Register

Old 29th April 2025, 12:48   #7366

Re: Story of my Pre Owned Honda City

Originally Posted by NinerWhiskey View Post
[The City’s 510L boot is massive, easily able to accommodate my bike.
What is your bike make ? Do you have any pictures of the City holding it?
I know the boot for a sedan is big, but never thought it is so big as in to accommodate a bike!!

Last edited by CarCraze : 29th April 2025 at 12:50.
Old 29th April 2025, 15:59   #7367

Originally Posted by CarCraze View Post
What is your bike make ? Do you have any pictures of the City holding it?
I know the boot for a sedan is big, but never thought it is so big as in to accommodate a bike!!
It's a Trek Domane SL5.
If I'm traveling within Karnataka limits, I put the bike rack on the car, else I put the bike in the trunk. In both cases I need to remove wheels which is a 30 second job. Regardless, carrying the bike with or without the rack is easy and convenient with the City.
With the WRV, the parcel shelf was in the way and I had to Fold the seats which stressed certain places on my bike during movement. And with Zen, It's a silly sight on the road.

4th-gen Honda City : Official Review-img_0483.jpg
In the trunk

4th-gen Honda City : Official Review-img_2672.jpg
The bike rack (Unextended, without bike)

4th-gen Honda City : Official Review-img_7071.png
Zen for reference (Bike wouldn't even fit in cabin)

Last edited by NinerWhiskey : 29th April 2025 at 16:11.
NinerWhiskey is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th April 2025, 11:11   #7368

How do you know when to replace the clutch in our case?

Some say when it's too soft, some say when it's too hard, confusing.

In my case, the service center added a comment in the invoice remarks mentioning 'clutch is hard' around the 70K KM mark.

I found no slippage and continued till around the 1lakh KM mark. The clutch was relatively hard but no signs of slippage was there even at 100K KM. It felt good to continue with no drop in FE as well. However I changed it as a preventive maintenance and rediscovered the buttersoft action of the new clutch.

Its not so confusing after all, it is time to replace if it gets hard enough to cause your legs to ache in traffic or if you observe slippage while releasing the clutch especially on an incline.
Old 3rd May 2025, 13:18   #7369

This is my first thread here, so please bear with me if I’ve made any mistakes. Mods, kindly help if I’ve overstepped anywhere.

In April 2024, I picked up a pre-owned Honda City (2014) as a temporary car until I leave home for education.
Beautiful photos, congratulations!

I am also owner of a 5th Gen Honda City, I am quite happy with it so far. I totally agree with you that sedans are the best form of cars.

Last edited by Axe77 : 3rd May 2025 at 13:33. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Please do not quote entire long posts as it inconveniences our readers on mobile devices.
subhasis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2025, 14:23   #7370

Re: 4th-gen Honda City : Official Review

Originally Posted by Shanks_Jazz View Post
What is holding me back:
1) What’s that am missing in city which leads it to sell less than 1000 units in a month
2) Honda’s future in India.
trend is going towards SUVs hence Sedan sales are down low. Honda allowed Elevate to further ate city's share.

But no other car in segment would give rear seat comfort.

City offers 7 years unlimited km warranty (extendable upto 10 years) including CVT and ADAS unit.

rest all automatic cars come with max 6 years warranty.

VW groups cars are hit or miss ... after warranty parts are expensive.

Mahindra has too much tech which has its own niggles.

Honda hasn't provided any software update after launch of current model be it ADAS or infotainment...whatever installed works period. ICE is outdated but still supports android iphone wireless connection and that's a boom.

If your driving is short and in around mumbai you can try MG Windsor pro.

Hyundai is going to introduce new models in next 4 years which gonna reduce resale of existing ones and they bring radical design changes which often takes time to get adjusted to.
KiA follows Hyundai
toyota/nexa cheapest to maintain
EnchantedPanda is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 03:42   #7371

Have been using remote keys for the last 11 years on a daily basis and have used both the keys for ensuring uniform use.

However, not once have I replaced the battery/cell of both the keys during all these years and the cell seems to be going strong, it can lock and unlock from very far away.
The question is have others also experienced the same longevity of the key battery?
I believe its a regular CR-2032 button cell but it just seems to go on without any hint of weakening. Just want to ensure that I replace it on time

Last edited by for_cars1 : 20th May 2025 at 03:44.
Old 21st May 2025, 07:23   #7372

Originally Posted by for_cars1 View Post
Have been using remote keys for the last 11 years on a daily basis and have used both the keys for ensuring uniform use.
Newer keys have walk-away-auto-lock feature which takes a toll on its life. Average time to replace the battery is 1-2 years. It shows a warning on the dashboard when the key requires replacement.

Older keys used to have continuous red light when it required replacement and a longer life due to lock /unlock function only.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 21st May 2025 at 07:56. Reason: Kindly capitalize where necessary.