Old 3rd December 2015, 22:53   #9601

Took test drives of Creta and updated Ecosport back to back.
Pickup of Creta is much better than Ecosport. May be it was a mere 500 km run and the engine had not yet opened up, creta was 5500 km old.
This time i liked Creta's driving position, but still Ecosport feels better.
Ecosport feels more solid like a big and heavy suv at broken roads. Creta gives you the feel of a light sedan, body and chassis do not have the solidity and feel soft, like my present Swift dzire.
Doors of creta bend when pressed, not ecosport.
Fully loaded Creta ₹15,63,000 is 3,63,000 more than fully loaded Ecosport ₹12,00,000 on road at my place.
Both with 6 airbags
Creta does not have telescopic steering adjustment.
No split folding rear seats in creta
Speed sensing door locks only available in topmost creta, it is a must. Is there any way to enable it in lower varients, showroom people said that there is no way.
What will be the maintenance of Creta at authorised service centre, cost of routine spare parts. Recieved no solid reply from the showroom people.
Ford people told the total service cost including consumables (oils coolant etc) ₹40,000 upto 1,00,000 kms.
Only worrying point is that, will Ecosport be same fun to drive as swift dzire.
I live in a small town in Punjab, most people here are advising against Ford, siting poor resale value, and high cost of maintenance. Only those who have personally owned a Ford, are praising it. What is the reason?
Old 4th December 2015, 01:20   #9602

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Originally Posted by gsratta View Post
Took test drives of Creta and updated Ecosport back to back.
Pickup of Creta is much better than Ecosport. May be it was a mere 500 km run and the engine had not yet opened up, creta was 5500 km old.
This time i liked Creta's driving position, but still Ecosport feels better.
Ecosport feels more solid like a big and heavy suv at broken roads. Creta gives you the feel of a light sedan, body and chassis do not have the solidity and feel soft, like my present Swift dzire.
Doors of creta bend when pressed, not ecosport.
Fully loaded Creta ₹15,63,000 is 3,63,000 more than fully loaded Ecosport ₹12,00,000 on road at my place.
Both with 6 airbags
Creta does not have telescopic steering adjustment.
No split folding rear seats in creta
Speed sensing door locks only available in topmost creta, it is a must. Is there any way to enable it in lower varients, showroom people said that there is no way.
What will be the maintenance of Creta at authorised service centre, cost of routine spare parts. Recieved no solid reply from the showroom people.
Ford people told the total service cost including consumables (oils coolant etc) ₹40,000 upto 1,00,000 kms.
Only worrying point is that, will Ecosport be same fun to drive as swift dzire.
I live in a small town in Punjab, most people here are advising against Ford, siting poor resale value, and high cost of maintenance. Only those who have personally owned a Ford, are praising it. What is the reason?
I have used two Fords consecutively, first Ford Fusion diesel, done 140000 kms, and still running fine. second is Ford ecosport diesel, done 40000 kms, everything fine. and I have driven them everywhere where no normal soul will drive for instance chitkul, kalpa in himachal, ladakh and zanskar in Kashmir apart from routine hill stations like shimla, manali, chintpurni, dharamshala and our recent nainital trip 2 days back. Fords are known for their tough build, and drivable and tractable motors which are fun to drive. earlier Fords were expensive to maintain, but current crop is fairly ok on wallet. my ecosport is serviced three times and all were in the range of 2.5-3.5k. today's diesel engines are fuel quality sensitive and make a habit to fill your car from reputed filling stations in city. I have seen swifts to vernas packing up because of poor fuel used. marutis/ hyundai are cheaper to maintain if you repair it from independent mechanic using spares from open market. any repairs/ service from MASS or HASS is going to equivalent to or more than FASS. I have habit that even for changing horn, I visit authorised service station, whatever the car. I have not driven creta, so I can't comment. I have driven ecosport 16 hours continuously many times and I can vouch for its superior seat comfort, tractable motor, good NVH levels, nice handling, go anywhere nature, awesome ac and stereo system. ab itne paise mein itna hi milega yaar.
Dr.Abhi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th December 2015, 09:56   #9603

Most probably an effect of the ford of the yesteryears, cars like escort were notorious about their high maintenance costs but ford has come a long away especially after the launch of ford figo(1st version) and EcoSport, so you do not need to worry about maintenance. And I think its a positive that people who drive a ford appreciate it, I mean who else should appreciate fords
nitheeshsreeram is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2015, 23:28   #9604

I can understand the slight reservation before buying a Ford. Having driven only maruti , i was told ford is high maintenance,poor resale......blah blah.
But after buying the ecosport and have run 15k Km i have no regrets.
The maintenance is on par with Hyundai or Maruti. The build quality is good.
Trust me you will have no regrets. At the end of the day buy what you like , the moment you listen to too many people you will end up with a Janatha Vehicle :-)

Last edited by Eddy : 5th December 2015 at 09:56. Reason: Corrected typos
Endless.... is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2015, 09:46   #9605

Because most people have not much experience of owning a Ford. Now, we can't own all cars and have an opinion and make an informed decision and this is where a platform like Team-BHP comes, learn, share & gain knowledge.

If you frequent forums, you will [on average know], which car, manufacturer to buy/avoid etc. I have owned a Ford and save for once, none of the bills exceeded Rs. 3,000. Once it was at Rs. 4,900 because the diesel filter was being changed, else it was very reliable. A friend has an Endevour which is at 3.6L kms, not many issues either.

I am not trying to influence you into buying a Ford, but just pointing out that Ford's are not expensive to maintain *now*

Buy the car which you like the most
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2015, 16:06   #9606

I have a problem with the wheelnuts.They get deformed when one tries to remove the wheel.Happened thrice so far
Anyone with similar complaints??
Any solutions?
Thanks in advance
Old 5th December 2015, 16:30   #9607

Done with my 40K service. The bill came to 7.2K. This included 1.5K of extra stuff like engine Polish and Wiper blade replacement. The service cost was 5.7K including all taxes.
The stock tires will last another 10-15K KM's easily. I have predominantly used only 4 tires and the spare is almost unused. These are the same tires which got me through Leh without single puncture.
As per SA, the brake pads should last another 10K KM's pretty good I must say.
Old 5th December 2015, 17:30   #9608

Originally Posted by jojoinassi View Post
I have a problem with the wheelnuts.They get deformed when one tries to remove the wheel.Happened thrice so far
Anyone with similar complaints??
Any solutions?
Thanks in advance
Are you using the right spanner? I've had like three punctures in my brief span of ownership and haven't encountered this.
Old 5th December 2015, 21:44   #9609

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
Are you using the right spanner? I've had like three punctures in my brief span of ownership and haven't encountered this.
right spanner always
still 3 of the nuts have got deformed
May be its a problem with the older vehicles.
mine was from the very first lot
Old 6th December 2015, 16:38   #9610

Originally Posted by shreyak_ss View Post
My ecosport 1.5 TDCI is due for its first oil change service @ 10k kms. I contacted regarding the same at my local service center and on enquiring about the engine oil, the SA told me that they only use Castrol Semi synthetic oil. Now my question is to all the ecosport owners, does Ford allow us to use pure synthetic of any brand of recommended grade or is it only the semi synthetic oil from Castrol which can be used? The SA simply refused to offer me the full synthetic.
Also, I tried calling the customer care but due to the unfortunate conditions in Chennai, they are temporarily closed.
Can anyone please help me out with the same? Can I use oil of my choice in the car? Or should I look for some other service center?

Shreyak.
You can use any engine Oil Synthetic or Semi synthetic based on your preference as per the owners manual Oil Specifications, No where in India any Ford Service Centre use Fully Synthetic Engine Oil as Ford has not yet recommended. I guess Ford wants to give its customers value for money proposition in Servicing their vehicles. Most of the customers will not pay up 1.5k to 2k extra only for the engine oil. Ford wants to keep cost of ownership very minimal.
Old 7th December 2015, 08:47   #9611

right spanner always

still 3 of the nuts have got deformed

May be its a problem with the older vehicles.

mine was from the very first lot

The outer covering of the wheel nuts are very thin that they gets deformed after few tightening and loosening and have to cut the same to remove the nut . This is quality issue !
Old 7th December 2015, 11:16   #9612

I have a problem with the wheelnuts.They get deformed when one tries to remove the wheel.
Originally Posted by Doge View Post
May be its a problem with the older vehicles. mine was from the very first lot
Originally Posted by ranjithrnair View Post
The outer covering of the wheel nuts are very thin that they gets deformed after few tightening and loosening and have to cut the same to remove the nut . This is quality issue !
Ditto - I had this problem with one of my wheel nuts, and had it replaced at my cost. It seems to be a problem with the 2013 EcoSports (at the very least), as attested to by multiple owners:
arunphilip is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th December 2015, 14:03   #9613

Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
Ditto - I had this problem with one of my wheel nuts, and had it replaced at my cost. It seems to be a problem with the 2013 EcoSports (at the very least), as attested to by multiple owners: [list]
[*]And this one (Ford EcoSport : Official Review) from jojoinassi himself
My earlier post was about the locking nut on the spare wheel.That was way too expensive.
These were the normal ones and they cost 450 each. Not that I mind paying,but i would like to be sure that the new ones i get are trouble free
.If you're stuck up in a deserted place with a wheelnut like that you're in for trouble
I wish Ford provides the new ones free of cost

Last edited by Eddy : 7th December 2015 at 16:43. Reason: Fixing quotes
Old 7th December 2015, 16:24   #9614

^^ I think Ford uses the same wheel nuts across their range. I've faced the same issue on my Figo. One of the alignment guys used a wrong adapter for about a second and it damaged the head. These bolts need to be 'handled with care' !
fiat_tarun is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2015, 21:11   #9615

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use a spell-checker.

Last edited by GTO : 14th December 2015 at 17:33.
Dr.Abhi is offline   Received Infraction