Team-BHP > Motorbikes

Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2009, 11:47   #1

Second hand Fiero?

Dear Members,

A good day to you. This is my first post on Team BHP thought I've been visiting the forums for quite some time for advice. Never posted as I have limited knowledge on automotives to really benefit someone with my inputs. My post is regarding buying a used Suzuki Fiero as a second bike.

The main purpose I'll be using the bike for is daily commute of 50 kms, mainly consisting of highway riding and some bad road riding (about 10 kms everyday). Also, I may use this bike for some long distance riding on weekend depending on my experience with it. What I'm looking from this bike is reliability, good handling, decent crusing speed, the ability to take abuse and decent fuel effeciency.

Just to put things in perspective, this is not my first bike and before this I've previously used an RX100, a Pulsar 150 dtsi and am currently using a Standard Bullet. I intend to keep the Bullet and the Fiero will serve as a secondary mode of transport for daily commute. Also, I'm not particularly a bike loyalist or something like that with a preference for a certain brand or something like that. I like all bikes =)

The main reason why I'm looking at a Fiero is it is cheap, hassle free and its the bike on which I learned to ride. I've a friend who has one for the last 7-8 years and the bike runs well on very little maintainence. I've already asked my friend for his views to which he said that considering the bikes I've used, I wouldnt be so excited on a Fiero. However, I seem to think otherwise and have seen various posts on Team-BHP from Fieroid and others to substantiate that.

So, a humble request to all experts to please give in your inputs.. Do suggest if the Fiero would suit my requirements well and thanks a million for reading through the looong post!

My questions are

1. What is the cruising speed aka. the sweet spot on a Fiero?