Team-BHP - Datsun Go : Official Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Datsun Go : Official Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/149093-datsun-go-official-review-9.html)

Originally Posted by blacksport
I said that there is no data to support and the reasoning is based on gut feel. I was not passing judgments, but due to lack of data, making a guess.

Making a guess is ok, but it would be expected that the guess would be an educated one, based on the available info. Which does not seem to be the case here, if you would check out the following data about the dimensions of the 2 cars from the opening post of this thread.
Datsun Go : Official Review-altogocomparo.jpg

The Go is 165mm longer, 140mm wider & 25mm taller than the Alto. Inspite of bigger dimensions all round, it weighs only as much as the Alto. And still your guess is that the latter would be tinnier/unsafe - not sure how you reach that conclusion. If you consider the fact that the Go has a bigger engine which in all probability would mean heavier engine, thus reducing the metal for body/chassis, it works out even worse.

Inspite of the above, as I mentioned in the very first post on this, it is a moot point discussing crash safety for cars that don't have safety features and are at the lowest segment, when we have had even premium hatches failing miserably in crash tests (sans airbags). I doubt you would call the Figo or Polo tinny, but fail they did.

Gentlemen,

Any updates on the market response? How many bookings so far?

Going by the looks and the interior space, the Go looks definite value for money. Hope this converts to sales numbers.
When is the Go+ launch planned? Waiting for an Ertiga rival at less than Rs 5 lakhs :)

It’s amazing to see how automobile sector in India is !

We can observe Tata’s moving away from cheap product segment right from the base Nano with induction of new features, replacement of aging Indica (Indica & Vista) with bolt and replacement of eCS with Zest. None of these products can now be considered as made to cost, whereas some of the champions of automobile sector (Nissan) is working hard to revive a dead brand (read Dutsan) with such poor and made-to-cost (actually I am looking for something worse than made-to-cost as that fits well for Etios) products launched for Indian customers.

It’s a pity that none of the statutory bodies in India (including the Ministry of Surface Transport) has taken any step towards safety aspect of cars produced and sold in India. The same manufacture (and this is true for all) are producing better products for international markets and are exporting them while keeping the agenda of plain money making from India.

Someone in the Government, please wake up !

The whole idea of small car in India is "Cheap Car" which is not true. The economic liberalization in India happened in 1991 (23 years ago), Indian customers have much better understanding of its requirements and a better buying power now.

Please !

I think the manufacturers are clear in their message.
"You cannot expect to survive a crash in a car for which you have paid Rs. 4 lacs only. Use at own risk."

The sheet metals are thin, the impact absorbing beams are either removed or reduced in size or something else. Forget the airbags and ABS. They come in much later.

So, if you can afford a safer car, go for it.

As someone who has been exploring options for a second car in the 3-4 lac segment (for just local city use, where the two wheeler is generally used), the price plays the most important role.

Originally Posted by S_U_N (Post 3399287)
I think the manufacturers are clear in their message.

"You cannot expect to survive a crash in a car for which you have paid Rs. 4 lacs only. Use at own risk."

I second this. agree:

We (as customers) need to firmly drill in the message that any manufacturer having such an attitude is not good. Whether we pay ₹ 4 lacs or even ₹ 2 lacs for a car, we must expect to get at least a basic, reasonable level of safety.

Of course, we cannot expect the level of safety kit offered in a Volvo S80 or a Mercedes-Benz S-Class, or even any 5* Euro-NCAP certified car for that matter. But a basic level of crash protection and safety is a must!

What this means is that the car should be capable of passing the international minimum recommended crash safety tests, as defined by the UN ECE regulations numbered 94 and 95.

R94 and R95 are standards issued by the UNECE regarding the level of protection of passengers in a car in the event of a front impact and a side impact. Announced in 2007, regulation No. 94 and No. 95 of the UN ECE specifies a minimum crash safety performance for frontal collision speed of 56 km/h and side collision speed of 50 km/h.

One must note, that these UN ECE crash requirements are less stringent than those specified by NCAP standards in different parts of the world. This is what the legally mandated government norms in many countries (not India, obviously) specify, and these tests are done under less stringent conditions than the NCAP tests.

All that is required to meet these UN ECE norms, is a reasonably solid passenger compartment with decent crumple zones and side-impact beams protecting it. Plus at least 1 airbag. Yes, I think it's possible to meet these regulations with just 1 single driver airbag!

Is this basic level of UN prescribed safety asking for too much? If manufacturers think it is asking for too much, then they deserve to be taught a lesson!

Originally Posted by i74js (Post 3398977)
The whole idea of small car in India is "Cheap Car" which is not true. The economic liberalization in India happened in 1991 (23 years ago), Indian customers have much better understanding of its requirements and a better buying power now.

When Etios was announced, many including me expected that Toyota Brand on a sub 6lakh Sedan would mean instant success.
Infact me as a buyer wanted a very reliable motor with good FE and basic stuff like PS an PW. But when I saw the car in flesh I really couldnt digest the cheap feel the car had especially in the interiors. This happened with lot of propective buyers too and that clearly reflects in the sales charts.

Whether this car would surely head in the same direction? That would be seen in coming months sales charts.

Originally Posted by sureshkishore (Post 3399532)
When Etios was announced, many including me expected that Toyota Brand on a sub 6lakh Sedan would mean instant success.
Infact me as a buyer wanted a very reliable motor with good FE and basic stuff like PS an PW. But when I saw the car in flesh I really couldnt digest the cheap feel the car had especially in the interiors. This happened with lot of propective buyers too and that clearly reflects in the sales charts.

Whether this car would surely head in the same direction? That would be seen in coming months sales charts.

I guess that would be the most likely fate of the Go. While we like cheap products, I think we also prefer value for money and feel good products. A car is still a huge investment for most families, and you don't want to be seen as buying something cheap. That's why the Nano and Liva did not really take off, as the perception is that they are 'cheap'.

It's also one of the reasons Hyundai has been successful. By offering some of the best quality interiors in their segment (i10, Grand i10, i20 etc.), they create a feel good ambiance, which sways customers when they check out the car. Of course, FE and reliability are also of utmost importance, which is why so many get Marutis.

I think the Go will um... go the way of the Etios and Liva, a popular choice for the taxi segment. Heck, it could be the new Indica.

But for me, I will sum up the Go in one word... CheaPo lol:

Originally Posted by avi550m (Post 3399575)
I think the Go will um... go the way of the Etios and Liva, a popular choice for the taxi segment. Heck, it could be the new Indica.

But for me, I will sum up the Go in one word... CheaPo lol:

Nissan cars cannot compete with Indica or Toyota in the mass market segment due to poor availability of parts and service.

Etios and Liva will prove to be good cars in about 2-3 years time.

Datsun TV Spot

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICCW8VIOvuQ

A garage that big and the car one can afford is a Datsun ?:)

The first sales figures are out; or rather the ones shipped in March - 2072 units in 10 days.

Originally Posted by thoma (Post 3403734)
The first sales figures are out; or rather the ones shipped in March - 2072 units in 10 days.

It clearly shows one of the contender for entry level cars.

Nice to see many people talk safety for entry level and our government also investing on NCAP tests, positive things...

Found this at Local Datsun-Nissan Dealership today..

Is the phone holder standard equipment? If yes, can the phone holder on the dash be replaced? What if someone has a phablet like the Xperia T2 that does not fit? Sorry if the question has been asked and answered already.

Originally Posted by agspins (Post 3405380)
Found this at Local Datsun-Nissan Dealership today..

Thanks for sharing! Those are very, very reasonable charges indeed. clap:

I hope Datsun have firmly instructed their dealers/workshops not to include unnecessary additional stuff such as additives, flush, decarbonisation etc. on the sly, and rein in dealers who indulge in ripping off customers with these (almost) worthless additions.

Such additional stuff is unfortunately becoming the norm with dealers across manufacturers, and it has to be prevented at all costs. This is the only way Datsun can earn the tag of being inexpensive to maintain.

Originally Posted by prasadee (Post 3405453)
Is the phone holder standard equipment? If yes, can the phone holder on the dash be replaced? What if someone has a phablet like the Xperia T2 that does not fit? Sorry if the question has been asked and answered already.

The phone dock (along with 2 speakers on the front doors) is indeed standard on the T variant, which is the only one that comes with power steering. I don't know if it's present on the lower variants.

I think they would have certainly made it (the holder only) replaceable, with a similar holder. This is necessary in case the holder breaks. I don't quite know if it can be replaced with an aftermarket holder meant for large phones and phablets.

Of course, the entire phone dock can be replaced with a 1-DIN music system, if one wants it that way.