Old 23rd August 2014, 17:33   #556

Re: Grand I10 Petrol - Is it a Torquey or Peaky Engine

Originally Posted by nim_peter View Post
I've never driven a Grand I10, but have driven a Getz 1.3 extensively. If Hyundai engine characteristics are the same for 2 engines, then the power band is in the mid range.
I've a slightly different view in my ownership of the Getz. I'd actually go so far as to say it is the best tuned small Hyundai car so far. The SOHC engine delivers better initial torque than a DOHC any day so I actually found the surge-point at between 1800-2000+ rpm before I'd switch gear. Of course the speeds in city would be at max 60 so within 2k rpm one can easily manage. On long distance highway cruising yes you'd have to push it to 2.5-3k for it to gather some pace quick but I never had to do it as my travel is all inter-city.

The Getz has better torque in gears 3 onwards than Gi10 because of the engines linear pulling power at 30+. Lower weight (and dual VT) helps in the Gi10's initial gearing with less strain. The 1.2 Kappa in my view is nowhere as fun or capable as the 1.3 Alpha, specially at gears 3-5 where i20 and Gi10 would be eating dust (just saying in context of controlled environment testing, I'm all for safe driving).

You've got 2 good rides, I see you are a HPS fan like myself eh.
dark.knight is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2014, 20:07   #557

Re: Grand I10 Petrol - Is it a Torquey or Peaky Engine

Originally Posted by dark.knight View Post
I've a slightly different view in my ownership of the Getz. I'd actually go so far as to say it is the best tuned small Hyundai car so far. The SOHC engine delivers better initial torque than a DOHC any day so I actually found the surge-point at between 1800-2000+ rpm before I'd switch gear. Of course the speeds in city would be at max 60 so within 2k rpm one can easily manage. On long distance highway cruising yes you'd have to push it to 2.5-3k for it to gather some pace quick but I never had to do it as my travel is all inter-city.

The Getz has better torque in gears 3 onwards than Gi10 because of the engines linear pulling power at 30+. Lower weight (and dual VT) helps in the Gi10's initial gearing with less strain. The 1.2 Kappa in my view is nowhere as fun or capable as the 1.3 Alpha, specially at gears 3-5 where i20 and Gi10 would be eating dust (just saying in context of controlled environment testing, I'm all for safe driving).

You've got 2 good rides, I see you are a HPS fan like myself eh.
I don't know, I've never experienced what you mentioned. I always felt like it had a heavier flywheel than most cars, so the initial pickup is not that good. Once you gain speed, it is a great car to drive. I think it is due to the heavy flywheel that there is very less engine braking too in the car. Anyway, I'm going OT, so will end my Getz discussion here

Coming to Kappa engines, drove an I20 once for about a km, I felt it has much more low end compared to Getz, I mean quick off the block, then loses steam. I may be wrong as I couldn't test it properly in that 1 km I drove. And yes, I'm a HPS fan
Old 26th August 2014, 14:06   #558

Re: Hyundai Grand i10 : Official Review

Hi guys!

I am considering buying a hatchback and kind of stuck between two choices i.e Swift vdi and i10 grand sportz (diesel).

While both these cars cost approximately the same, i10 grand has lot more to offer in terms of Music System, rear AC duct, larger bootspace and keyless entry. Buying swift would result in more spending on things like music system etc.

Kindly suggest me if i10 would give the same on-road and ownership experience as Swift vdi would do.

P.S - Having a Swift dzire in our family, we are more than happy and satisfied with almost everything it offers.
Old 26th August 2014, 22:28   #559

Originally Posted by HR-06 View Post
Hi guys!

I am considering buying a hatchback and kind of stuck between two choices i.e Swift vdi and i10 grand sportz (diesel).

While both these cars cost approximately the same, i10 grand has lot more to offer in terms of Music System, rear AC duct, larger bootspace and keyless entry. Buying swift would result in more spending on things like music system etc.

Kindly suggest me if i10 would give the same on-road and ownership experience as Swift vdi would do.

P.S - Having a Swift dzire in our family, we are more than happy and satisfied with almost everything it offers.
Grand i10 Diesel will provide you everything more than Swift apart from driving pleasure. Swift's Multijet is far better than Grand i10's 3-cylinder 1100cc diesel mill.
superbhikari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2014, 12:40   #560

Originally Posted by superbhikari View Post
Grand i10 Diesel will provide you everything more than Swift apart from driving pleasure. Swift's Multijet is far better than Grand i10's 3-cylinder 1100cc diesel mill.
That's exactly what my concern was. No matter how attractive those features in i10 grand diesel may seem, but driving experience from Swift (especially on highway) is totally unmatched in this segment of hatchback.

I feel it would be worth compromising on bootspace and other features.

Btw, nice to see a teambhpian from UP-12. Feel like typing in the typical Muzaffarnagar dialect.
Old 27th August 2014, 16:25   #561

Does anyone have any clue regarding the Software Update to enable the Average FE and Distance to empty meters in the MID? One can clearly see those provisions to be there whenever you fire up the MID in complete dark and look closely. My Grand i10 Asta is only 2 months old and went for her first free service yesterday. I asked the service personnel regarding this and if there is any update on this. But they were all at a loss and did not have any idea what I was talking about.

So just wondering if anyone else is lucky enough to get this done at any of the service stations?
Old 27th August 2014, 17:02   #562

Originally Posted by g_saunak View Post
Does anyone have any clue regarding the Software Update to enable the Average FE and Distance to empty meters in the MID?
I would stop just short of saying its not possible at all. If it were possible/easy to do/intended to be a certain way, it would be there when they deliver it to you. Although the service people may pretend to not know what you are talking of, Hyundai India have adequate specialists in this regard, and by their silence all they mean to say is it's not intended for our country.. while the European i10 has all that plus TPMS in its display.

Yes, when you look at it technically, it indeed is feasible and to the factory it will cost next to nothing to enable them. However this may not be done to differentiate high-end models from popular ones. The i20 1st gen did not have auto-locks in lower variants, however people found the service centre could enable it and happily did so. In the fluidic i20, however the factory made it such that it wasn't possible to do so except buy the highest variant. This to me is clear as day, their intention is not to give such features in the present day, save them for future face-lifts or avoid a segment clash completely.

The simplest thing to assume in a vehicle ownership is that it cannot be any different than when you buy it from the showroom. I would to the best possible extent keep everything as factory default, which means company-approved updates are rare except during recalls. Customising/tuning anything from outside is not only expensive, but also has its own risks in terms of warranty.

Last edited by dark.knight : 27th August 2014 at 17:12. Reason: Rephrasing
dark.knight is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2014, 17:40   #563

Originally Posted by dark.knight View Post
I would stop just short of saying its not possible at all. If it were possible/easy to do/intended to be a certain way, it would be there when they deliver it to you. Although the service people may pretend to not know what you are talking of, Hyundai India have adequate specialists in this regard, and by their silence all they mean to say is it's not intended for our country.. while the European i10 has all that plus TPMS in its display.

Yes, when you look at it technically, it indeed is feasible and to the factory it will cost next to nothing to enable them. However this may not be done to differentiate high-end models from popular ones. The i20 1st gen did not have auto-locks in lower variants, however people found the service centre could enable it and happily did so. In the fluidic i20, however the factory made it such that it wasn't possible to do so except buy the highest variant. This to me is clear as day, their intention is not to give such features in the present day, save them for future face-lifts or avoid a segment clash completely.

The simplest thing to assume in a vehicle ownership is that it cannot be any different than when you buy it from the showroom. I would to the best possible extent keep everything as factory default, which means company-approved updates are rare except during recalls. Customising/tuning anything from outside is not only expensive, but also has its own risks in terms of warranty.
Excellently put and true.

However, I still wonder why were these features not enabled in the first place? I agree that it might have been omitted in the lower variants, but since I own the Asta, could have qualified to get it. Also, it is to my much amusement that even Maruti Alto has these features. I am not sure what is the logic exactly to omit it from Elite i20 as well. Hyundai has taken a weird stance recently regarding product features in its newly launched vehicles aimed for Indian market. The ones which are getting dropped off were one of the most liked features of the car. Beats my logic every time

Anyways, I knew clearly that they were not there when I made up my mind about Grand and I believe I have already gotten accustomed to live without them. But it is the "nice-to-have"s which always allures us and leave topics to whine about.

Last edited by g_saunak : 27th August 2014 at 17:43.
g_saunak is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2014, 13:54   #564

I had been to a Hyundai dealer in Mumbai (Dahisar) and he informed me that Grand i10 Sportz AT has been discontinued and automatic is only available in Asta trim now.
Just an FYI to people (like me) who are in market for a new automatic hatch.
raksrules is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2014, 16:19   #565

Friends,

After series of debate, test drives of hatchbacks & after 3rd test drive of Grand i10 Diesel, confirmed the booking for Grand i10 Diesel Asta without option.

Till last moment, I was inclined towards polo 1.5 Diesel Highline, which was worth every rupee demanded extra. (1.5 lakhs more)

At the end, it was need for indeed a small car for Delhi NCR use by my wife that lead to Grand. Personally I was not very happy with the torque, initial pick-up & acceleration but they were not required. For highways & long trip, we have a SUV.

Even though car is available within 15 days, we will only take the delivery Pre-Diwali. We went ahead with car finalization, as had it been Polo, we needed 1.5-2 months lead time as there is some waiting.

Thanks everyone for their comments & reviews on this thread as well people with ownership threads. It really helps.

Last edited by Wanderers : 1st September 2014 at 16:21.
Wanderers is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 14:53   #566

Decision - Grand i10 Petrol ASTA - vs - Grand i10 Diesel Magna - same price.

Hello friends,
Looking for advice and opinions on this decision.

Background : We are a Hyundai family. In the family, between me and my in=laws, we have a Hyundai i10 magna, Hyundai i20 Magna and a Hyundai eon ERA+. i10 has run 65K , i20 about 45K ish and the eon is very new - less than 200 Kms.

This car would be mainly used by my wife and hence we zeroed in on the i10 Grand. We did look at the new gen i20, but was not too comfortable with the size of it. The Grand felt just the right size.

Distance
Daily commute to Technopark from home ~ 30 Kms (total distance) ( 6 days work week :(
Weekend wanderings ~ 100 kms. Occasionally like once in 2-3 months, we go to the native and that would be around 400-500 kms round trip. I calculated roughly 1200Kms per month. In a year, we would drive 15K or 16K Kms.

Decision -
The cost of 1.1 L diesel Grand i10 Magna is approx the same as 1.2 L Petrol Asta variant. Current quotes are 6.3L on road from two dealers.

The petrol asta variant has ABS ; but low on mileage - Actual figures I have read in forums are 16-17km/litre ; whereas the diesel is offering 19-20 km/litre.

Saw that drive ability is good in both cars and the diesel 1.1 litre engine offers good city drive. We are sedate drivers and wouldn't cross 80 kmph too often - ( fear of speed tickets as well )

Now if we chose diesel Magna; the petrol Magna is about a 1.2L cheaper.

I am confused to decide between the 1.1 Diesel Magna variant or the 1.2 Petrol Magna or 1.2 Petrol Asta.

Not looking at any other cars now Any thoughts please ?
Old 2nd September 2014, 16:48   #567

Re: Decision - Grand i10 Petrol ASTA - vs - Grand i10 Diesel Magna - same price.

With diesel prices almost up there with petrol prices (newspaper reports indicate only ~8Rs difference in KL) I doubt there is any point in paying a 1.2L premium for the diesel variant. More so given the relatively low usage you mentioned.

Apart from ABS, I think the Asta also has dual airbags, with Magna having neither ABS nor airbags. Given that you have the budget, go for the Asta - from safety POV.
supremeBaleno is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 17:03   #568

Re: Decision - Grand i10 Petrol ASTA - vs - Grand i10 Diesel Magna - same price.

My recommendation would be the Petrol Asta Option with ABS & Airbags.
  1. Safety
  2. 4 pot engine which is fast and quite smooth
  3. Decreasing price gap between the fuels
  4. A lot more kit/ features to play with in the Asta
deetjohn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 17:05   #569
D4D

With the narrowing gap between petrol and diesel, go for the petrol.
You will get a better refined 4 cylinder engine, and a light clutch with a smooth gearbox.(Not that these are missing in the diesel)

Also, I think Asta variants would give you ABS and D+P airbags.
D4D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 18:03   #570

With the narrowing gap between petrol and diesel prices, A diesel would only make sense if you were driving about 20k kms a year or if the petrol being compared was a big old na gem

Logistics aside, I would still recommend the petrol since you can opt for abs and airbags in the Asta trim

I don't mean to make things harder for you, but anyone who is on the lookout for an easy to drive small hatch, MUST check out the Nissan Micra. Even if you are comfortable with the Hyundai, I urge you to test drive the Micra before finalizing since IMO, it is the easiest car I have ever driven

Last edited by IshaanIan : 2nd September 2014 at 18:05.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks