Old 24th September 2014, 10:28   #2161

Re: Volkswagen Polo 1.2L GT TSI : Official Review

Originally Posted by s_pphilip View Post
This line kind off seals it for me:
"The TDI’s in-gear times are way slower compared to the petrol motors’ and it’s here that you start appreciating the TSI’s prowess."
http://www.topgear.com/india/car-gal...urrentid=10115
Topgear is spot on in their assessment. I have a GT TDI and my sister in law has the GT TSI. I drive both cars a lot and I have to agree that gear shifts in TSI are much much faster compared to TDI. My be that is the reason why 0-100 in TDI is only 0.6 seconds faster than TSI despite TDI having oodles of Torque over the TSI. Overall, I like the TSI over TDI for city driving but for highway, TDI takes the cake for quicker overtaking maneuvers and increased mileage (18-19 kpl over 14-15 kpl)
Immix is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th September 2014, 18:51   #2162

Hi guys, With just over 10 months, have clocked 14900 kms and ready for the first service. (and i justified looking for petrol saying my running is less to my family )

So the checklist for the first service tommorrow:
Check if my DSG has mineral oil
oil change
filters
Wheel alignment and balancing (Kindly guide me whether to do it in ASS or outside. If outside, any reliable place in chennai ?)
Anything else to be specifically done ?
Old 24th September 2014, 19:29   #2163

I guess the whole colour palette is available on the 2014 GT twins. Already seen Red, Blue, White, Carbon, Silver. Only orange left now.
Old 24th September 2014, 19:32   #2164

Originally Posted by Crazy_Bean View Post
I guess the whole colour palette is available on the 2014 GT twins. Already seen Red, Blue, White, Carbon, Silver. Only orange left now.
Are you saying you have personally seen the GT twins in these colors? My dealer insists that GT TSI is only available in White, Red and Carbon Steel.
Old 24th September 2014, 19:42   #2165

Originally Posted by crskumar View Post
Are you saying you have personally seen the GT twins in these colors? My dealer insists that GT TSI is only available in White, Red and Carbon Steel.
I have seen silver personally. Saw the blue in a review.
Old 24th September 2014, 20:12   #2166

I have seen silver personally. Saw the blue in a review.
That's interesting. I'd personally like the reflex silver since there are so many white/red/black GTs out there. Carbon Steel is a nice colour, though.

Did you see this at a dealer or on the road?
Old 24th September 2014, 20:39   #2167

Originally Posted by shefiu View Post
That's interesting. I'd personally like the reflex silver since there are so many white/red/black GTs out there. Carbon Steel is a nice colour, though.

Did you see this at a dealer or on the road?
I saw it at the dealer yard in Gurgaon . It was the GT TDi.
Crazy_Bean is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2014, 22:51   #2168

Wow! That's really awesome news! I hope it was not the pre-facelifted Polo GT TDI.

But the dealers just mention only carbon steel, red and white. How to book any other color other than these 3?

Old 25th September 2014, 00:22   #2169

Originally Posted by pc1686 View Post
Wow! That's really awesome news! I hope it was not the pre-facelifted Polo GT TDI.

But the dealers just mention only carbon steel, red and white. How to book any other color other than these 3?

It was the facelifted one for sure. The previous GT iteration was not available in silver.

You can wait for an official word from VW. Their website isn't updated yet. Once that is done, things would be clearer.

Last edited by Crazy_Bean : 25th September 2014 at 00:51.
Old 25th September 2014, 01:42   #2170

Could you share the name of this dealer.

Old 25th September 2014, 12:02   #2171

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Could you share the name of this dealer.
Hi, I saw it at the Sohna road dealer (Vipul trade center).

Interestingly I was taken to the yard to see the normal highline variant. I saw a silver car with black mirrors and i realized it was a GT. Interestingly the SA told me that its some base model due to the black mirrors

I showed him the double barrel headlights and alloy wheels and asked him if these features are available in the trendline. He then tried changing the topic saying it is a customer's car and must be modified. The badges at the back were taped so coudn't show him the GT badge. I did not dig further and left as it was too hot and dusty.

I know my cars and I can assure you it was the GT TDi. (peeked in and saw the manual gear lever)

Adding to this I asked the dealer what colours are available on the GT TDi - reply was White, Red and Black

So you can pretty much make out the kind of information these dealers can carry.

I hope this helped.
Crazy_Bean is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2014, 14:46   #2172

Here's a link to a review of the GT TDI facelift, shot completely on a Silver coloured car:

http://www.motoroids.com/reviews/new...me-of-torques/
Old 25th September 2014, 14:55   #2173

Hi, I saw it at the Sohna road dealer (Vipul trade center).

Adding to this I asked the dealer what colours are available on the GT TDi - reply was White, Red and Black

So you can pretty much make out the kind of information these dealers can carry.

I hope this helped.
is that dealer still functioning? i went to them a couple of months ago and they mentioned that they are shutting shop. also confirmed by the other dealer in gurgaon that they have taken over the same showroom and shall open a honda showroom there.

even I carry the same information that only 3 colours are available in GT, red white and carbon steel. no black either, as it has been discontinued. I did not bother too much as I wanted a red.
Old 25th September 2014, 14:59   #2174

Originally Posted by lalittalwar View Post
is that dealer still functioning? i went to them a couple of months ago and they mentioned that they are shutting shop. also confirmed by the other dealer in gurgaon that they have taken over the same showroom and shall open a honda showroom there.

even I carry the same information that only 3 colours are available in GT, red white and carbon steel. no black either, as it has been discontinued. I did not bother too much as I wanted a red.
It is still open AFAIK. The workshop (near Hero Honda) and yard are common for the two dealers I guess.
Old 25th September 2014, 15:11   #2175

It is still open AFAIK. The workshop (near Hero Honda) and yard are common for the two dealers I guess.
Nope. the other dealer has their workshop at Wazirabad and their body shop near Iffco chowk.

I remember VW Millenium telling me that they were shutting down when I went to enquire for the new GT. They said we do not have the facelifted Polo even, as we are going to shut shop. I tried to haggle for a discount on Vento TSI sensing an opportunity that they may be looking to liquidate their stock.

But, possibly they and VW may have had a change of heart.