Old 1st February 2022, 23:52   #9376

Re: Maruti S-Cross : Official Review

Originally Posted by ankan.m.blr View Post
I have a 5 year old, 75K driven, 1.3 Scross zeta. Of late, it has started to feel a little bit old. The vehicle runs fine and no rattles or niggles. Just that, there is a lack of freshness when I sit inside the car now-a-days. I was thinking of a suitable replacement in another year or so. What can be a suitable replacement (diesel only) if the on-road budget is 15L?
There is no replacement for the S-Cross within 15 lakh. I've thought about it too, but couldn't come up with any car that does everything that an S-Cross does at a similar price. Being in Delhi makes it worse since diesels no longer make sense.

Ignore the itch, get some new seat covers and better ICE. Carry on for another 5 years.

Last edited by Eddy : 1st February 2022 at 23:53.
Eddy is online now   (14) Thanks
Old 6th February 2022, 10:50   #9377

Got the 100000 km service done on 4th Feb. The car is just a month short of its 4th birthday. The 90k service was done in July. In November the steering assembly was changed under warranty as the steering had become very heavy. Apart from this even at 1 lakh km the car runs super smooth. Some rattles on the driver's seat but apart from that nothing else.
Oh yes, the gear had off late become very hard and I forgot to mention the same to the SM but he himself called and told me that gear oil needs replacement and so did the wiper blades. He also sent videos of new gear oil can being opened and poured into the jar.
Received it back the same day, the steering and gear feel great. I think I will drive it for another 1 lakh km provided the drive quality doesn't deteriorate.
Attaching pics of the service bill.
PS - Not an expert in the selection of parts and all. I rely on SM (the same guy servicing for 4 years). I am sure there will be some expenses that could have been avoided but with the relation that I have with the SM saying no becomes a little difficult.
Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20220204_193549.jpg  

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20220206_103748.jpg  

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-img_20220206_103800.jpg  

rickygupta2 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th February 2022, 10:56   #9378

I have a 5 year old, 75K driven, 1.3 Scross zeta. Of late, it has started to feel a little bit old. The vehicle runs fine and no rattles or niggles. Just that, there is a lack of freshness when I sit inside the car now-a-days. I was thinking of a suitable replacement in another year or so. What can be a suitable replacement (diesel only) if the on-road budget is 15L?
MAybe you could drive the Kicks and evaluate for yourself . Its 15 odd for the manual 1.3 Turbo . Very good suspension and drive-train . Havinf used a MUL product the understated simplistic interior will not offend you .
abhijit 2284 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th February 2022, 13:45   #9379

I am also on the same boat for some time now. My Scross 1.3 Zeta will turn 5 by this March and has done close to 92k kms. There is strong reason to replace the car as it is running in very good shape with not a single niggle, is delivering very good FE and the size is perfect for my driving situations. However, my previous car also being a 1.3 MJD, I have been driving around with this 'more or less same engine' for 10+ years and badly feel like moving out.

I don't think there is an easy replacement within the 15L budget. I have extended it upto 25L for accommodating various options and the only worthy replacements I felt are XUV 700 and Safari. But XUV's waiting is more than a year and I might end up with Safari powered by 2.0 MJD !
northstar* is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th February 2022, 13:09   #9380

I just completed my 80K service and got the biggest service bill yet...total of 38,600. Looks like there was a need to recalibrate the fuel injector nozzles and replace one of them. The labor and parts cost came up to 18k for that. Also AC servicing done came up to round 3.3k.

Did feel it was higher than expected but as the car ages, should this be expected?

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-bill-1.jpg

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-bill-2.jpg

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-bill-3.jpg
SafeDrive0107 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2022, 13:42   #9381

Originally Posted by SafeDrive0107 View Post
I just completed my 80K service and got the biggest service bill yet...total of 38,600. Looks like there was a need to recalibrate the fuel injector nozzles and replace one of them. The labor and parts cost came up to 18k for that. Also AC servicing done came up to round 3.3k.

Did feel it was higher than expected but as the car ages, should this be expected?
Injector recalibration is done if the injectors are clogged or not delivering the fuel in the right pressure . Any particular symptoms that warranted you to get the Injectors calibrated and replaced? Did the injectors get bad due to bad fuel?How old is you car? As far as I know 80 k is way too less km to warrant an Injector calibration procedure unless you were running on bad fuel or replacement was to be done.

Last edited by rakesh_r : 11th February 2022 at 13:44.
rakesh_r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th February 2022, 14:48   #9382

Originally Posted by rakesh_r View Post
Injector recalibration is done if the injectors are clogged or not delivering the fuel in the right pressure . Any particular symptoms that warranted you to get the Injectors calibrated and replaced? Did the injectors get bad due to bad fuel?How old is you car? As far as I know 80 k is way too less km to warrant an Injector calibration procedure unless you were running on bad fuel or replacement was to be done.
There were no symptoms, the service advisor told that they found that during the regular check that there was an issue with one of the nozzles. Quality of fuel...I have been sticking to one BP bunk near my residence for years and of course while you do long trips, there is not much choice but I have been preferring BP.
Old 11th February 2022, 15:20   #9383

There were no symptoms, the service advisor told that they found that during the regular check that there was an issue with one of the nozzles.
A bit confused here, how did the SA come to this conclusion by just doing a regular check? Did they connect the SDT to verify this? Looks like the SA pulled a fast one on you, again I might be wrong but something doesn't sound right here. I would be surprised if they just billed it and never took out the nozzles. Did you physically see them removing the injectors? Injector recalibration, as far as I know is never done in house and is done by a third party like Bosch since it needs a dedicated equipment.

Last edited by rakesh_r : 11th February 2022 at 15:23.
Old 11th February 2022, 15:36   #9384

I just completed my 80K service and got the biggest service bill yet...total of 38,600.
We, S-Cross fanboys keep saying that our cars have BMWish grills. Looks like the service center really consider yours one and billed you accordingly.

Apologies for the joke. On a serious note, after the injector calibration issue already discussed, I guess many of the things in the bill are something I would never have agreed too. Lubrication, engine room painting, upholstry cleaning, germ terminator, trim protector and what not.

Such interior and exterior maintenance is best done from specialists and the price isn’t too different in service centers either so one more reason to skip these services during the scheduled service from an authorized service centre.
PaddleShifter is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th February 2022, 15:45   #9385

Originally Posted by rakesh_r View Post
A bit confused here, how did the SA come to this conclusion by just doing a regular check? Did they connect the SDT to verify this? Looks like the SA pulled a fast one on you, again I might be wrong but something doesn't sound right here. I would be surprised if they just billed it and never took out the nozzles. Did you physically see them removing the injectors? Injector recalibration, as far as I know is never done in house and is done by a third party like Bosch since it needs a dedicated equipment.
Thanks a lot for the clarification. I am not very familiar with this procedure. While I am not 100% sure about how they identified it, on the bill the charges are mentioned as external labor and in comments they have mentioned calibration. It was done at an external facility and they took a day extra for that.
Old 11th February 2022, 16:14   #9386
HTC

Thanks a lot for the clarification. I am not very familiar with this procedure. While I am not 100% sure about how they identified it, on the bill the charges are mentioned as external labor and in comments they have mentioned calibration. It was done at an external facility and they took a day extra for that.
Looks like you are taken for a ride.

I just got my car today from injectors service. Mine is a ford figo 2011 diesel. It has run 1.2 lac kms. There was a jerk when shifting gears. Service centre said 2 injectors are showing problem. I did not ask FASS to fix injector issues as they only replace injectors. Each injector is 13k and labor on top. Got all the injectors removed at nearby bosch service station. Took the injectors to Hema Diesels. Per injector service, they charge 1k. After service and inspection, 3 out of 4 injectors needed replacement( only nozzle). They suggested to change all 4 as the 4th one has aged equally. Original continental injector nozzle cost is 6.5k. So I paid 30k for 4 nozzles+service cost. Paid 2.5k for bosch service. Car runs smooth now.

In your case, they should have charged 1k for 1 injector. Also, did they remove injectors without your permission? Curious as it is a major repair requiring engine head removal.

Originally Posted by northstar* View Post

I don't think there is an easy replacement within the 15L budget. I have extended it upto 25L for accommodating various options and the only worthy replacements I felt are XUV 700 and Safari. But XUV's waiting is more than a year and I might end up with Safari powered by 2.0 MJD !
You can check Jeep Compass and Tata Harrier too. Both are having same Fiat sourced 2L engine and are pretty competent in your 25lac budget.

Last edited by Sheel : 11th February 2022 at 16:38. Reason: Please edit or multi quote (QUOTE +) your replies instead of back to back posts on the same thread. Thanks.
HTC is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th February 2022, 16:50   #9387

I would recommend getting this clarified if you have the time and patience. The "external labor" part smells a rat to me. If you don't get a satisfying answer, escalate it to Maruti.

Last edited by rakesh_r : 11th February 2022 at 16:53.
rakesh_r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2022, 04:32   #9388

Originally Posted by CrossLife View Post
Similar thing happened to me and many of the fellow 1.6 owners. What I did is, ordered Ciaz 1.5D knob and replaced the pattern with fevi bond. Ciaz 1.5D knob is a direct fit. Pattern alone to be replaced since it's different.

Original 1.6 knob costs over 5k. Ciaz knob is just 520 rs

The one on the left is the original knob and one on the right is Ciaz knob with 1.6 pattern.

Similar issues with my 1.6 gear knob.
How did you replace it?
Unable to figure out how to take it off with the reverse gear mechanism in the 1.6.
Do you have a video or instructions that I can follow? Of course, taking it to Service Center is one way. But I want to try DIY.
Old 13th February 2022, 07:25   #9389

Originally Posted by rickygupta2 View Post
Oh yes, the gear had off late become very hard and I forgot to mention the same to the SM but he himself called and told me that gear oil needs replacement

the steering and gear feel great.
I also had hard gear shifts, and changed gear oil at 110k and it the gear shifts are noticeably different.

PS: What is multivavle / tank cleaning 500Rs? I have never heard of this job. What do they do?
Old 13th February 2022, 07:43   #9390

Originally Posted by abhijitrpatil View Post
One of which includes the steering column/rack of the S-Cross.

Check if you have mentioned and the SA has written steering vibration in any of the older job cards, that will help. It is always important that the SA writes down your complaints, so that you can go back and tell that you had requested this issue to be solved. Since your initial complaint was within warranty, they should honor if the issue has deteriorated outside warranty.

Also, reach out to nexa customer care directly, there are confirmed people who have gotten their steering rack replaced outside of 5 years mark. You should be able to get yours replaced too.