it deserved to be in all these years… Some pictures of it getting back on its feet again: New rubber fitted on the rear rim ![]() Front gets the correct factory size ![]() Would have liked to have some better options but let’s see how these Apollos’s are ![]() Front rotors mounted on ![]() Old school OE spec with no holes for cleaning the pads or cooling the rotor ![]() Rear OE spec 39T sprocket ![]() And massive drum brakes ![]() T set is now on ![]() So is the swingarm and the OE mono shock ![]() Side view ![]() Fork legs go on ![]() Top view ![]() The old tubes were damaged with heavy pitting so the new ones sourced from Yambits went on ![]() Front mudguard goes on ![]() Followed by the front tyre ![]() ![]() ![]() Rear tyre goes on too and we are back on our own feet ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 10 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, Freespirit27, ishan0278, jithin23, krishnaprasadgg, neith, somspaple, that_sedate_guy, v12 |
|
![]() | #62 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2023 Location: Hosur
| Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special
As you have also mentioned, solid rotors have higher heat retention and lesser debris blow-off ability even though those were the original types. Does it make sense to use compatible drilled rotors in these scenarios or would that do more harm than good? Just curious. Phenomenal restoration by the way. That chassis upon assembly must've given a big scoop of satisfaction ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks that_sedate_guy for this useful post: | SnS_12 |
![]() | #63 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Quote:
This is one fast 2stroke even in stock form and I am sure the braking power even with twin rotors is not going to be as potent as the current gen bikes which would be far better even with a single rotor. So, since the bike will remain stock and rebuild to the factory spec I am ok with these compromises and am prepared to re skill my riding technique for this special 350 and that is what truly will give a sense of the experience off how it felt to ride one in the 80’s. But, on the braking front we have found out today that the callipers have been upgraded and are from the YPVS model which were better than the ones which came on the earlier models. And I found this because of a small rubber part that I had ordered which didn’t fit the bike and Eddie from Ebay UK had an answer immediately when I enquired with him. I shared the picture of the bracket where this particular rubber boot fits and the one I ordered from Yambits is smaller in size compared to what was on the bike and that is when he told me that the bracket is from the first series of ypvs know in UK as the RD350LC2 YPVS 31K. Although the ypvs calipers of that type fit the 4L0 they're not the type of Calipers that the bike came with from the factory. So, the ones currently on the bike are from the first ypvs models which came in 1983. So, I guess one of the previous owners made that upgrade and maybe that is the reason why it had the ypvs meter console as well? The other change that was done on the later models which was shared by Eddie was that the carburettors were modified/improved. The early models had 4L0-00 stamped carbs which had mid range fuelling issues so we're upgraded and modified by Yamaha in 1981 by different internal drillings and combinations of jetting, needles etc, those ones are stamped 4L0-01, and this is the spare set that I have got from Eddie and which will go on the bike. Now, tomorrow we will check if the carbs on the bike are the 00 ones and if yes how different are the internals. You keep learning something new and with that there is always a new requirement of parts ![]() Carried back 55kg of parts in three trips whist is almost 1/3 of the bike weight and we still need the parts. Luckily I have people like Eddie who is a real Genie when it comes to 4L0 parts and I have friends to carry them back home when I can’t. The rectifier original wirings are a mess and the 2t tank oil sender gauge is spoilt. I looked at Yambits and unfortunately the rectifier is out of stock currently. So, checked with Eddie who had one three pin oil sender gauge and the correct rectifier both used but in working condition and in stock. So, once I check on the bike again tomorrow I will ensure that no further parts are required from Eddie and place the order. This is one MAD restoration challenge that we have taken over but the excitement keeps building up with every part going back on the bike and gives the same amount of joy the engineers at Yamaha would have felt when they were assembling the first production spec RZ 350 in 1980. Some pictures… The rubber bin boot I ordered from Yambits ![]() It is the correct part for the model year bit since the callipers on the bike are ypvs ones they don’t fit. You can see the size difference from one on the top left portion of the bracket. ![]() OE Rectifier came on the bike ![]() 6 pin socket on the wiring loom ![]() But the ones on the rectifier have been messed up by one of the previous owners ![]() No problem Eddie to the rescue as always ![]() Used but good as new ![]() These are hard to find parts. Thanks to Eddie once again for supporting this build. ![]() Pictures shared by Eddie on how the actual callipers on my bike looked like with a smaller bracket ![]() And the YPVS ones which have a bigger bracket ![]() Taking shape ![]() We are getting there slow and steady ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 12 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, ishan0278, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27, Omkar, rehaan2, Rtn777, sanjayrozario, somspaple, that_sedate_guy, vaasu |
![]() | #64 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Took the Daytona today to get its tyres changed and the front brake master cylinder replaced. Also, found out some parts on the RZ wiring that we were unsure whether they are required on the bike so with some research and speaking with Eddie we could clear our doubts and proceed further. Pictures of the work… Air top up.. ![]() Mileage reading… ![]() The RD 400 MC kit and other top cover replacement from Yambits ![]() All cleaned up ![]() Correct part number ![]() Internals have some pitting because of storage and will have to be honed. ![]() Old garage mates meet again ![]() Tyre change ![]() Surprise time once again ![]() Eddie saw the carbs and told me that the carbs I have are not for the 4L0 model, the code of 1UA 00 are from a much later rd350ypvs F2 model, known as power jet carbs. These would work well on a highly tuned bike. ![]() The correct carbs sent by Eddie ![]() The RZ looking super aggressive ![]() Front end all done ![]() Brake setup ![]() HEL braided lines on the ypvs callipers ![]() 1 into 2 linkage OE setup ![]() OE MC. Will get the top cover sandblasted and leave it like that ![]() Tail section and seat fitted for alignment ![]() Aggressive looking tank ![]() ![]() Rear end looks sleek with the correct profile tyre ![]() All OE lights ![]() ![]() OE meter setup ![]() Left new switch gear ![]() Right new switch gear ![]() In Love with the paint ![]() What a beauty ![]() OE tank cap fits well. So a single key for the ignition, tank lock and seat lock ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 8 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, ishan0278, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27, rehaan2, sanjayrozario, somspaple |
![]() | #65 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Pictures continued… Seat lock on the same key ![]() OE Foot peg mount and pegs front and back ![]() Rear peg ![]() Front peg ![]() No spring and folds in completely to kick start the bike ![]() Left side spring loaded foot peg ![]() Messed up rectifier ![]() The wiring that came off the bike ![]() Fuse box ![]() Parts which made no sense why it was on the bike ![]() Yummy parts ![]() Friend had the 4L0 piston that he had bought to use on his RD ![]() ![]() And look at our luck we had it in the size we wanted ![]() ![]() And also he had 4L0 spec Long connecting rods ![]() Goldmine ![]() My RZ and RD 125 engines waiting to be rebuilt ![]() Daytona next. Front MC being bleed ![]() Bosch brake oil ![]() All done ![]() ![]() ![]() Muffler pug on the left ![]() And on the right ![]() Mileage reading after reaching home ![]() New tyre look from the back ![]() From the front ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 10 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, Doge, krishnaprasadgg, mh09ad5578, mugen_pinaki27, rehaan2, Rtn777, sanjayrozario, Vaastav |
![]() | #66 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2023 Location: Hosur
| Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Quote:
And you're lucky that you're able to get such able helping hands supporting you throughout the build. Otherwise motorcycles like these, especially vintage ones can be a serious pain in the neck to restore and you'd end up with either ridiculously expensive imports or compromises everywhere. Glad to see you're having the perfect sources. Another rather inconvenient aspect of rebuilds is of course what you mentioned about previous owners doing things their way instead of the motorcycle way. Case in point, botched wire -jobs. It's always nerve-wracking when I have to do post-mortem work on somebody else's build. You're however carrying it forward with good poise ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank that_sedate_guy for this useful post: | krishnaprasadgg, SnS_12 |
![]() | #67 | |
It’s because of my friend Tony that I even dared to take this route as we both understand what we are getting into and what all will need to be done to achieve the results we are aiming for. Even Eddies contact was initially shared by a Bhpian whom I have never met but have always been in touch especially when I was looking at buying a few bikes from this collection. There are so many people who have directly and indirectly contributed in this project and I guess it happens only when you are truly committed and pouring your heart out in doing something. Tony and Eddie have been the key contributors definitely and Eddie especially has been really kind and helpful in clearing our doubts and providing many missing parts and two more have been added to the list today ![]() The RZ has a pilot lamp and the holder on mine was spoilt and no surprises Genie Eddie had one ![]() Also, the RZ has self cancelling turn indicators and the control unit on mine had gone kaput and Eddie comes to the rescue again ![]() And finally got a good grab rail at a good price so bought that too ![]() The wiring diagram we referenced too to understand what does exactly what ![]() Legend Eddie sharing his knowledge on the 4L0 which really made the job easy ![]() On the front suspension we dropped the fork height by 15mm but still not happy with the damping so have to check on that ![]() As they say, when you truly want something, the whole universe conspires | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | AVash, Cyborg, ex-innova-guy, krishnaprasadgg, mh09ad5578, sanjayrozario |
![]() | #68 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Why a 350 is so difficult to get compared to a 250 and that too a JDM is explained in this video where Chris and his dad share some memories of owning and racing on an 350 LC back in the day. Putting a 350 block on a 250 is not something you can do on a modern day four stroke without breaking the bank ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | Cyborg, Freespirit27, krishnaprasadgg, mh09ad5578 |
![]() | #69 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Houston, we have a fusion problem We were planning and hoping to get the bike up and running by end of November, but we have hit a massive roadblock that even after a week of trying we haven’t been able to find a solution. The problem at hand is the magnet is just not willing to come off not even under the pressure of a bench press. From the looks of it over time the magnet met has fused up strong with the crank shaft. Almost three pullers were totally destroyed and even welding one on it didn’t help as it snapped from the weld joint. So, the issue is how to remove it without damaging the magnet, coil plate and most importantly the casing. Tried speaking with Eddie and he suggested pouring hot water over it which we tried along with supercooling and nothing seems to make it budge. So, my friend is going to try to push it out from the other side instead of pulling it and for safety sake I enquired with Eddie if he had a spare magnet and coil and just as luck would have it he had just one left in perfect working condition. Also, the cylinder head studs had gone brittle over the years and two of them snapped so have ordered 8 new cylinder studs, along with 8 crankcase studs (6 short and 2 long ones) and also exhaust stud kits. Will be replacing all of them for good measure. So, these parts are coming from Yambits where I am ordering totally 92 individual smaller items for my RZ , RD 125 and RD 200. Part shopping just never ends. Hopefully, with a spare magnet and coil we can try some tougher techniques to get the old one out without worrying about damaging it beyond repair. 🤞 Some pictures… Was wondering how to about painting my top cover of the front master cylinder to get the exposed effect on the Yamaha badging. Enquired with Eddie and sure enough he had one for me ![]() ![]() TK 28mm flat slides carburettors sourced locally. Stocking up in case we decide to go bananas on the RZ performance in the future ![]() ![]() ![]() Our fusion problem ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Even welding on the puller didn’t help it just snapped from the weld joint on the press ![]() Eddie to the rescue again ![]() ![]() ![]() All original wiring and looks much better than the one I currently have on the bike. And kind hearted Eddie gave this last set at a discount just to help me out. This build would not have been possible without his assistance and knowledge sharing. ![]() Speaking on Eddie’s knowledge we thought that the reed valves on the bike were not original as they looked smaller and similar to the RD/RX ones. So, we were planning to instead take this opportunity to use the V Force reed valves. Upon checking with Eddie he confirmed that ones on the bike are original and only the YPVS ones had bigger reed valves. So, to fit the V force ones we will have to shave off significant material from the inlet port to make it fit. Since, we are keeping it stock we will retain the OE reeds for now ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Consider this, an engine operating at 8,000 RPM results in a reed petal opening and closing 133 times in one second. And as these valves are almost 45 years old now am getting the below Boyesen petals which are a dual-stage design which incorporates a specially shaped top reed and a ported bottom reed. The top reed is lightweight and resilient for crisp throttle response at partial throttle or low RPMs. The stiffer, bottom reed is ported to provide maximum flow and horsepower at higher RPMs. ![]() While we were stuck with the magnet we decided to move on to fixing the damping issue on the front fork. On checking the internal spring it was jutting out two inches from the top instead of half inch for some reason. The excess was cut off an refitted and it works like a charm now ![]() ![]() Also, the front radiator and protective cover was fitted on the bike ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27, vaasu |
![]() | #70 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Eureka! After numerous attempts over the last 10 days and over half a dozen pullers and a few air grinder bits later the magnet and coil plate have finally come off. We tried everything possible and the only option left was to bring in the heavy tools and cut it off. But my friend Tony wanted to try and preserve the magnet to be reused again and so the process had to be carefully executed and was painstakingly slow but in the end only the top holder of the magnet was destroyed and we will make a new one made along with new wiring to use it again at a later date when and if the need arises. Eddie mentioned that 1 in a 100 cases such extreme steps have to be taken and as luck would have it mine was that one. But, in the end glad we could take it out with minimal damage and though the pictures would like we were on a pure destruction mode but it was done with extreme care to save what could be and not damage the other parts in the process. Some pictures… One last try to pull it off before we get serious with some serious destructive tools. But no luck! ![]() Bottom part of the casing ![]() 4L0 stamped on the casing along with part number ![]() This is the next issue to be fixed on the to do list. Has to welded carefully because the heat can make the metal warp ![]() The amount of metal that has been shaved off ![]() Side angle and the main challenge is too not damage the crank ![]() The last puller that was welded on for extra support but still broke off from the weld. Damn magnet is fused for good. ![]() Clutch cover with the oil dip stick that was missing and below that is the new water pump gear and impeller. ![]() Top side with the Yamaha embossed cover which was gifted by Eddie ![]() Casing view minus the clutch bell ![]() Japan embossed connecting rod ![]() Aluminium water pump pipe which is corroded and would need to be changed. ![]() Don’t miss my RD 200 in the background ![]() ![]() Air grinder in action. Millimetre at a time to save the magnet ![]() Bigger air grinder. A variety of tools were used to get the job done ![]() My part boxes. Till now 60kg of parts were ordered from UK ![]() ![]() Time to cut deep and fast ![]() Magnet would be like Flower samjaa tha kya… Fire hai maii ![]() ![]() This is the part that was cut off to find out how much more material we had to shave off further ![]() ![]() Size of the metal piece taken off ![]() Third air grinder. 56k rpm. Sounds madd… ![]() Grinder Bits sacrificed ![]() This is what precise destruction looks like.. ![]() Eureka moment.. ![]() And it’s finally off. Sigh!! ![]() Backside of the magnet ![]() Stator is next ![]() The amount of rust that even a bench press capable of generating force up to 40 ton couldn’t budge it off.. ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | Cyborg, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27, vaasu |
![]() | #71 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Pictures continued Top view of the crank ![]() This is the part which was rusted and stuck on the crank ![]() ![]() ![]() Another surprise thanks to shoddy work done by the previous mechanic/owner ![]() Doesn’t look original ![]() And because the dimensions were not correct was cut to size to fit in probably ![]() Luckily the original one is still available from Yamaha for £53 each but I got the one available at Yambits. ![]() The list of parts arriving from Yambits next week ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() The water pump pipe was ordered at the last minute though and should hopefully arrive with the remaining parts ![]() This is turning out to be a truly Legendary rebuild for a Legendary motorcycle which turned 44 this month ![]() ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | Cyborg, Freespirit27, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27 |
|
![]() | #72 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special No more Surprises With all the surprises we have encountered since September while working on the RZ the biggest and most challenging one was getting out the magnet by far considering the amount of time and effort we put into it. But even after that was tackled we had kept our fingers crossed as the casing had to be opened next and I was worried what if the crank webs were damaged or worst the gearbox was damaged and would need replacement parts. Getting the parts if required was not a problem but how to get them to India would have been the main challenge. However, our lucky stars were with us and both the crank and gearbox are in good shape. Sigh! We have replaced, reworked on each and every component of the RZ wherever required and I am glad I decided to do a full grounds up rebuild even before sitting on the bike. Crazy to think about it that I haven’t yet sat on the bike and let alone ride it till date and so my first impression of the RZ would be close to how one would feel when it came out of the factory back in 1980 ![]() Three more days to go for my friends to arrive with the last batch of parts and in the meantime the whole engine will go in for sandblasting to be prepped for the rebuild along with my RD 125 engine. So, before one project is over the next has already commenced. Happy Days!!! Some pictures… Top portion of the casing. Business as usual and glad to see something the way it’s supposed to be ![]() Bottom portion. The inside of the casing will be cleaned well to take out all the residue oil ![]() Bye bye crack ![]() ![]() Crank looks good. The connecting rods will be changed and have also ordered the Labyrinth seal my friend will take a call whether to replace it or not ![]() ![]() Gearbox looks good too ![]() ![]() Crack all sealed up ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Captain Slow, Cyborg, InControl, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27 |
![]() | #73 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Final batch of parts have arrived -1 My friends arrived yesterday and got all my parts except one as they had gone overweight with all their other stuff and unfortunately couldn’t carry the rear grab rail a part I had to hunt a lot and now the weight to put it on the bike gets longer but at least all the critical parts are finally here and we can now get going in finishing up assembling the engine asap. The engine casing along with the block and head have gone in for sandblasting and the work should be carried out by tomorrow followed by which the blocks and piston’s would be sent for boring a critical job that needs to executed to perfection. Some pictures… Checking out the crank for the first time ![]() Post completion of the rebuild the holder plate will have to be made with new wiring for the coil plate. Then I will have a spare set along with a spare petrol tank to use in the future if the need arrives. ![]() Metal shavings on the inside of the magnet ![]() Japan stamped on the crank bearing. All these will be replaced now ![]() These will soon be squeaky clean ![]() Sandblasting will clean the coolant head intake as well. ![]() These guys are not going to stick around for long ![]() Glad the engine was opened up or else with everything looking new the engine would have been eyesore ![]() Bottom end of the casing. Have got a new oil drain nut to replace this one ![]() ![]() The broken crankcase stud ![]() Remaining studs which will be replaced with the new ones ![]() The last exhaust stud was being really stubborn ![]() Not the prettiest welding job in the world ![]() But won’t be seen anyway ones the engine is fitted on ![]() Crank housing ![]() Right side ![]() New silencers ![]() Temperature gauge sender. Looked much bigger on the website ![]() Sorting of parts ![]() The best highlight of today. I had ordered this OE RD 200 tank cap to try on my OE RZ tank to see if it fits ![]() Surprise surprise it fitted just Perfect ![]() Really stoked at this decision to buy this cap ![]() A surprise gift from Yambits ![]() Pulls a wheelie too ![]() Magnet and other parts sent be Eddie ![]() This pipe will have to be cleaned too ![]() ![]() OE headlight dome as these grooves for the Tacho cable ![]() And speedo cables. Well engineered ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | brownkaiser, Cyborg, Freespirit27, krishnaprasadgg, mugen_pinaki27 |
![]() | #74 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special The Joys and challenges of owning and working on multiple bikes As you guys already know with the RZ we were prepared for the unexpected in terms of what all we may have to do on the bike and hence I had been ordering parts even before we knew that we will have to replace them. On top of that I was ordering parts for the Daytona, RD 125 and RD 200 at the same time and in the past few months I have ordered 100’s of individual parts and at times have missed out on the finer details as the Daytona and RZ are bikes I haven’t worked on before and the Daytona especially needed a lot of research as there was basically no info available on the internet but the bike had original parts so that helped quite a lot. But still I ended up ordering the wrong parts like the wrong master cylinder repair kit of the latest being the wrong size calliper pin boots for the RZ. But, in all the chaos of ordering parts I ended up ordering the wrong quantity of parts as well and I only realised my blunder now when we are so close to firing up the RZ ![]() The parts in question are the ever so critical engine damper’s without which the engine cannot be mounted back. These parts I had ordered in October even before we got the engine out and I just added parts which I thought back then maybe required but never got into the specific quantities that are required. I would explain further how I messed up on this when I post the pictures as that would help understand why you have to read about each particular part when you order online especially on Yambits. Now, after inspecting the engine casing up close is when it struck me that I may have not ordered the correct quantity of each damper and I checked my purchase history only to realise that my hunch was true and I did mess up big time. So, without delay I started contacting all known contacts including a few bhpians to see any one is coming down from UK as Yambits still don’t deliver to India. As luck would have it I couldn’t find no one who could hand carry the parts and as a last resort I reached out to my man Friday Eddie and he sure enough didn’t disappoint. He guided my to a UK Yamaha dealer who ship worldwide and all I had to pray for that the parts are in stock. Since, I was not very familiar with this dealer and their website I carefully read the details and view the part diagram and numbering to ensure I order the right parts. I shared the details with Eddie and he was kind enough to check and verify each part number was correct and gave me the final go ahead. But, life is not always kind enough to me and at times it really tests my patience and pumps up anxiety levels. So, the Yamaha dealer who go by the name Fowlers work on from Monday to Friday and unlike Yambits their website doesn’t process orders on weekends especially for a shipping quotation which needs to be generated for your order. Also, while chatting with Eddie I told him I am only placing an order for the missing quantities of the required parts and enquired with him if it would be an issue as the parts would be supplied by two different suppliers and that when he told me that the ones from Fowlers are OEM parts, which made sense as they were almost 50% fore costly than the ones on Yambits. So, when I heard that these are OEM parts I just revised my order and ordered the right quantity and then the long wait for Monday morning for them to open at 9 am UK time to give me a shipping quotation. I kept checking my order basket and my email for an update even before it was 9 and finally got an update at 10 am UK time. Phew! But, the drama had just begun as I went to pay they had no option of paypal, which I use on Yambits or Amex. Only Visa and Mastercard. So, i tried making the payment through my visa credit cards two different ones and both were denied. I tried multiple times and even checked my banking app to confirm international transactions have not been turned off but no luck and then it struck me, do I have to use a debit card? I inserted the details and it was done and so was money from my bank account poorer by a few thousands in seconds…. Before placing the order I checked with my friend Tony as I had messaged him about this blunder on Sunday but he never responded back. He was all cool and not too stressed as he had kept the dampers which came on the bike as they didn’t looked damaged and could be reused. But since there was a crack at the front damper mounting point on the casing which we had welded we were not sure if it was a wrong size damper or instead of press fitting it was hammered in. So, fingers crossed the dampers from UK arrive before Christmas and the post man plays perfect Santa and doesn’t charge me custom duty ![]() Some pictures…. When you take a step back and see the finer details. While the MC cap I ordered from Eddie looks similar but the one on mine being a JDM spec has all warning lettering in Japanese ![]() Guess, i will now keep this one for a later date and refurbish the OE one ![]() Amount of parts still left to go on the bike ![]() The rectifier sent by Eddie ![]() OE and non OE tank in action ![]() Up close ![]() Guess, i will get a spare set of panels and paint them a different shade to use the OE tank ![]() Soon to switch to RUN ![]() RZ is going to scream as the tacho needle climbs and unleashes all hell in Bombay ![]() If one could read the signs always. The wrong calliper pin boot just below the dampers ordered in wrong quantity ![]() When you order parts on Yambits this is how you see it and add to cart. ![]() But the full description and quantity required is only mentioned when you click on each part. I have ordered a single piece of this one when I needed four in total. Brilliant!!! But can’t help it when you’re ordering 100’s of individual parts for multiple bikes ![]() Fowlers website in comparison. Has a part diagram but doesn’t always mention the quantity required. ![]() Waiting for my shipping quote ![]() Some heads up on the powder coating. All done ![]() A shiny clean engine casing all set for assembly ![]() OE tank goes under my bed so I can dream about its future… ![]() When my family thinks i can never throw anything away and only collect junk ![]() But only legends will understand what it means to still own a OE RX side panel set from your own bike after it’s turned 25. ![]() Daytona parts, which will now go in storage to be used when the need arises ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | Cyborg, krishnaprasadgg, Mr.Boss, mugen_pinaki27, somspaple |
![]() | #75 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: My Legendary Yamahas | RZ 350 and RD 250 Daytona Special Parts arrive in 8 days flat from UK Talk about super fast delivery and that too during festive season from UK. The all important correct quantity engine mounting dampers arrived from UK today. I had placed an order with Fowlers on 16-12-24 and they were shipped via Royal Mail and the Indian leg was handled by India Post respectively and hadn’t it been for the Sunday the items would have arrived in seven days. The total cost for all 14 individual parts was £186 and shipping was £18 additional. The best part is I wasn’t charged custom duty at all and the package weighed 520 gms and the custom guys just made a small tear on the package to inspect what the contents are and didn’t bother to inspect further. So, in all I am a happy man 😃 With regard's to progress on the engine the cylinders are bored and ready and the crank has been dismantled completely and now being put together with the new Labyrinth seal, crank bearings and connecting rods. The person who did the boring work on the cylinders was not confident on handling the crankshaft as its different in design compared to the regular RD’s so my friend Tony took up the job in his own hands. The two crank inner webs are connected with a centre pin so we had to take the correct markings before opening them up. Unfortunately, have been busy with family and guests so I couldn’t personally visit this weekend and will be travelling again this week so hopefully when I am back in the city next week the engine would be fired for the first time and finally that moment would arrive when I sit on the RZ for the first time. Can’t wait.. Some pictures… Cylinder blocks are ready for assembly ![]() The centre pin which needs to be taken out after making proper markings to be fitted back correctly ![]() The parts from Fowlers. Tony has asked me to keep these for a later date as the ones on the bike are in good condition and can be reused without any issues ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank SnS_12 for this useful post: | b16h22, Cyborg, Freespirit27, krishnaprasadgg, sole_rider |
![]() |