Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 11th June 2009, 23:26   #1
BHPian

RX dirt bike mod. (vintage scrambler)

Hey Guys,

This is my first foray into this community, feels great to be here.

Let me get started right away , I have always wanted to do a serious mod job
and finally, here's my chance. I have purchased a 96' model RXG for this purpose, I intend to go for a vintage scrambler type look (eg. Yamaha Dt-01, google it to get an idea)

I am taking it step by step, first the suspension, wheels/tyres and frame then the body work, lights, electricals and paint job and finally the engine, exhaust and other performance add-ons. I would first like to explain what I have in mind. I am no engineer so please dont look for anything elaborate , I am more of a design guy, so I need it to look the part but performance wont be left out either.

Front end :

I intend to lift the front end by 3.5 inches and fit a 19" block tread pattern tyre, give it a wide handle bar and disc brakes with a single pod tachometer alone (Race style). A tiny round headlamp with a small fly screen and a slightly lifted front fender (enfield type). So here's what I have bought till now.

1. Pulsar 150/180 fork assembly
2. Pulsar's T-clamp
3. Pulsar 150/180 disc brake kit and hub
4. Rajdooth's 19" front rim
5. Dunlop block tread tyre (3.25/19)

Rear end:

At the rear I want to lift the swing arm by 2 inches, give it mono shocks, a wide button tyre (3.50/18), a curvy rear fender that juts out of the frame and a tiny rectangular tail light and a number plate holder below it.

1. Unicorn's swing arm
2. Monoshocks
3. Drum Kit
4. Ceat secura tyre (3.50/18)
5. Pulsar 180's Rim

Frame: