Old 15th December 2009, 20:58   #1

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16

Well I bought my red-black fz as soon as it was launched in the market and mine was one of the first few. I used to get attention at that time and it continues somewhat till now. It has been a pleasant experience to own this bike, not only because it’s a great bike but I’m pleased with the service provided by Yamaha. Now some technical stuff! It took just short of 13 months to complete 10000 kms. The top speed achieved was of 109 km/h on a empty 1 km stretch in the city. The max that I’ve driven is about 150 in a day. I’ve fitted the visor that comes with fz-s. and use motomax and waxpol for polishing. I met with an accident when someone turned without indicating ,turned, and to avoid collision I jammed the rear brake too hard and the bike slipped. I was left with just one bruise on my arm as the handle and the muffler took the impact( originally fz use to come without leg guard). The handle got bent and the silver part in the muffler got cracked. The headlamp received some minor scratches but I had to replace it as the bracket which holds side panel was broken. Claiming the insurance I got the parts replaced for Rs. 735 . So the point is that the spares are pretty aggressively priced and won’t hurt the customer. Now, the pros. And cons.
Pros:
• The low end and mid range performance is really good, so the driving in the city is breeze. Infact till 90 km/h the rider is pretty happy with the performance.
• The brakes are of top quality and I mean ‘’top quality’’.
• The fit and finish is excellent. No rattles and vibes.
• The paint job is still fresh.
• The seating position is extremely comfortable with slightly sporty stance.
• The grip is fantastic from the mrf tyres.
• Daytime running instrument console is a treat.
• Handling is top notch due to wide handle , great brakes and tyres.
• Good spread of the light.
• Suspension works great and soaks up bumps in good manner at high speeds.

Cons:
• I usually ride considerably through bad roads. And that has increased the wearing of rear tyre. I think I’ll have to replace the tyres after 15000 to 18000 kms.
• Low speed rides on the bad roads is a tad stiff as the setup is for good handling. But it can be changed for different setup(I havn’t tried it yet)
• Horn is too shrill

I hope I covered all the points and all the fellow mates liked the review. I hope all those who want to buy fz , get valuable information from this review. Lastly, I truly love my bike and is my priced possession!

Please use helmet while riding!
Old 16th December 2009, 08:44   #2

@fz_rider:
Whats the mileage you are getting? normal, city, ripped ?

Does the new Fazer sport all the features of the FZ plus the Dome?
Old 16th December 2009, 09:33   #3

Congrats on completing 10000 kms in a span of 13 months!! A very precise and comprehensive review with all the relevant information.

Any horror stories with service center not attending to the bike properly..??
Any long rides either single/with pillion? How was the bike to ride on the highway in terms of performance & ride comfort?
Finally the famous "Avg. kya hai" question.. Mileage plz?
Old 16th December 2009, 09:47   #4

Its like don't ask girls their age, don't ask FZ for mileage

My FZ-S gives a mileage of around 35 kmpl.
Old 16th December 2009, 09:50   #5

Good man! 10K up. Nice write up. Some pictures would help.
Old 16th December 2009, 09:59   #6

Hi Fz,
Great report, good to know that the bike is treating you well ;-).
Are the long distance journeys comfortable in the bike?

The FZ16 is a looker indeed. Enjoy the ride!
Old 16th December 2009, 10:01   #7

Originally Posted by fz_rider View Post
. Infact till 90 km/h the rider is pretty happy with the performance.
• The brakes are of top quality and I mean ‘’top quality’’.
• The fit and finish is excellent. No rattles and vibes.
• The paint job is still fresh.
• The seating position is extremely comfortable with slightly sporty stance.
• The grip is fantastic from the mrf tyres.
• Daytime running instrument console is a treat.
• Handling is top notch due to wide handle , great brakes and tyres.
• Good spread of the light.
• Suspension works great and soaks up bumps in good manner at high speeds.

Cons:
• I usually ride considerably through bad roads. And that has increased the wearing of rear tyre. I think I’ll have to replace the tyres after 15000 to 18000 kms.
• Low speed rides on the bad roads is a tad stiff as the setup is for good handling. But it can be changed for different setup(I havn’t tried it yet)

Please use helmet while riding!
I am a lucky bloke to own the Fazer as well as YZF R-15, and the performance till 90kmph is pretty impressive of the FZ and a rider won't complain and IMO she can stay at the back of the R15 till ~80,
the wearing of tires is trade-in for killer handling(for me a wee bit slow(turn-ins & direction changes) compared to YZF)

Brakes and Build Quality are there with the very best...

Have seen 119 on a FZ w/o pillion fully crouched,
Old 16th December 2009, 12:26   #8

I usually get a mileage of around 38-40 kmpl. while you are riding FZ, it doesn't matter how you ride, it will eventually give on and around same mileage
Old 2nd February 2010, 13:43   #9

Can u post some pics : judging from this review it looks like your bike is doing good. So now if we can see the machine it will give the idea of how it handles time
Old 2nd March 2010, 13:57   #10

Here are some pics. :
10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00643.jpg  

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00645.jpg  

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00655.jpg  

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00727_2.jpg  

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00755-_2.jpg  

10000 kms report of yamaha fz-16-dsc00775-_2.jpg  

Old 2nd March 2010, 14:56   #11

Congrats!!!!!!!!!! from an another FZ Owner.

I've completed 8,500 in a Year.
Old 2nd March 2010, 15:37   #12

Originally Posted by jaaz View Post
Congrats!!!!!!!!!! from an another FZ Owner.

I've completed 8,500 in a Year.
Thank you! I'll soon post some more pics. of my bike fitted with visor.
And the top speed now stands at 114 km/hr, and i achieved it on a very windy day. So there is still scope for improvement
Old 11th March 2010, 20:36   #13

Nice to see fellow FZians here.

Mine's a Oct '08 Flaming Orange FZ16.

Done around 16k kms now.

So far ive replaced a tail light bulb.

And replaced the stock NGK spark plug with the iridium tip one.

Bikes running well and far more reliable than i expected.

Have to change the chain and sprocket set shortly.

Top whack ive achieved on a long stretch is 119kmph with me riding single on the Bangalore-Mysore highway.

Getting a fuel economy of anywhere between 42-44kmpl if i ride like a sane human being and it drops all the way to 37-40kmpl if i ride like , my pants are on fire.

Buying this bike is , by far the best decision ive made.

Planning to fix a HID kit and split seats soon.
Old 12th March 2010, 19:08   #14

great going guys...now i know the bike excels not only in looks.yamaha should come up with more versions of this pretty staright forward motor.
Old 13th March 2010, 00:42   #15

Originally Posted by Grafin View Post
And replaced the stock NGK spark plug with the iridium tip one.
I haven't seen any NGK iridium spark plug for FZ . Which company is it?