Old 27th September 2011, 20:27   #316

Re: Honda Brio : Test Drive & Review

Great price for a great car. IMO it is the best budget hatch in town. Honda has a winner.

Like others said, once you feel the premium honda quality in Brio and Jazz, cars from Maruti, Fiat and some others look outright cheap - at least the fit, finish and quality. One wonders, if Honda can make such a quality product at a killer price point, why can't others? Maruti Suzuki, with its volumes, has the worst plastics. There is simply no excuse - they probably have no incentive either, Maruti cars still sell in huge volumes.

Now honda needs to take care of two things urgently - increase dealerships and ramp up the production in a big way - if Jazz is reaching 6 months wait period, Brio may well have a year's waiting period if Honda does nothing
Old 27th September 2011, 20:30   #317

Brio On Road pricing for Bangalore

E MT - Rs 4.80 Lacs
S MT - Rs 5.27 Lacs
S MT (O) - Rs 5.95 Lacs
V MT - Rs 6.27 Lacs

No info yet on corporate discount if any. Looks like there could be a 3 month waiting period for Brio already.
Old 27th September 2011, 20:49   #318

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Had a quick look at the Brio today

Overall, the car did not feel well made and I would any day buy i10 (I am not even comparing it with Swift which is in a different league IMHO).
I am yet to see the Brio in flesh, but still I'm left scratching my head at this:

ex- Kochi for Brio S(O) MT: Rs. 4,98,000
Ritz VXi ABS: Rs.4,67,024

Brio V MT: Rs. 5,21,000
Swift ZXi: Rs. 5,58,764

And the base Jazz Rs. 5,60,000

Sorry everybody, but I fail to see anything "great" in Brio's prices.

Last edited by Yeldo : 27th September 2011 at 20:51.
Yeldo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2011, 21:11   #319

Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
Has Eon spoilt Brio's party, remains to be seen. The comparison between Brio & Eon are inescapable.
Eon and Brio ? I am quite surprised by your comment.
Eon is supposed to be an entry level hatch positioned below Santro. It is pitted against the likes of alto.
Old 27th September 2011, 21:38   #320

@Equus and Karty83: Just as Aria and Innova were compared, smallest Honda and the smallest Hyundai will also be compared by the 'aam aadmi', want to take a bet.
Old 27th September 2011, 21:46   #321

@Equus and Karty83: Just as Aria and Innova were compared, smallest Honda and the smallest Hyundai will also be compared by the 'aam aadmi', want to take a bet.
hmm, dont think the aam aadmi was comparing alto to Jazz(smallest Honda till yesterday) or alto to polo. or did he?
Old 27th September 2011, 21:49   #322

In that case will the 'aam aadmi' also compare the smallest Honda with the smallest Tata ?
Old 27th September 2011, 22:00   #323

I see this scene playing out in the not too distant future.
Honda Brio : Test Drive & Review-iz1250221.jpg  

Old 27th September 2011, 22:02   #324

Originally Posted by Yeldo View Post
I am yet to see the Brio in flesh, but still I'm left scratching my head at this:

i checked out the new Brio and here are my 2 cents.

the plastics on the doors dint feel as upmarket as some of the other BHPians felt they were.
sitting in the back seat give a slight claustrophobic feeling, the uniquely shaped front seats while they provide sufficient leg room, cant nullify this.
the car is bigger than it seems
the car looks good(way better than Ritz or Figo)
didnt have a problem getting in and out of the backseats, with the front adjusted to my height (5'11")
the steering wheel got in way of my left foot when i tried to get out of the driver's seat.

the space is well utilised, but is not a tall man's car.

the V variant of Brio was priced at 6.25 L. I decided to stick to my Jazz Select booking of 7.04 L. the 80k difference was worth the bigger car, more room, bigger boot and better looks(my subjective opinion).

i dont think the brio provides the VFM that Jazz does.
Old 27th September 2011, 22:18   #325

hahaha - nice graphics.
But I do not think i10 shall die a death so fast. If I am correct it still is the most well rounded small hatchback out there with class leading features, albeit overpriced.
Hyundai shall intentionally keep some features out of eon so as not to ruin i10 sales.
Old 27th September 2011, 22:40   #326

Highly unlikely that Brio is going to eat up i10. IMO normal majority buyers are going to find Brio too quirky and impractical and would go with the likes of the i10/Ritz/WagonR. It could be different thing with enthusiasts or people who really care about Honda brand, but the numbers going to be insignificant in the overall scheme of things.
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2011, 22:58   #327

For Brio to win, does i10 have to loose? It will eat into every car's sales unless the market starts growing again, right? Given the market is flat or slightly down YOY, there will be some gains if Brio were to sell at all

So lets face it - there will be some heat upfront (honeymoon effect), followed by "only the fittest will flourish, rest will barely sail thru"..

Biggest plus for Honda - Honda means a lot to us Indians.. (no other brand has enjoyed that in the sub-10L category, leave the beemers/audi's aside for a moment)

And the market will start growing soon.. The interest rates are at their peak and should cool off starting end of the year.

All in all, Brio is a welcome addition and will help grow the market.

Those who have seen the Brio in flesh, how does it compare with Micra?
If I were to buy a petrol hatch today, they would be one among these 3 (now 4)
i10/Jazz/either Micra or Brio.

Nope, not interested in Liva

Last edited by GTO : 28th September 2011 at 10:55. Reason: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another!
Old 27th September 2011, 23:13   #328

Originally Posted by Equus View Post
Those who have seen the Brio in flesh, how does it compare with Micra?
If I were to buy a petrol hatch today, they would be one among these 3 (now 4)
i10/Jazz/either Micra or Brio.

Nope, not interested in Liva
If budget permits, I would get a Jazz over rest of the hatches else.

Brio followed by i10 and Micra.
Old 27th September 2011, 23:21   #329

I beg to differ.

The Brio, in terms of quality, would trump the Eon any day. The Eon will be priced @ 3-4 lakhs and is squarely aimed at cars like the Alto K10 and the A-Star. So the quality of material and parts would meet the standards of that segment. The Brio is, I'd say, a segment higher than it already is in.

To top it off, the Eon's 800cc 3-pot mill will not be able to hold a candle to the brilliant 1.2 iVtec from the Jazz. Not in a million years. In terms of power, performance, refinement, et al. The Eon's FE is expected to be better though, and I wouldn't expect it to be much better. While the Brio is expected to deliver a consistent 16-18 in the city, the Eon should give you 18+.

The Brio is a much wider car too and has quite a lot more room than the Eon, I reckon. 5 people might be alright in the Brio for a short distance, but 5 in the Eon would be more than a squeeze.

Honda's long term reliability is their trump card, so I don't see the Eon taking away customers from the Brio. That is the i10's work. And honestly, the i10 has its work cut out for it, at the moment.
Old 27th September 2011, 23:21   #330

Originally Posted by Yeldo View Post

+1

I was very keen on the Brio, but only a variant with ABS, EBD & Airbags. And the Brio S(O)MT, V MT is priced too close for comfort to the new Swift ZXi and the Honda Jazz. Both from a segment up and much better cars in my opinion.

I will anyway take a TD and see.

Edit: But kudos to Honda for the 3.99L price of the E MT. Brio looks a very good car at that price point.

Last edited by deetjohn : 27th September 2011 at 23:24. Reason: Adding a sentence