Old 11th September 2009, 18:42   #1

Getting a Suzuki Shaolin [Chennai]

BHPians,

I am in process of acquiring my bro's Suzuki Shaolin.

He has already sent it from Bangalore to Chennai. He advised me that the bike is in a miserable condition.

Can someone from Chennai guide me in finding the Suzuki Shogun/Shaolin expert here.

I am looking at doing the following stuff for the Shaolin!

1. Refurbish the basic mechanics of the bike
2. Want to know if the Shaolin engine can be ported for higher displacement
3. Refurbish the electricals
4. Paint job/ Shaolin vinyls (Not sure if I would be able to source it)

Chennai experts need your help & advice!
Old 17th September 2009, 09:46   #2

Anachronix, I suggest you take your bike to pudupet and find a mechanic who can refurbish it.

Even before taking the bike, just pay a visit to pudupet and enquire. This should give you an idea of how much needs to be spent. Cost Vs benefits are fine with you go-ahead witht he restoration.

But I am sure you need to be alongside the mechanic while be refurbishes in pudupet as you know this place is known for what it is famous for - stealing / selling stolen items.

Old 17th September 2009, 10:12   #3

Go to Bike Square on Arcot Road. There is a small lane called Kavarai Street near the Arcot Road / Inner Ring Road junction. As you proceed from Kodambakkam side, this street will come up on your left a little before the said junction. Just as you enter the street, this shop will be on your right, just a few metres in to the street.

Contact Mr.Vasanth and tell him that you were sent by Ganesh. If he does not recognise my name, tell him Shogun Ganesh and he will. They will source whatever is required and do the needful for you. The place will be smallish, don't be put off by appearances. If he expresses inability, only then proceed to Pudupet.

I have not visited them for ages and lost their phone number. Will PM you if I find it.
Old 17th September 2009, 11:35   #4

First of all congrats and welcome to "Suzuki" family!

Big NO for pudupet. I'll give you some leads regarding the mechanics, visit there and you'll not be disappointed.

Check your PM.

L&S
Old 17th September 2009, 18:32   #5

Hello!

I'm also trying to get my 97' sholin back in shape. Budget is 15K inclusive of painting!

Suggest some good mechanics here guys! I'm clueless about what to do!!

Please help!
Old 18th September 2009, 12:07   #6

Hi Raghav,
Replied to your PM, and all the best for your project and keep us posted!

L&S

Originally Posted by felix.ragav View Post
Hello!

I'm also trying to get my 97' sholin back in shape. Budget is 15K inclusive of painting!

Suggest some good mechanics here guys! I'm clueless about what to do!!

Please help!
Old 18th September 2009, 14:47   #7

Thanks all for your info.

Sudco International - Modern and Vintage Replacment and Performance parts for Street Bikes, Dirt Bikes, ATVs and Personal Watercraft

Can someone check this website and confirm the part number for the Shogun pistons?
Old 18th September 2009, 15:06   #8

Anachronix,
I can't able to find pistons for Shogun, can you post the exact URL?

L&S

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
Thanks all for your info.

Sudco International - Modern and Vintage Replacment and Performance parts for Street Bikes, Dirt Bikes, ATVs and Personal Watercraft

Can someone check this website and confirm the part number for the Shogun pistons?
Old 18th September 2009, 15:11   #9

Sudco ART Pistons

Can u check this link?
Old 18th September 2009, 15:27   #10

I'm not expert but try googling "77-80 SUZUKI RM80 RM 80 PISTON .50 MM OS(.020 INCH) NEW" and found these pictures

Can someone confirm?

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
Sudco ART Pistons

Can u check this link?
Getting a Suzuki Shaolin [Chennai]-tp4smqk3yh8n.jpg  

Getting a Suzuki Shaolin [Chennai]-up6tpwrqdm5w.jpg  

Getting a Suzuki Shaolin [Chennai]-22bxvsfg9ear.jpg  

Old 4th December 2016, 22:31   #11

Re: Getting a Suzuki Shaolin [Chennai]

Hello Arun,
Digging out a very old thread.

was there any progress on your Shaolin? Do you still own it?