Old 23rd October 2014, 23:52   #61

Imagine if it was the M5 "30 Jahre" edition. Supercar decimating performance by a 4 door saloon.

http://www.bmw.co.uk/en_GB/new-vehic...reEdition.html
robimahanta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2014, 22:51   #62
PPS

Re: BMW M5 : Driven

2015 BMW M5 has been launched at Rs 1.35 crore (ex-showroom, all India). It was 40 lakhs cheaper when launched 2yrs ago !

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...re-391822.aspx
PPS is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th November 2014, 01:50   #63

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
2015 BMW M5 has been launched at Rs 1.35 crore (ex-showroom, all India). It was 40 lakhs cheaper when launched 2yrs ago !

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...re-391822.aspx
Prices have been hiked due to taxes going up over the past two years. However the excessive hike has been made to make space for the M3 & M4. International the M5 costs 30% more than the M3 hence we could expect the same to be launched at 1cr. This would make it head on priced with it's arch rival- the RS5
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th May 2016, 17:37   #64

guys - need an urgent advice , I have kind of committed AMG CLA45 and is due for delivery & today BMW guys call me and offer less than 3500 Km driven BMW India owned M5 - Model Year 2014 which was apparently used by someone senior + occasional show off at events. Has never been on track. This car comes with all possible loadings including Marino leather , 20 Inch wheels, B & O , Night vision and soft close. On Road price for this was Rs 1,85 Cr and this is being offered @ Rs 1,1 Cr.

Car looks & feels like showroom new , Does this makes sense over say 70 Lac for new CLA AMG ? anything that I should be worried about? Still in warranty but no BSI which I will have to buy separately.

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th May 2016 at 17:55.
Old 11th May 2016, 21:33   #65

Both are different beasts. I really cannot advise you unless you tell us the type of roads that you drive on.

If the M5 is black or metallic red, chances are that it has been used on track
ajmat is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th May 2016, 21:49   #66

If the M5 is black or metallic red, chances are that it has been used on track
Thanks for your answer Ajmat , I will mostly drive on highways like Chandigarh - Delhi.

As per dealership, they have checked usage and can confirm that this was used personally by someone senior and occasionally on displays. This has been on track only once by BMW instructor as a lead pilot car. This was sitting with BMW for a while , looks new President is trying to sell all such cars. Tyre depth is above 7 but will check the date on tyres tomorrow to be double sure if these have been replaced or are the ones that came with car which will confirm track usage. Interiors look in pristine conditions with almost nil sign of wear on leather. I can buy BSI as well additional warranty at costs.

some photos of the car - do you remember this ? Colour is Sakhir orange. Anything that I should check specifically ?
BMW M5 : Driven-screen-shot-20160511-9.54.40-pm.jpg  

BMW M5 : Driven-screen-shot-20160511-9.53.58-pm.jpg  

BMW M5 : Driven-screen-shot-20160511-9.54.12-pm.jpg  

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th May 2016 at 22:09.
Turbanator is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 12th May 2016, 01:21   #67
v12

I would suggest you to stay away from this car if it has been (ab)used by auto magazines. Not sure if this is the same car featured in :

Overdrive
http://m.overdrive.in/reviews/2014-b...-review-india/
BMW M5 : Driven-images-15.jpg

Zig Wheels
http://www.zigwheels.com/reviews-adv...-review/22451/
BMW M5 : Driven-bmwm52015faceliftzigwheelsindiam03_720x540.jpg
v12 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 12th May 2016, 09:12   #68

Thanks for your answer Ajmat , I will mostly drive on highways like Chandigarh - Delhi.

As per dealership, they have checked usage and can confirm that this was used personally by someone senior and occasionally on displays. This has been on track only once by BMW instructor as a lead pilot car. This was sitting with BMW for a while , looks new President is trying to sell all such cars. Tyre depth is above 7 but will check the date on tyres tomorrow to be double sure if these have been replaced or are the ones that came with car which will confirm track usage. Interiors look in pristine conditions with almost nil sign of wear on leather. I can buy BSI as well additional warranty at costs.

some photos of the car - do you remember this ? Colour is Sakhir orange. Anything that I should check specifically ?

BMW M5 : Driven-img_1646.jpeg

BMW M5 : Driven-img_0598.jpeg

BMW M5 : Driven-img_0964.jpeg

Its "been there, done that"

When I did the M Drive. It would have done around 30 laps of the Buddh in a day but it was not the instructor car. The fact is that journalists have used it. (You really dont want to know that one). Also BMW have invited Golfers and HNI to similar events.

You could be lucky, BMW might had refurbished the car, I used to track my Honda but it carried on and is still tip top. If the price was not far from the CLA, I would go for it and keep the extra money for bits going wrong and premature suspension wear.

Check all service records, of course tyres and transmission (remember in BMW's they are sealed for life, you cannot change the fluid - correction - they will not change the flud - specialists abroad have a technique for this). Check for gravel rash or respray on front bonnet

How do BMW maintain those cars? Well the M4 soon after the M drive was seen at the autocar performance show with brake pad wear lights on (a 30 min job!). The M cars were on reserve when I drove it (second last batch). The last batch barely drove on vapours. No harm, but it reflects the level of care!

The very same M4 I drove - looked tired when I saw it a year later at the BMW experience drive in Bangalore

Think about the integrity of the salesperson (maybe ignorance) - they told you never been on track, now they say occassionally. Our pics say something else!

If the vehicle details match up with this

BMW M5 LIMOUSINE RHD CHASSIS NO.WBSFV92040 DX98131AND ENGINE NO.21700925 NEW MOTOR CAR PETROL VERSION 4395CC

It might be the same car- imported just before event. Well run in !

Last edited by ajmat : 12th May 2016 at 20:10.
ajmat is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 12th May 2016, 10:10   #69

Its "been there, done that"
Thanks, V12 & Ajmat,

Yes, this should be same, I have politely refused them early morning.
Turbanator is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 13th May 2016, 02:17   #70
v12

I am really glad you posted your query here Turbanator. More than your money, it really helped you save your time and peace of mind and any regrets if you had got to know about this after buying the car.

When it comes to high end cars and especially demo/display cars - we have to do a thorough background check on the car. Even if the car had been a refurbished one, you never know what could gonwrong with it. And especially in a case when BMW was not packaging the deal with the BSI.

Another thing to check before buying high end cars is how they have been treated by the previous owners. You never know the car you are buying may have been gathering dust - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super-...ust-india.html - and refurbished before the sale.

And the last thing I can think of is the Maintenance and running costs. High end cars depreciate a lot within just a few years. They would probably cost around half of what they costed when new. But remember, maintenance costs do not depreciate. They would probably remain the same - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super-...nsive-can.html

Basically lot of things to keep in mind. I am not an expert and don't own or can afford a high end car - but these are some things that I could think of.

Anyways here's the ad for this car on the dealer's website :
http://bmwusedcars.in/krishna-automobiles/JTk3OUU8UyRgCmAK/chandigarh/bmw/m5/380.html

Zauba Information
Date HS Code Description Origin Country Port of Discharge Unit Quantity Value (INR) Per Unit (INR)
21-Oct-2014 87032491 BMW M5 LIMOUSINE RHD CHASSIS NO.WBSFV92040 DX98131AND ENGINE NO.21700925 NEW MOTOR CAR PETROL VERSION 4395CC Germany Chennai Sea UNT 1 3,916,652 3,916,652
v12 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 13th May 2016, 06:38   #71

More than your money, it really helped you save your time and peace of mind and any regrets if you had got to know about this after buying the car.
Very true , Thanks again to everyone who helped me here and in private. Well, the Car got sold yesterday itself given the great condition it was. In hindsight, I think it was a good call to leave this one given usage pattern of my drives mostly on the highways & to my customers . Though I am certain that after driving this I can never go back to CLA for sure. So I am kind of looking back again at 7 -M-Kit. Will keep updated if this matures.
Turbanator is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 17th December 2018, 14:30   #72

On the Team-BHP Classifieds. Go bargain & bring her home for the price of a new C-Class! I actually did think of a lateral upgrade, but I like the practical nature of my car too much (diesel + warranty + familiar car vs an unknown one).

BMW M5 : Driven-picture_234807.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 17th December 2018 at 14:31.
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th December 2018, 15:32   #73

The last youtube video that appeared in my feed about this car was titled " the worst m5 ever", full credit to the troublesome SMG.

The asking price is insane for a six year old model, if you have 50 lakhs to spare on a used car, get an M2 Competition. This is good if you can get it for 20 lakhs and keep the remaining money for the inevitably expensive repairs.
Old 17th December 2018, 15:58   #74

Originally Posted by avira_tk View Post
The last Youtube video that appeared in my feed about this car was titled " the worst m5 ever", full credit to the troublesome SMG.
I think you're talking about the E60 M5. The F10 M5 posted here has 7 speed M-DCT. The overall reliability of this car was apparently much better than the E60's.

Last edited by theredliner : 17th December 2018 at 16:01.
theredliner is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th December 2018, 16:08   #75

Originally Posted by theredliner View Post
I think you're talking about the E60 M5. The F10 M5 posted here has 7 speed M-DCT. The overall reliability of this car was apparently much better than the E60's.
You're right, the worst car video was a spoof from top gear. The DCT is better compared to the SMG, not sure if that is good enough. The seller hasn't thought of depreciation though, I stand by my comments on the price.
avira_tk is online now   (1) Thanks