Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #1

Ford Figo : Official Review

The 2015 Ford Figo has been launched in India at a price of between Rs. 4.30 - 7.41 lakhs (ex-Delhi).

What you'll like:

• Aston Martin-esque face looks very stylish!
Value for money positioning. Priced lower than the Swift
• Powerful & efficient 1.5L diesel engine. Good driveability too
• Compliant ride quality. Suspension is tuned for comfort
• Airbags across the range. Titanium (O) & Titanium+ variants get 6 airbags!
• Well-packaged cabin offers good legroom, lots of features and a chilling air-con
• Dual-clutch Automatic with a bigger 1.5L petrol, ESP, traction control & hill start assist

What you won't:

• Commuter 1.2L petrol is unimpressive. A mediocre engine
• Ordinary handling and lighter build quality are a departure from the usual Ford characteristics
• Cabin width makes the Figo suited to 4 adults, not 5
• 14" rims look too puny. Tyres could be wider, especially for the fast diesel
• Rear headroom is limited. Headliner brushes the heads of taller passengers
• Automatic unavailable in the fully-loaded trim
• At highway speeds, downshifts aren't as immediate as you'd expect from a dual-clutch automatic

The Figo Sports Edition:

Link to Review

The Freestyle:

Link to Review

The 2019 Facelift:

Link to Review

Last edited by Aditya : 23rd April 2020 at 14:39. Reason: Link to Freestyle
Rehaan is offline   (64) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #2

Exterior

The previous Figo was one of Ford's best-sellers, and it became the turnaround car for Ford in India. It's evident that the new Figo has big shoes to fill, especially given how the competition has changed since then. There have been a plethora of new launches in the hatchback segment, and the game has moved forward.

When the first Figo was launched, it already looked dated, and was powered by engines that made the least power in the segment. On the other hand, the 2015 Figo brings handsome looks (especially the front end design) and the most powerful diesel in the segment. If you think about it, the cars share the name, but most things are diametrically opposite:

Old Figo: Dated looks, great handling, connected hydraulic steering, heavy feel, limited features, underpowered engine.
New Figo: Eye-catching looks, ordinary handling, average electric steering, lighter build, loaded with features, cracker of a diesel engine!

There's no doubt that the new Figo has more mass-market appeal, however, Ford fans please note; it's unlikely to tickle you the same way as the old Figo did.

The new Figo comes in just a few months after the launch of its booted sibling, the Aspire. Both cars are very similar, and face tough competition from the Marutis and Hyundais in their respective segments. What USP does Ford offer? Well, for starters, there's a dual-clutch automatic available, 6 airbags, voice commands & cellphone integration with the SYNC system, along with a powerful 1.5L diesel engine. Ford has a lot riding on this duo, and they haven't taken any risks with pricing either. The Figo's price is extremely competitive (as was the Aspire's).

Ford Figo : Official Review-2015fordfigoprices.png

The Figo is 3,886 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,525 mm tall. Its 2,491 mm wheelbase is outdone only by the Punto. Of course, the Jazz and Elite i20 do extend past the Figo's wheelbase, but they don't have a sub-4 meter sibling whose requirements they need to cater to.

Up front, the hexagonal front grille gets a slim chrome lining with four horizontal chrome slats. The bonnet features muscular definition lines on either side, along with a power bulge in the middle. Sweptback headlamps join the party to add some aggression to the Figo's face, as opposed to the more docile styling we've seen on the other offerings in the segment. While the aggressive fascia gives the car a unique appeal, the side profile is milder and doesn't have any particular features that jump out at you. Move to the back and we see a fairly tight and clean rear design. Unlike the Aspire, the Figo's rear is naturally well proportioned, as a result, the rear bumper is entirely body coloured, without the need for a black lower inset to balance it out.

Paint quality is top-notch and even the panel gaps are consistent & narrow. The build of the Figo tells you that this is a slight breakaway from the traditional idea of a Ford. The doors are thin and feel rather light, as do the door handles. Even the janta associates Ford with the rock solid build of the Fiesta, old Figo & Escort, which isn't the case here. While I'm certainly not implying that the build quality is cheap, it is thinner sheet metal than what Ford has previously used - no two sides to that.

The safety kit on the Figo is generous. With a driver's airbag coming as standard across the range, and dual-airbags on every variant above the base model, Ford has done a great job of prioritizing safety! Don't forget to factor the airbags in when comparing costs. The Titanium+ variant gets 6 airbags - a first in the segment (even some INR 30 lakh+ luxury vehicles don't offer this). ABS with EBD, on the other hand, only make their appearance on the higher-spec variants. The automatic variant (available exclusively in the Titanium trim) gets ESP, traction control and hill launch assist.

Ford Figo : Official Review-2015fordfigofeatures.png

The Figo is a handsome car to look at and has a very expressive face. The design has that Aston Martin-esque vibe, and might be indistinguishable from the 2014 Fiesta facelift to the layman:

Quite a smart looking rear-end. Unlike some Fords, you get reverse + fog lights on both sides:

At 2,491 mm, the Figo has a fairly lengthy wheelbase for its class. Blackened B-pillars look good:

The sweptback headlamps do a good job of adding some aggression to the face:

Viewed from this angle, the Figo looks really nice. But those 14" rims seem so small, no?

Smart looking headlamps, without an overuse of 'bling' elements (by today's standards):

Chrome lining around the grill is subtle & classy. The chrome slats on the Figo extend all the way to the edges of the grill. Interestingly, on the Aspire, they end prematurely (compare). Thanks to DBHPian deetjohn for pointing this out:

Foglamps protrude outside. Beefy black plastic surround makes them look like large torches:

Black flexi-flap is a speed lip to deflect air away from the underbody and reduce aerodynamic drag. It can also deflect small stones and debris:

Bonnet is flared at the edges and gets a power bulge in the middle - a muscular touch. Windshield washers stick out like sore thumbs:

Chrome insert on the front fender is a classy touch. It blends into the contoured waistline nicely:

Wing mirrors get integrated turn signals that look rather bulbous:

Only the driver's door handle gets a keyhole:

All wheel wells get hard plastic cladding. Tyre noise is well controlled at legal speeds:

175/65 section tyres wrap around 14" wheels on all variants. Only the Titanium and Titanium+ get alloy wheels. 14 inchers look very small on the car - at least the higher variants should have had 15" rims. The Titanium variant had MRF ZV2K tyres:

Remember how the bonnet is beefed up in the middle? The same line continues to the roof and gets ribbed inward. Rear antenna placement might have looked better:

The Figo's tail lights look extremely similar to the Aspire's (pic), though they are actually different designs:

Unlike the Aspire, which was squeezed into its sub-4 meter size, the Figo has enough of a lip on the rear bumper to protect the metal boot lid from getting damaged during smaller hits:

The hatch gets a spoiler with a high mounted stop light in the center:

The HMSL also houses the twin-nozzle washer spray for the rear wiper:

Rear wiper has a sleek cladding. Doesn't have the widest sweep though:

While the Figo does get a cut-out handle for lifting the boot-lid (unlike the Aspire), you'll still need to fire the boot release from inside the car, or by using the key:

The Figo gives buyers plenty of choice with 6 different variants to choose from:

Notice the cut-out at the bottom of the bumper. You can remove this piece so that the bumper doesn't get damaged when the tow-hook is in use:

Ground clearance of 174 mm is sufficient:

Alongside the Swift for a size comparison. The Figo is just 36 mm longer, but has a 61 mm longer wheelbase:

Paint quality is excellent. You need to look extremely carefully to catch any hint of the orange-peel like texture:

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:42.
Rehaan is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #3

Interior - Front

Up front, the ingress / egress is convenient. You don’t have to hunch your back to get in, since the roofline is fairly tall near the B-pillar. The doors operate in three stages and can be opened up to a very wide angle. Finding the right seating position takes a little bit of adjusting, but once you're there, everything falls into reach perfectly.

The EcoSport proved to be a big winner for Ford. The Figo's interiors have taken inspiration from the same design and the dashboard layout in particular is very familiar. The steering wheel, infotainment system buttons and dashboard contours bring a sense of consistency across Ford's model range.

The Figo gets black interiors with matte silver accents and a few touches of chrome. Thankfully, Ford has given up on the optional red dash-top colour that was available on the old Figo. The cabin width and wide glass area make the interior an airy place to be in, though interestingly, the lighter dual-tone interiors of the Aspire might trick you into thinking it is larger (despite being identical in size). Fit & finish quality on the inside is good, and nothing feels flimsy or cheap. The hard plastics are smooth to touch and don't flex, though if you knock on them, they do sound hollow. There are some very minor panel inconsistencies / gaps if you go looking for them, but the average observer wont be faced with anything unsightly. This is after all a 4-lakh hatchback, and keeping that in mind, the interiors are a good place to be in.

The airy cabin is backed up by a good amount of interior space. I had to pull the seat almost all the way forward to get into my ideal driving position (I'm 5'8" tall). Shorter drivers might have trouble reaching the pedals, since the seat doesn't move very far forward. Those with longer legs will be happy to know that the dashboard curves in at a sharp angle on both sides of the center console, opening up knee room for the driver as well as the front passenger. The gap between the front seats is sufficient as well and my hand never brushed against the front passenger's. An armrest would have been a much appreciated feature here, especially on the 1.5L petrol AT variant.

The fabric upholstered seats are fairly sculpted with adequate lateral support on the seatback and the base as well. This makes them feel like they are on the narrower side for anyone with a medium or large build. People with a lean build like mine will find them just fine. I really wish there was more lumbar support though. The seat base is more or less flat, yet, under thigh support is adequate. Using the seat height-adjuster will not only lower the seat, but will also angle the rear end of the seat base downward. Translated, the lower you set it, the more "tucked in" your posture will be. The adjustable headrests are super soft and you'll like them.

All of the controls are well laid out and owners will find the spread easy to use. The entertainment system buttons are aplenty, yet they are big & properly organised. The climate control buttons are rather small, but the system is easy to use. It has a few neat features - specifically, the "Max A/C" button (my favourite feature found on BMWs). This button lets you boost the A/C and blower to their absolute maximum with the simple press of a button, and then go back to your preferred default settings with another press. You no longer have to suffer the manual task of rotating blower & temperature dials back and forth each time you get in a baking hot car. Another little trick is that you can press any button on the climate control panel or rotate either dial to reactivate the A/C if it is off. This is great for the driver, as he doesn't have to take his eyes off the road to do this. The infotainment controls are cased in a matte silver finish and Ford has tastefully added a mild dose of bling with a thin chrome strip above the air-con controls (chrome rings around the vents too!). As is the case with the exterior design of the car, everything is tasteful and no aspect has been overdone.

The steering is nice to grip, though I wish there was a little less chunkiness around the thumb-rest area (at the 9 & 3 positions), so I could wrap my thumbs completely around the wheel. The horn pad, despite being relegated to the center of the steering has ridges on the left and right edges, making it easy to activate even for the short-thumbed among us. The mounted telephony and stereo controls have a damped mouse-click like button action. The icing on the cake is the fact that the indicator stalk is now on the right side of the steering. I'm sure some good people at Ford fought hard to make this happen for the Indian Figo! While 83% of BHPians prefer this layout (source), I can imagine the small amount of opposition coming from existing Ford owners .

While the EcoSport and Fiesta get some truly edgy styling for the instrument cluster, the Figo uses a more modest, yet informative layout. The fuel gauge and tachometer occupy the same real estate, and the MID gives you a sufficient amount of information including the real-time and average fuel economy, distance to empty, average speed, outside temperature, a single trip meter and the odometer. You also get an 'economy indicator', which is nothing more than a gear upshift indicator. The shift indicator encourages economical driving by dynamically sensing your current driving style, and appropriately suggesting an upshift via a green 'up' arrow next to the tachometer. One brickbat would be the tachometer size. It is awfully small and the gap between the engine speed markings is negligible, making it hard to decipher exact readings on the go.

The windshield permits a great view of the road ahead, and the A-pillar isn't too obtrusive when you're entering a junction or corner. Rearward visibility on the other hand isn't stellar, since the ORVMs are too narrow, and the IRVM is small too. This leads to blind spots, but thankfully the parcel tray is placed low and doesn't intrude on the rearward view, though there is a small bulge for the rear wiper housing.

Ford offers the MyKey feature which can be used for functions like limiting the top speed, emitting a warning at a chosen speed and limiting the maximum volume of the speakers (more information). This can be useful if your car is going to be driven by a teenager or chauffeur. It will be of tremendous utility to fleet owners too.

The Figo gets a 4-speaker sound system and a 4.2'' multi-function display on the Titanium+ variant. No, it's not a touchscreen. The system supports AUX, USB, MP3, CD and Bluetooth audio streaming. You get the 'SYNC with AppLink' system that accepts voice commands as well. The sound-stage is well laid out, especially for vocal tracks (treble & mids), since the speakers are placed rather high up on the door pads. Sound quality is a decent 8/10 at moderate volume levels, though if you crank it up a bit, the bass starts to crack past the 2/3rd volume level. The display also shows information like the door ajar warnings and changes to the climate control settings.

The lower (Trend and Titanium) variants get a phone dock + cubbyhole in place of the larger infotainment screen. It's an extremely nifty addition by Ford, and can be used to prop up your cellphone as an entertainment or navigation device. The USB & AUX ports are placed at the rear of the cubbyhole, making it convenient to integrate your device with the car's speakers or keep it plugged in to the USB port. The lid of the phone dock ratchets downwards to get a firm grip and holds your phone between two rubber mounts, so there's no rattling. The positioning is perfect to refer to Google Maps on your phone, and the lid protects your device from the harsh sun above.

The climate control seems to be very well suited to our tropical climate and is an impressively powerful unit. We were driving in temperatures of over 32 degrees in Delhi and the air-con still ensured that every passenger got a good share of the air flow. Even when I sat in the back seat, I could feel the air-con blowing air towards me. The Figo doesn't get rear A/C vents, but I can confidently say that their absence won't be felt.

There's a fair number of storage pockets in the front row. Both doors get map pockets as well as two bottle holders (each). A 1.5L bottle + a 1L bottle can be stored in each door, along with a small umbrella. You get another bottle holder behind the hand brake, along with two cup-holders and a little storage space to place a few knick-knacks between the front seats. There's a little shelf below the air-con controls to rest your phone / keys on. You also get a 'secret' cubby hole on the side of the dashboard. This cubby hole can only be accessed by opening the driver's door. The glovebox lid is too thick and thus, the loading area is narrow. Furthermore, the tapered insides result in a very limited amount of storage space.

Steering wheel is identical to the one in the EcoSport. Grip is hard & grainy. Note the ridges on the sides of the horn pad:

Steering-mounted controls have been lifted from the EcoSport as well. Telephony controls are finished in black and white (EcoSport gets red and green markings). The right side of the steering doesn't get any controls:

Simple instrument cluster is a lot more basic than the sportier setups we've seen on the Figo's expensive siblings. Tachometer should have been a size or two bigger. Fuel gauge is huge. No temperature gauge, but there is a warning light if the engine overheats:

MID displays the trip meter, economy shift indicator toggle, outside temperature, real-time fuel economy, distance-to-empty, average speed and average fuel economy:

'Econo' on/off on the MID corresponds to the green gear upshift indicator shown (only upshift, no downshift suggestions). Size & colour make it prominent:

Control stalks have finally switched over to the RHD configuration in a Ford! Pull to flash, pull harder to toggle between high & low beam. Button at the end of the stalk cycles through the MID display:

Left stalk controls the wipers (with a roller for the intermittent speed). Push the tip of the left stalk inward for the front washer. The rear wiper can be a bit confusing; pull the stalk to its forward position to turn it on, keep it pulled to spray, and push back to deactivate:

Classy control knob for the headlamps. Foglamp controls, boot release and headlamp leveler are all here. Superb integration & design:

ORVMs are tall enough, but they desperately need to be made wider:

Wing mirrors are power adjustable and foldable too. It's a bit counter-intuitive, but the joystick must be pushed downwards (away from the icon) to toggle the ORVMs folding / unfolding. Nope, unfortunately they don't auto-fold / unfold as you lock / unlock the car:

The inner door handle gets a matte silver finish and doubles up as the door lock (push it in to lock):

Driver's window gets auto up / down functionality. The doorpads shift a noticeable amount when the windows hit the top or bottom of their travel...this feels cheap:

Thirsty? Door pockets can hold a 1.5L bottle in the front section + a 1L bottle in the other, with space towards the rear for a small umbrella (or more bottles)!

Cubby hole on the side of the dashboard can only be accessed when the door is open. Useful spot to park that microfiber cloth:

Seats offer good support for average sized occupants. Some more lumbar support would be welcome. Those with a large build will find them to be narrow due to the lateral padding:

Backrest adjuster has been stylishly integrated and kind of dives into the seat height-adjuster. The height adjustment range is impressive:

No dead pedal. Those with big feet will find the footwell to be cramped:

The Titanium+ variant gets a SYNC enabled infotainment system with a 4.2" screen (more on this in the next post):

Climate control console is super easy to use and the A/C is impressively powerful. The buttons are on the smaller side though. Chrome dials with a knurled finish (for the temperature & blower speed) look premium:

A little storage tray under the air-con controls has a thick textured rubber base and feels very premium. 12V power socket, AUX IN and USB port sit ahead of the gear lever. The USB port feels flimsy:

Chunky gear lever feels nice to hold and gets a gloss black top with a dash of chrome lining:

Plenty of storage between the front occupants. The rear bottle holder can hold a 1L bottle, while the smaller ones are for your coffee cups. There's additional space for your keys, loose change etc.:

Glovebox lid is ridiculously thick. Storage space is tight:

Voice command mic is housed here. Cabin lamp console should have been placed in the center (not at the front), as there is no light for rear passengers. Light has a theatre-dimming effect:

Driver & passenger get a vanity mirror with a lid. The driver's sunvisor also has a ticket holder strap:

Small IRVM is 'cut-to-cut'. Should have been a size bigger:

Rear window is rather small, and the C-pillars are fairly thick (though the camera's wide angle lens has exaggerated things here):

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:43.
Rehaan is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #4

Infotainment

The Infotainment System

The center console layout will look familiar to Aspire, Fiesta & EcoSport owners. The ICE is operated via the main toggle in the middle (marked ‘OK’):

The four options at the bottom (Station, Manual, Text and Mute) are operated via the four unmarked buttons placed at the bottom of the head-unit (check picture above). I wish they were in a more logical place...right below the screen:

That aside, the interface is very straight-forward and usable:

Bluetooth audio screen tells you what track is being played. No song time or progress bar though:

Hit the AUX button on the head-unit to shuffle through AUX, Bluetooth and USB:

Equalizer comes with preset options. Sound quality will keep most people happy:

SYNC function helps integrate your smartphone with the car. Connecting your Bluetooth device is a breeze and can be done on the move as well:

The interface offers multiple options to make phone calls. Numbers can be dialled through the voice command system too. The voice command system understands Indian accents very easily. We went through multiple functions and there wasn't a single repeat attempt:

Emergency assistance onboard. Like the EcoSport, in an accident, the system will use the paired phone to call the police and provide your GPS location:

Apps such as CricInfo, MapMyIndia & Glympse can be used through the system:

Wide variety of language options, but no Hindi:

Any adjustments to the air-con will be reflected on the ICE display. Operate the air-con or ICE and you find that the screen has noticeable lag:

Door ajar warning tells you exactly which door is open. Warning dialogue boxes come with a progress bar at the bottom, telling you how long the message will be displayed:

When the system is turned off, the screen displays the time & date:

Ford MyKey

Ford's MyKey system makes its way into the Figo too. The system acts as a ''nanny'' for certain functions of the car:

Owners can set a speed limit, speed warning and enforce a cap on the maximum audio volume:

Speed limits are preset. The car will not accelerate past the set speed. Perhaps, 80 km/h should have been the starting point:

The system displays a dialogue box confirming any adjustment to the settings:

Owners can also set an audible speed warning that will go off when a set speed is crossed:

The speaker volume can be restricted. The preset maximum volume is just below 50% (14 of 32 levels). A cool feature is that, whenever a MyKey is in use, the audio system wont function unless the driver has buckled up :

Once the settings have been customised, you have to keep the ‘OK’ button (on the head-unit) pressed to set the MyKey:

MyKey will be active from when the car is started up next. Give your chauffeur / excitable teenager the MyKey and they shouldn't be able to change any settings. This feature could be of tremendous utility to fleet owners too:

Via the menu, you can see your current MyKey setup. Note that either key can be set as the MyKey, this way the driver can still have the convenience of remote locking:

You can set or delete a MyKey when the Admin key is in the ignition. By default, the key that hasn't been set as the MyKey becomes the Admin key:

When you crank up the Figo, it gives you a visual notification if you're using an active MyKey, along with some of the restrictions imposed:

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:43.
Rehaan is offline   (38) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #5

Interior - Rear

The rear doors open at a reasonably wide angle, and I didn't find ingress and egress to be difficult. Space at the rear is excellent by hatchback standards. It's important to note that, while some other manufacturers fiddle with the rear seat positioning and recline angle to increase boot space in the hatchback versions of their sub-4 meter cars, Ford has left the rear seat untouched on the Figo. Two six footers can sit one behind the other without a problem. The front seatbacks are scooped out for added knee room and it shows. Legroom is excellent and there's plenty of space underneath the front seats to tuck your feet in too.

As is the case with most hatchbacks, three passengers on the rear seat will be a squeeze. The middle passenger won't be comfortable; the seat base is moderately raised in the middle and the floor hump is rather prominent. Rear headroom is the fly in the ointment here. In the Aspire, brushing my head against the headliner was something that irked me. In the Figo, the more prominent drop at the tail end of the headliner molding makes this even more noticeable!! If you're 5'8" or above, expect to have your hair or head rubbing against the roof. All it takes is a decent posture and the faintest backward tilt of your head.

The rear seat itself is comfortable and supportive. The seat cushion is just right (not too soft nor too hard). Thigh support is acceptable but on the other end, the fixed neck-rests are more for show than usability. Perhaps if you are 5'6" tall they might work as intended, but for anyone taller, they are just a soft prod in the upper back. Nonetheless, combined with the angled backrest and seat base, you get a relaxed seating position. The seat base is positioned relatively high too, so passengers with an average height will have their thighs horizontal, rather than the knees-to-chest position commonly associated with a low rear bench. On the door, you'll appreciate the fabric cushion next to the armrest. Despite the predominantly black and grey interior, the ambience is still bright and airy, thanks to the significant glass area.

The Ambient, Trend and Titanium variants have fixed grab handles with coat hooks, but the Titanium+ (with curtain airbags) doesn't get any. For storage, rear passengers can use the bottle holder (near the floor hump) or the seatback pockets. Unfortunately, there are no door pockets at the back. Rear passengers don't get dedicated A/C vents either.

At 257 liters, the Figo's boot is above the segment average. There's a fair deal of usable space, though you'd be better off with multiple small bags, since the reclined seatback does eat into the space higher up (this could be an issue with bigger suitcases). For extra storage space, you can always fold the rear seat down (though there's no 60:40 split). Do note that the loading lip is quite high too.

Doorpad doesn't get any storage pockets. Speaker sits low. This is the maximum the rear window rolls down to:

The rubber beading is on the body, instead of the doors. The door frame gets all-round beading, plus additional beading at the top:

Driver's seat is set at my 5'8" driving position, while the passenger's seat is all the way forward. Two six footers can manage to sit one behind the other:

As you might expect, there's no armrest at the rear. Backrest is set at a relaxed angle and offers good support. Still not a seat for 3 adults though:

Tall floor hump is intrusive. Notice how the seat-rails are bolted onto raised pedestals, freeing up foot space below the seats:

Front seatbacks are scooped to release knee room. Seatback pockets on both sides:

The neck-rests are soft, but when I was seated, they were positioned closer to my upper back than my neck. They are likely to be comfortable only for short people:

Check out how the roof liner drops right above the neck-rest. This part kept touching my head if I sat the slightest bit upright:

Fixed grab handles with the rear pair getting integrated coat hooks. The Titanium+ doesn't have grab handles (since it has curtain airbags):

The rear parcel tray isn't big, although there's more than enough space for 2 tissue boxes and an umbrella etc. It has a nice 1/2 inch indent to prevent stuff from sliding off:

Some budget hatchbacks skip this - to enable easier access to the boot, the suspenders raise the parcel tray when the boot lid is opened. They are slightly elastic:

Cost saving via design = the pivot for the hinge is molded as part of the parcel tray, rather than having to be an additional plastic piece. You can see the channel it slides into in the background:

At 257 liters, boot is big enough for 3 medium strolley bags. Reclined seatback eats into some space at the top. Loading lip is rather high:

The rear seat folds forward; however, it isn't anywhere near horizontal, like Ford's 'full flat' brochure line might lead you to believe:

Easy-to-use buttons unlock the seatback so it can be flipped forward. When the seat is locked in place, the top of the button sits flush with the surround:

Seatbelts can be clipped towards the sides, so that the seatback can be flipped forward without getting entangled:

The right side of the boot gets a lamp, while both sides get a useful bag hook. The flap was to access the fuel cut-off reset switch. However, since the Figo is equipped with airbags, the airbag control module handles the fuel cut-off as well. As a result, the standalone fuel cut-off and its reset switch are no longer present:

The spare tyre is placed towards the left to make place for the exhaust routing below:

No alloy wheel spare. The full-sized steel wheel needs to be freed by unscrewing this plastic clamp:

The jack & tow screw are locked in place underneath:

Last edited by GTO : 9th November 2015 at 09:56.
Rehaan is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #6

Titanium Variant

The Titanium Variant (a level below the top-end Titanium+)

The Titanium variant gets a different head-unit with a 2-line display, and misses the CD player. Sound quality doesn't quite match the higher variant's, although the average listener will still think it's okay:

It doesn't get SYNC with voice control:

The 4.2'' screen is replaced with a covered compartment that also becomes a smart li'l phone dock. The dock has a smooth opening action and ratchets downwards to grip the phone. Feels premium:

AUX and USB ports are inside the dock, so you don't have wires dangling about. Smart placement, but it's a bit of a squeeze to put your hand in there. Strangely, my OnePlus One wasn't being charged when plugged into this USB port! Same for a Nexus 5:

The dock holds your smartphone in place. The maximum size it can take is the 5.5" OnePlus One, as shown here. The positioning is perfect to refer to Google Maps on the go, while the lid protects your device from the harsh sun above:

A look at the full waterfall console of the Titanium variant:

A small blank panel covers the spot where the USB and Aux ports would be located in the Titanium+:

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:44.
Rehaan is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #7

Engine - 1.5L Diesel

The Figo has three engine options to choose from:

• Petrol 1.2L Ti-VCT with a 5-speed manual gearbox (87 BHP @ 6,300 rpm and 112 Nm of torque @ 4,000 rpm)
• Diesel 1.5L TDCi with a 5-speed manual gearbox (99 BHP @ 3,750 rpm and 215 Nm of torque @ 1,750 - 3,000 rpm)
• Petrol 1.5L Ti-VCT with a 6-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox (110 BHP @ 6,300 rpm and 136 Nm of torque @ 4,250 rpm)

Why doesn't the Figo get the 1.0L EcoBoost?

Some might have hoped for Ford to use the 1.0L EcoBoost in the Figo. Here are a few probable reasons why it doesn't get the globally acclaimed motor:

• The engine would spike up the price, because it is a direct import. The inclusion of components like a turbocharger would make the engine more complex and expensive compared to the Ti-VCT.

• The EcoBoost is like a halo product in itself and Ford wants to maintain the 'premium' image of that engine. Obviously, with the Aspire not getting the EcoBoost, there was no chance the Figo would get it.

• Ford has always been averse to giving its economy cars powerful petrols. The old Figo never saw the 1.6L Duratec petrol either, despite it being a bolt-on swap.

• The 1.0L EcoBoost isn't as fuel-efficient as you'd expect and it suffers from turbo-lag too.

Driving the 1.2L Petrol

The 1.2L petrol Figo has an ARAI fuel efficiency rating of 18.16 km/l. While this engine wasn't available for us as part of the Figo test drive event, we have driven the Figo Aspire with the same engine. Read about the 1.2L petrol in the Aspire here.

Driving the 1.5L Diesel

Ford has plonked in the familiar 1.5L TDCi engine from the Fiesta / EcoSport into the Figo. The engine makes 9 BHP and 11 Nm more power & torque than the Fiesta and 10 Nm more torque than the updated EcoSport . The Figo diesel is head and shoulders above the competition in terms of power and torque figures. It's only bested by the much more expensive 1.5L VW Polo GT TDI. Unlike the old Figo, the new one gets an intercooler and deploys a fixed geometry turbo. The block and head are made of aluminium. Where the more contemporary diesels (Fiat-GM's 1.3L, etc.) have a 16 valve DOHC (double overhead camshaft) valvetrain, Ford's TDCi engine is an 8 valve SOHC (single overhead camshaft) unit. The Mahindra Verito Vibe and Nissan Micra also employ 8 valve SOHC diesels. While not as modern as the 16v DOHCs, these are honest, robust and proven old-school mechanicals.

You'll feel the cabin shake as you start the diesel, switch it off or even rev it at a standstill. The clatter is audible and the diesel does make its presence felt.

Spend 2 minutes with the Figo diesel and it's very obvious which the superior engine is. Simply put, the 1.5L diesel blows both the petrols away. There is absolutely no comparison! If you're buying a manual-transmission Figo and are confused about which engine to pick, don't even think twice. Just go for the diesel with your eyes shut.

Given its power & torque rating, the pleasing performance is no surprise. The diesel offers fantastic driveability in the city. There's healthy torque at low rpms; it's certainly not dead below 2,000 rpm as some other oil burners are. The Figo diesel possesses a tractable nature and this makes it very practical for the daily office <-> home commute. Throttle response in the city is satisfactory and you won't need to downshift too often. Turbo-lag is well controlled. Even when the turbocharger does kick in, power delivery is sufficiently linear.

While the 1.5L diesel will keep city slickers happy, the highway is where this engine truly shines. Slam the pedal down and the diesel Figo crosses 120 km/h with ease. You can be in any gear, and as long as you're past 1,700 rpm, putting your foot down will result in noticeable acceleration. 5th gear, 100 km/h, step on the a-pedal and you'll be gaining the necessary overtaking speed without a fuss. The engine is a lot more enthusiastic than the handling permits though (more on that later). The strong mid-range ensures that highway overtaking is quick & easy. Importantly, you won't be downshifting as often as in the Figo petrol on the open road. The TDCi revvs to ~5,000 rpm when needed, but that's really pushing it. Actual progress is slow after 4,000 rpm, prompting you to upshift earlier.

While the diesel is a quick performer, its cruising ability is equally impressive. 100 km/h comes up at 2,300 rpm in 5th gear, while 120 km/h comes up at 2,600 rpm. The ARAI rates the Figo diesel’s fuel economy at 25.83 km/l, which is identical to the marginally heavier Figo Aspire. During a pretty spirited blast down the Yamuna Expressway, I saw figures ranging from 18-22 km/l on the MID. As another real-world indicator, BHPians have been happy with the fuel economy they get from their diesel EcoSports & Fiestas. Things should be the same for the lighter Figo.

NVH levels are kept in check. Though the engine's note does filter into the cabin, it's not excessive at regular rpms. Vibrations are felt on the pedals though, and they are directly proportional to the engine rpm.

The 5-speed manual gearbox is nice to use, albeit it's not VW / Hyundai smooth. With a rapid / spirited driving style, it can take a little extra effort to slot into gear. The diesel's clutch pedal is on the heavier side, with a noticeable spring-back action. It isn't terribly cumbersome for regular driving, though it can get a bit taxing in stop and go traffic over long periods of time.

The Figo's diesel motor doesn't get an engine cover:

It does have under-bonnet cladding:

A closer look at the tiny turbo. Small turbo = great driveability. The large exit pipe goes towards the intercooler in the distance:

Here, you can see the vertically mounted intercooler (on the left):

The fuel cap is attached with a springy rubber leash, to prevent it from falling or getting lost:

The diesel is the only Figo that gets drivetrain-specific badging:

Ride, Handling, Steering & Braking

After driving the Figo, you'll wonder whether it was Ford who designed the suspension...or Maruti! The tuning is completely in line with mass market tastes. That's not at all a bad thing for the majority, but the small enthusiast population will be disappointed.

The comfort centric design of the cabin is reflected in the suspension. At low speeds, ride quality is nice & compliant for passengers in the front and rear rows alike. Potholes and rough patches are brushed off competently and the Figo's bad road ability is commendable. Pick up the pace and the Figo continues to behave like a comfy cruiser. Undulations won't be seeping into the cabin & owners will be pleased with the ride comfort. That said, the faster you go, the softer the suspension feels and undulating roads can result in a little wallowy behaviour at high speeds.

The handling package is also tuned to mass market tastes. The steering is light in the city, with the car behaving like any other modern hatchback does. Keep the corner speeds in check and the Figo will toe the intended line. Just don't expect a telepathic steering like you would from the older Figo or Fiesta! Overall, it's a decent and predictable handler. Mid-corner bumps however, can upset its composure. Expressway stability is par for the course. It's stable enough, but not as rock solid as European Fords have usually been - perhaps this feeling is also due to the slightly fidgety steering at higher speeds. Existing Ford owners may not approve of the new handling mannerisms, but you have to keep in mind that the car hasn't been built to please enthusiasts. It's a mass market car and drives like one. Don't compare it to older Fords & you won't complain.

The steering is extremely light to operate in the city; it's convenient while parking or maneuvering through heavy traffic. The masses will love how the EPS requires zero effort at low speeds. The turning radius is also short enough at 4.9 meters (note = Brio & Swift have a smaller 4.5 - 4.7 meter turning radius). Return-to-center action is a bit weak though. After a U-turn, you'll find yourself having to put in effort to straighten out the steering yourself. As the speedometer climbs, the EPS does start to weigh up nicely. However, out on the highway at 100 km/h & above, you'll need to correct the steering a few times to hold course. Again, the Figo drives more like a Maruti than a Ford. Whether that's a good or bad thing depends on your driving style and preferences.

The 174 mm of ground clearance seems adequate for our roads and is higher than most competitors in the segment.

The brakes offer good bite and their behaviour is predictable and very confidence inspiring. The pedal feel was very positive too.

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:44.
Rehaan is offline   (45) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #8

The Dual-Clutch Automatic

First, let's talk about dual-clutch gearboxes and why they offer superior response times. Conventional ATs, Automated manual (AMT) & manual gearboxes deploy a single clutch. A dual-clutch transmission (DCT) uses two; one clutch each - for the odd & even gear ratios. The advantage of having twin clutches in the real world is, your next gear is already pre-selected and just waiting to be engaged. This results in lightning quick upshifts; the response time is so fast that it's impossible to replicate in a manual. Torque delivery is almost uninterrupted, as the next gear is engaged at the same time that the current gear is released. Upshifts are nearly seamless in nature, thus making for a smoother drive. Note that unlike regular automatic gearboxes, a DCT does away with the torque converter.

Advantages of dual-clutch gearboxes:
  • Can shift gears quicker (<1/100th of a second)
  • Smooth, seamless upshifts
  • More fuel-efficient than conventional automatics. In many cases, the efficiency is greater than the manual variants
  • Minimal torque loss when shifting gears, resulting in quicker acceleration times
  • Can have 6+ gears. End result is more closely placed ratios (better usage of available engine power)

Disadvantages of dual-clutch gearboxes:
  • Very complex. Can be expensive to fix if things go wrong. VW Group DSGs have so far had reliability issues. There is one thread on issues with the Ford DCT too (link)
  • Cost more to manufacture and thus, to buy
  • Longer downshift time when dropping 2 (or more) ratios. Example : 5th -> 3rd
  • Not as much fun or lightweight as a manual transmission

Take a look at this video explanation of the DCT:

For more details on Ford's PowerShift dual-clutch transmission, do see this thread

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:39.
Rehaan is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:34   #9

Engine - 1.5L Petrol Automatic

Driving the 1.5L Petrol DCT

1.5L petrol has the horsepower, but is nowhere as exciting or revv-happy as the old Fiesta's 1.6L Duratec. A rare car where the gearbox is superior to the engine its mated with:

The Figo automatic uses a 6-speed dual-clutch transmission (DCT), mated to the same 1.5L petrol engine found in the EcoSport. In the Figo, it is tuned to produce 110 BHP @ 6,300 rpm and 136 Nm of torque @ 4,250 rpm. This is the most powerful petrol hatchback in a segment where smaller 1.2L Automatics are the norm.

Before I outline how the Figo automatic behaves on the road, let me explain the "S" mode. While "P" (Park), "N" (Neutral), "R" (Reverse) and "D" (Drive) are self-explanatory, in "S" (Sport) mode, you can choose when to upshift or downshift using the "+" & "-" buttons on the side of the gear lever. These manual commands only work in "S" mode. The only time the gearbox will automatically shift for you in "S" mode is when the engine is close to the redline (~6,200 rpm), or when a downshift is absolutely required. The gear you're currently in is always displayed on the MID. If you request an unattainable upshift or downshift, the gear indicator on the MID blinks in protest, and no shift takes place.

Within the City:
  • "D" mode (recommended) : As expected, the Figo AT is an absolute breeze to drive in the city. When starting off, minimal throttle input is required and the Figo moves ahead in an extremely smooth fashion. In fact, the gearbox intentionally slips the clutch a little, in order to minimise jerks. You can simply leave the brake pedal and the car will begin to creep ahead at a controlled pace. Your left leg is completely at ease, and with the indicator stalk shifting to the 'right' side, the left side of your body is underutilized (unless it's a rainy day ). We drove through pretty dense traffic on Delhi's roads and the Figo's DCT showed off its super smooth upshift quality. In fact, so seamless are the upshifts that you would be hard-pressed to tell when the transmission changed ratios (an exception being a few noticeable shifts from 4th to 5th gear under heavy throttle). The speedometer needle hardly drops when upshifting. Throttle response at low speeds is decent too (though, not excellent). In "D" mode, this transmission's priority is fuel economy. It quickly makes its way up the gears, thanks to the short gearing (Max speeds: 1st = 48 km/h, 2nd = 70 km/h, 3rd = 110 km/h). Shifts take place under 2,000 rpm when driving with a light foot. As a result, the transmission is usually in 5th gear as early as 45-50 km/h.

While the early upshifts are great for fuel efficiency, they spawn another problem; downshift response times often face a noticeable lag. This is simply because the gearbox is usually in the highest possible gear, often requiring a double downshift in order to provide maximum acceleration. As you might know, dual-clutch gearboxes are designed to shift between odd and even gears, making the jump down 2 ratios take a lot longer (perceived as "gearbox lag" by the driver). Thankfully, at lower city speeds, the transmission can't climb very far up the ratios, so this issue is less prevalent in the city. At speeds of 40 km/h and below, closing a gap in traffic with a slight nudge of the accelerator pedal drops a gear very quickly & seamlessly. However, once you go beyond 50 km/h, you're more likely to encounter this double-shift induced lag.
  • "S" mode : Takes some concentration to use within the city, since stop-and-go traffic usually requires frequent gearshifts. Not shifting up early enough will not only guzzle more fuel, but it also makes the engine annoyingly loud at high rpms. You don't really gain much using "S" mode while driving in a relaxed manner in traffic. Not recommended in these conditions.

On the Highway & Expressway:
  • A combination of "D" & "S" modes is recommended : Here too, "D" is the choice if you want to cruise in a relaxed manner with less frequent overtaking. When you are commuting on the expressway at a constant speed, "D" mode will make light work of munching up the kilometers. The gearbox quickly makes its way to higher gears. At 80 km/h, the transmission is already in 6th gear with the engine lazily ticking away at a mere 2,000 rpm. However, downshift response time in "D" mode for highway / expressway overtaking is not satisfactory. Again, there is substantial lag after which the AT shifts to the appropriate lower gear (due to the transmission being in the highest possible gear, and therefore needing to downshift more than one gear). This is also partly due to the 1.5L petrol engine, which simply does not have the real-world punch to match its on-paper figures. You get some additional noise and urgency, but never a real kick in the back. In "D" mode, you simply won't be able to make an instant overtaking manouveur just by slamming the gas pedal down. Therefore, at the times when you want to complete an overtaking maneuver quickly & safely, move the gear lever to "S" mode and select a gear before you start overtaking. That way, you are in the powerband from the start of the overtaking maneuver itself.
  • "S" mode only : Highly recommended for anything other than a relaxed high speed cruise. Slot into "S" mode just before an overtaking manouveur and choose the appropriate gear for the situation with a tap or two of the gear selector buttons. You can even tap the downshift button twice in quick succession for a double downshift. The buttons might not be as rewarding as paddle-shifts or a tiptronic style gear lever, but the end result is exactly the same. Engine braking can also be utilized when approaching toll plazas or traffic up ahead; it feels like a manual in this respect. Using S mode to pre-emptively downshift beforehand is a good workaround to the double-downshift lag.

On the Twisties (Ghat sections):
  • "S" mode (recommended) : While we didn't encounter any extremely mountainous roads, we did have some inclines and tight curves on an alternate route we took. Keeping the gearbox in "S" mode helped with excellent engine braking and holding the car in control throughout the descent sections. Engine braking keeps the car composed 80% of the time (you can use the brake pedal for the remaining 20%). If you need to get some extra control, a simple press of the downshift button does the trick. I was taking some corners rather fast and didn't feel disconnected / nervous with the Figo DCT at all. The ability to hold a gear on ascents is also extremely helpful, especially if you're overtaking slower moving traffic at the time.

Noteworthy Omissions:
  • The automatic Figo does NOT come in the top-end Titanium+ version, so you're getting the luxury of an automatic, but missing out on other features like the SYNC system, 6 airbags, etc.
  • Would have been nice if Ford gave the DCT some external "PowerShift" badging to make the buyers feel better about the premium they are paying for the automatic variant.
  • With the automatic rendering your left leg redundant, it would have been nice to have a dead pedal to rest it on. An armrest would have been awesome too.
  • Ford's press release mentioned a '10 year warranty' on the DCT gearbox. Understandably, it led to a lot of confusion. Nope, that was an error in the press release. The standard warranty on the Figo DCT is of the same 2 year duration as the other variants.

Noteworthy Features:
  • ESP (Electronic Stability Program) : Full marks to Ford for equipping the Figo with ESP. In an emergency driving condition such as unintentional oversteer, ESP can prove to be a life-saver. An ESP system is continually monitoring the steering input, and whether the car is headed in the intended direction. If it detects oversteer or understeer, ESP immediately steps in with corrective action, using braking (individual wheels) & throttle control as necessary.
  • Hill Launch Assist : The Figo AT is equipped with a hill-launch assist function that is very convenient to use on steep inclines. Say, you come to a complete stop in the middle of an incline. When you want to get moving again, to prevent the car from rolling back, the ECU will automatically keep the brakes applied for up to 3 seconds. This gives you sufficient time to release the brake pedal, and press the accelerator. Of course, if you press the accelerator before the 3 second interval, the HLA function will disengage right away. Note that the Hill Launch Assist function also activates if you are reversing up a steep incline!
  • Sealed-for-life : This 6-speed transmission is sealed for life and, Ford claims, is zero maintenance. It doesn't even require any change of transmission fluid throughout its stipulated 10 year / 240,000 kms lifespan.

Other Points:
  • The other dual-clutch automatic in this segment is the Polo GT TSI. It's priced close to Rs. 1.7 lakhs higher than the Figo AT. A lot of people expect similar performance from the two cars after comparing them on paper, but let me tell you, they are very different. While both gearboxes might be equally matched, it's the Figo's engine that is the letdown. The Polo GT on the other hand, despite having a smaller 1.2L block, has a direct-injection motor (helps greatly with low-end torque), as well as a turbocharger (helps with the higher rpm power delivery). As a result, the Polo has 39 Nm more torque than the Figo, across a much wider revv-range, despite having a slightly lower peak horsepower output. In short, the Polo's engine packs a punch and can put a smile on your face, while the Figo's 1.5L petrol falls short in this respect.
  • If you're in "D" and ever want to check what gear you're in, just pop the lever into "S" real quick, and the current gear will be displayed on the MID.
  • Pushing the accelerator all the way to the floor results in a "kick-down" (i.e. a forced downshift). This works in "S" mode too.
  • Once again, dual-clutch automatics completely bust the "automatics are not fuel efficient" stigma. In fact, they are more fuel efficient than your average-skilled driver using a manual transmission.
  • Pulling the handbrake disengages the clutch, so you don't need to move the shifter out of "D" or "S", or keep your foot on the brake pedal when momentarily stopped.
  • While you can only shift out of "P" (Park) if you press the brake, you can shift between gears without the need to press the brake (e.g. "R" to "D"). This makes parking / 3-point turns easier and more fluid for skilled drivers. I didn't have the guts to try this at higher speeds, but I'm guessing the transmission would ignore the shift somehow.
  • Reverse gear is pretty sprightly. Got to be easy on the throttle when reversing in tight spaces.
  • The Figo automatic has the same braking hardware as the manual variant. As is the case with all other cars, the AT will require more frequent brake pad replacements than the manual.

Linear shift pattern for the 6-speed dual-clutch gearbox:

The "+" & "-" buttons on the side allow you to shift gears in "S" mode. The button at the front needs to be pressed when shifting the lever into or out of Park:

The automatic could have used a dead-pedal for the driver's left leg. There is space to rest your foot though:

The selected mode (P / N / D / S / R) is displayed on the MID:

In "S" mode, the MID also displays what gear you are currently in:

If you try to start the car when the gear lever isn't in "P", the following message appears:

The automatic gets ESP, which also comes with this button to deactivate traction control. One might need to disable traction control if it's preventing the car from moving properly on a very slippery surface:

This orange icon shows up on the instrument cluster when the traction control has been switched off:

The 1.5L petrol gets insulation under the hood, while the smaller 1.2L petrol doesn't:

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 03:13.
Rehaan is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:35   #10

Other Points:

• The Figo is available in 7 colour shades - sparkling gold (shown - though it looks more like orange), ruby red, oxford white, tuxedo black, deep impact blue, ingot silver and smoke grey.

• The Ford website makes a mention of a Trend+ variant. It is the Trend variant with the addition of alloy wheels & a chrome front grill (plus, a gearshift indicator too, if the Ford website is to be believed). Most dealers are unaware of this variant offering, while others have reported that the wheels & grill are added at the dealer level itself.

• No need to press the clutch or brake to start the Figo's engine. We'd still recommend you make it a habit though!

• The Figo gets over-crank protection. Meaning, an accidental attempt to crank the engine while it's already running wont engage the starter motor.

• If one of the doors is not properly closed (including the boot), in addition to the visual notification, you'll hear a warning chime as soon as you start driving. This helps fix the situation immediately, rather than later on while the car is in motion.

• The headlamps have improved ! Owners of the old Figo unanimously complained about its weak headlamps. The new Figo also has the follow-me-home headlamp feature.

• Switch the car off with the ICE running and then remove the key from the ignition. The system will continue playing. It only stops once you open any of the doors. Same applies for the continued operation of the power windows. Very convenient.

• Switch the car off and the headlamps go off with the engine, even if the key is still in the ignition; to save your battery.

• The door auto-lock function kicks in as soon as you touch 20 km/h.

• The Figo has differently sized petrol & diesel tank capacities (petrol = 42L / diesel = 40L). Same as the Aspire.

• Nice official accessory list (link). We're guessing a popular one will be the auto-dimming IRVM with an integrated reversing camera & GPS navigation display.

• Dealers will have a 90-day perspective of the stock that will arrive from Sanand, Gujarat. That is, dealers will know how many units they will be allocated 90 days in advance.

• The Sanand plant will be exporting the Figo sedan (4+ meters in length) and Figo hatchback to around 50 international markets, including LHD nations.

• Ford has invested INR 6,200 Crore (~USD 1 Billion) into the Sanand facility that consists of vehicle assembly and engine plants. The body shop at Sanand is 95% automated and makes use of 430 robots.

• Now that the Figo Aspire, Figo and EcoSport facelift are here, the all-new Endeavour is next (end 2015). So, what does Ford have in store for the 2016 Auto Expo then? The Mustang!

• Ford offers a 2 year / 100,000 kms standard warranty. We've been informed that the extended warranty plans are the same as the Aspire's (full details here).

Disclaimer: Ford invited Team-BHP for the Figo test-drive. They covered all the travel expenses for this driving event.

Last edited by GTO : 12th November 2015 at 17:00. Reason: Extended warranty
Rehaan is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:35   #11

The Smaller yet Significant Things:

Remote key gets a button for opening the boot. The 2nd key (shown here) is a standard one, sans remote. Trick: to find your parked car, double-press the lock button to have your Figo honk:

Not only do the washer nozzles cast a wide spray, look closely and you'll see there are two tiers of water jets being sprayed out:

Small dome of a temperature sensor sits on the dashboard. It feeds into the climate control system:

Roof beading is a 30:70 split between rubber & plastic:

Mounting panels for the ORVMs have a little aerodynamic flap molded on:

A close-up of the rear wheel arch's full plastic cladding:

You might remember large panel gaps at this location from the Aspire review (pic). The Figo has no such problem:

A molded grab handle makes closing the hatch a lot easier for short folk:

Ford seems to have taken a lot of trouble to make the hatch rattle free. This lock housing slots in to the part shown in the next picture:

The two spring loaded stoppers on either side keep it firmly in place:

Wires for the rear windscreen heating element and HMSL, though visible, are routed neatly. Why is there no rubber beading here?

At night, the illuminated needles project a nice glow onto the silver trim around the dials:

Layered rubber flap above the steering wheel covers any ungainly bits (when it’s lowered):

The keyhole isn't illuminated and it doesn't have a tapered surround for easy key slotting either:

Attention to detail! The pop-out headlamp leveler has the headlight icon oriented in such a way that it actually points downwards as you turn it towards the higher numbers:

OBD port and bonnet release lever hidden just below the dash. Quality doesn't match the rest of the interiors:

The driver's carpet mat is clipped down securely, to prevent it from sliding forward and interfering with the pedals. Fuel-lid release also shown here:

The asymmetrical center console design presses against the passenger seat in its forward-most position. Thanks to Witwiky & KreativeGeek for pointing this out! Interestingly, the driver's seat doesn't go as far forward as the passenger's seat does:

A close look at the seat upholstery. Feels durable:

A/C vents with a chrome outline. All A/C vents can be shut individually:

Ford is the first manufacturer in this segment to offer 6 airbags. Kudos!

This top-end Titanium+ variant gains 4 additional airbags (total = 6), but loses grab handles due to the curtain airbags. We'd seen this in the EcoSport too. Most other manufacturers are able to provide curtain airbags and grab handles, both - why not Ford?

This tag means "steer clear of seat covers", since they will interfere with the functioning of the side airbags housed in the seat:

This cut section of plastic lets the stopper for the glovebox flex a little, so as the glovebox falls open, it stops with a soft bounce (rather than just a hard stop):

Height adjustable seatbelts:

First-aid kit is neatly packed in the white pouch, while the warning triangle gets a premium feeling black pouch:

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th November 2015 at 02:37.
Rehaan is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 02:35   #12

Chief Competitors of the Ford Figo

Maruti Swift

What you’ll like:
• Snazzy styling packs appeal. Interiors are well-designed too
• Competent engine range. Very refined motors
• Balanced ride and handling. Superbly tuned suspension
• Terrific fuel efficiency, especially from the diesel
• Effortless to drive in the city; lots of fun on the highway
• Maruti’s excellent after-sales service & wide dealer network

What you won’t:
• Small, impractical boot. Luggage capacity is severely restricted
• Mediocre brakes (lower non-ABS variants). Inadequate for emergency braking conditions
• Looks nearly identical to the outgoing generation car
• Rear seat space, though improved, still isn't "spacious"
• Pricey ZXi / ZDi variants

Hyundai Grand i10

What you'll like:
• All-rounded package in a contemporary design. Improved over the old i10 in nearly every way
• Interiors have best-in-class fit, finish & quality. Increased cabin space & boot capacity
• Fuel-efficient, practical diesel & peppy petrol. Smooth gearbox too
• Loaded with features (keyless start & go, electric folding ORVMs, rear air-con, cooled glovebox etc.)
• Comfortable ride quality and predictable handling. No bumpiness
• Hyundai's fussfree ownership experience & excellent after-sales service
• Priced lower than chief competitor, the Maruti Swift

What you won't:
• 1.1L diesel lacks the top-end punch of competition. Ordinary highway performance
• Missing climate control, adjustable front neck restraints and dead pedal
• The Swift and Brio are more fun to drive. Grand i10's steering & dynamics aren't to an enthusiast's tastes
• ABS & Airbags only on Asta trim level. Should have been optional with the middle variant
• More suited as a 4 seater, rather than 5

Volkswagen Polo

What you'll like:
• A well-built solid European hatchback
• 1.5L diesel & 1.2L TSI petrol engines are very competent
• Clean and contemporary styling. Absolutely no quirkiness
• Mature suspension offers a balanced ride & handling package
• Dual airbags even in the base variants!
• Accommodating 280 liter boot

What you won't:
• Base 3-cylinder 1.2L petrol engine is unimpressive
• Mediocre rear bench legroom and a large floor hump
• Missing essentials (driver armrest of the Vento, 60:40 splitting rear seat, seatback pockets)
• VW's sub-par dealership & service experiences

Tata Bolt

What you'll like:
• Build quality, fit and finish are on par with competitors. Tata has made significant improvements here
• Spacious well-designed interiors. A rare hatchback that can seat 5 adults without a fuss
• Competent 1.2L turbo-petrol & 1.3L diesel. Both offer good driveability
• Balanced suspension offers safe & neutral handling. Nice EPS too
• Light controls & agreeable ergonomics. Drives like no Tata hatchback has before
• Superb 8-speaker Harman Kardon entertainment system with navigation & video playback
• Features: 3-driving modes (Eco, Sport, City), projector headlamps, 5" touchscreen, voice commands etc.

What you won't:
• Neither engine offers strong outright performance. Both are commuter motors, nothing else
• Impractical 210 liter boot is among the smallest from this segment
• Pricing of some variants is too close to the Zest (Bolt XT vs Zest XT diesel = merely 31k)
• Ride quality is firmer than the Zest. Noise insulation not as tight as its sibling either
• AMT (automatic gearbox) & higher-tune 89 BHP diesel not on offer. Might follow later
• Poor in-cabin storage & missing niceties (Zest's DRLs & parking sensors, dead pedal, height adjustable seatbelts)
• Concerns over long-term reliability. Also, Tata's sub-par after-sales service is far from that of Maruti & Hyundai

Hyundai Elite i20

What you'll like:
• All-rounded package in a sharp design. Improved over the 1st-gen i20 in nearly every way
• Spacious interiors with outstanding quality, fit and finish. Practical 285 liter boot too
• 1.4L diesel has excellent driveability, refinement, performance & fuel economy. 6-speed gearbox is smooth
• Mature suspension offers a comfortable ride and neutral handling characteristics
• Hyundai's fuss-free ownership experience & excellent after-sales-service
• Loaded with features & gizmos (16" rims, keyless entry & go, 8-speaker stereo, rake & reach steering, rear air-con, reversing cam, cooled glovebox and lots more)

What you won't:
• Missing equipment vis-a-vis old i20: Rear disc brakes, side & curtain airbags, sunroof, auto-wipers & DRLs
• 1.2L petrol is nowhere as impressive as the diesel. Mediocre highway performance for a premium hatchback
• Anyone over 5'11" will find rear headroom to be insufficient. Sloping roof eats into cabin height at the back
• Dynamics & steering aren't to an enthusiast's tastes. Swift, Polo etc. are more fun to drive
• On-road price difference between the petrol & diesel is ~1.3 lakhs. That's higher than the competition
• Rear wiper only on the top Asta trim! No fuel-efficiency indicator, auto-locking doors or height-adjustable seatbelts on any variant

Honda Jazz

What you’ll like:
• Versatile package wearing sharp clothes. One car for several roles
• Spacious, user-friendly cabin. Easily the roomiest hatchback in India
• Big 354 liter boot is the segment best. Magic seats bring tons of flexibility
• Practical & efficient diesel, refined & revv-happy petrol and a convenient CVT. Take your pick
• Comfortable ride quality. Much improved over the older Jazz
• Light controls and easy maneuverability. Effortless to drive in the city
• Features such as feather-touch climate control, reversing camera, touchscreen ICE, paddle shifters (CVT) & more

What you won’t:
• Loud diesel engine is nowhere as refined as the Elite i20's. Doesn't like high rpms either
• 1.2L petrol has a weak bottom end. Feels lethargic <2,500 rpm
• On-road premium for diesel is Rs. 1.3 - 1.5 lakhs! That's higher than the competition
• Magic seats only on the top variant (earlier Jazz had them on all trim levels)
• CVT unavailable with the VX trim! No fully loaded Automatic
• Skinny 175 mm tyres. All competitors offer thicker rubber (Elite i20 = 195 mm)
• Missing goodies (steering reach adjustment, keyless entry & go, rear air-con vents, driver armrest & proper dead pedal)

Last edited by GTO : 9th November 2015 at 09:26.
Rehaan is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 03:05   #13

Re: Ford Figo : Official Review

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line.
Old 9th November 2015, 03:32   #14

Excellent review as-usual. Rated 5*

Being the owner of the previous gen Figo diesel i got a chance to test drive the new Figo diesel few days back. I was contemplating to exchange my old Figo with the new Figo if i get a good buy back.

The first thing i felt, as if i was driving a Japanese car which is fast on straight line and lacks the fun on the curves. I have a Etios petrol and i felt more similarity in handling and pick-up of the new Figo diesel with my Etios petrol rather than my old gen Figo diesel! Both the cars are light powerful and have EPS instead of HPS. The first thing i told to the showroom guys after the test drive was, Ford could have put this 1.5L diesel unit in its previous gen Figo! At least we could have got a real enthusiasts car in budget!

After the test drive i decided to continue with my old gen Figo as, what fun the new Figo offers i already get that in my petrol Etios but if i sell my current Figo i will definitely miss its awesome handling and specially the HPS. Plus the resale value Ford offered for my old gen Figo was way lesser than my expectation.

If i am not comparing the handling with the old Figo, the new Figo is more comfortable, way more faster, gives better mileage and over all more value for money. If some one asks me to buy a diesel hatch with a budget of 6 lakhs, i will definitely buy this car eyes closed. Great job by Ford. Specially on the pricing department. Now cars like Liva/Swift/Polo certainly seems to be over priced!

The only point where i felt bad is, Ford made cars for enthusiasts. They gave us cars like Ikon 1.6, the Fiests 1.6 but now to get the mass market Ford is going the Maruti way. I understand this car is fast but its more fun to drive a car where you are able to extract its full potential. Hope Fiat and VW still care for enthusiasts and continue giving us cars like the Abarth and GT series.

Last edited by Samba : 9th November 2015 at 03:57.
Samba is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 9th November 2015, 06:18   #15

Extremely good review for an extremely nice car. The diesel especially looks like a stonker of an engine. Imagine the pace with a performance chip! A performance hatchback bargain if you ask me.