Old 12th February 2010, 08:26   #16

Originally Posted by EssYouWe View Post

1.5 lacs for a single 250... Why?

But then again, 1 lac for a single 150... (and it still sells like hot cakes)

A parallel twin would be great fun to ride! Sincerely wish companies try to make them more affordable.
the singly cylinder bike will be in the CB mode not CBR mode, that is what the price is hinted at

R15 averages ~1200-1300 units per month

an inline, liquid cooled, with dizzying revs that is what my next motorcycle should be
Old 12th February 2010, 08:39   #17

Originally Posted by yzfrj View Post
I hope its a twin cylinder. They sound better

I've got nothing against Honda/Kawasaki and the lot.
However I'm more of a Yamaha man.

They sound better indeed! But no way a twin 250 is going to come at 1.5L!
Old 12th February 2010, 08:48   #18

For 1.5L ,expect a single cylinder bile only.
Old 12th February 2010, 10:41   #19

If this information is really true then the 250cc war has begin.
Just checked the below link and details are as follows:-

CBX250 Overview | Honda South Africa

----------------------------------
The CBX’s power comes from a quick-revving DOHC 4-valve engine that starts quickly with the push of a button and pumps out an impressive surge of acceleration to maximise riding enjoyment. The new 249cc DOHC single cylinder air-cooled engine is the first new air-cooled 250cc engine Honda has developed for over a decade, providing excellent fuel economy, reliability and low maintenance.

----------------------------------------
Its looked like old gen pulsar. I think HONDA must do some thing in its design level to lunch in india.

But again why 250 cc single cylinder air-cooled engine?
Is india not ready for multi cylinder bike. I mean in 250cc to 600 cc.
Why they dont want to bring multi cylinder bike in 250cc to 600 cc range.

For me i will prefer my Bullet(Strictly my choice) any day against these single cylinder.
If they can offer multi cylinder bike in 250cc to 600 cc range with in 5lac then one can really think .

Hope, may be one day we can get that.

Last edited by KALINGA : 12th February 2010 at 10:42.
Old 1st April 2010, 23:57   #20

I am not sure if it is true, but looking at the bike, the last part resembles Karizma, the middle sure is CBZ and the front part including the tank, looks like the new CB Twister.
Of course, it should be the other way around. HH has not mastered the art of creating a new design on its bikes. But at that price, a naked bike doesn't turn heads, at least in India.
Old 2nd April 2010, 12:24   #21

It costs a little over 2 lacs if you convert so it will be around the Ninja price point. No point then.
Old 13th October 2010, 12:57   #22

I hope the bike does not look like the CBX250. Its just a normal looking bike. Its got nothing sporty about and its a single cylinder.
May be that is all we can get for a HONDA bike which is priced at 1.5L.
Well its almost Diwali already and no news of the bike launching in India.
Any latest information on this?
Old 15th October 2010, 05:47   #23

Something like this will certainly leave the Ninjas panting.
Honda CBR250rr in Europe for 2011

Last edited by prasadee : 15th October 2010 at 05:50.
Old 15th October 2010, 08:15   #24

Originally Posted by prasadee View Post
Something like this will certainly leave the Ninjas panting.
Honda CBR250rr in Europe for 2011
Hmm, I only wish for 2011 because...
1. If Honda brings this as CBU, then the pricing may be twice as Ninja. So Honda has to bring through homologated path which means, getting it assembled at Honda two wheelers plant in India.
2. If its through homologated path, then Honda should've given the vehicle to our babus atleast 6 months ago which means, the bike may or may not have been ready by then.
Old 15th October 2010, 08:51   #25

If its the CBR250 they are planning to launch in India i definitely won't mind waiting for another year than pick up the Ninja (available just in 2 colors).
Honda - hope they respect the taste of the Indians.
Old 15th October 2010, 09:36   #26

I somehow like the styling of CBX250, and if I am in the market for a new bike today, this will be my first choice - IF the price is 1.5L - I am not a big fan of plastic fairings, and this bike, with its clean cut lines, appeals me a lot.
I think, this will be something like a grown up, mature Karizma.
Old 15th October 2010, 10:14   #27

Will it be impossible for someone to bring out an air cooled single cylinder 250 cc at a price close to ZMA/Pulsar 220/ RTR 180? Why should it cost 1.5 lacs, unless it is fuel injected and liquid cooled?
Old 15th October 2010, 10:21   #28

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
Will it be impossible for someone to bring out an air cooled single cylinder 250 cc at a price close to ZMA/Pulsar 220/ RTR 180? Why should it cost 1.5 lacs, unless it is fuel injected and liquid cooled?
Exactly my sentiments, but I didn't want to comment this earlier.

We've so many home grown manufacturers who're also providing reliable rides these days. Though I hate Pulsar, but I need to vouch that P220 is one of the proven motorcycle in the market & not to mention the good old ZMA/R; I'm sure, B.A.L has plans for a bigger cylinder motor too.

My personal opinion would be no more single cylinders; Indian or non Indian manufacturer, I welcome multi cylinder, be it 250 or 650.

Sorry about the OT

Last edited by aargee : 15th October 2010 at 10:22.