Old 15th September 2013, 18:36   #391

Re: Toyota Liva : Test Drive & Review

Originally Posted by i74js View Post
I am planning to book a (Diesel) Liva GD / Punto Dynamic. Not sure which one I should go with. Both are coming out to be very close in terms of on road price.

I generally keep my cars for 10 years approx. This will be a replacement of aging Indica DLS 2003 model which has crossed 1.10 Lac km last month.

Suggestions please
Both cars are equally good. I would strongly recommend you take a test drive of both the cars & decide for yourself. I haven't driven either of them myself, but from the TBHP official reviews & ownership experiences what I can gather is that the Liva being lightweight is a very agile & boon to drive in city, where the Punto's strengths lies in its dynamics & tank like build. It is very well suited for highway runs.

So if your major usage is going to be in the city then go for the Liva, but if it is the highways that you would be regularly hitting then go for the Punto. Also do consider the proximity of the authorized service centres. Toyota aftersales service is the benchmark for other manufacturers & it has one of the lowest servicing costs. Hence the Liva has a great advantage as you are planning to keep your car for next 10 years.
AutoIndian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th September 2013, 07:24   #392

I am looking at replacement of my 2003 Indica DLS and am close to finalizing one the two diesels Liva GD / Punto Dynamic.

I generally keep my cars for about a decade with moderate running. Though petrol motors can serve me too as there is no heavy running, I love the torque of diesel motors and thus have always bought diesels.

Between the two cars, which one I should go with, as in terms of on road price, both are almost same.
If Durability, hassle free ownership experience, cheap maintenance cost , and easy drivability are your priority, go for the liva.

If you are a fan of the heavy weight cars ( read European ), go for the Punto.
Old 16th September 2013, 20:37   #393

Re: Toyota Liva Diesel : Test Drive & Review

Toyota launches limited editions of Liva, Etios.
TKM launched limited editions of its compact car Etios Liva and entry level sedan Etios priced between Rs 4.95 lakh and Rs 7.13 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).

The limited edition vehicles will have features such as blue-tooth audio
remote, rear parking sensors and two tone interiors, among others
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...w/22624250.cms
Old 17th September 2013, 08:22   #394

I am looking at replacement of my 2003 Indica DLS and am close to finalizing one the two diesels Liva GD / Punto Dynamic.

I generally keep my cars for about a decade with moderate running. Though petrol motors can serve me too as there is no heavy running, I love the torque of diesel motors and thus have always bought diesels.

Between the two cars, which one I should go with, as in terms of on road price, both are almost same.
Please take a test drive of both. Both have competent engines and have their own merits.

Ownership experience of Toyota is a big plus point in favour of Liva. If you are ok with the interiors and features vis-a-vis that of Punto, then Liva D it is.

Let me add a few pictures of the current interiors of Liva P. The interiors of the diesel version is similar except for tachometer, the steering mounted audio controls and the audio system.

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Toyota launches limited editions of Liva, Etios.
TKM launched limited editions of its compact car Etios Liva and entry level sedan Etios priced between Rs 4.95 lakh and Rs 7.13 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).
In terms of features, Xclusive seems to be positioned between the G/ GD and the G/GD -SP variants. Hence no airbags. The interiors, I understand, are similar to the pics posted below, with the same audio system that comes for the petrol V variant.
Toyota Liva Diesel : Test Drive & Review-img_0461.jpg  

Toyota Liva Diesel : Test Drive & Review-img_0462.jpg  

Toyota Liva Diesel : Test Drive & Review-img_0463.jpg  

Toyota Liva Diesel : Test Drive & Review-img_0467.jpg  

Old 25th October 2013, 18:06   #395

My friend's Liva's AC didn't work this morning. So, called up Toyota and asked them for a pick up and service. To our surprise, Toyota sent a flatbed truck to tow away the vehicle which only had the A/C issue! They could have sent some personnel to drive it away but, they sent a flatbed at no added cost!! No wonder Toyota's service is the best!
saadat1992 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th November 2013, 16:25   #396

Not sure if this has been posted earlier or not, but the Etios Liva scores good (4-stars Adult protection) in Latin NCAP. Here is the link to the result:

http://www.latinncap.com/en/results-list

However, it scores a lowly 2-stars for child safety, part of which is also because of this:

The vehicle gives not sufficient warning to the hazards associated with installing a rearward facing child seat on the front passenger seat with an active airbag.
I would still say it is a good car with solid engineering, looks may be damned.
CARDEEP is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th November 2013, 13:07   #397

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
Not sure if this has been posted earlier or not, but the Etios Liva scores good (4-stars Adult protection) in Latin NCAP. Here is the link to the result:

http://www.latinncap.com/en/results-list

However, it scores a lowly 2-stars for child safety, part of which is also because of this:

The vehicle gives not sufficient warning to the hazards associated with installing a rearward facing child seat on the front passenger seat with an active airbag.

I would still say it is a good car with solid engineering, looks may be damned.
The Etios Liva owners manual clearly says that child seat should only be placed on the back passenger seat and NEVER on the front passenger seat. You cannot blame Toyota because they have provided the necessary warning.
Old 27th November 2013, 13:15   #398

Originally Posted by subratasenn View Post
The Etios Liva owners manual clearly says that child seat should only be placed on the back passenger seat and NEVER on the front passenger seat. You cannot blame Toyota because they have provided the necessary warning.
Hi @subratasenn

I believe child seat on front seat is a requirement for safety testing in Latin America, guess lot of people do this there. So authorities came up with the novel idea to ensure maximum safety is attained in this case. However, the warning sticker, side/ curtain airbags, etc are universal requirements that easily help gain/ lose 1-star in the rating, whether in North America, Europe, Australia, or any part of world where these tests are conducted.

For me the Liva (O) should be good enough, as my infant daughter would in any case travel in back (child) seat, or at worst in safe hands of my family member (s).
Old 27th November 2013, 13:21   #399

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
For me the Liva (O) should be good enough, as my infant daughter would in any case travel in back (child) seat, or at worst in safe hands of my family member (s).
I always felt that back child seat, with proper belt is the best place for a child to travel in a car. Or have a family member travelling along.
And yes, I agree with you that Liva is a fantastic car, looks be damned. Actually, it doesn't look too bad either.

Last edited by subratasenn : 27th November 2013 at 13:23.
Old 12th December 2013, 21:27   #400

Hi Folks,

Just completed 10.5K km in less than a year. Overall totally satisfied with the ownership especially the service experience!!

However found the clutch a little hard. Just wanted to know if its just me.. or anyone also have the same experience. I recently drove a diesel ertiga and found the clutch much much more softer/smoother.

Nagesh
Old 12th December 2013, 21:32   #401

Originally Posted by Nagesh View Post
Hi Folks,

Just completed 10.5K km in less than a year. Overall totally satisfied with the ownership especially the service experience!!

However found the clutch a little hard. Just wanted to know if its just me.. or anyone also have the same experience. I recently drove a diesel ertiga and found the clutch much much more softer/smoother.

Nagesh
Clutch of Etios/Liva diesel is on the harder side. You will get used to it soon. ( rather, your legs will adapt by building more muscles. ) :-)
amalji is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2013, 09:17   #402

Thanks amalji. Didn't know Liva comes with an added benefit - a good leg workout!!
Old 15th December 2013, 00:30   #403

Originally Posted by Nagesh View Post
Thanks amalji. Didn't know Liva comes with an added benefit - a good leg workout!!
Yes, but only one leg.
Old 15th December 2013, 01:00   #404

Originally Posted by amalji View Post
Clutch of Etios/Liva diesel is on the harder side. You will get used to it soon. ( rather, your legs will adapt by building more muscles. ) :-)
What are you guys talking about ? Liva has probably one of the softest clutch of all the cars I ever drove. I guess you can try driving Ford Escort or Honda Civic in comparison and you will see what kind of leg workout they can provide
acurafan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2013, 01:07   #405

Originally Posted by acurafan View Post
What are you guys talking about ? Liva has probably one of the softest clutch of all the cars I ever drove. I guess you can try driving Ford Escort or Honda Civic in comparison and you will see what kind of leg workout they can provide
That's because you own a Petrol Liva. I agree with you. The clutch of Petrol Liva and Etios are one of the lightest I've ever used. But, with Diesel, it's the opposite. It's on the harder side and is harder than the DDiS.Do try it out when you visit Toyota showroom next time.

Last edited by amalji : 15th December 2013 at 01:12.