Team-BHP > Motorbikes

Search this Thread
Old 10th December 2008, 08:27   #1
BHPian

New Bullet Fan Needs Help!

The fan (me) is new, not the Bullet.

A little backstory:

I started riding a bike when I was 16. My first bike was a brand new (to the market) Bajaj Caliber. After a few years, I moved to Bangalore and graduated to a Bajaj Pulsar 180 (1st Gen). Rode that for a few years. Got a new car last year. Bike was in disuse so I sold it.

However, I still yearn to bike around and now that I have settled on the outskirts of Bangalore, I can once again plan to own one.

I had almost decided on choosing between the FZ16 and the RTR-FI when I went on a little TD on my friend's RE 350 STD. The rest is proverbial history!

I don't think anything can come close to the charm of a Bullet. I can't quite put my finger on it, but it's there. Sure they have their moods and need more care and affection than these new-age bikes but still.

All this after just one ride that lasted maybe 5 minutes!

Therefore, I have decided that the next bike I buy must be a Bullet.

Now that you know the background, my queries:

I want the Machismo 500LB, good choice? Bike will be ridden both short (~20km) and long (~150-200km) regularly.

I want lots of pulling power, not too bothered with top speed. Most of all I want the comfort and road presence that accompanies the REs.

I'm not averse to thinking about the TBird as well, however, the sound is not the same as the original Thumpers and is a major letdown. Can that be modified to sound the same as the other, more robust, Bullets?

Anything else that I should think about before jumping in? I'm kinda dazed right now, my wife thinks I'm nuts and she's probably right too. Any inputs will be appreciated.

Cheers!
Old 10th December 2008, 09:32   #2
Senior - BHPian

RD350 will be a good choice if pulling power is what you need.