Old 26th June 2013, 15:48   #1411

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Yaay!! thrilled to see the prices!!.. Booked Titanium+ Diesel Mars red.. On road price Mangalore should be 11lacs.
Planning to have below accessories:
1.Wheel covers.
2.Headlamp covers.
3.Roof racks(Dont remeber exact name, the smaller one).

That said the wait begins!!! Hope it arrives in a months time.
Old 26th June 2013, 15:49   #1412

Let the mods begin

Source : Webasto Sunroofs Delhi
Ford EcoSport : Official Review-485587_581480348550971_1418822594_n.jpg  

Ford EcoSport : Official Review-1016522_596791220353217_614004965_n.jpg  

speed kills is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 15:51   #1413

Where are the accessories listed on the website?
Old 26th June 2013, 15:52   #1414

Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post
I saw a TDCI Titanium model at Planet Ford Showroom in Pune. Got a detail brocure as well. SA told me that the Ambiente Petrol is priced at Rs. 5.59 Lacs Ex Showroom and the top model Titanum Petrol is priced at Rs.8.44L Ex Showroom.
Did not like the interior plastc finish which they say Charcoal Black with Grey combi. The interior plastic looks cheap even cheaper than some other small car/Hatches have.
The boot space looks good. Rear Seats are comfortable for 2. In the front AC vent is protruding out in the way of ingress. If you see carefully before entering in - it looks like you have very less space to ingress. Dash plastic also of same quality so looks cheap.
Brochure says Ecoboost has 125 ps @6000rpm and 1.5L Diesel has 91ps@ 3750 as engine output. Torque is Ecoboost - 170@1400-4500rpm and for Diesel it is 204@2000-2750rpm .
Basically Titatinium versions are equipped with all major features which are expected from a good SUV/ Luxury Sedan. Definitely more than Duster . Diesel is priced competitively and now Duster / XUV /Xylo Ertiga will surely feel the heat.
Duster for sure,but i doubt Eco sport will affect sales of XUV/Xylo's and the likes;
worst affected will be premium hatches like i20 and C1 sedans.
Old 26th June 2013, 15:53   #1415

The opening page of this review has been updated with:

1. Price comparison (with competitors)

2. Features sheet (by variant).
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 15:54   #1416

Originally Posted by niks_devil666 View Post
Where are the accessories listed on the website?
You can see the accessories in the following link.

http://www.india.ford.com/suvs/ecosp...ories/exterior

Prakash.
prakasse is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 15:56   #1417

The cars which will get affected most are i20, Dzire, Amaze, Duster, Polo, and some others in small numbers IMHO. God bless the competition. Others need to learn from this. Good cars are not necessarily to be priced higher. You can make a good car in limited budget as well. This is a good lesson for all manufacturers like Tata, Mahindra, VW, Toyota etc. You can build a good looking car with good features at attractive price as well.

Good job done Ford. Just make sure that you don't compromise on Quality & Service now. Also they need to make sure that they are able to deliver 10,000 cars per month YEH DIL MANGE MORE.
Old 26th June 2013, 16:00   #1418

I think one thing is clear from the fact that the diesel variants are priced at the top of the pile. The margins on the diesel subsidize the petrols (or at least the 1.5l version). In terms of cost, the diesel should be the cheapest because it (and the Ecoboost) attract the lowest excise tax. The 1.5l petrol attracts double that rate.

Most buyers won't realize this but the real steal here is the 1.5l petrol. To put it in perspective, the VW Polo GT costs 7.99 ex-showroom Delhi. With similar transmission tech (albeit simpler engine tech), more features, bigger size, 6 airbags as opposed to two and double the tax rate the AT Ecosport costs just 45k more.
StarScream is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 16:01   #1419

And dont forget the Quanto. IMHO it will be wiped off almost completely. No wonder M&M tanked 4% in the markets.

http://profit.ndtv.com/news/market/a...sinks-4-323756
Old 26th June 2013, 16:02   #1420

Fantastic, fantastic pricing by Ford!! I hope this will lead to a complete makeover of the vehicle pricing structure by other manufacturers. My friend just bought a Swift Dzire Regal for approximately 7.5L at Mumbai. I'm sure he would have reconsidered his decision if this pricing by Ford had come earlier. Which makes me wonder if people will cancel their current bookings and reconsider their buying decision, given this juicy pricing by Ford?

Last edited by 4nd3r50n : 26th June 2013 at 16:03.
Old 26th June 2013, 16:03   #1421

The local dealer quotes a waiting period of at least 1.5 months for the EcoBoost.

Since, he has a monopoly all over Punjab, decided to call one at Chandigarh and got an estimate of 3-4 months!!

Here I have money to spend , and there is no car to buy....Is it a buyers market now??? At least not for EcoSport!!
Old 26th June 2013, 16:03   #1422

The opening page of this review has been updated with:

1. Price comparison (with competitors)

2. Features sheet (by variant).
GTO, in your feature comparison, you are saying that only on AT it has extra 2 tweeters. But the brochure says that even Titanium O has tweeters. And the test drive car which I have tried out had tweeters on Diesel Titanium option pack as well.
Old 26th June 2013, 16:05   #1423

Brilliant pricing and strategy by Ford. This is aggressive market approach at it's best. Not only is it a good car, Ford is making sure they are knocking the living daylights out of competitors. The competitors who are selling hatchbacks at prices very close to these. Anything below 10L and this car was bound to be an outright winner. Top model below 10L....well...May god have mercy on other manufacturers....It will be tough to justify their prices now
Old 26th June 2013, 16:10   #1424

Originally Posted by Travelocity View Post
Looks like Ford is having problem in updating the price in their web page.
I think the Mars Red is a premium colour and is available only on the top end. But it should still be lesser than Rs.10 lakhs!
Old 26th June 2013, 16:11   #1425

I think this is excellent pricing by Ford. The Urban Discoveries have helped them price the car perfectly, if not anyting else! This will hit sales of all other hatchbacks for sure - the Duster's a goner now.

But I keep hearing of Ford's expensive after sales from many of my friends. That is a key consideration - any experiences by folks here?