Old 13th March 2015, 15:26   #1846
RSR

Re: Tata Zest : Official Review

So finally, we have a diesel automatic costing less than 1 million rupees with 2 airbags and ABS. Good move by Tata!

They could have launched it right from day one to get more customers into their showrooms, but better late than never.

Originally Posted by gautamboseroy View Post
Thanks for the information. Could you please let us know of the cost for the underbody coating. I guess this is a rubberized coating. Right ? Also, if you happen to know How much time does it take to complete the coating for one car. Thanks in advance....Safe Driving !!
Yes, it's a rubberised coating from 3M. The time taken for the coating should be about 2 hours, 2.5 hours at the max. They wash the underbody and wheel wells thoroughly with a pressure washer (and a hand brush, if necessary), then dry it, raise the car on a lift (or put it on a ramp), cover the lower side of the body with brown protective tape, and apply the coating with a specialised gun.

You can watching all of this from close quarters at any 3M outlet. The dealership workshops may do a hurried job which is not as thorough as that done by the 3M franchisees.

The cost varies from car to car. I don't recall exactly, but for the i20 it was approximately 2k rupees for the coating with 3-year warranty, and around Rs. 4k for the 5-year warranty one. The latter uses a different coating material that is better at noise and heat insulation.
RSR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th March 2015, 03:00   #1847

Originally Posted by AGwagon View Post
I have a XMA and I am feeling the same too. Also I am quite fed-up with the times my HK HU keeps hanging or, will not play any sound, or the screen would go off. HK technicians have done 3 visits, re-load the software, but cant do anything. The response is - Sir we can change the HU, but that would not solve the problem, we are waiting for the latest software update to fix the bug, since we have heard of other similar cases as well. Has anyone here experienced something similar?
Yes, Am facing similar issues with my HK HU, Though the issues are not frequent or as severe as yours. I am facing issues with the Bluetooth phone connection. The entire setup acts weird if the car is switched off during an ongoing call. The result is no response from the HU screen. If you try to call the call command reaches the phone and then we have a call, however the HU stalls and also there is no audio from the speakers. In other words you cannot hear the caller whereas the caller can hear you, meaning the mike works. I had to reset the HU to get it back to working normally. Now I am being careful not to switch of the car during a call. Lets hope these bugs are sorted out soon......Safe Driving
Old 14th March 2015, 08:11   #1848

Some confusion here about the petrol's peak torque range.

All reviewers list the torque as 140 Nm @ 1750 - 3500 rpm.

Official Tata documentation gives a different figure -

140 Nm @ 1500-4000 RPM.

So which is the correct one?

Does anyone know at what rpm the turbo starts to spool? I've found it difficult to tell by the feel of the engine.

Old 14th March 2015, 12:33   #1849

Originally Posted by AGwagon View Post
I have a XMA and I am feeling the same too. Also I am quite fed-up with the times my HK HU keeps hanging or, will not play any sound, or the screen would go off. HK technicians have done 3 visits, re-load the software, but cant do anything. The response is - Sir we can change the HU, but that would not solve the problem, we are waiting for the latest software update to fix the bug, since we have heard of other similar cases as well. Has anyone here experienced something similar?
My friend's RT XMS does the same annoying thing. When connected to phone via bluetooth, it keeps hanging every now and then. Yesterday I noticed that just a mild bump on the road put the HK system in the hung up state. This is not good for Tata. If they are listening, they better provide a solution to this issue ASAP.

Last edited by GTO : 15th March 2015 at 16:56. Reason: Typo
Old 16th March 2015, 19:57   #1850

Went on a weekend get-away to Diveagar(7-8 March). Had been planning for this trip since a month. Total four occupants with luggage on-board. The weekend and the drive was very exciting. Included around 40kms of tamhini ghat. Roads were generally OK with some bad and some good patches. My Zest got its first service done a week before(my last post).

Trip snapshot :-
Pune-Diveagar-Dighi/Janjira-Pune
Mileage-425 Kms
Average FE-14 Kpl
Fuel cost~2000(Petrol)

Will also share some positives and negatives I observed in my car during the drive :-
+ves-
1. Nice suspension. Bad patches were easy.
2. Comfortable seats. Never felt any fatigue even when there were stretches of continuous 4 hour driving
3. Good ground clearance-Didn't scrape the tar once on bad stretches
-ves-
1. Lacked power at steep inclines. Had to rev hard in 1st gear.
2. The gear-shifts are not smooth enough. 5th gear especially takes a lot of effort and attention to engage.
3. A-pillar is very thick and creates a big blind spot. Driving in ghats magnified this issue as I had to look out of the side door to negate the blind spot during corners. Other owners are also advised to drive with their door glasses down at ghats especially.
4. Was expecting better FE(around 16Kpl). Guys pls comment.

My wife noticed a very funny behavior from the car radio on our way back. At ghats, each time the car would turn at a bend, the radio would start playing a different song from a different radio station. Even though the display keeps showing the same radio station. Take another turn and the first song comes on again. It was very very funny at that time but a serious flaw we look at it in isolation. Has anybody else noticed this in Zest or any other car?

Other than that I am in deep love with my Zest. Total mileage around 4000 Kms now.It has nice features and adequate space with good road presence. Even my wife is learning to drive our beauty now.

Last edited by Eddy : 22nd March 2015 at 15:06. Reason: Extra smiliey
mayankverma is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2015, 22:54   #1851

Originally Posted by mayankverma View Post
Will also share some positives and negatives I observed in my car during the drive :-
+ves-
1. Nice suspension. Bad patches were easy.
2. Comfortable seats. Never felt any fatigue even when there were stretches of continuous 4 hour driving
3. Good ground clearance-Didn't scrape the tar once on bad stretches
-ves-
2. The gear-shifts are not smooth enough. 5th gear especially takes a lot of effort and attention to engage.
3. A-pillar is very thick and creates a big blind spot. Driving in ghats magnified this issue as I had to look out of the side door to negate the blind spot during corners. Other owners are also advised to drive with their door glasses down at ghats especially.
4. Was expecting better FE(around 16Kpl). Guys pls comment.
I had a very similar trip last week of 550-odd kms. Roads were mix of ghats and butter-smooth highways. My observations are very similar to yours. The ride quality is indeed commendable.

Even I felt lack of power on inclines. Even sport mode doesn't make much difference. Fifth gear though was fine enough. It is just that while shifting, fifth is quite far away from center so there has to be a conscious effort.

As for the A-pillar, it is a huge problem when taking right-hand turns on the ghats. The blind spot is way too huge. I had to move myself to get a view.

I got a FE of 15.5 kpl but I feel that was due to the long highway stretch. Also, keeping FE close to 16 requires a really light foot. Cruising at 80 kph in fifth gear seems like a sweet spot. Cruising at 100 dents the FE figures.

I also did about 300 kms on okay-ish roads and passing through small towns every 20 kms and got a cumulative FE of 17 kpl!! In fact at one point, I saw 19 kpl on MID!!
ksameer1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th March 2015, 23:03   #1852

-ves-
4. Was expecting better FE(around 16Kpl)
Point 1:
Have felt the lack of power even on moderate inclines. Neither City nor Sports mode helps!
Not sure where is that 90PS power!!?

Point 2: Never faced the issue

Point 3: Never got a chance to drive on ghats, but yes, the blind spot is present!

Point 4: Well, I have not crossed 12-13 on even highways, and I'm a driver with a light foot!!
balajisv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th March 2015, 00:02   #1853
Sac

My wife noticed a very funny behavior from the car radio on our way back. At ghats, each time the car would turn at a bend, the radio would start playing a different song from a different radio station. Even though the display keeps showing the same radio station. Take another turn and the first song comes on again. It was very very funny at that time but a serious flaw we look at it in isolation. Has anybody else noticed this in Zest or any other car?
Its not a car specific thing, once you are in an overlapping zone of two separate broadcasts using the same frequency e.g. Radio Mirchi Pune and Radio Mirchi Mumbai, you will tend to catch either, randomly. I have observed it on my numerous Mumbai-Pune trips on the e-way, specifically near Lonavala, of course on different cars.
Sac is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2015, 10:55   #1854

I am experiencing an issue with my Zest XMA EPAS steering system. During initial 2~3 kms of drive, steering does not come back well to straight position. It requires me to rotate it back from turns to align it to straight position. However once it runs few kilometers, steering is pretty responsive. Is this normal behavior for EPAS systems in Zest or is it something wrong in mine or an alignment issue. On the day I took the deliver, I had got the 8 spoke alloys installed (removing 18 spoke alloys) for the wheels in the showroom. Not sure if they have done an wheel alignment after changing alloys.
Old 18th March 2015, 11:45   #1855

Was following/beside a Zest for a long time yesterday. So got a chance to look at different aspects of the car in detail. Overall really liked it. If I was in the market for a compact Sedan, this would definitely be on the top of the list. Also good to see that Tata took customer feedback and launched the diesel AMT in the top variant. Something Maruti and Hyundai should learn from.

One key thing I noticed was that 3 reasonably sized adults were sitting very comfortably in the rear seat. The comfort was very visible to me and hence noticed it.
Old 18th March 2015, 13:41   #1856

Originally Posted by csd42419 View Post
I am experiencing an issue with my Zest XMA EPAS steering system. During initial 2~3 kms of drive, steering does not come back well to straight position. It requires me to rotate it back from turns to align it to straight position. However once it runs few kilometers, steering is pretty responsive. Is this normal behavior for EPAS systems in Zest or is it something wrong in mine or an alignment issue. On the day I took the deliver, I had got the 8 spoke alloys installed (removing 18 spoke alloys) for the wheels in the showroom. Not sure if they have done an wheel alignment after changing alloys.
Exactly the same behavior that I noticed in my XMA and I am running stock 18 spoke alloys.

My car has covered 2k Kms and it seems the handbrake is effective now. May be it has to do with initial bedding of the brake liners when the car was new. I also feel that the AMT is much better at crawling speeds or parking compared to when it was new.
Old 19th March 2015, 14:46   #1857

Guy's,

Me and Wifey own a Revotron XT, touch wood have never felt the above issues till date apart from the MIB issue.

We went for a Holi (7th-8th March 2015) Weekend trip of about 400 km with 6 people on board and full dickey gave 14.5 kmpl with Ac set to 23-21 100% of the trip.

Drove 40% @ eco mode 10% sports mode and rest in city mode. Never felt lack of power, bad roads were made smooth by the ride quality and overtaking maneuvers made easy by the superb handling of the car.

The best compliment our zilva got, that too with 6 people on board out of which 4 were pretty healthy (If you know what I mean :P) and one light weight
"even traveling in SUV's (They were comparing with the Bolero, Scorpio, Sumo) are tiring but not in this car".

One thing experienced though -

While going I located two big potholes very late- there's a stretch where road was being made and there's big hole created at the place where the good road ends and the under construction road starts, Since stone chips were also layed but were not rolled, thus I didn't consider to slow down too much. Was at the speed range of 70-80 when located the hole and braked , I slowed down to 40-50 range and went over those big potholes, the front suspensions made very uncomfortable noise.. both the times. The thuddering noise seemed like some thing broke there. At that moment I thought that whoa.. we're done.. But after that impact the car felt all right.

Will get the suspensions checked in the first service, and see if there's any issues created.

I was Also Talking with Arindam da (Team-bhp handle arindam_xeta) regarding this experience and he outlined that this may be due to ABS system ... as he also had a slimier experience which he outlined in his ownership review. Though he also agreed that.. to be sure the health checkup of the suspension should also be done.

Tata is doing a nation wide service camp from 20-26th March 2015 for all vehicle owners at every service centers. Let me see if I can squeeze some time out this weekend and get our zilva checked out.
Old 19th March 2015, 23:12   #1858

Originally Posted by csd42419 View Post
I do notice the issue some times. I have to manually pull back steering to straight position.
Earlier, in my Swift VDi, it was so easy! The steering used to get back to straight level on its own!

I might have to get it checked during first service.
balajisv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2015, 20:07   #1859

Has anybody installed HUD (Head Up Display) for Tata Zest. Can you please share your experience on it. What features does it displays?
Old 23rd March 2015, 00:29   #1860

My Zest doesnt rattle ( an xm), does provide good service, good comfort, and I am a professional automotive - related guy.

I drive a dzire vdi, I feel I was shortchanged for an XM zest.

Dynamics were superb, am a sort of driver who doesn't test speed limits but looks keenly at dynamics at normal driving speeds @ about 100 - 110 kmph. Zest was superlative.

Tata doesn,t have quality. My Indica ran for about 2.8 lakh km without an issue.

Period.

Zest WILL NOT run: solely because it is a Tata.

Fools do run: they are , after-all, fools.

Note from Support: Post edited to remove SMS language and spelling errors. Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by Eddy : 23rd March 2015 at 14:53. Reason: Note inline
simplyself is offline   (2) Thanks