Old 3rd February 2017, 18:05   #6721

Re: Maruti S-Cross : Official Review

Originally Posted by NPV View Post
Which one did you finally decide/buy ? I'm guessing it wasn't the S-Cross ? Would be interesting to know which among these you finally decided to buy and why
Nothing!! Like I said here, I'm super frustrated with Nexa guys!!

Although I've listed my car for sale, there're no takers considering the used car market is down by 60%.

I'm very seriously contemplating to jump back to C1 segment with Ford Aspire before Mar 31 or wait for few more months & see if Ford Ecosport facelift launches on account of practical (read family) reasons. Hopefully one of these will partially fill the void of my heart towards 1.6 S-Cross :(
aargee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2017, 18:24   #6722

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Nothing!! Like I said here, I'm super frustrated with Nexa guys!!

Although I've listed my car for sale, there're no takers considering the used car market is down by 60%.

I'm very seriously contemplating to jump back to C1 segment with Ford Aspire before Mar 31 or wait for few more months & see if Ford Ecosport facelift launches on account of practical (read family) reasons. Hopefully one of these will partially fill the void of my heart towards 1.6 S-Cross :(
Why are you frustrated with Nexa for quoting a poor price for your old car? Is that reason enough to let go of the Scross? I too have been quoted a lower price for my old car by Nexa. But I thought the lower price was quite legit considering they would want to make some profits while reselling. I am trying to sell the car myself now to get a better deal.
Old 3rd February 2017, 19:45   #6723

Originally Posted by jaunthead View Post
Why are you frustrated with Nexa for quoting a poor price for your...to get a better deal.
Sorry to all owners to take a little Offroading here...

We visited a used car showroom (on Son's insistence on a different occasion) & we saw a similar WagonR like ours, but black, same year, run for nearly same as ours, dented as much as ours, but blask & it was listed for 1.65 Lakhs

I'm not expecting such an astronomical figure, but my expectation is 1L & I don't think it's too much to ask. Members here suggested selling it out of Nexa; yes it fetches what I'm expecting, but with Nexa, I stand to lose the exchange bonus.

My last hope is 31-Mar before finalizing Aspire or EcoSport :(
Old 3rd February 2017, 20:38   #6724

Nothing!! Like I said, I'm super frustrated with Nexa guys!!

What I feel is that, Nexa quoting less for your used car is not a valid reason for putting off the desire to own 1.6. When you are exchanging a car to dealer, you have to expect 20-25% less than the market value.

Wait for some more time and sell the car in secondary market get home the monster 1.6. You will never regret.
Sree73 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2017, 20:41   #6725

Sorry to all owners to take a little Offroading here...

We visited a used car showroom (on Son's insistence on a different occasion) & we saw a similar WagonR like ours, but black, same year, run for nearly same as ours, dented as much as ours, but blask & it was listed for 1.65 Lakhs

I'm not expecting such an astronomical figure, but my expectation is 1L & I don't think it's too much to ask. Members here suggested selling it out of Nexa; yes it fetches what I'm expecting, but with Nexa, I stand to lose the exchange bonus.

Hi Aargee, which Nexa is this? I bought my car from Nandanam Nexa and they gave me a price of 2.35L for my 2009 Swift LXi run 84k. Suggest you try with them once if you had not approached this dealer.
arvind71181 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2017, 20:58   #6726

Originally Posted by Vigkey View Post

We took the Bangalore - Krishnagiri - Uthangarai - Chengam - Thiruvannamalai route suggested by Google maps. Though the road condition was ranging from OK to bad, all was well till we were around 30 minutes from the temple.

Around 10-15 kms before Chengam a seemingly good stretch of road all of a sudden presented a very rough patch and there was a dip in the road level as well. I was somewhere around 80-100 kmph then. I braked - but not very hard - as I did not anticipate the condition of the road accurately. In a second, I realized that the 180 mm ground clearance was just not enough. For the first time ever, something scraped the car's under body - there was a small sound of something hitting the under body.
Sorry to hear about the incident and hope to see you soon on the road with your beast. I'll be doing the same route coming monday and hope to learn from your mistakes and not exceed 60kms on that stretch. Although, I'll be taking a slightly different route via Tirpattur, but the road again joins at Singarapettai and from there to Chengam.

Originally Posted by jaunthead View Post
You should. I have been salivating for a year now. Now that I have booked it I am giving the RM a real hard time.
All the best and do post your Showroom experience too.
jaaz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2017, 23:54   #6727
Sip

Hi Budddy! Hope I understand your problem. My 2011 Alto K10 was quoted 1.9 lac by NEXA and that was also due to stated special favours by NEXA. But I sold it on olx for 2.35 lacs!

Buying experience in brief; they gave me written availability for 1.6 Delta in Apr 16, made me pay full amount and then procrastinated on different pretexts. Then after 2 months they gave in written that 1.6 Delta could not be provided. OK. They tried to make me buy car of their choice due visible frustration. There are thousands of cases where people changed their choices due to frustration especially of long wait.

Finally I settled for 1.6 Zeta 2015 make with good offer. All this resulted in 4 months of car-less life including full summer vacations wasted awaiting for 'a couple of days'.

Its a different matter that for this I have booked a date with NEXA in consumer forum just to ensure that they don't repeat this mischief with anybody else. But I bought the car I wanted and didn't allow my choice to be influenced by any other reasons. Perseverance is the key
Sip is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th February 2017, 00:06   #6728

Originally Posted by jaaz View Post
Sorry to hear about the incident and hope to see you soon on the road with your beast. I'll be doing the same route coming monday and hope to learn from your mistakes and not exceed 60kms on that stretch. Although, I'll be taking a slightly different route via Tirpattur, but the road again joins at Singarapettai and from there to Chengam.
Hey Jaaz! I am also waiting to get the car back in perfect condition. The oil sump has not arrived yet, though.

The spot where I bottomed out is between Singarapettai and Chengam. So, please be careful. Better not to exceed 60 kmph and be very watchful of what lies ahead.
Vigkey is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2017, 09:30   #6729

You would agree then, that the Front Wheel Drive vehicles perform better in general in the hills compared to RWD.
I would agree with you if the car climbs the hill with absolutely no hault/ stops. Most FWD cars being light weight, once they have build the momentum, they will zip through the hills. However if the car comes to a dead stop in the hills, then I beg to differ with you over here Sir. When you are traveling on plain straight road, the CG (Centre of Gravity) is almost at the centre of the car and all four tyres get more or less equal traction. However when you are climbing uphill, due to the incline the CG of the car shifts towards the rear. Due to this the maximum weight of the car is transferred to the rear wheels and they get much more traction compared to the front wheels. If the car comes to a complete hault and if the front wheels are powered, there is a likelihood of front wheels slipping due to poor traction and all that power not delivered to the road. Now this situation would get aggravated if the car is loaded with 4-5 passengers and luggage. If you release the clutch slowly the car would start rolling back. If you release it abruptly, you run the risk of stalling the engine. Only way you can get out of it this situation is put the handbrake (to prevent the car from rolling back), slowly build the revs, as soon as the car shows eagerness to move forward, release the handbrake. You may experience a slight jerk, but at least the car would get going.

Against the above with a RWD configuration, you can easily start from a dead stop on an incline without engaging the handbrake and burning the clutch. Since the whole weight of the car is transferred to the rear wheels and also these are the wheels that are powered, they get good traction and can easily push the vehicle weight when going uphill. Most of the RWD configuration cars are meant to carry heavy loads and have shorter gear ratios. This gives them good low end torque and greater pulling power at low revs. That is the reason why we see so many Boleros, Innovas, Scorpios etc in the hilly regions. Heck even the Omnis and Eccos of the world (having RWD) would perform better in the ghats. Rather they would perform even better, having the light weight and RWD combo.

To come to the performance of any car, RWD, FWD or 4WD, in the hills, especially up and down those switchbacks and hairpin bends and uphill curves. We always learned while driving in the hills, that it is extremely important to have sufficient momentum and to change down to the right gear, while ascending the hills, if one didn't want to lose out on speed. That is a guiding principle which works just the same in the plains when taking curves and/ or negotiating speed breakers which more often than not, are quite elephantine in our cities. Its all about the momentum and being in the right gear, to extract the best performance as well as fuel efficiency/ engine efficiency from one's vehicle.
Being in the right gear at the right time is the key here. Don't loose the momentum while climbing, if you do, then downshift to second or first gear before coming to a dead stop. Keep crawling in lower gears. Try to maintain the same gear as much as possible.

With the above few tips driving in the ghats can be much fun
AutoIndian is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th February 2017, 10:10   #6730

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
However if the car comes to a dead stop in the hills, then I beg to differ with you over here Sir
Will quote a real time incident that partly supports you & not completely.

I had to drive a 3 pot WagonR with 2 adults & 1 12 year old from Jibhi to Shoja as the mountains had a snow fall previous night & the owner had an extremely minor incident.

So on one particular ascend, no snow, but road was full mud, at one point one of the wheel got struck & we were unable to move; until then I drove the car sedate due to snow & being someone else's car & I was able to keep up with another XUV with 5 adults for a while until I got struck.

How did we get out of mud? Locals advised to descend in reverse, gain momentum & then get past the mud & we did that. BTW, the altitude of Shoja was nearly 2 Km!!

Point - Unless the car is struck in mud or something, every car can gain momentum on MOTORABLE hills road except extreme roadless roads for low GC vehicle such as Nelliyampathy etc. Still I would say, car is 10% & driver makes 90%

Being in the right gear at the right time is the key here. Don't loose the momentum while climbing, if you do, then downshift to second or first gear before coming to a dead stop. Keep crawling in lower gears. Try to maintain the same gear as much as possible
100% RIGHT!! This is the key factor
aargee is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2017, 10:53   #6731

Maruti sells 2109 units of S-Cross in January 2017. Consistent sales in 2K.

http://www.autopunditz.com/
Sree73 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2017, 19:21   #6732

S-Cross official review says that its NVH is average compared to vehicles like Creta etc. One way to reduce noise is to get better tyres of course. But has anybody tried using damping material on the doors and the floor and observed its effects? Any other aftermarket ways to reduce noise in S-Cross?
Old 4th February 2017, 19:53   #6733

If the car comes to a complete hault and if the front wheels are powered, there is a likelihood of front wheels slipping due to poor traction and all that power not delivered to the road. Now this situation would get aggravated if the car is loaded with 4-5 passengers and luggage. If you release the clutch slowly the car would start rolling back. If you release it abruptly, you run the risk of stalling the engine. Only way you can get out of it this situation is put the handbrake (to prevent the car from rolling back), slowly build the revs, as soon as the car shows eagerness to move forward, release the handbrake. You may experience a slight jerk, but at least the car would get going.

Against the above with a RWD configuration, you can easily start from a dead stop on an incline without engaging the handbrake and burning the clutch. Since the whole weight of the car is transferred to the rear wheels and also these are the wheels that are powered, they get good traction and can easily push the vehicle weight when going uphill. Most of the RWD configuration cars are meant to carry heavy loads and have shorter gear ratios. This gives them good low end torque and greater pulling power at low revs. That is the reason why we see so many Boleros, Innovas, Scorpios etc in the hilly regions. Heck even the Omnis and Eccos of the world (having RWD) would perform better in the ghats. Rather they would perform even better, having the light weight and RWD combo.
I wouldn't be as general in this statement. Front wheel drive cars which are inherently lightweight in nature like the Maruti 800 do perform extremely well with passengers and luggage in the hills.
Yes it is true that if the tyres are wet or moist on account of rain, the chances of slippage when on an extremely steep incline, are definitely possible and indeed, do happen. But this is not to say that the similar thing does not happen to RWD vehicles!
When ascending extremely steep inclines even fully laden RWD vehicles do feel the strain and indeed, in the 1970's and 1980's when in the hills, I have seen many "plains" cars (Ambys and Fiats) sitting there with broken axles caused on account of too much strain being put on them - both in wet and dry conditions.
Many a time have I seen even these RWD vehicles roll back and reverse all the way down and then slowly gather enough momentum and then take a particularly steep hairpin curve!
In 1998 I was driving a brand new Ford Escort with a friend up the Sigur Ghats. That vehicle absolutely could not take the strain of climbing the last few hairpin bends even in First Gear because it was inherently so heavy and its gear ratios weren't the best! I remember that in 1999-2000 Ford India actually revamped the gear ratios of the Ford Escort to enable it to manage the steeper inclines.(A couple of my friends used to work for Ford and they gave me this information.)
On that same day, around the last 2-3 hairpin bends, we saw a Maruti 1000 also struggling terribly because it just didn't have the juice to climb up. It would keep rolling back. Poor thing. And there was only an elderly couple sitting in that car at the time!
By contrast, there were also a few Esteems on the road that day and they were climbing with less of a problem, because of their inherent light weight and more powerful engine. But the engines were straining. One could hear them at the top end of their rev cycle on many of those curves!
I have taken my old 970cc Soft Top and Hard Top Gypsy's up the same ghats with absolutely no problem, though I had to regularly use 1st gear.
The Bolero and Scorpio also had no problem negotiating that ghat, again, in many places, to get sufficient power up, one has to use 1st gear.
An interesting comparo here - on the same Sigur Ghats,certain steep uphill sections could easily be handled by the old gen Chain Drive Scorpio 2.6 in second gear because of its inherent luggability and torque. These same sections, when attempted in the Turbo 2.6 Scorpio, necessitated the use of First Gear and this was mainly because the Turbo needed to spool up a bit in order to give that little extra Zest, to the climb!
The above facts are true for my Yeti too, though most of the time, its inherent torque can allow it to chug up in second gear as compared to many other vehicles.
But it is all about momentum and being in the right gear and following the principle of anticipatory gear shifting and right level of acceleration. Always.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 4th February 2017 at 19:57.
shankar.balan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th February 2017, 23:28   #6734

Originally Posted by Vigkey View Post
The oil sump has not arrived yet, though.
Sad to know about the mishap. Any updates??
Leoshashi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th February 2017, 23:51   #6735

Today, I switched on the car and while reversing CEL popped up. Steering became tight all of a sudden for 2-3 seconds. I had faced similar issue few months back and Service guys just deleted the error codes and said no need to worry as it was not shown in current fault and stored in history. There were multiple error codes which said lost communication with ABS, power steering, BCM etc etc.

I plugged in my OBD reader and there were 2 errors today.

1. Lost communication with ABS
2. Vehicle speed sensor error

CEL refused to go on its own unlike last time. I had to drive the car for around 40 KM with CEL. Car was performing as usual. But I noticed that cruise control wouldn't work. I have not deleted the errors and it's still showing as "current fault". I will go to MASS and get it checked. I will make sure they would look into this and not simply delete like last time.
Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img20170208wa0041.jpg  

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img20170208wa0062.jpg