Old 1st July 2017, 16:47   #7696

Re: Maruti S-Cross : Official Review

The new pricing is updated on Nexa Website. S-Cross 1.6 Alpha price is reduced by around 50k (Bangalore). The price is below 12 lakhs now
Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_164454.jpg  

Dr.Naren is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 19:58   #7697
Sip

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
The new pricing is updated on Nexa Website. S-Cross 1.6 Alpha price is reduced by around 50k (Bangalore). The price is below 12 lakhs now
Wow !! The most underrated car is the new best VFM. Guess what? This is scramble time to buy S-Cross 1.6, such a fabulous car! Honestly this car raises adrenaline every time I accelerate it beyond 80 kmph even after driving 17000 kms. May be its never before opportunity for s-cross 1.6 aspirants. May be I would like to even buy it for 15 lacs also.

Recently many 1.6 owners have remapped it from Wolf. Performance including 0-100 dash has increased considerably besides reduced lag and linear power delivery with reduced turbo kick. But believe me turbo kick in stock 1.6 is such that I would rather manage with exaggerated issue of lag than live without the typical 1.6 turbo kick.

Last edited by Sip : 1st July 2017 at 20:21.
Sip is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 20:14   #7698

Originally Posted by Sip View Post
Wow !! The most underrated car is the new best VFM. Guess what?
Haha!! I had paid ~45K more around a year back. Anyways, there is some credible information that 1.6 S-Cross is not manufactured since few months. Those who are considering 1.6 S-Cross, please rush to nearest Nexa dealer and grab the car if available.

Recently many 1.6 owners have remapped it from Wolf. Performance including 0-100 dash has increased considerably besides reduced lag and linear power deliver with reduced turbo kick.
The new updated by Wolf Moto has improved the low end by big margin. When the lag is cut down, the perception of turbo kick would be reduced with linear power delivery.

But believe me turbo kick in stock 1.6 is such that I would rather manage with exaggerated issue of lag than live without the typical 1.6 turbo kick.

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 1st July 2017 at 20:17.
Dr.Naren is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 20:25   #7699

The price is below 12 lakhs now
Interesting! Madras Ex showroom prices are a touch higher than Bangalore's.

It looks like S-Cross 1.6 is the biggest beneficiary of the post-GST prices. Here's how the pre-GST and post-GST prices stack up ex-Madras

1.3 Zeta - (pre-GST) 992865 - (post-GST) 974228
1.3 Alpha - (pre-GST) 1113680 - (post-GST) 1093259
1.6 Alpha - (pre-GST) 1255743 - (post-GST) 1204154

The on-paper OTR for 1.6 Alpha was 15.35L, now should be around 14.80-14.85L.

On related note, Ciaz ex-showroom jumps almost on par with S-Cross 1.6 Alpha at 1182978 (from 1075650).
narayans80 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 23:25   #7700

Took the car for its 3rd paid service today. Squeaking noise from the brake pedal was provided as complaint apart from usual service. The total bill was 7060/- I was expecting it to reach five figures and I was surprised.

Air filter is to be changes at only 40k intervals, I did not know this, else would have proactively asked them to change it. I would now buy it from an MGP and then change it as a DIY. I cannot imagine this lasting 40k in Indian conditions.

Bill below:
Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_200509.jpg
Guess who is back? That is right, I got the mirror!

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_095819.jpg

The price of 7059 was including this mirror. (350 for the mirror)

Here is a picture of the car at the service station. Look at the amount dirt and grime the car accumulated during the last 3 weeks.

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_095851.jpg

After the service, I took it to fuel pump to give it a belly full of fuel. Here is a pic at the service station.

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_202910.jpg

Just look at that difference.
govigov is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st July 2017, 23:56   #7701

Wow !! The most underrated car is the new best VFM. Guess what? This is scramble time to buy S-Cross 1.6, such a fabulous car! Honestly this car raises adrenaline every time I accelerate it beyond 80 kmph even after driving 17000 kms. May be its never before opportunity for s-cross 1.6 aspirants. May be I would like to even buy it for 15 lacs also.
Absolutely agree!! The ex-showroom price of the 1.6 Alpha in Pune has come down to 11.8 lakhs which is an absolute steal in my opinion. Wish I would've been the market now than 1.5 years back when the 1.6 was almost 4 lakhs costlier and had to settle for the 1.3 (which I still absolutely love )

People....S-Cross 1.6 Alpha is the car to buy. Go grab one soon till stocks last!!

Last edited by Aditya : 2nd July 2017 at 21:34. Reason: Please limit yourself to two smileys/post. Thanks!
Djay is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2017, 08:01   #7702

Oh! I almost forgot! I took the car for wheel alignment / balancing / rotation.

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_170310.jpg

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20170701_171042.jpg

While I was there, I inquired about the tires that the horrible JKs can be swapped with.

Michelin P3ST at 7700
Turanza T0001 at 7300
Conti MC5 at 7100

and you get something for your JKs, more like 1000/tire. Being in the middle of GST implementation, they are not stocking P3STs or T0001 Stock expected by 7th.

He told me that the turanza should be imported from Japan, while the Conti's are made in India.
Old 2nd July 2017, 18:10   #7703
Sip

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
Took the car for its 3rd paid service today. Squeaking noise from the brake pedal was provided as complaint apart from usual service.
This brake pedal squeaking noise has been reported by many S-Cross owners including me. It comes off and on. kindly share what was problem and how they rectified it?
Sip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2017, 19:09   #7704

Maruti Suzuki sells 13,879 units in the utility segment (Gypsy / Ertiga / Brezza / S-Cross) in the month of June 2017.

May figure was 22,608. So, month on month a drop of ~40%. This purely because of the lesser dispatches on account of GST roll out.

June details below.
http://www.marutisuzuki.com/press-re...july-2017.aspx
Old 2nd July 2017, 19:11   #7705

There are mouth watering discounts on top of 11.8 Lakhs in the form of corporate discount and exchange discounts. Remember, there was 40K off beginning of the year. As the facelift launch nears, it won't be surprising to see the price go down from 11.8 lakhs ex-showroom to closer to 11 lakhs. Those wanting a good bargain, just wait till Aug middle - Sep end to get a juicier deal

Originally Posted by Djay View Post
Wish I would've been the market now than 1.5 years back when the 1.6 was almost 4 lakhs costlier and had to settle for the 1.3
As the facelift nears, this difference is likely to go closer to a lakh. That is always the case with cars, is that not? The newly launched cars won't have discounts and as the facelift arrives, it will get cheaper. The manufacturers will surely skim the early buyers

The 1.4 Boosterjet is likely to replace the 1.6 as the top end S-cross. The 1.6 will likely get re-launched only if local manufacturing starts for the Jeep Renegade by FCA. It makes no economic sense for Maruti Suzuki to import the 1.6 engine and gear box and end up at 66% localization. It is not a 1.5 L engine and so no pricing benefits.

Haha!! I had paid ~45K more around a year back. Anyways, there is some credible information that 1.6 S-Cross is not manufactured since few months. Those who are considering 1.6 S-Cross, please rush to nearest Nexa dealer and grab the car if available.
Agree. This is a top notch car. The scramble will probably become a mad rush as the facelift nears and more 40-50K discounts are offered

Am not a big fan of re-map. It renders the warranty void and more importantly is bad for the environment emissions and the engine.
Wow !! The most underrated car is the new best VFM. Guess what? This is scramble time to buy S-Cross 1.6, such a fabulous car!

Recently many 1.6 owners have remapped it from Wolf. Performance including 0-100 dash has increased considerably besides reduced lag and linear power delivery with reduced turbo kick. B
There are definitely discounts available on top of this in the form of exchange discount and corporate discounts.
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2017, 19:42   #7706

Hi. I was thinking about remapping my Ddis200. Anybody has any suggestions. How is code6. I have discussed with code6. Any other better people to do the job. I am from Kochin. Thanks.
Old 2nd July 2017, 21:13   #7707
Sip

Originally Posted by bhpfaninblr View Post

The 1.4 Boosterjet is likely to replace the 1.6 as the top end S-cross. The 1.6 will likely get re-launched only if local manufacturing starts for the Jeep Renegade by FCA. It makes no economic sense for Maruti Suzuki to import the 1.6 engine and gear box and end up at 66% localization.
Would you mind divulging the source of your information / basis of your belief.

Surely 1.4 Boosterjet is very competent motor and would come to India at some point of time. But I am afraid its not feasible as soon as you expect it. Just to speculate, may be GST effect can make Maruti to revive 1.6 DDiS

Last edited by Sip : 2nd July 2017 at 21:23.
Old 2nd July 2017, 21:26   #7708

Originally Posted by Djay View Post
Absolutely agree!! The ex-showroom price of the 1.6 Alpha in Pune has come down to 11.8 lakhs which is an absolute steal in my opinion. Wish I would've been the market now than 1.5 years back when the 1.6 was almost 4 lakhs costlier and had to settle for the 1.3 (which I still absolutely love )

People....S-Cross 1.6 Alpha is the car to buy. Go grab one soon till stocks last!!
Yes bang on. That will take the on road price closer to 14 lakhs and will be the car to buy at that price.
Unfortunately I will be in the market to buy a new car only next year and I am sure 1.6 won't be available then

I took a test drive yesterday and it blew me off again!!

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 2nd July 2017 at 21:59. Reason: Quoted post edited.
vibbs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2017, 21:41   #7709

Originally Posted by drmadhuks View Post
Hi. I was thinking about remapping my Ddis200. Anybody has any suggestions. How is code6. I have discussed with code6. Any other better people to do the job. I am from Kochin. Thanks.

Code 6 does a good work of tuning the ddis 200. There will be a better low end and the engine becomes more free revving. 0 to 100 comes in just under 11s. Adding a kn air filter will spice up things a bit more.
Old 3rd July 2017, 12:09   #7710

The source is the owner of a MS showroom in Karnataka. The S-cross is coming with a 1.4 Boosterjet per him and there are plans to produce both the 1.0 Boosterjet and 1.4 Boosterjet in India bringing down the costs.

The 1.6 does not make sense due to the following reasons:
  • It is > 1.5 and therefore higher duties apply same as the 2.0 Multijet
  • It is imported fully including gearbox resulting in 66% localization. It is not a model that scales for Suzuki in India
  • They have not introduced or planning to introduce 1.6 in Ciaz or any other model. This has no economies of scale
So GST will not make them think differently about 1.6. Only local production of 1.6 for the Jeep Renegade will cause them to change

Would you mind divulging the source of your information / basis of your belief.
may be GST effect can make Maruti to revive 1.6 DDiS
Definitely 1.6 is the engine to buy. I am in the market for the facelift as well and the 1.6 may not be likely with the facelifted S-cross.
Originally Posted by vibbs View Post
Unfortunately I will be in the market to buy a new car only next year and I am sure 1.6 won't be available then
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks