Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 4th May 2008, 01:01   #1
Senior - BHPian

Need Help urgently - Dio or Flyte??

Hi to all Bhpians,

I would need your esteemed advice and guidance in buying an ungeared vehicle. From the time i have learnt riding, i have used a geared bike only and have never used an ungeared vehicle except for the short ride to the shop about 1 km away once in a blue moon. So I am a novice when it comes to ungeared scoots.

My priority in an ungeared scoot are as listed below:
  • Should be light and easy to handle with good shock absorbers
  • Seating position should be very comfortable for rides upto 30-50 kms in very heavy traffic without any aches or pains since i already have an injured arm.
  • Should have good road grip since I am very new to ungeared scoots and would not like to fall due to a small pebble on the road or after hitting a pot hole.
  • Mileage is not a big concern but would be a plus point if its good.
I ruled out Activa since it was heavy and also had a dated design. Scooty was out of question since its not adequately powered to pull two people.
I was not given a test ride of Suzuki Access and was told that I have to book it without a test ride and the waiting time is 2-3 months. So ruled that out as well. Never liked the design of Access in the first place.

I was left with the Honda Dio and Sym Flyte. Went through a long thread here on Flyte and was almost sure I will go for it but then wanted to take a ride on the Dio as well.

The new Dio sport looks really well finished in terms of paint quality and I also liked the design. But the ride quality was a bit low when compared to Flyte. Wait time for the Dio Sport was around a week with the dealer near 9th block Jayanagar in B'lore. The attitude of the salesperson was not very nice and he was least bothered to make a sale. He was not interested to answer any of my questions regarding the ride quality as well.