Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2010, 11:40   #1

Bajaj Avenger 180cc: Unresolving issue with acceleration (Not a carburetor problem)

I am not an expert with bikes so please ignore my novice writing and word usage. I honestly don’t know how to define the problem but I will put down all the facts

The problem is that the bike stops accelerating at a normal pace all of a sudden. It just won’t accelerate and starts acting like a truck trying to climb a hill. The problem is recurring and it usually gets fixed automatically and then recurs.

It is not a carburetor problem as the carburetor is cleaned by all the mechanics who have examined the bike and it doesn’t help. I think all that the mechanics know when it comes to acceleration is “Sir Carburetor mein kachra hai”, even if the owner of the vehicle is yelling at the top of his lungs that I have got the carburetor cleaned atleast a 100 times and it doesn’t help. It is some other problem.

Anyways, the bike has been serviced, spark plug is changed, carburetor including the air filter have been cleaned too many times, & it has a brand new battery now.

The bike has been giving problem for around 3-4 months now and no mechanic (including the probiking geeks) could fix the problem. Probiking mechanics diagnosed that it is a battery problem (What nonsense?) Anyways, we got the battery replaced coz that was also giving some other problems.

The bike has been with the Bajaj probiking guys for 2 weeks now, with no resolution. My husband is reaching a point, where he just wants to sell the bike but the bike is very dear to him (It’s his first bike that he purchased on his own). May be we will sell it in the near future but not like this.

Can anyone here help? Or give a name of an expert or mechanic who can help?

Last edited by Mansha : 23rd July 2010 at 11:52.
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:01   #2
Senior - BHPian