Old 6th May 2009, 19:23   #31

Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
Currently ,I see a guy is building the same way.he had his `83 enfield to be rebuild and got 2 cases of spare parts from coimbatore costing a claimed 40K.I don't know how it feel to be. well ,satisfaction cannot be guaranteed.
pursuit of happiness, it can never be attained.

Originally Posted by Gurpartap Singh View Post
Maybe, I really want to catch every moment to joke on any RE which isn't a std, but that would be too mean, it's still a RE. :b
and that's a different kind of pursuit. good luck with that.
Old 6th May 2009, 21:01   #32

Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post

PS:Have you heard about "chamber jose" at kochi ?I heard around a lakh rupees are even required to make ugly choppers(no offense!) out of Bullets.
Used to get my engine overhauled at Kochi when I worked at Muvattupuzha. They were real experts and reasonable too. But absolutely no fancy modifications as you mentioned. (Never knew of the current trends.)
BTW, saw the PM and replied.
Old 14th May 2009, 02:14   #33

Thunderbird Twinspark is a good buy if you do not mind shelling Rs 1 lakh. The aluminium engine is a major improvement over stock Enfield engines. Yes it does feel like a classic Enfield but if you are looking for a good 350cc bike TB Twin is the bike. I would suggest silver color one. I was apprehensive about the color but realised it was a good choice after one month. Check the pictures attached.
Which Bullet to buy?.. or should actually I buy one? EDIT its TBTS-bird1a.jpg  

Which Bullet to buy?.. or should actually I buy one? EDIT its TBTS-bird2a.jpg  

Old 14th May 2009, 11:00   #34

Dear Thread Starter,

I donno if you have bought an RE by now, but still, me having bought a new Std Bullet on March 27th, 2009, I guess Iam the

right person to advice you.

My Background - Pulsar 150DTSi. Bought it 2004 used for 5 yrs. Got an amazing price while selling since I had maintained it

so well. I used to get 55km to a litre. Went ahead and bought bullet just bcoz of the 'man-ly-ness' associated with bullet.

BULLET STD 350:-

1) Daily Commuting - well I feel its a BIG NO. As far as i felt, it is a kind of a bike to be used for occassional 'outings', be in long or

short to really enjoy the feel of a heavy engine and bike. A silly example (although a bit too silly), the right side gear

shift spoiled my brand new 3000rs Lee Cooper shoe since the lever doesnt have the rear trail unlike electra or TBTS. It wont match the work schedule of normal office goer.

2) Mileage - Well I started with 18, then 22, then 27 and finally after consulting and repairing outside, iam getting upto

35kmpl in traffic after first service. Speedo now reading 1100. My bullet expert said new bull gets upto 45.

3) Going for new/old - Its tricky. I went for a new Std bullet just for the reason that i dint want starting issues etc. But

it backfired. It gave me serious probs upfront. Starting trouble, fuel leak, battery issue. I think bullet is the kind of

bike which needs time to settle down. As someone said, it IS indeed a marriage! But now after 1000kms the issues are almost

settled. The shock absorbers are also feeling much softer.

4) Long Term - CI engined bullet will hold good for decades. that is why all bullet enthusiasts/mechanics say STd is the

best. Thumping and things leave it aside. Others like TBTS/Electra not sure whether it will last. And to be frank Thunderbird

LB was a semi-disaster.

5) Maintenance - Bullet does call for maintenance. I understood that within my first month of usage. It needs care. oil leaks have started within 3 weeks !!! how sick.

6) vs Electra - Electra has the only shortcoming that it has low crank weight. but then it has electronc ignition, starter,

discs, 5s gears, gas shocks etc. I do feel the need for a 5th gear in my std bullet. PS: Bullet mechanics somehow suggest std

bull over electra and tbts, i donno why! My cousin has been using electra now for 30000kms, no issues.

7) vs TBTS - tbts is new. dtsi engine. only time ll say if its really good. as of now RE claims that TBTS engine is the

future engine for RE. Riding and comfort in TBTS is the best amogn RE. it has more pulling power too. and FE as well. But

then only issue is that,if A.S.S fails to give u a godo repair (which happened to me), TBTS engine architecture may not be

known to many mechanics elsewhere. RE SERVICE is definitely not the best like honda or hero honda.

8) Riding - std bull u gotto ride to feel the diff. theres something which tbts/electra doesnt have which std has. I was 90% sure on buying

TBTS then riding std bullet i felt it was the best in terms of the real 350cc 'engine feel'.

9) Handling/Comfort - thunderbird tops. electra not bad. std also not bad at all. these bike although heavy, have good handling. since heavy its

stable on roads. shocks work perfectly. bike doesnt jump over the potholes. that the best part im enjoying in my bull. Just

start it, sit back and enjoy the ride without backaches unliked the pulsars!!! my wife loves bullet for its 'comfort' factor ALONE.

10) vs others - same price i personally feel R15 is far better than TBTS. same price zma is far far better than std bullet.

RE has lots of niggling issues upfront. quality is cheap. u cant even compare a new bikes quality with honda / yamaha. and

more over those japanese bikes are stuffed with technology as well.

So finally i would like to tell u - dont jump into conclusions. I really regret my decision to by a new bull. I should have

gone for a 2nd hand one. BUt again it is risky but still new one is not worth 81k onroad.

As always I do agree Bullet is a Bullet. Each morning I wake up thinking I can ride on my bullet! But then it has many probs

attached to it. So thats were 'man-ly-ness' comes into play - When ur bull doesnt start in mid traffic, u need some tough skin

of 'man-ly-ness'.

Overall - I would say RETHINK. Honda/Yamaha/Suzuki far better. Or wait for sometime till Honda etc come up with better bikes.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:20   #35

I guess I am the right person to advice you.
Your bike is only 1000kms done. Most of what you think of Royal Enfield and Bullets is vague and wrong. Anyways, to each his own.

2) Mileage - Well I started with 18, then 22, then 27 and finally after consulting and repairing outside, iam getting upto 35kmpl in traffic after first service. Speedo now reading 1100. My bullet expert said new bull gets upto 45.
Of course, your brand new Bullet should be giving at least 40kmpl.

3) Going for new/old - Its tricky. I went for a new Std bullet just for the reason that i dint want starting issues etc. But it backfired. It gave me serious probs upfront. Starting trouble, fuel leak, battery issue. I think bullet is the kind of bike which needs time to settle down. As someone said, it IS indeed a marriage! But now after 1000kms the issues are almost settled. The shock absorbers are also feeling much softer.
The Standard 350 is the most easiest to kick-start, much easier than an AVL.

4) Long Term - CI engined bullet will hold good for decades. that is why all bullet enthusiasts/mechanics say STd is the best. Thumping and things leave it aside. Others like TBTS/Electra not sure whether it will last. And to be frank Thunderbird LB was a semi-disaster.
It all depends on maintainence. I've seen Suzuki Max 100s running more efficiently than CI Bullets. So its all about how you take care of it.

Why would you say Thunderbird LB was a disaster?! It has an efficient engine compared to a CI and has the exact same frame that ALL Enfields share.

5) Maintenance - Bullet does call for maintenance. I understood that within my first month of usage. It needs care. oil leaks have started within 3 weeks !!! how sick.
Every bike requires maintainence. Not just Enfields. Yes, but with Enfields you do need to give a little extra attention.

6) vs Electra - Electra has the only shortcoming that it has low crank weight. but then it has electronc ignition, starter, discs, 5s gears, gas shocks etc. I do feel the need for a 5th gear in my std bullet. PS: Bullet mechanics somehow suggest std bull over electra and tbts, i donno why! My cousin has been using electra now for 30000kms, no issues.
You choose. You want an efficient modern engine with all the goodies?! OR the traditional engine with parts that that even a Pulsar 150 can put to shame.

Please explain what is the shortcoming of having a low crank weight?! Except for "thump" and riding in low gear and putting your gearbox and engine under excess stress.

"i donno why!" - is why you should never believe or proclaim it unless you know.

7) vs TBTS - tbts is new. dtsi engine. only time ll say if its really good. as of now RE claims that TBTS engine is the future engine for RE. Riding and comfort in TBTS is the best amogn RE. it has more pulling power too. and FE as well. But then only issue is that,if A.S.S fails to give u a godo repair (which happened to me), TBTS engine architecture may not be known to many mechanics elsewhere. RE SERVICE is definitely not the best like honda or hero honda.
First proper advice.

9) Handling/Comfort - thunderbird tops. electra not bad. std also not bad at all. these bike although heavy, have good handling. since heavy its stable on roads. shocks work perfectly. bike doesnt jump over the potholes. that the best part im enjoying in my bull. Just start it, sit back and enjoy the ride without backaches unliked the pulsars!!! my wife loves bullet for its 'comfort' factor ALONE.
True. One of the most comfortable bikes.

10) vs others - same price i personally feel R15 is far better than TBTS. same price zma is far far better than std bullet. RE has lots of niggling issues upfront. quality is cheap. u cant even compare a new bikes quality with honda / yamaha. and more over those japanese bikes are stuffed with technology as well.
R15 overpriced. Thunderbird TBTS or Machismo 500LB if you have the cash. Else settle for Electra 5s. If you're looking for Standard 350, get a very cheap second hand one and do it up completely.

BUt again it is risky but still new one is not worth 81k onroad.
Glad you realize that. No one questioned your "best" bike decision earlier. But now you know.

When ur bull doesnt start in mid traffic, u need some tough skin of 'man-ly-ness'.
Yes indeed.

Overall - I would say RETHINK. Honda/Yamaha/Suzuki far better. Or wait for sometime till Honda etc come up with better bikes.
The newer bikes like Machismo 500LB and TBTS should not give you much problems. Just take care of them and thats it. Remember these bikes are NOT like Pulsars, CBZs, Unicorns. Those bikes can be abused and abused again. And they'll still work without much problems! But for a Bullet, you abuse it and it'll eat your head off!
Old 14th May 2009, 13:28   #36

The thread should be renamed to how to climb the ladder of enlightment.

Tip start with your right leg first.
Spitfire is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2009, 14:24   #37

Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Your bike is only 1000kms done. Most of what you think of Royal Enfield and Bullets is vague and wrong. Anyways, to each his own.

Of course, your brand new Bullet should be giving at least 40kmpl.

The Standard 350 is the most easiest to kick-start, much easier than an AVL.

It all depends on maintainence. I've seen Suzuki Max 100s running more efficiently than CI Bullets. So its all about how you take care of it.

Why would you say Thunderbird LB was a disaster?! It has an efficient engine compared to a CI and has the exact same frame that ALL Enfields share.

Every bike requires maintainence. Not just Enfields. Yes, but with Enfields you do need to give a little extra attention.

You choose. You want an efficient modern engine with all the goodies?! OR the traditional engine with parts that that even a Pulsar 150 can put to shame.

Please explain what is the shortcoming of having a low crank weight?! Except for "thump" and riding in low gear and putting your gearbox and engine under excess stress.

"i donno why!" - is why you should never believe or proclaim it unless you know.

First proper advice.

True. One of the most comfortable bikes.

R15 overpriced. Thunderbird TBTS or Machismo 500LB if you have the cash. Else settle for Electra 5s. If you're looking for Standard 350, get a very cheap second hand one and do it up completely.

Glad you realize that. No one questioned your "best" bike decision earlier. But now you know.

Yes indeed.

The newer bikes like Machismo 500LB and TBTS should not give you much problems. Just take care of them and thats it. Remember these bikes are NOT like Pulsars, CBZs, Unicorns. Those bikes can be abused and abused again. And they'll still work without much problems! But for a Bullet, you abuse it and it'll eat your head off!

Gordon, I agree to many things you say except for a few. I agree any new bike can have teething issues. But the oil leaks and stuff cannot be justified. These are present in std bull for long. RE is not doing anything even after 50 yrs. Thats sad.
TB LB i said was a disaster is bcoz its engine gives clatter after a while. Agree AL engines dont supress sound well, but its beyond limits. I have seen quite a few like those. Sometimes it sounds like one of those Bajaj CT 100's which has suffered tremendous abuse! And are you trying to say TB LB was a success? Do you know anything about its resale value? Std bullet has the best resale fyi, Reason you should guess.

And about 'thumping' we did have a healthy debate in another thread! Iam not able to explain to you about thumping effectively. I cant get too technical since Iam a new bullet owner but if you get time visit a SPECIALIST bullet mechanic. He will tell clearly why the std bull is better than others. Agree that the parts used in std bull are very cheap. Even the switches are pathetic. But then "kuch paane ke liye kuch khona padtha hey" -> very true with RE Bullet.

My mistake is that i dint test drive the R15 before buyinngthe bull.
It is value for money man. Agree its 150cc. Initially I too felt after all its same as my old pulsar. But revv it up and u feel the diff. 120-130 kmph is just effortless and you wont find it scarign either. With good brakes and technology around it I wont say its overpriced if you say TBTS is not over priced.
Old 14th May 2009, 14:34   #38

I believe ,you must get accustomed to Bullet.It won't trouble that much.I use a Electra 4S(like std) which is not giving me much troubles.No Oil Leaks to say with.It is Fun riding and Don't fall for the local bullet experts.Some Loots in the name of customization and all.
Old 14th May 2009, 14:45   #39

Originally Posted by schitre05 View Post
I have been riding on the indian roads for about a decade and a half now, and my rides have been mostly indo-japanese. but everytime a bullet went past me or even if i saw one, i used .......
Do you guys feel I should take the plunge? or it it too much to ask from the bullet?
also which one should i go in for??
thanks
Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
The thread should be renamed to how to climb the ladder of enlightment.

Tip start with your right leg first.
@schitre : As you said, you got mesmerised and fell in love with the bull, whenever a single one passed you.
So let me guess you must have been attracted to its sound and to a certain extent its looks.
If you want the sound (thump), theres no alternative to buy a second hand one std 350 and get it done up, but that will not take care of your concern of fuel leakage and niggles.

So here you have 2 options:
a. The looks without the niggles, but the new std 350, or the tbird twin spark.

b. Great thump, great sound but on the flipside, your time spend at the mechanics place goes up : but a second hand 350. and you will be a happy man.

Forget the whole manly / unmanly / womanly / talks about bulls. Its all bullcrap. Its just taste, if you like it, you buy it and if you don't you will not.

ANd i think spitfires post is the coolest one, @schitre take a hint from that post

ac

p.s: check my garage i have redone a 83 bull, no problems at all.
Old 14th May 2009, 15:01   #40

Originally Posted by sam_sant2005
TB LB i said was a disaster is bcoz its engine gives clatter after a while. Agree AL engines dont supress sound well, but its beyond limits. I have seen quite a few like those. Sometimes it sounds like one of those Bajaj CT 100's which has suffered tremendous abuse! And are you trying to say TB LB was a success? Do you know anything about its resale value? Std bullet has the best resale fyi, Reason you should guess.
You are frustrated with your Standard 350 in just 1000kms. Lets see the condition of your bike after the rains, lets see it after around 5000kms.

The Electra 5s, TB and Machismo AVLs were new benchmarks on which RE has actually lifted itself up.

About resale value - do you have any idea what they speak about when they say resale value is best?! Its because these bikes costed hardly 30k back in 80s. Now since the prices of brand new Standard 350s have gone up AND CI production has decreased, THATS why the resale value has increased. NO OTHER REASON.

And about 'thumping' we did have a healthy debate in another thread! Iam not able to explain to you about thumping effectively. I cant get too technical since Iam a new bullet owner but if you get time visit a SPECIALIST bullet mechanic. He will tell clearly why the std bull is better than others. Agree that the parts used in std bull are very cheap. Even the switches are pathetic. But then "kuch paane ke liye kuch khona padtha hey" -> very true with RE Bullet.
And about "thumping". What is a thumper?! A large single cylinder engine with a long stroke makes a "thumping" sound. Thats what a thumper is. Most British bikes have such engines and they all sound different. You cant compare a Royal Enfield thump to a Norton thump and say that Norton is rubbish because its thump is not precise and not loud.

Why do mechanics prefer CI engines?! Because they have worked on them all their lives. They are used to it. Ask a CI specialist to work on a TBTS, and he'll abuse the bike forever.

And this "kuch paane ke liye kuch khona padta hai" rubbish - To just get the thump and cheap parts you're actually spending close to 80k. What you are saying in essence is - "I need a PC with 40 inch screen. Its okay if it has the worst and cheapest and outdated parts in terms of memory, hard disk, processor, etc. I know it will be so slow. Its okay, you cant get everything in life, right? All I want is a large screen. And I'm ready to pay a lakh for it.".

My mistake is that i dint test drive the R15 before buyinngthe bull.
It is value for money man. Agree its 150cc. Initially I too felt after all its same as my old pulsar. But revv it up and u feel the diff. 120-130 kmph is just effortless and you wont find it scarign either. With good brakes and technology around it I wont say its overpriced if you say TBTS is not over priced.
Your mistake that you bought a RE in the first place. And another mistake of trying to guide others with irrelevant, false and wrong information that you have recieved through "word-of-mouth".

Last edited by Gordon : 14th May 2009 at 15:02.
Old 14th May 2009, 15:05   #41

@Gordon: Get off his back man. He already has a Bullet
Old 14th May 2009, 15:08   #42

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post

So here you have 2 options:
a. The looks without the niggles, but the new std 350, or the tbird twin spark.
I DIFFER IN OPINION. New bullet is not a cake walk. Thats the point I have been trying to make all through out. How can you miss it!

Bullet new or old would have issues associated with it. In the 'troubles' department can anyone compare a Bullet and a Unicorn?
Iam a victim of fatal attraction towards Bullet. But Iam keeping cool, hoping
things to get sorted out soon.
Old 14th May 2009, 15:18   #43

@Gordon: Get off his back man. He already has a Bullet
Spitfire: Anybody today can have a Bullet. All you need is money. Not true passion and knowledge. Most buy Enfields for one of these reasons:
  • Thump.
  • Comfort.
  • The name.
  • and other "weird" ideas and logics that they have heard - for example "MANLY" bike.
It is true that when you don't the thump, it feels like something is missing. But we must also remember that, thump is not everything in a Bullet.

NO OFFENSE TO ANYONE.
I remember something very well. If you watch the Cool Wall on Top Gear you'll know well. Why were cars taken down to the "UNCOOL" section?! Because most people who buy them today are not because of what the car is, or its heritage, or its pedigree or the passion with which it was built but because they just have the money to buy the car. They act like wanna-be's who know it all. Its the same with the Royal Enfield today. Owners of yesteryear Enfields and newer Enfields likewise.
Old 14th May 2009, 15:27   #44

Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Spitfire: Anybody today can have a Bullet. All you need is money. Not true passion and knowledge. Most buy Enfields for one of these reasons:
  • Thump.
  • Comfort.
  • The name.
  • and other "weird" ideas and logics that they have heard - for example "MANLY" bike.
It is true that when you don't the thump, it feels like something is missing. But we must also remember that, thump is not everything in a Bullet.
Aye, agree with every word of yours.

I tried to find some sense in the Bullet Thing but didnt ->

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...day-wow-6.html

Post #82 onwards.
Old 14th May 2009, 15:35   #45

Originally Posted by sam_sant2005 View Post
I DIFFER IN OPINION. New bullet is not a cake walk. Thats the point I have been trying to make all through out. How can you miss it!

Bullet new or old would have issues associated with it. In the 'troubles' department can anyone compare a Bullet and a Unicorn?
Iam a victim of fatal attraction towards Bullet. But Iam keeping cool, hoping
things to get sorted out soon.
Brother, i faced issues with my bull for the first 2 months of my purchase, i also thought why did i buy it, but now i know i dont own it i possess it. It sounds cliched and 1 million people have said this, so repeating it another time wont hurt. Let her grown on to you, live with the bull for some more time and then you will know what 'joy of riding' actually means

Ride Safe
ac