Old 24th October 2011, 17:14   #1

Hyundai Eon : Test Drive & Review

The Hyundai Eon has been launched in India at a price of 2.69 - 3.71 Lakhs (ex-Delhi).

What you’ll like:

• Great looking, modern design for 3 lakhs. Makes other budget cars look outdated
Best-in-class interior quality, fit & finish. Excellent air-conditioner too
• Many segment first features (driver airbag, tilt steering, gear indicator etc.)
• Frugal 3 cylinder petrol engine delivers high fuel efficiency
• Big 215 liter boot has a practical layout
• Hyundai's excellent after-sales service

What you won’t:

• Shaky, vibrating gear lever at all speeds. Overall NVH is unimpressive
• Pricing is too close to other 4 cylinder hatchbacks (including the Santro). Top variant overpriced @ 3.71 lakh
• Ordinary commuter engine that doesn't really impress in any particular area
• Steering is too light & sensitive at highway speeds
• Hyundai's service costs are usually higher than that of the competition

NOTE: Click any picture to open a larger higher-resolution version in a new window.

Last edited by GTO : 26th October 2011 at 13:57. Reason: Language corrections
GTO is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:14   #2

Re: Hyundai Eon : Test Drive & Review

The Indian car market has witnessed nearly a hundred new launches in the last 5 years, yet save for one (i.e. the Tata Nano), not a single new car was introduced at a sub-3 lakh rupee price point. Why? It's simply because manufacturing a car that people want at <3 lakh rupees is a herculean task. You have to exercise military-like control on manufacturing costs. And even if you manage to price a car that low, do you have enough dealers to sell them? Or service stations that can handle the volumes? Considering how thin margins can be on a 2.xx lakh hatchback, volumes are a must to make it worthwhile (just ask Nano). No wonder then that Maruti has been having a field day with the Alto, India's best selling car. Plus, there are also the 800, Omni & Eeco on offer.

Ironically, the cheapest car segment in the country (and possibly the world) is peculiar in nature. You would think that price is everything, but the fact is, the cheapest is NOT the best selling. The Maruti Alto costs noticeably more than the 800 and Nano; yet, it outsells the cheaper alternatives in a 10:1 ratio. Clearly, even the entry-level car buyer, and one who is usually a first time owner, doesn't like things too cheap & basic. Else the Nano would have created the traffic problems that environmentalists expected it to.

Hyundai wants a 2nd shot at the 3 lakh rupee segment. The Santro, of course, was the first. Within a year of its launch in '98, the tall boy made Hyundai the No.2 car manufacturer in India. 13 years after launch, the Santro still maintains an average monthly tally of 6,800 units (current calendar year). Hyundai wants to entrench its current position as the No.2 car manufacturer in India, and grab further market share points from Maruti. The sales target for the Eon in its first year of production is between 140,000 - 150,000 units. If you can crack the entry-level car code, the segment can deliver on volumes like no other. Plus, with the Eon, Hyundai is now the only other manufacturer to have 4 hatchbacks on sale. Sure, there will be inevitable overlap between the Eon & the Santro, but it's probably not a bad thing. Who better than the master of an overlapping product range - Maruti - to prove it. Leaving the UVs & Dzire aside, Maruti has 4 hatchbacks (Alto, WagonR, Ritz & Swift) that sell over 6,000 units a month. There's a high probability that the Eon will be the 4th Hyundai hatchback to do the same. You can bet that Maruti has the slanted H firm in its rear view mirror...they even launched a new Alto variant mere hours before the Eon (Link to thread)!

As cheap & basic don't work, Hyundai has given the Eon contemporary clothes and the best-in-class interiors. 4 years & 900 crore rupees of development resulted in a trendy package that makes the Alto & 800 look incredibly barebone. The Eon's face wears a fluidic theme, including a hexagonal cut around the grille area. The large headlamps wrap around its face and look pretty substantial. Viewed from the side, you will notice the steep curve that the shoulder takes (where it meets the C Pillar) and the beefed up wheel arches. Honestly, it's a sub-3 lakh rupee car that doesn't look like one. The Maruti Alto looks 20 years too old when parked next to it (picture below). And in terms of size & presence, the Eon nearly matches its more expensive siblings. Even the 2,380 mm wheelbase is exactly the same as the i10 & Santro.

Tipping the scale at a little over 700 kilos, the Eon is a light car, and feels just like one. Right from the doors to the bonnet to the hatch, the sheet metal is very thin & flimsy. A slightly firm press on any body panel will see it bending inward. It's as light as the Marutis, though I might add that the Spark's build feels the best from the entry-level hatchbacks; the Chevy simply isn't as flimsy. The Eon's exterior paint quality is good, and panel gaps are surprisingly tight & consistent.

The pricing starts at 2.69 lakhs and goes to 3.71 lakhs (ex-showroom Delhi). Direct competitor - the Alto - has a price range of 2.32 - 2.84 lakhs for the 796 cc model. Hyundai wants to penetrate the urban & well as rural markets, and plans for an additional 1000 sales points in rural India. The Eon gets several segment-first features such as a driver-side airbag, steering tilt adjust, black & beige interiors, gearshift suggesting display, double-din stereo with CD, USB & AUX and body coloured mirrors.

Hyundai Eon : Test Drive & Review-hyundai-eon-comparison-competitors.jpg

Looks way too good for an entry-level hatchback. Has many bulges & creases, but isn't as extreme as the Beat:

Typical Hyundai derrière, and the most boring part of the Eon's design. Large rear bumper looks ungainly:

Parked side by side, the Alto looks 20 years too old:

Notice the sharp, upward curve of the shoulder line as it meets the C Pillar:

Large wraparound headlamps define the front:

A closer look at the triangular fog lamps:

Hexagonal grille is now a standard part of the fluidic design theme:

Beefed up front wheel arches. The rear arches also receive a similar treatment:

155/70 R13 tyres on regular steel wheels. Nice wheel-cap design, can pass off as alloy wheels to the casual observer:

Skinny tyres. Lesser variants get even thinner 145/80 R12 rubber. In the interest of safety, please upgrade to 165 / 175 width tyres straight from the showroom:

Tail-lamp design is clearly influenced by the Verna hatchback:

Rear spoiler is standard across all variants:

Old flap-style door handles. Separate keyhole looks pathetic...should have been integrated onto the handle itself:

Stubby roof antenna of the Magna & Sportz variants:

Exhaust pipe is tucked under the rear bumper, and is nearly hidden out of view:

Wing mirrors do the job and wear a body-coloured outer skin. Even the inside rear view mirror is sufficiently wide:

Last edited by GTO : 26th October 2011 at 13:58.
GTO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:15   #3

The quality & overall feel of the Eon's interiors will be a huge selling point in the entry-level segment. Simply put, this car's interiors not only blow the competition away, but they also match some hatchbacks from a segment above in terms of feel, fit & finish. The bare basic Maruti Alto & Chevrolet Spark can't hold a candle to the Eon in this area. With the i10, i20 & Verna, Hyundai held the best-in-class interior card, and that reputation is carried forward by its new, budget hatchback. Even the A & B pillar areas get beige trim for that feel good factor. The gear stalk isn't exposed either, and is treated with a well-fitted wrap. The semi-fabric seats feel better than what you usually get at this price point. I found the dual-tone interior colour combo to be similar to my Civic, with black & beige in equal measure, and a lot of silver accents thrown in. Other manufacturers should learn from Hyundai on giving quality interiors at a low price.

Despite the car's taller stance, the low seats ensure that ingress & egress aren't as easy as in other tallboys. You "sit down" onto the seats, while getting out of the rear seats is a task in itself as your leg will hit against the B-Pillar. The gap between the rear seat base & B Pillar is simply too small.

The dashboard is set on the lower side and thus, even those of a medium-height won't have any visibility issues in driving this car. Frontal & lateral views are superb. The 4-spoke steering wheel is thick enough to hold, albeit a size larger than you would expect in a small car. The steering also gets tilt adjustment, which is a first in this class of cars. The thin front seats offer adequate support for the in-city commutes (not for long distance though), and are far better than the rudimentary ones of the Alto. The soft, integrated neck restraints work well and are also positioned in such a way that you could rest your head on them, from time to time. The front seats have a super-long fore & aft adjustment range. 6+ footers won't have a problem driving the Eon. And with the seat pushed all the way back, a tall front passenger should be able to stretch his legs in comfort. Headroom is sufficient at the front, but if the driver & co-passenger are hefty, they will frequently brush their elbows against each other. Remember, this is a narrow car. There are no ergonomic blunders, and the logical layout of all controls is very Japanese in nature...practical and just where you expect them to be. The instrument console is easy to read, whether day or night. But sadly, even the top variant doesn't get an rpm meter. You will have to make do with an odometer & two trip-meters. On the flip side, Hyundai has equipped the Eon with a "gearshift indicator" that recommends - in real time - the gear you should be driving in. It's obviously tuned for fuel economy and should keep most newbie drivers happy. I like how the fuel & temperature gauges get progressive lights instead of needles. I only wish that the footwell was not so narrow. The pedals are placed fairly close to each other. No dead pedal is provided, yet there is some space to the left where you can rest your foot over long drives. The interior rear view mirror is wide & keeps the driver sufficiently notified of all the traffic action behind. The wing mirrors are perfectly sized too, and can be manually adjusted from inside the car.

Things aren't as bright for rear passengers. Available space is a tad more than the Alto, yet that's not saying too much. The Eon is a compact hatchback at the end of the day. Two passengers is the maximum that the rear bench can accommodate. And if you sit behind a tall front passenger, things will get terribly cramped. The rear seat itself offers decent support and has a very long seat base. The recessed door pads release that much more room for your legs. The seatback isn’t too upright and at 5.10”, my head had over 2” of clearance from the roof. However, the rear neck restraints are placed too low & will be useful only to short passengers. The door armrests work well for resting your arms on. Plus, the rear seat is placed higher than the front. This has two advantages; better frontward visibility (less claustrophobia) and more room for your feet. The windows, however, are small due to the swooping shoulder line and do limit the amount of light coming in from the sides. The occasional 5th occupant won't feel too welcome. The floor hump greatly limits foot room, and the Eon's narrow width won't leave much shoulder space either. This car is a four seater at best.

I started my Eon experience by jumping on the back seat. The air-conditioner left me pleasantly surprised. In 5 minutes, the a/c had sufficiently cooled the rear cabin area. Blower speed 2 is probably the max you will need on most days. Entry-level hatchbacks aren't known for strong air-conditioners, and I consider this to be a huge plus point for the Eon. I must add that the rotary blower speed knob feels particularly high quality to use.

Sound quality (SQ) from the OEM system (2 front speakers) is economy grade; if you care even a little bit about SQ, you will upgrade the speakers. The double-din head unit gets a CD player and USB / AUX inputs. The head-unit's large buttons make it easier to use when driving.

Storage space is plentiful inside the Eon. Let's start with the massive, wide and deep glove box where you can throw in lots of stuff. Both the front doors get door pockets that can hold 1 liter bottles as well as some oddities. Right ahead of the gear lever, you will find a large square compartment with a dedicated slot for your mobile phone / MP3 player. Then, there is the accommodating cavity on top of the dashboard. On the other hand, rear passengers only get a single bottle holder (placed behind the handbrake) and the parcel tray for the knick knacks. The 215 liter boot is larger and far more usable, compared to what the competition offers. Plus, the practical layout means you can carry more luggage than even the Maruti Swift we tested last month. Additionally, the rear seat can fold down for the times you need to carry large cargo.

Interior design & quality are an Eon USP. Classy dual-tone palette with silver accents thrown in. Colour combination greatly reminds me of the Civic from my garage:

Chunky steering wheel is good to hold. A size larger than I prefer in this class of car though. Driver-side airbag standard on the Sportz variant:

Thin front seats, yet supportive enough for urban commutes. Soft integrated neck restraints are perfectly positioned. Narrow width means you will frequently "elbow" the front passenger. Rexine seat area will get really hot in the summer:

RPM meter should have been provided, atleast on the Magna & Sportz trim levels. Dials are easy to read, whether day or night:

That's the gear shift indicator urging me to upshift to 5th (I was in 3rd). The gearshift recommendation tool is tuned for fuel economy. Newbie drivers will like:

First-in-class steering tilt adjustment. Has a decent range of adjustment too:

Basic looking gear lever. Keeps shaking & vibrating, whatever the speed:

Pedals are placed too close to one another. There is sufficient space to rest your foot on the left (over long drives):

2-DIN stereo is equipped with a CD Player, USB / AUX inputs and 2 front speakers. Sound quality (SQ) is economy-grade. Large buttons are easy to choose / use when driving. If you care even a little about SQ, plan to upgrade the speakers:

Air-conditioner works surprisingly well, and cooled even the rear seat area in no time. Blower speed knob feels high quality for the price. You will rarely need to go over speed 2:

Large practical glovebox. Very deep and very wide:

Storage spot on top of the dashboard for the oddities. Can even hold a 1 liter bottle horizontally:

Dual-tone door panels (seen the Alto's basic one lately?). Power window buttons are ergonomically perfect. Door pockets can hold 1 liter bottles and some knick knacks:

A & B Pillars get beige trim. C pillar gets a darker shade to match the surrounding area. Mirror adjustment stalk is also visible in this picture:

Keyless entry on the Sportz variant. Spare is a regular (non-remote) key though:

More space than the Alto & Spark, but still limited. Hyundai should have grabbed some more room from the large boot:

With the front seats pushed all the way back, it is hard for anyone to sit at the rear. To be fair, the front seats have a long travel-range and, in this position, can accommodate a 6+ feet driver:

Decent support. Notice the ultra long seat base:

Rear seats get knuckle holders (on the side) to park the seat belts in, when they are not being used:

Manual windows at the back. Rear window goes down nearly all the way (max position pictured here):

Egress is a royal pain and your Mom will hate it. The distance between the rear seat base & the B Pillar is too limited:

One bottle holder / storage cubicle for the rear benchers (placed between the front seats):

Parcel tray for the knick knacks & to keep luggage out of view:

Big 215 liter boot! Best in class and can hold more luggage than even the recently tested Maruti Swift. Exposed metal around the boot area means paint will get scratched (or worse, peel off) by luggage movement. High loading bay equates to a certain amount of effort in lifting luggage:

The rear seat can fold away too, for the times that you need to carry additional cargo:

Last edited by GTO : 26th October 2011 at 14:03.
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:15   #4

Small engine in a compact engine bay:

The air intake pipe is covered by a plastic wrap. Perhaps, to insulate it from engine bay heat?

Under the Eon's bonnet lies a 3-cylinder 814 cc petrol engine with a power output of 55 BHP (@ 5,500 rpm) and 75 Nm of peak torque (@ 4,000 rpm). This engine has 3 valves / cylinder & a single overhead camshaft. The unit is basically the same as the 1.1L in the Santro, with one cylinder shaved off. It's not really a matter of cost though. Hyundai has been making the Santro's iRDE engine in high volume for years together, and there wouldn't really be much difference in the manufacturing cost. Rather, the 3 cylinder was chosen from the product differentiation point of view, and to effectively position the Eon as an entry-level hatchback. Also, small 3 cylinder engines are usually very fuel efficient. That shows in the Eon's ARAI rating (21.1 kpl) which betters that of the Alto (19.7). For the record, the Santro's engine has an ARAI rating of 17.92 kpl.

This is a commuter engine that is only meant to take you from point A -> point B. If you are looking at any kind of performance, turn elsewhere. Start the Eon up, and the engine settles into an uneven idle. The 3-cylinder imbalance is immediately evident, especially on the continuously shaking gear lever. I will elaborate on this point in the NVH paragraph.

By segment standards, low end torque delivery isn’t bad, though it lacks the Santro's punch. Outright driveability is only average, and you will be using the gearbox more than expected. Throttle response can feel hollow at some rpm points. Also, in bumper to bumper traffic, you can feel the engine jerking from time to time; this could be due to the air-con compressor switching on & off continuously. The motor feels better once it crosses ~2,000 rpm, delivering fairly peppy performance. The light kerb weight gives it a power-to-weight ratio of 77 BHP / ton, which is higher than most competitors (including the Santro). Outright acceleration is better than you would expect for an 814 cc car. It's noticeably quicker than the Alto 800, and about on par with the Spark, though you cannot compare the Eon's sprinting ability to the Alto K10 which is in a different league by itself. You can extract nippy performance in the city, but only by making judicious use of the gearbox and the accelerator pedal. The 1st gear tops out at 40 kph, 2nd at 70 and 3rd is good for 115 kph.

Out on the open road, the Eon can cruise all day at 120 kph. The motor isn't stressed at this speed at all, thanks to the tall 5th gear. While you can extract another 10 - 15 kph out of the engine, I really wouldn't go over 120 in this car. It's best to adopt a sedate driving style on the expressway. Like in the city, you will have to use the gear lever a lot on the highway, especially during overtaking. Whenever there is a reasonable road incline, you will have to drop a gear to bring the engine back into its power band. In fact, after a short while, it became a habit to downshift to 4th (or even 3rd) whenever I needed pep on the Udaipur highway. Don't revv too high though. There is not much progress as you near the redline, and the engine develops a coarse note too. The air-conditioner does create a load on the engine, but it's not as bad as the Alto where you have to switch the compressor off at times. I drove with the air-conditioner running in all conditions and never felt the need to switch it off. This segment doesn’t complain about performance as long as it is adequate. The powerplant will meet the requirements of those who buy the entry - mid level variants. However, there are better engines available at the pricing of the Sportz trim level. I only wish the Santro's 4 cylinder motor had found its way to the Eon. That would have made the overall package far superior.

The upper variants of the Eon are also equipped with an Alternator Management System (AMS). What the AMS basically does is, it disengages the alternator during acceleration. Thus, all engine power is used for accelerating only.

The engine note is identical to that of the 800 and Alto, and has a typical 3 cylinder thrum to it. The NVH isn't up to the mark at all. The gear lever shakes at idle, shakes when you get moving and continues shaking even at 90 kph in 5th gear. Plus, with accelerator input, it constantly moves back & forth. This is something Hyundai should have sorted out at the R&D level before launch. Engine vibrations are also felt on the clutch & accelerator pedals, though not much to the passengers. Vibrations do smoothen out once in motion in most areas (except for the gear lever). Wind noise is prominent on the highway, while there is noticeable transmission whine in 1st gear.

The clutch is very light. In fact, it's probably amongst the lightest clutches I have ever used. This, combined with the light steering & tiny turning radius, makes the Eon very easy to drive in the city. The gear shift quality is rubbery, but the gates are better defined than the vague unit of the Alto.

The Eon's suspension is a McPherson strut setup at the front and torsion beam axle at the rear. The dampers, however, are gas filled. Ride quality is about what you would expect from a car of this segment. The Eon stays compliant as long as the roads are good, or mildly uneven. It will even take urban undulations sufficiently well and doesn't feel anywhere as stiff as the Santro. However, as road conditions deteriorate, the basic nature of this car emerges. Large bumps can send a jolt down your spine, and there is excessive vertical movement on uneven roads. Note that ride quality is better for front occupants than those on the back seat.

The Eon, expectedly, handles like a budget family hatchback. Adopt a sedate driving style and the behaviour is fairly predictable with no nasty surprises. Although, the tyres are too skinny and give up way before the car does. I would highly recommend Eon owners to upgrade to thicker tyres (either a 165 or 175 width tyre) in the interest of safety. Push hard and she will understeer easily, with body roll becoming noticeable too. I did like the highway stability. By segment standards, the Eon was fairly stable even at 120 kph. It did not feel nervous at all. What I didn't like was the steering which feels like it's been inspired by a gaming console. Sure, its super light in the city and nearly all potential owners will greatly appreciate that. However, when out on the highway at 120 kph, it stays super light. And at that speed, the steering is too sensitive, with the front wheels responding to the slightest steering movement. Remember to keep a firm hand on the Eon's steering when you are traveling on the expressway. The Spark, undoubtedly, is a lot more fun to drive.

The brakes left me pleasantly surprised. Where the Alto has weak, vague brakes, the Eon easily has braking capability that is the best in the segment. I stood on the brakes at a 100 kph and the hatchback stopped in a straight line. No fuss, no sideways movement. Short wheelbase cars usually don’t scrape their underbellies over speed breakers, and the Eon is no different. 170 mm of ground clearance should suffice for most of our driving conditions.

Last edited by GTO : 26th October 2011 at 14:10. Reason: Adding point on AMS
GTO is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:15   #5

Other Points:

• Hyundai could have made the boot smaller, and given the rear seat more space. The wheelbase length is identical between the Eon, Santro & i10. But that would lead to dangerous overlap with its more expensive siblings. Similar reasoning to the choice of a 3-cylinder engine.

• Eon means eternity. This car was known in its pre-launch days as the Hyundai HA or the Hyundai 800.

• In terms of coverage, Hyundai now sweeps across all hatchback segments. Right from the 2.7 lakh rupee Eon at the budget level, to the mid-range i10 and the very premium i20.

• Research shows that the typical rural buyer of hatchbacks is older than his urban counterpart. Things will be the same for the Eon. Hyundai plans to create an additional 1000 "sales points" in rural India in the near future.

• Service intervals : 1st service is at 2 months / 1,500 kms. Thereafter, its every 12 months or 10,000 kms (whichever is earlier).

• The Eon has a small fuel tank with a mere 32 liter capacity. The same for the Alto & Spark are 35 & 38 liters respectively. The Eon is equipped with a low fuel indicator.

• Beige also helps in making the interiors feel airy. This is a must in small cars & their limited cabin space.

• Hyundai has usually offered automatic transmissions across its range, including in the Santro and the i10. The Eon, however, will be the first Hyundai hatchback NOT to get an AT, thanks to its market positioning.

• Even though they are from different segments, drive the Eon & the Micra back to back. You'll see just what a fabulous job Nissan has done with the NVH on its 3 cylinder petrol.

• Eon exports commence in 2012, starting with the South American & South African markets.

• Through tie-ups with banks, Hyundai will be introducing 100% finance options soon. This will make car ownership that much more accessible for first-time buyers.

• The power windows roll up & down really fast. So fast that they'll leave you surprised.

• The doors don’t auto lock after you start driving. This is unfortunate as auto locking doors are a must-have feature in India and hardly cost a buck to add.

• Even the way that the interior parts are fitted together is commendable. Nothing feels “loose” inside, and there aren’t any uneven tolerances either. Hyundai can teach the others a thing or two about making cheap cars that don't feel cheap.

• Given a choice between an airbag & ABS system, I would always choose the latter. Wish Hyundai had given the Sportz variant ABS instead.

Disclaimer : Hyundai invited Team-BHP for the Eon test-drive. They covered all the expenses for this driving event.
GTO is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:16   #6

The Smaller & Significant Things:

No needles in the temperature & fuel gauges. Rather, they get a progressive light arrangement:

Hooks to safely hold the driver's floor mat in place:

Hyundai insists that this recess on the dashboard has been specifically provided for deity idols. If you are an atheist, here's a place for that bottle of car fragrance:

A 1 liter water bottle in the cavity on the dashboard top:

One cabin light at the front. Center-placement would be far more useful, if there has to be only one:

Small air-con vents, yet they do the job:

Ready provision for fitting rear speakers:

Rearward view:

Dual trip meters:

Easy access to the fuse box:

Fairly accommodating storage box, ahead of the gear lever, has a dedicated corner for your cell phone / MP3 player:

Mist function? Yep. Stalks feel durable, though basic:

Spot under the handbrake can hold an odd item, or your cell phone:

Last edited by GTO : 24th October 2011 at 20:46. Reason: Small correction
GTO is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:16   #7

Chief Competitors of the Hyundai Eon

Maruti Alto

What you’ll like:
• Low price tag and cost of ownership
• Decent build quality
• Competent on-road behavior
• Consistently high fuel efficiency
• Superb after-sales service

What you won’t:
• Basic in nature, inside out. Feels outdated
• Cramped interiors
• Small boot
• Poor engine performance with air-con on

Chevrolet Spark

What you’ll like:
• Funky and youthful styling
• Good build quality
• Fuel-efficient engine
• Balanced ride and handling package
• Fun to drive nature

What you won’t:
• Inflated price tag
• Dull interiors
• Lack of rear bench space
• Inconsistent GM service

Hyundai Santro

What you’ll like:
• An all-round urban hatchback
• Torquey and fuel-efficient engine
• Tall-boy benefits such as easy ingress, extra head-room etc
• High quality interiors
• Excellent Hyundai service

What you won’t:
• Lackluster highway performance
• Bumpy ride quality
• Hard compound seats

Maruti Alto K10

What you’ll like:
• Power! 67 BHP (68 PS) in a 760 kg kerb weight car
• Thoroughly fun-to-drive hatchback
• Maruti Suzuki's 1.0 L K10 engine feels mature in this car
• NVH levels are surprisingly low for a 3-cylinder engine
• High fuel efficiency

What you won’t:
• Basic in nature, inside out
• Cramped interiors
• Small boot
• High speed handling & significant under-steer
• Lifeless steering

Tata Indica

What you’ll like:
• Sheer value for money
• Big car space and comfortable seats
• Superbly efficient diesels
• Excellent ride quality

What you won’t:
• Lack of power from N/A petrol & diesel
• Low fit and finish levels
• Inconsistent after-sales service
• Constantly niggling issues

Picture source : Various Team-BHP Ownership Threads

Last edited by GTO : 24th October 2011 at 19:07.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 24th October 2011, 17:34   #8

Holy Moly, the review is up.
And as usual it is a fantastic review.Thanks GTO.
Surely looks like a competitor for Alto in urban areas.

Rest, I am not impressed with this contraption from Hyundai. I still think my Santro is much better option to Eon. I can bet spares for Eon will be pocket unfriendly.

Shaking vehicles look agricultural to me. Poor NVH is a big no no. But what the heck, budget minded users won't mind NVH. So +1 for Hyundai.

OT: Glad I did not wait for Eon and got a Ritz VXI. Very satisfied with Ritz.
Old 24th October 2011, 17:40   #9

Great Review, as always
Wouldn't Chevy Spark be a better alternative to EON? Both are priced neck to neck.

IMO customers coming in for Santro & i10 will definitely give a hard look at EON before finalizing. i10ish looks and quality fit & finish is a big plus. But could have been priced lower!!

Last edited by HammerHead : 24th October 2011 at 17:43.
Old 24th October 2011, 17:44   #10

Don't understand price positioning of EON. Most variants are expensive compared to Alto (both 800cc & K10).

EON looks better in all areas compared to Alto, but should it demand this much premium over Alto? Let market decide it.
Old 24th October 2011, 17:45   #11

Quality looks very good. Seriously Maruti should sack the Alto. No AT version.
Its even got a spoiler above the air con vents !
Old 24th October 2011, 17:50   #12

Wow !! Good review, GTO. After the Nano, this could be the car that churns up the lowest segment of the market.
Old 24th October 2011, 17:50   #13

A crisp review as always by GTO.

The quality of the interiors and the exterior of the Eon are truly the car's USP. The Alto in comparison looks totally dated. The rear passenger window line curving up towards the C pillar is a shocker. The Verna has it and now the Eon. It not only looks bad but will also make the rear benchers feel like sitting against an overhead window.

Just loved the way Hyundai has extracted boot space out of the Eon. It looks massive. Rated at 215L but feels more like 250+. Very commendable indeed.

Don't understand the concept of providing driver side airbag alone. Either have one each for the driver and co-driver or don't have them at all. Why the bias towards the driver alone? Or is this purely to go one-up on the Alto/Spark and use it as a USP? I remember the Chevrolet started this practice of driver side airbag on the SR-V. It sends out the signal that the car is meant to be driven solo.

Performance of the Eon is no where close to the Alto but it pips the Alto in almost all other areas. The Spark too will feel the heat - it anyways isn't doing well.
Old 24th October 2011, 17:53   #14

Thanks GTO for the super review which will be a benchmark to hundreds of thousands of potential buyers and auto enthusiasts alike. Afterall Eon is slotted into one of the most popular and mass segment in our automobile landscape and has at least over 30k unit potential considering the sales of Alto, Spark, Santro and even the likes of Wagon R and A Star.

One thing for sure this piece of automobile ushers in a fresh set of uniform both in the exterior and interior specifications. IMO the meat of the sales would be in the mid variant (read a/c, power steering, power window) trim and the higher variants nearly touch more powerful/ spacious offerings. Again customers looking at other Hyundai products (read i10, Santro) may get cannibalized to an Eon which may be actually factored in by then until they remain in the same family. Let the fight to capture the slice of the pie begin!
Old 24th October 2011, 18:05   #15

Superb Duper review GTO as usual. Seriously, one has to learn to assimilate the way you do the car pin-pointedly. Awesome. From what is understood, the car will be more shaky than Alto and Alto would probably still hold its trump card on ride and its road manners, although it will fail miserably on other counts. Seems Eon is going to dampen Alto's market share for sure as an overall brilliant package. Lets wait and watch. But given the pespective of Eon top and i10 IRDE base end quite near each other, there is high possibility people may opt for i10, a similar situation appeared with one of the friends.