Old 5th February 2015, 12:04   #31

Re: Mercedes CLA-Class : Official Review

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further. We request you to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2015 at 12:53.
srikrishna717 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th February 2015, 12:43   #32

Brilliant review Ajmat. Kudos to the Team for this. It's a aspirational vehicle for sure though quite unpractical.
Old 5th February 2015, 13:08   #33

Originally Posted by nerd1200 View Post
If only space is considered, these vehicles (Read: Merc CLA & Audi A3) are like Xcents & Amazes from Germany's garages.

Originally Posted by smartcat View Post
I have a feeling that Merc GLA will take away a significant number of prospective CLA customers. It is simply more practical.
Most people will be drawn to the CLA due to its styling. Park the GLA next to the CLA, and it's rear looks absolutely boring in comparison.

That said, the price difference between the two is slim. There is inevitable showroom overlap.

Originally Posted by shyamomfs View Post
Any idea why there is no space for the spare as in other cars?
The answer is weight and fuel emission ratings. Cars in Europe are assessed on these parameters for tax ratings. Good article on this here
I think that article is just a load of crap.

In a car that is small and weighs a whopping 1,500 kilos, I don't think Mercedes would be worried about a 10 kilo space saver spare.

There is no reliable roadside service capable of serving the length & breadth of India. Here, you need a spare....period. Folks in the USA & some parts of Europe don't mind the lack of a spare, because their infrastructure is different. I would NEVER drive from Mumbai - Goa (or even Panchgani) without a spare.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
As for lack of keyless, I think it may be due to security issues. Check out reports on security flaws leading to BMW's, Range Rovers being stolen
Interesting point. I see the W222 S-Class also uses a transmitter key (no keyless entry & go). Thus, it's most definitely not cost cutting. Looks like Merc isn't a believer of that feature.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 13:34   #34

Let's keep practicality out of this one. This screams out style, luxury, class and uniqueness. And all this comes at a price, in this case a little too much. But we know the reasons and nevertheless this will be a hot seller for Mercedes.

The petrol one is definitely the better option out here, loaded with all the gizmos and safety features and styled to hit the Victoria Secret fashion runway!

We can hope the price to come down once production starts in India and as more models are launched in 2015 - we all know how aggressive Mercedes is entering 2015.

Just imagine this in black with black tints! (Yes, I am aware tints aren't legal anymore, but neither are we buying one) *DROOLING*

Finally, I'm hoping Zoomcar gets this soon, it'll be the diesel option but even that will do
Old 5th February 2015, 13:58   #35

Wonderful report, equipped with good looks this car will surely sell in good numbers despite not being a practical car(ala Evoque).

Are pillar-less doors made to cut costs?

Last edited by GTO : 6th February 2015 at 12:09. Reason: Typo
Visran is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 14:01   #36

Excellent review!! Am I the only one here who thinks the car is pretty average looking? Some how not able to digest the rear three quarter look, especially how the rear just drops down, spoiling the look completely.
Old 5th February 2015, 14:09   #37

Loved the review! Kudos!

This car caught my eye when it was launched in the auto show and have been keeping a tab on it ever since. I was expecting it to be in the 25lakh range. Once local assembly begins I hope it gets there. I was lucky to have a good look of the car when they had it in the Oberoi Mall in Mumbai. The car is a looker no doubt!

My only concern remained the rear space. Both my parents complain about the leg space inside my Rapid. Also does anyone have any idea about the EU import agreement we were to sign? If it happens then the price range would halve I believe.

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2015 at 15:16. Reason: As per PM
Old 5th February 2015, 14:34   #38

I saw this car on display at Lulu mall, Kochi when I was about to leave the mall after a movie. On display was a white sport variant with the sunroof open and white leather interior! What a stunner! My jaws dropped, I took a U turn and came back to see the car.

Most guys were getting inside the car to take a Selfie and seemed less interested about its features and specs. So, when I asked more about the car the representatives were happy to answer me especially when I told them that my present car is a Bmw(May be they thought that I am a potential customer ).

I was disappointed when they told me that the On road prices are 40L for the diesel and 44L for the petrol variant mainly because I knew that CLA comes below the C class. I was kind of shocked to hear the price and asked them to repeat the prices in case I heard them wrong.

If I have the money I would definitely buy this as my 2nd car for my wife(read: for me to drive) as it is clearly the best looking car in its segment. I hope that they launch CKD with better prices in the future!
yaseenar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 15:08   #39

Originally Posted by Visran View Post
Wonderful report, equipped with good looks this car will surely sell in good numbers despite not being a practical car(ala Evoque).

Does that pillar-less doors made to cut costs?
On the contrary, it is more expensive

1: Door needs to be stiffer
2: Specialised door seals
3: Special door mechanisms - when you close the door, the window slides down by a couple of inches and slides up again to prevent shattering due to air pressure when closing
ajmat is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 15:27   #40
Mtv

Wonderful review

That aside, this car is a total gimmick and an absolute joke at 35 lacs. If it weren't for the shape and the frameless windows, no one would give it a second chance.

I drove the petrol variant and was so underwhelmed by the way it gathered speed.

It's terribly claustrophobic, like sitting inside a tiffin box, both the front and the rear. Hobbit class space.

I don't see this selling in high numbers, pathetic value for what you get for the money.

For all those in the market for a car at this level you're way better off with an Octavia 1.8TSI at half the money.

I have one and it's amazing value.

Last edited by Mtv : 5th February 2015 at 15:43.
Old 5th February 2015, 15:44   #41

Interesting that the CLA, which was projected as the new entry-level sedan, has replaced the old entry-level sedan (C-class) at the same price point. So the entry-level sedan from Merc is still out of reach of most people.

Lower interior space and inferior diesel spec make this a poor deal compared to the old C-class at the same price point. And IMO it doesn't look special from the rear. I feel it's less car for the same money.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
The answer is weight and fuel emission ratings. Cars in Europe are assessed on these parameters for tax ratings. Good article on this here
I am not sure emissions are the main reason. Most, if not all, manufacturers also provide the option to add a space-saver or full-size spare instead of tire repair kit without any change to emission figures (and therefore tax structure), usually at an extra cost. I guess emission norms are just a convenient excuse for manufacturers to charge customers for something that they used to include as standard equipment earlier.
StarrySky is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 17:09   #42

Beautiful car deserves an equally beautiful review. Top points there.

However, the pricing, is somewhat a downer. Somewhat because as a second or third car to someone who owns one from a category above this "entry-level" Mercedes wouldn't be very bothersome but for someone aspiring to own a piece of luxury, Mercedes has priced the CLA a little too high. The A3 on the other had gets brownie points for the base edition because it is within reach for someone who is looking at the Jettas and Octavias and wouldn't mind spending a bit more to own a piece of fine Ingolstadt machinery!

Either way, VFM or not, the CLA is a unique case just because it looks so damn hot! Mercedes, you've got a winner here.

Last edited by 9thsphinx : 5th February 2015 at 17:12.
9thsphinx is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2015, 17:19   #43

I'm not buying but would absolutely LOVE to see this car sold out for 2015. Just the kind of cars we need to liven up our roads!

What a piece of ART under 50L! I could relate this to the response RR Evoque received when it was launched. Style overshadowing every other rational reason not to buy one.
Old 5th February 2015, 20:06   #44

Excellent Review Ajmat Sir!

This has to be the best looking car from the MFA lot. Most pictures of this car are wallpaper worthy. Yes to me, this looks a lot better than the GLA. While the petrol seems adequate I dont understand how much Mercedes is saving on costs by providing seriously detuned diesel variants on all MFA cars. 134bhp for the diesel is just too little. If someone wanted mileage they wouldnt buy this car. Like many have said before I would hate being out run by a Cruze or Jetta or Octavia if i buy the diesel one. Why deprive the entry level owner of a good powerful tune is beyond me!

I still cannot get over the pricing at ~40 Lacs OTR but it still remains to be seen how the prices move once local assembly fo MFA cars commences. Speaking of which do we know when that is expected?

For now the dream to buy an "entry level Mercedes" has been pushed back by 5 years thanks to the awesome pricing! I had always imagined replacing the Vento with this one. Think I will have to buy one used few years from now or get the Octavia 1.8 TSI AT.

This will sell in decent numbers for the time being and I am certain Mercedes sales folks will have their hands and order books full with all the recent launches.

If I were VW this would be a good time to get the new Passat and advance the launch of the new Superb as well and price it in the 25 - 30 lac range. Given the pricing of the German trio it should help them sell in decent numbers.

Last edited by miharbe : 5th February 2015 at 20:11.
Old 5th February 2015, 20:26   #45

I saw this car in the showroom a few days back. I had loved the car since it launched last year and would love to have one but it doesn't make any sense. Its tiny from inside, front wheel drive and the price is equal to a 3 series. Only if Merc had priced it reasonably, they could have had a real winner on their hands.
But its sad to see that currently almost all cars by Mercedes-Benz are ridiculously overpriced. I guess they have become overconfident with their flashy new cars. Anyways, hope they realise it soon...
Naman_Ferrari is offline   (1) Thanks