|
Search this Thread | 7,087 views |
31st October 2024, 15:23 | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Chennai
| StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 17 Oct ‘24 was an evening to remember. I ended my year-long hiatus from motorcycling by bringing home one of my dream motorcycles – a Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 with tubeless spoke wheels. Here’s a brief account about my history on two wheels, what prompted me to buy a new motorcycle, and why I ended up buying the Himalayan over all the other options in the burgeoning 400 - 500cc class. Kinetic Kick-off: I started my journey on two wheels in 2008 on a hand me down Kinetic Honda DX. It belonged to my sister, and it was a rattle trap. But it was a hoot to scoot around the city on, and I experienced some of my most memorable moments aboard it. As troublesome as it was, it holds a special place in my heart. Activa Activities: Next up came my Honda Activa 2G in 2009, which was officially my first new two-wheeler. I was in college then, and my parents were vehemently against getting me a motorcycle, so I had to settle for this instead. While it wasn’t the most exciting thing to ride, it was practical, it got me around town quickly, and it was so much more reliable than the Kinetic. The Activa saw me through my four years in college, and was along with me for some of the best times of my life. Of course, being an automotive enthusiast, the itch to own a motorcycle only got stronger every passing year. I spent four years scratching it by riding my friends’ motorcycles and going out on test rides. Finally, just before my graduation, I was able to convince my parents to get me one. And what a motorcycle it was - the KTM Duke 200. KTM Chaos: Back then, KTM was a hallowed brand among enthusiasts, known for their mad designs and equally bonkers performance. And when I got wind that we’d get to experience a slice of that insanity at a relatively affordable price, I immediately grabbed that opportunity. A bright orange Austrian came home on June 7th, 2012. The Duke 200 was a revelation. I got to experience exhilarating performance, telepathic handling, and top-notch build quality for the first time. It put into perspective all the adjectives penned by motoring journalists in all the auto magazines I had consumed till then. I had a ball owning the Duke 200. I thoroughly enjoyed the addictive rush of acceleration, the even torque spread which meant you could cruise at 40 in 6th gear, and the brakes that helped you shed speed in a jiffy. The Duke helped me learn a lot about the basics of motorcycling, all while having a ton of fun. I went on numerous rides on it with my friends, making memories that will last a lifetime. However, it wasn’t all smooth sailing. Being from among first batches of production, the Duke was constantly plagued by numerous electrical gremlins. Moreover, I found the suspension to be way too stiff for me for everyday use. So in 2016, after four years of ownership, I passed the Duke on to a friend. Access granted with Gusto: Two scooters came home in 2016 – a Suzuki Access 125, and a Mahindra Gusto. We bought the Access for use in Coimbatore when I moved there for my Master’s, and I won the Gusto (2nd place in the 2015 Mahindra AQ ). Both were sweethearts – the Access was quite fast and fun for a scooter, whereas the Gusto was butter smooth to ride around in the city. However, that itch to ride a motorcycle remained. I kicked myself for selling the Duke while being in a city like Coimbatore, which boasts of some wonderful roads and destinations to ride to less than half a day away. But there wasn’t much I could do. I had to wait till I could get a job and save up for my next motorcycle. Almost Intercepted: Cut to Nov 2019. I was back in Chennai. I had settled into a job and saved up some cash. Among the choices back then, the Interceptor 650 stood out with its fantastic power-to-price ratio. Multiple test-rides later, the heady rush of torque and the glorious parallel-twin growl convinced me that it was my next motorcycle, so I booked one. However, the fact that a 47 bhp motorcycle capable of speeds in excess of 150 kmph had tube tyres lingered in the back of my head. While tube tyre punctures are a nightmare to deal with, my main concern was the rapid loss of air, and consequently control of the motorcycle. I already had one bad experience on my Kinetic Honda, where I almost dropped the scooter when the rear tyre deflated suddenly at speed. I didn’t want a redux of that on a much faster motorcycle. And so, I promptly cancelled my booking for the Interceptor 650, with the intention of getting one in case they offered tubeless alloy wheels. That of course never materialized until much later. And then COVID-19 struck, putting all my motorcycle plans on hold. The Royal H’ness: In late 2020, as things were inching back into the new normal, Honda pulled a cat out of the bag in the form of the H’ness CB350. At that point, I just wanted a comfortable commuter motorcycle with enough power and torque to cruise at highway speeds effortlessly, and the CB350 seemed to fit the bill. So, in March 2021, I bought one. I was back on a motorcycle after nearly five years, so I was revelling in its all its positive aspects. The CB350 was reasonably quick. It had a featherlight clutch which was a boon in city traffic. It offered a plush ride, yet it felt stable at highway speeds. It sounded great too. I used it for my daily commute to work, as well as the occasional early morning ride and late-night runs in and around the city to clear my mind. Thanks to its minimalist clean slate design, I also thoroughly enjoyed accessorizing the CB to my taste. However, as I piled on the kilometres, a few things became very evident. The CB350 felt… boring. It looked appealing, but it never really excited me while riding. Of course, it wasn’t meant to set speed records, but it didn’t feel special, like how my Duke 200 did. The motor had a narrow powerband, and the terribly spaced gears only made matters worse. It was neither conducive to calm low-speed cruising or for spirited riding. At that point, I had shifted homes, which lengthened my daily commute. I was more comfortable covering that distance by car, so the CB was hardly being ridden. I then decided to part with it, and I sold it to a gentleman in November 2023. I had no plan to replace it. In fact, I was under the intention that I was pretty much done with motorcycles. Or so I thought. Oh, how wrong I was. FOMO Strikes, Hard: Motorcycling isn’t all as glamourous as it is usually portrayed. In fact, it is a sweaty and arduous ordeal, especially in a hot and dusty climate like ours. However, as cliched as it may sound, once you get a taste of that fun, freedom, and fraternity that motorcycling enables, you’ll always keep longing for more. Gearing up and setting out for a ride at the crack of dawn. Being enveloped by the cold wind while riding on winter morning. Cruising along a twisty back road lined by greenery. That hot shower followed by a sumptuous dinner after a long, gruelling ride. I started to miss these addictive experiences. I still regret not riding as much as I could have in my 20s. I didn't want to hold the same regret in my 40s as well. My craving to be back on two wheels began to resurface, and it kept getting stronger every passing day. My wife bore the brunt of my constant chatter about getting a new motorcycle. Finally, she caved in one day and gave me the green light to buy one. And so, the hunt began ! Last edited by Turbojc : 2nd November 2024 at 02:46. |
(18) Thanks |
The following 18 BHPians Thank Turbojc for this useful post: | anivy, Axe77, chiefpk, chinmaypillay, Cyborg, espraveen, Geo_Ipe, GTO, Guru_Shikhar, Ikran, mugen_pinaki27, NitNac, oto_freak, Red Liner, sanjayrozario, Shonith, shyamg28, Vijesh L |
|
1st November 2024, 20:15 | #2 |
| StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Zeroing in on my next steed: I started the hunt for my next motorcycle in March 2024. I considered practically every option in the sub ₹6 lakhs price bracket. However, only a few bikes appealed to me. This included the Royal Enfield Himalayan 450, the Triumph Scrambler 400X, the BMW G310 GS, the Aprilia RS457, and the Royal Enfield Continental GT 650. As much as I wanted to pick a sport bike, I needed to choose something with more dimension, given that it would be the only motorcycle in the garage. A Swiss knife of sorts. So, the RS457 and the Continental GT were out of contention faster than their respective 0-100 times. As for the 310 GS, the price tag simply didn't make sense for the performance on offer, so it was dropped as well. This left me with the Himalayan 450 and the Scrambler 400X. The Triumph Scrambler 400X: I test rode both bikes back-to-back. The exceptional level of fit-and-finish on the Scrambler 400X was quite the draw. And it looked handsome to boot! The tall seat height made it feel like a bigger bike than the Speed 400. The 400X felt light and sprightly on the go. While the gearbox felt a tad notchy, the engine made up for it with its punchy performance. The ride quality felt plush, and the suspension soaked up bad patches admirably. The brakes were disappointing though, with insufficient feel and bite to stop the bike on a dime. I didn’t like the instrument cluster either – an analogue speedo with a digital tacho made it difficult to gauge both the speed and the revs at a glance. It would have been much better the other way around. Overall, the Scrambler 400X came across as a pretty capable machine, but somehow it didn't tug at my heartstrings. The Royal Enfield Himalayan 450: I’ve always harboured a soft spot for motorcycles with a purposeful, mechanical design, such as the erstwhile Himalayan 411, so I was really looking forward to ride the all-new 450. The first things that stood out as I straddled the bike were its tall seat height and spacious ergonomics. The Himalayan 450 looked and felt like a proper big bike! It comfortably accommodated my hefty 5’11” frame. I also loved how the ergos seated the rider in a commanding stance that towered over the traffic. While the weight made its presence felt at standstill, the Himalayan masked it well on the go. The bike felt lithe and agile, and was easy to manoeuvre through city traffic. The liquid-cooled Sherpa 452cc single effortlessly picked up speed as I wound the throttle open, while letting out a gruff, throaty roar. There was abundant performance in reserve right from 3000rpm. The gear ratios were well-matched to suit the engine’s character. I could cruise at as low as 40kmph in 4th gear yet have access to energetic acceleration should I choose to overtake. The next thing that impressed me was the brilliant suspension. The Showa shocks simply devoured every pothole, bump, and undulation thrown its way with finesse and aplomb. I hardly had to slow down for bad patches or speed breakers. Yet, it maintained its composure at speed and under braking, never feeling soft or bouncy. The brakes were a delight too, offering more than sufficient stopping power without feeling grabby. Now, on to the negatives. While fit and finish levels were good, the Himalayan 450 lacked refinement. The bike exuded a raw, mechanical feel when ridden. Vibrations were evident, especially under acceleration. The tubeless tyres that RE announced at launch were also nowhere in sight. Nevertheless, I was thoroughly impressed with what the overall package had to offer. The tube vs tubeless conundrum: One big bugbear I had with advs and enduros is that most of them came with tube tyres, which I detest. I’m a strong believer that, in this day and age, all motorcycles should come equipped with tubeless wheels, be it alloys or wire-spokes. So, when Royal Enfield announced the all-new Himalayan 450 with tubeless spoke wheels, I was over the moon. Here was a capable adventure motorcycle that I can ride minus the worry of being stranded due to a flat tyre. However, the wheels would take time to arrive pending certification for local use. Nobody knew exactly how long that would be, and so, I put the Himalayan 450 on the backburner. The left-field option – Royal Enfield Bear 650: It was around this time that images of the Bear 650 being tested surfaced. I was enamoured by the idea of an Interceptor with suspension components tweaked for rough road riding. In fact, I even saw one being ridden by a factory test rider in person, and it was quite appealing. However, I noticed that all test bikes were shod with tube-type wire spoke wheels, which was a downside for me. Still, I decided to wait and see if RE would launch the Bear with optional alloys or tubeless wire spoked wheels. The Decision: As the months rolled on, I became increasingly impatient. Both the Bear 650 and the tubeless rims for the Himalayan 450 were nowhere in sight. By August, I started to seriously consider getting the Scrambler 400X for the time being. However, news that some interesting announcements would be made at Royal Enfield’s Motoverse in November quelled my restlessness. At that point, I made the decision – it would be either the Himalayan 450 with tubeless spoke rims, or the Bear 650, whichever came first. 27 September 2024: I was casually browsing Team-BHP when I stumbled across the news – the tubeless spoke rims for the Himalayan 450 were finally launched ! In fact, I had to do a double take when I saw the price – they were being offered for just a ₹11,000 hike over the standard bike! This was an absolute win. I immediately enquired the Brand Showroom close to my house, and they confirmed that they were taking orders. I wished to wait no longer, for a wise man once said, it would be better to spend time wisely rather than money. The very next day, I went to the showroom along with my wife. I took her out on a short test ride on the 450 to see if she felt comfortable on the pillion saddle, and then made my booking through their ‘Make It Yours’ programme at the showroom. I was told delivery would take between 30 – 45 days, but I could get it earlier. Finally, I was just one step closer to getting an amazing motorcycle home! The Himalayan 450, as I specced it on the MiY configurator: Apart from the tubeless spoke wheels, I also opted for the touring mirrors and the beautifully-designed rally engine guard. I named my bike StormTrooper, after the Empire's fiercely loyal soldiers clad in white armour (I fell in love with Star Wars recently !) Last edited by Turbojc : 2nd November 2024 at 02:45. |
(18) Thanks |
The following 18 BHPians Thank Turbojc for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, anivy, Axe77, chiefpk, chinmaypillay, Cyborg, espraveen, GTO, Guru_Shikhar, Ikran, jazzrockz, Mallucarguy, mh09ad5578, mugen_pinaki27, NitNac, Red Liner, shyamg28, Viju |
1st November 2024, 23:48 | #3 |
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 StormTrooper’s Homecoming: I had been tracking my booking's progress on RE’s own app. On the 8th of October, I saw that my Himalayan had reached the showroom. Thinking it was a glitch, I called the showroom to confirm. To my surprise, they called back a couple of hours later confirming my bike had indeed arrived, in just a week after booking! The next day, I went to the showroom to make the downpayment and complete the loan and registration paperwork. With the Ayudha Pooja holidays around the corner, I was given a tentative delivery date of October 14, subject to the loan being processed and registration formalities being completed on time. October 14 came and went. The loan processing took more time than expected due to the holidays, so the bike couldn’t be registered then. And as luck would have it, torrential rains lashed Chennai over the next two days, further delaying the delivery. Then, on October 17, I received the call that the bike would be registered that day, and that I could take delivery in the evening. It was an auspicious day as well, so I hoped there would be no further delays this time around. Thankfully, there weren’t. I went to the showroom that evening along with my mom and my wife. When we reached the showroom that evening, we were welcomed by a cluster of brand-new bikes being prepped for delivery. And in one corner, there was this beauty. My StormTrooper 450, in the flesh. It was surreal, seeing the bike I configured on an iPad barely a couple of weeks ago standing before my eyes. The delivery process went smoothly. Once the accessories that I specced were fit, I was given a thorough rundown of the bike’s features and functioning. After signing the final bits of paperwork, the keys were handed to me, followed by a customary unveiling of the bike. I was now the proud owner of a Kamet White Himalayan 450, replete with the much sought-after tubeless spoke wheels ! In fact, I was told that mine was the first bike this showroom received with these wheels fitted straight from the factory. The keychain my nephew gifted me came in handy! About the buying experience: I had a fantastic experience at Royal Enfield’s brand showroom on OMR. The entire process was straightforward and transparent. Every stage, right from enquiry, test ride, booking, loan processing, registration, and delivery was handled gracefully and professionally by their team. All those I interacted with were cordial and responsive to my queries and concerns. They stuck to their committed timelines and communicated delays well in advance. I have to say that this was hands down the best experience I’ve had purchasing a two-wheeler till date. The ownership story so far: I’ve covered just about 200kms on StormTrooper. Here are my initial impressions. The things I like:
In all honesty, I need to wait until the initial euphoria subsides to compile an unbiased list of things I do not like. Nevertheless, here are the things that I found annoying so far:
Thank you so much for taking your time to read through my experience of bringing StormTrooper home. I’ll continue to update this thread with my observations and experiences throughout the course of my ownership. Here are a few more pictures of StormTrooper to part with. Cheers! Last edited by Turbojc : 2nd November 2024 at 03:04. |
(41) Thanks |
The following 41 BHPians Thank Turbojc for this useful post: | anivy, aviator1101, Axe77, Carpainter, Castro Gunner, chiefpk, chinmaypillay, Cyborg, doomketu, espraveen, Fr0nx23, gharika, GTO, gunin, Guru_Shikhar, hashcode, Ikran, jazzrockz, katoom, khan_sultan, klgiridhar, Livnletcarsliv, Mallucarguy, manubg92, Meer, mugen_pinaki27, museycal, NitNac, oto_freak, PatienceWins, rahul143, Red Liner, Roy.S, sanjayrozario, Sharanam, shyamg28, SRISRI_90, surjaonwheelz, t3rm1n80r, Torino, Viju |
2nd November 2024, 06:00 | #4 |
Team-BHP Support | Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing! |
(7) Thanks |
The following 7 BHPians Thank Aditya for this useful post: | Axe77, Freespirit27, GTO, khan_sultan, klgiridhar, Turbojc, Viju |
2nd November 2024, 07:38 | #5 |
Senior - BHPian | Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Very well written and Hearty Congratulations on your Himalayan! It's a beautiful bike and the new wheels look great as well. Ride safe and do keep this ownership report updated for the rest of us! |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Viju for this useful post: | anivy, Turbojc |
2nd November 2024, 08:14 | #6 |
Team-BHP Support Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Mumbai
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 I love your writing style and the way you’ve built up the entire journey leading up the actual purchase. I’m conscious you’ve got a mere 200 kms of riding your 450 yet and I can't wait for the ongoing and detailed ownership experiences you'll inevitably throw up as you pack on more miles on this beautiful steed. Congratulations at a brilliant choice and wish you thousands of happy memories on it. |
(4) Thanks |
The following 4 BHPians Thank Axe77 for this useful post: | anivy, chiefpk, Turbojc, Viju |
2nd November 2024, 10:19 | #7 | |
Newbie Join Date: Apr 2024 Location: Vizag
| Congratulations Turbojc on your new bike and beautiful write up. Storm Trooper is indeed Handsome ! Great selection. I am looking forward to reading your engaging travelogues with Storm Trooper. Thank you and Ride Safe! Quote:
Last edited by Aditya : 2nd November 2024 at 17:52. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Quoted text fixed as requested | |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Fr0nx23 for this useful post: | anivy, Turbojc |
2nd November 2024, 11:30 | #8 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2020 Location: TS07
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Congrats on your new purchase! I am glad that somebody pointed out the pass switch stupidity. The placement and required method of operation of the pass switch is kind of counter intuitive if you ask me. RE should think of rectifying it. I am surprised as to how they approved it. |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank saikishor for this useful post: | anivy, TheTourer23, Turbojc |
2nd November 2024, 15:49 | #9 | |||
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: Margao, Goa
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Quote:
BTW I just saw on the Himalayan WA group that someone has fitted the Rally Guard as well as the normal one. | |||
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank pedrolourenco for this useful post: | SRISRI_90, Turbojc |
4th November 2024, 20:54 | #10 | ||||||
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Quote:
Interestingly, another Himalayan sporting tubeless rims that I saw at the dealership had wheels with a different branding. Perhaps anyone here could identify this logo? Quote:
Cheers! Last edited by Turbojc : 4th November 2024 at 20:56. | ||||||
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Turbojc for this useful post: | Captain Slow |
4th November 2024, 23:47 | #11 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2021 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450
JF stands for Jin fei. They are the manufacturers for the tubeless wheels. Akront wheels was seen only on the media bikes during the initial launch. Now this is confusing me as to how you got the Akront wheels All the bikes I have seen in person and on the discussions have JF rims |
() Thanks |
|
5th November 2024, 16:44 | #12 |
Newbie Join Date: Jun 2024 Location: Coimbatore
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Congrats on your new purchase. This is such a beautiful writeup. Hope you munch many more miles on your StormTrooper. Let me know when you visit Coimbatore. We'll catchup. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Vijesh L for this useful post: | Turbojc |
9th November 2024, 14:48 | #13 | ||
| Re: StormTrooper's Homecoming: My journey towards a 2024 Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Quote:
| ||
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Turbojc for this useful post: | Vijesh L |