Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th July 2013, 14:17   #2716

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Hello Folks,

To introduce myself, I am a newbie to the automotive world and only started taking a keen interest in cars once I realized that I have to purchase one. I am a Mumbai-ite by birth and given the bad infrastructure, mad traffic and poor availability of parking spaces, I chose to use the public modes of transportation available while renting a car for inter-city travel.

The driver for this change is the fact that I have recently relocated to Pune and as many of you will know, public transportation in Pune, even autorickshaws, are a headache here - from poor bus connectivity to outright looting by rickshaw drivers who demand one and a half times to double fare.

My criteria while buying a car are as below, in no particular order of priority:
  1. Automatic transmission – The usage will be about 80% in the city, apart from the occasional trips to Mumbai and one off weekend getaways. I would much rather have the conveniences of an AT than the power/control that my manual transmission car driving friends swear by.
  2. High ground clearance – The speed breakers in Pune are car killers! Every sedan / hatchbackI have ridden in here has scraped them at least one or two times
  3. Safety features (ABS and Airbags) – I tend to agree with the other members on the forum, no compromises when it comes to the family’s and my own safety.
  4. Budget – ~10 Lacs

Some of the cars that I did consider are the Mahindra Thar & Tata Xenon (I have a thing for pick-ups, drove a lot of them in the US). Dzire, Amaze, Vento, Verna amongst sedans and also the Brio and Polo in the hatchback segment. Clearly you must be aware that none of the options mentioned above tick all the boxes.