Team-BHP - Ford Figo : Official Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Ford Figo : Official Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/170048-ford-figo-official-review-40.html)

I looked up the instructions my self and solved the issue before they got to me with the solution over phone. Any ways i am assured that for any such issues a technician will be sent to me if required. Too early to comment but looks like they are serious about customer service.

Yet another disappointing month for the Figo and Aspire in terms of dealer dispatches while EcoSport has really picked up steam with almost 4.9k dispatches ! June'16 has indeed been promising for the Figo twins and now July'16 sales figures say the exact opposite :(

Find it ridiculous to believe that Ford is struggling to sell these two very competent cars to the masses in a big way !

Replaced the stock headlights with Philips Xtreme Vision Plus bulbs. There's a considerable improvement in low beam. Driving through oncoming traffic on two-way single roads with low beam is not that scary now :)
High beam is only marginally better though!
The light is a bit on the whiter side when compared with the stock bulbs.

Ford just slashed prices for the Figo twins Titanium and Titanium + variants.
Figo - Up to 50k
Aspire - Up to 90k
I think Aspire trend variant has also received a price cut of around 25k.

EDIT: I just googled it for a link and found that it is all over the net.
Here's one link
http://auto.ndtv.com/news/ford-revis...-90000-1442163

Seems like quite a lot of the 200 Crore brand transformation has gone into funding this reduction.

1.5L NA engine, 6-speed DCT, good feature list & reasonable dynamics; the Figo Automatic looks a thorough value at close to 8L OTR after price-cut (NCR). It is more than a city car and a nice looker too.

If any owner can share his experience with and views on the product.

Originally Posted by rsm97 (Post 4033180)
1.5L NA engine, 6-speed DCT, good feature list & reasonable dynamics; the Figo Automatic looks a thorough value at close to 8L OTR after price-cut (NCR). It is more than a city car and a nice looker too.

If any owner can share his experience with and views on the product.

I just purchased the DCT. Been 3 days so far. Will update about the experience in a few days.

Originally Posted by espraveen (Post 4031963)
Replaced the stock headlights with Philips Xtreme Vision Plus bulbs. There's a considerable improvement in low beam. Driving through oncoming traffic on two-way single roads with low beam is not that scary now :)
High beam is only marginally better though!
The light is a bit on the whiter side when compared with the stock bulbs.

I have done the same and can echo your review. There is a definite cutoff on low beam and give confidence. High beam is good but needs focus more. Overall gave me the confidence to drive nights again

Originally Posted by Catalyst_delhi (Post 4034904)
... High beam is good but needs focus more...

That's true. High beam is a bit scattered. Overall, it's manageable!

Ford Figo : Official Review-figo-back.jpg

Did my first highway trip on my 1.5 D Figo Tatanium.
Trip detail: Surat -> Nashik - > Bhandardara Dam (Hilly terrain) -> Mumbai-> Surat
Clocked approximately 800 kms during the 3 day trip with 4 people on board.

Here are my observations:

On performance & handling:
Car is a pleasure to drive on the highway, overtaking is super easy and safer given the acceleration available on demand. Though opinions may vary, I highly appreciate the new EPS, gives good feedback and "connects" well. Did some speedy cornering on Nasik-Mumbai highway and felt confident all along. Braking is confidence inspiring and predictable even at high speeds (I am on stock R14/175 MRF rubber). Overall it feels stable and safe.

On Mileage:
Out of the 800 odd kms clocked, about 200 kms were bad roads with constant potholes which restricted me to 1st, 2nd & 3rd gears mostly. Overall returned a mileage of 21.9 Km/ltr. I think, under highways conditions it should be easily doing ~24km/ltr.

On comfort / cabin noise:
We were 4 on board, me, wife and parents. All of us felt comfortable throughout the trip. Car handled bad roads well. I clocked around 500 kms in one day (Nashik -> Bhandardhara-> Mumbai -> Surat) without any sign of fatigue. Cabin is well insulated from Tyre / engine noise as well as rain. The ford dock makes a low clicking noise in closed condition even on slightly un-levelled roads when a phone is not docked onto it. Slight door rattle is also audible on rough patches. On highways however its quiet with only engine making its presence felt under acceleration till it settles into the speed demanded.

On features:
Wiper spray has a perfect throw and is timed well such that the moment the water wets the windshield it's wiped. There is no noticeable blind zone here which is excellent. It manages to wipe the windshield absolutely clean. 5 step speed control is available for the intermittent position which helps a lot practically. Rear wiper spray at the same time is pathetic, more like a water tap. I feel it wastes the wiper fluid unnecessarily. One issue faced here is that I had to top up the wiper fluid inconsistently, sometimes after 1 ltr consumption, sometimes after 2 ltr. May be because of some air lock problems? Need to get this checked. . Headlamps are a big put off. They are powerful but lack focus and fail to provide the desired illumination. I need to do something about this.

On the "Malfunction indicator Lamp" and ford road side assistance
I was on my way to Sula vineyards from Nasik around 10 am on Sunday morning where I parked along the way to take some clicks. Soon after starting the car "malfunction indicator lamp” popped up with engine running. Called up ford road side assistance who gave me the contact of Nashik ford manager. It was a Sunday (14th of Aug) and next day being a holiday, I was a bit worried as I had a 500 Kms journey next day. As per ford manual and their app, this indicator if shown, the car can be driven but needs to be checked by an ASS at the earliest. I knew this was not as serious as the engine oil pressure / brake fluid or the temperature warning. Ford care also instructed the same. Nahsik ford manager however was very proactive and insisted on sending a low bed truck to take the car from the vineyards to the showroom which was like 15 kms away. I did not agree as it would mean me going with the car and ruining the holiday for everyone. I fixed up an appointment at 5pm instead at the showroom and they obliged when I assured that I would drive the car slowly till I get there. After I was done with the vineyard visit, I got to the parking at around 2.30 pm to discover that the malfunction light was no longer popping up. Still to be safer, I got it checked as per the appointment. Their service engineer inspected the engine physically and ran a diagnostic mode from some "shortcut commands" through dashboard controls & told me that it could be due to "E learn" feature not being updated. He did not connect it to the diagnostic computer as it was a holiday for them and after the warning disappeared, I had informed them & hadn’t pushed much. He told me there is no harm to the car even if it pops up again and I could drive care free for the next 500 kms. I would rate ford 8/10 here on the service. For a Sunday sandwiched between holidays, it was an assuring response overall.

On driving without number plates:
I had got an SMS from Surat RTO and had fixed up an appointment for 16th August for number plate fitment. Earlier slots weren’t available. This meant the car carried no “titles”. There was no temp registration sticker either as Surat Ford informed that the same was no longer required. (I am not sure about this though). I had an insurance cover letter, sale letter, HSRP appointment slip and an image of the TC registration receipt on my phone. I was not stopped anywhere and the lack of number plates did not attract any special attention.

I have clocked 1850 Kms since my purchase on 1st of Aug. Will update more in the detailed ownership review currently in assembly line as i discover more about the car.

I recently test drove the Figo 1.5 Diesel. The engine is the biggest plus point of this car. I have 1.3 MJD Punto, but this 1.5 unit in figo is worth every penny. Apart from GT TDI i dont think any other engine can provide this level of drive ability and fun.

Now coming to the things that just broke my heart. The quality of plastics on doors seem to be too light. What i observed was depressing. The door plastic flexed while operating the power windows. Am i the only one or others have also observed this. I have driven earlier gen figo and that solid feel is gone. All in all i think engine is the only/major puller towards this car. Looking at power specs i was seriously contemplating it as next hot hatch in house.

Sometimes its sad to see all the manufacturers are jumping into this race for arai mileage by sacrificing on some hygiene factors.

This is a humble request from a prospect to all my brothers and sisters in Ford management (including Mr. Nigel Harris). Kindly don't raise it to team-bhp to raise an infraction, if you are reading this post.:

Ford, if your are serious about your business, please add some genuine and customer friendly dealers in Chennai - or at least you can open a direct outlet like Hyundai (HMP). Even though your cars are good, I don't want to buy any of your cars, because my experience with your dealers are so pathetic (like 10000s of other customers, who don't have a team-bhp account or don't know where to raise it) and the horror stories of service experience in Chennai.

Few days back I been to MPL Ford showroom in Pallikkaranai, Chennai for an enquiry on Figo. First upon I was so upset with the attitude of employees. Even the receptionist got an attitude - "Why you are here?"

Even though a SA attended me in 5 minutes, to my surprise
- he never even invited to show any of the features of the car
- don't even offered a test drive. At last I had to insist them to give me a test drive. For that too initially he told me there is no fuel. When I started changing my tone, he took the permission from someone and offered a test drive - that too for 2 kms. They are doing me a big favor.

Regarding the car review, I don't have anything new to tell, than the posts in the thread - Petrol is too dull and diesel is very good to drive.

Even though Ford was advertising in news papers on some special price schemes for Figo for last three weeks, I was so surprised that the list prices are much higher than in news paper. The prices are 50K more than advertised. When I asked they are are telling its Ex show room Delhi price. Also they are telling there is a waiting period of 45 days!

I really want to meet the morons in the Ford marketing department - to be so intelligent to give Delhi prices in Chennai news paper advertisements. Do you think all the customers are so dump? Now I don't believe any ford advertisements. Its not just advertisements alone, the marketing team has to ensure that the prices are followed in the customer outlets.

Ford - you have to change a lot. Your product may be better than many best selling products in this country, but from this experience, I made up my mind to stay away from any Ford products, even if its given free of cost.

Was just reading and appreciating the posts of frankmehta on his brio's engine swap, borla exhaust and that amazing burbling exhaust note. Coming back to the figo, I was imagining how would the current car (petrol) transform after minor mods like bigger and fatter tyres, free flow performance exhaust (just like borla or automech) and performance air intakes. I haven't driven the new figo petrol but as per the reviews its not a firecracker of an engine. Would it transform the car? The recent price cuts and already great looks and predictable handling have made it a mouth watering proposition.

Originally Posted by saurabh041086 (Post 4038168)
.. Now coming to the things that just broke my heart. The quality of plastics on doors seem to be too light. What i observed was depressing. The door plastic flexed while operating the power windows. Am i the only one or others have also observed this. I have driven earlier gen figo and that solid feel is gone. All in all i think engine is the only/major puller towards this car. Looking at power specs i was seriously contemplating it as next hot hatch in house...

The door plastic flexing is there in my Figo TDCi as well (and many others have reported the same). But it used to bother me only in the initial period (I've completed almost 10 months and more than 29000KM of happy ownership so far!). It doesn't worry me anymore. The car feels solid enough for its segment (the whole package I mean, it has ABS +dual airbags for an ORP of about 8.1L for the Titanium variant in my state which I feel is very VFM, made even more attractive by the excellent 1.5D engine under the hood :)).

The only other cars I had considered seriously while making my decision back then were Swift ZDI and i20 Elite CRDi. At that time, both were costlier (Swift ~ 8.6L and i20 ~9.3L). Looking back now, I think I made the right decision because the Figo TDCi still brings that contented grin on my face whenever I am at its wheel :D

My only concern is that I stay about 70KM away from the dealer (that's a blessing in disguise though, an opportunity for a weekend drive in the name of car servicing!)

And the car has become even more VFM now with the recent price cuts!!!

Originally Posted by Blow Horn Ok (Post 4038784)
..., I was imagining how would the current car (petrol) transform after minor mods like bigger and fatter tyres, free flow performance exhaust (just like borla or automech) and performance air intakes. I haven't driven the new figo petrol but as per the reviews its not a firecracker of an engine. Would it transform the car?...

Nop!! A performance exhaust can improve the overall performance but may not make drastic difference to the overall performance. From the reviews, I doubt such minor mods can put a smile on the driver's face (petrol version). Adding fatter tyres would again slow down the performance & may not help.

If you are keen on petrol, Baleno may be a better bet or Polo TSi. Abarth could be the ultimate solution.:)

+1 to the tsi and abarth. I would be in the market for a new car in 4-5 months and as usual the brain always searches for a budget friendly pocket rocket. The next car would be in addition to the 51k kms old figo tdci (the car which introduced me to handling and steering feedback).

Exactly the same dilemma was with my friend in faridabad. I coasted him to the new figo diesel trend from the petrol baleno (mid model) a year back. His running was quite high and the tdci scored high in terms of running costs. Both cars costed almost same in ncr that time. May be I will again hop in the same boat and buy a tdci (aspire or figo) or opt for a different brand. Heart says to stay with ford. Mind says to explore (read baleno)! Or hop into the compact SUV brigade? Ecosport vs brezza. I am lost.