Old 26th December 2011, 18:06   #1396

just now saw a brand new xuv on a flat bed truck in near silk board junction in bangalore.
it was not an accident case as the body was shining clean. wonder what the problem is!!
Old 26th December 2011, 23:18   #1397

Re: Mahindra XUV500 : Test Drive & Review

Have tweeted Anand Mahindra anad XUV500 about nitinralli's issues. Let's see what happens. After 9 years of "evolution" of the Scorpio I face niggling issues of door light switch and power windows getting stuck on my 1.5yr old Sle. But I will tell you what will happen; people will get mentally prepared for niggling issues with M&M and Tata vehicles (like I did), because there is no other VFM product offering in that segment

My 2 cents:
1. Always quote that you paid close to 1.5million and you have to face such issues, I have seen "million" works than lacs
2. Make sure you go to the dealer first with your issues but start contacting the M&M guys (the dealer has escalation matrix phone numbers)
3. Wait for a day or 2 and take your frustration on their Facebook page.
Old 27th December 2011, 10:25   #1398

My friend got a W8 yesterday, Saw changes in the roof rail design also the car felt more softer and smoother compared to the previous one's i had driven. Has any one else noticed the same?
Old 27th December 2011, 13:13   #1399

Just out of curiosity, what mileage are the W8 owners getting on their XUVs? I've been getting around 14 on the mileage info screen, but the actual mileage is more like 11-11.5 kmpl. My running is typically 80% city and 20% on highways, and it seems to be on the lower side.

Also, requesting the owners facing issues on their cars to post in the below thread so that it is easier to track.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...solutions.html
Old 27th December 2011, 14:07   #1400

Originally Posted by Rossiter View Post
Just out of curiosity, what mileage are the W8 owners getting on their XUVs? I've been getting around 14 on the mileage info screen, but the actual mileage is more like 11-11.5 kmpl. My running is typically 80% city and 20% on highways, and it seems to be on the lower side.

Also, requesting the owners facing issues on their cars to post in the below thread so that it is easier to track.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...solutions.html
Same for my W6. Info screen varies between 14-14.8 for incity driving....actual works out around 11.5-12 Kmpl.
Old 27th December 2011, 15:04   #1401

Originally Posted by Pilot77in View Post
Same for my W6. Info screen varies between 14-14.8 for incity driving....actual works out around 11.5-12 Kmpl.
I think it calculates on Real time driving over small number of KMS, It makes an update in every one minute

I found a XUV with Upgraded audio sounds better
Mahindra XUV500 : Test Drive & Review-img2011122701846.jpg  

Mahindra XUV500 : Test Drive & Review-img2011122701847.jpg  

Mahindra XUV500 : Test Drive & Review-img2011122701848.jpg  

Last edited by noidaboy : 27th December 2011 at 15:24.
Old 27th December 2011, 21:15   #1402

I was driving to Tiger point (Lonawala) along with my colleagues last evening and all of a sudden the TPMS started misbehaving.. Front Right, Front Left and then Rear Left Tire started showing ERROR instead of OK!!!
I immediately rang RM (for the first time) only to know that it is OK to get this error as long as it is not showing Low Pressure. The 'error' is due malfunctioning of sensors used in TPMS due to heat generated while the vehicle is in motion at relatively higher speeds (max we touched was 100 KMPH)
Wouldn't I need these sensors more when vehicle is running at higher speeds?
I've been told to visit workshop when I can to get this checked using a laptop (?)
Old 28th December 2011, 10:08   #1403

Originally Posted by DigitalSoul View Post
I was driving to Tiger point (Lonawala) along with my colleagues last evening and all of a sudden the TPMS started misbehaving.. Front Right, Front Left and then Rear Left Tire started showing ERROR instead of OK!!!
I immediately rang RM (for the first time) only to know that it is OK to get this error as long as it is not showing Low Pressure. The 'error' is due malfunctioning of sensors used in TPMS due to heat generated while the vehicle is in motion at relatively higher speeds (max we touched was 100 KMPH)
Wouldn't I need these sensors more when vehicle is running at higher speeds?
I've been told to visit workshop when I can to get this checked using a laptop (?)
If you switch off and switch on the car and it goes away mean it was a temporary error. That comes on the highway when you cross high-tension wires above. The TPMS runs on RFID signals that tend to get distorted at times. Hence the ERROR. If it stays even after re-starting the car then you can get it checked.
noidaboy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th December 2011, 10:35   #1404

Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
I think it calculates on Real time driving over small number of KMS, It makes an update in every one minute

I found a XUV with Upgraded audio sounds better
Wow
Whose car is this ? It would be good if we can get a detailed thread on whats been added to make the XUV sound better on the Audio front ?
Old 28th December 2011, 13:18   #1405

Test driven car here in Zulikha motors chennai.
The test car was with a huge engine whistle noise and high engine rattling when I switched off.
But over all the experience was good.
One thing to point was while test driving we approached a speed breaker. Yes it was as good as a wheel base of a small car. An Eon was trying to negotiate, by slowing and taking a cross ward movement.
And myself, when neared that just zoomed past and the poor driver from Eon looked at me with Envy

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 28th December 2011 at 16:41. Reason: Spelling
Old 28th December 2011, 18:56   #1406

XUV Prices hiked!

W6- 30 K
W8- 50 K
W8 AWD - 55K

People who have booked already have to pay only 50% of the hike.

Source: Sirish Chandran on Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/sirishchandra...14210988130304

Last edited by LastActionHero : 28th December 2011 at 19:00.
Old 28th December 2011, 19:56   #1407

M&M hikes XUV500 prices by up to Rs 55,000 from January 1 - The Economic Times

OTR price hike will be more after taking insurance and road tax into account.

Last edited by sdp1975 : 28th December 2011 at 20:09.
Old 28th December 2011, 20:07   #1408

Originally Posted by LastActionHero View Post
XUV Prices hiked!

W6- 30 K
W8- 50 K
W8 AWD - 55K

People who have booked already have to pay only 50% of the hike.

Source: Sirish Chandran on Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/sirishchandran/status/152014210988130304
Wow , Still under 60K INR . Many thought this will touch 1Lakh !!!!!
There might be one more hike expected post march when INR Vs USD is supposed to cross 56 .
Old 28th December 2011, 20:12   #1409

My take is that it means niggles are there to stay and that they are still not confident enough that it's a niggle free car
Old 28th December 2011, 20:32   #1410

Yep, here's an excerpt from the official release:

Mumbai, December 28, 2011: Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. (M&M) announced that it would be raising the price of the XUV5OO from 1st January 2012 . This price rise has been necessitated as the launch price was an introductory invitation price and there has also been a considerable impact of increase in raw material costs and the rupee depreciation with respect to dollar & euro.

The quantum of approximate ex-showroom price increase for the respective models of the XUV5OO is as follows:

* W6 variant – By Rs 30,000/- for ex-showroom Delhi
* W8-FWD variant – By Rs 50,000/- for ex-showroom Delhi
* W8-AWD variant – By Rs 55,000/- for ex-showroom Delhi

However, as a special case, for all the current bookings, for which delivery has not been made and inspite of the terms of price applicable at the time of delivery, the increase would only be 50% of the actual price increase proposed as above.

The production for the XUV5OO is as per schedule and the company is also in the process of further ramping up production at its plant in Chakan which will enable it to re-open bookings in January 2012.