Old 7th April 2016, 18:39   #466

Re: Ford Endeavour : Official Review

Originally Posted by ecosport rules View Post
Sand mode in terrain management system should have alone sufficed.Didnt it?

4×4 Low will not suit sand because of crawling speeds which are meant only for rock.
Also high speed with steering turn and the low ratio gear box engaged,will result in winding up of transmission, so to prevent this, the car keeps it in 1st gear
Sand mode in soft sand was not adequate to start from a standstill. There was no wheel spin. The gear ratios simply did not have enough torque to get it moving from a stand still. This same problem was there in the fortuner. In 4x4H and in 1st gear, the car would struggle. In 4L and 2nd and 3rd gear, the car would easily move.

The palar has many bits of incredibly sift sand. Not like the Dunes in Dubai or elsewhere where the sand is so fine it's packed quite densely. This is river sand, larger and loosely packed.

The Endeavours Sand mode should come with 4L and gear changes between 1,2 and 3.

Understandably Rock mode should be in 4L and stick to 1st gear for adequate crawl and control.

The car is still extremely robust. Ford has taken quite a bit of outback Australia into account when designing it. For instance the air intake is placed very high, in fact at the point where the hood meets the body. Also, things like the moon roof opening inward was so that roof racks could be fitted with no problems. Even the exhaust end faces the ground to avoid water from entering the system in a stall.

Brilliantly engineered. There are still some niggles that need to be worked on like the fit and finish of certain panels under the steering column. And of course, the paint quality as I mentioned earlier and the sensitivity of the sensors.

Navigation is a joke and anyone who spends the 1.15L to install it is allowing themselves to be fooled. The system runs Microsoft CE. Sygic navigation by MapMyIndia works easily with Microsoft CE. All the system requires is an OS update from Ford to allow that and the software in an SD card. I'm sure there are computer wizards right now figuring out a way to hack it.
Valhalla1979 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th April 2016, 20:55   #467

Booked my 3.2 Titanium a few days back and its so nice to see welcome emails coming in from Ford.

VW didn't do that but the product was flawless so no complains. Has anyone opted for the Sat Nav upgrade haha. I want to see it loaded on the touch screen. Will the SD card be paired with the screen? They also have HUD Navigation listed in the brochure. Any news on that?
Old 7th April 2016, 21:05   #468

Originally Posted by kimianks View Post
Booked my 3.2 Titanium a few days back and its so nice to see welcome emails coming in from Ford.

VW didn't do that but the product was flawless so no complains. Has anyone opted for the Sat Nav upgrade haha. I want to see it loaded on the touch screen. Will the SD card be paired with the screen? They also have HUD Navigation listed in the brochure. Any news on that?
Congrats!

What was the damage, financially? (Or in other words, how was payment to be structured?)
Old 7th April 2016, 21:11   #469

Just gave them the booking amount of 1 Lakh on Tuesday. Booking Form says waiting time of 120 to 150 days. They even made dad sign that. However they have bumped up production for the Titanium for this month. ( from 70-30 to 20-80 for top trim ) so delivery times shouldnt be that long..
kimianks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2016, 22:40   #470

Hey guys my ownership review is up.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...anium-4x4.html

Today while washing the beast i noticed a stopwatch like shape in the suspension below. Anyone has any idea what it is? Pic below. It is the white clock shape with the red hand.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-p_20160408_145702_1_p.jpg  

dockap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2016, 12:35   #471

It is the white clock shape with the red hand.
Red is a paint applied to match position in case of re-fitting but am also curious what sort of adjustment will this bolt have ? Something like auto torque washer ?

For other owners , First service is at 2500 Kms , I missed mine due to a little longer run across Gujarat. I am now at 3600 Km - need suggestions - should I go for an Oil Change , FORD service guys don't recommend but being of older thoughts want to go-ahead. will have to change oil Filter as per service guys in case I opt for Oil Change . Should I let these folks do a change or keep South African unit packed for another 10K ?

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th April 2016 at 12:38.
Turbanator is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2016, 16:54   #472

AT Coorg, did a quick drive to mandalpatti, nice offroad options. Didnt try much, used the hill descent control once. Enjoying the drive, very engaging. A few mobile shots attached.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_142705606800x450.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_143918614800x450.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_143600514_top_crop_468x468.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_143840616800x450.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_144013003_crop_804x584.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160409_144013003_crop_804x584800x581.jpg  

sknair is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 9th April 2016, 19:27   #473

Got HID Conversion kit of Osram for low beam and also changed parking bulbs to LED , what a glaring emission for small parking yellow lamps should not have costed Ford over Rs 200. Don't know if there can be any issues with this switchover but light looks so different more like my BMW. No wire cuttings , just a hole in plastic cap which was duly closed wth rubber ring available in Kit.

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th April 2016 at 19:28.
Turbanator is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2016, 22:06   #474

Got HID Conversion kit of Osram.

Can you please post some pictures and share details of the products? I want to get them changed too. What about warranty.
Old 10th April 2016, 03:19   #475

Originally Posted by sknair View Post
AT Coorg, did a quick drive to mandalpatti, nice offroad options.
Nice. Endeavor looks cool in silver. Did you go all the way to the top? Almost 4 years back i had taken my XUV to the top. It was during the monsoon and the road was all slush as you reached the top with landslides and water running across into the valley. Dense fog with low visibility, It was really scary. I know this is endeavor thread but could not resist posting pics.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03636.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03638.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03639.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03640.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03641.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc03643.jpg  

dockap is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th April 2016, 08:18   #476

Guys, is grey interiors available in the Endeavor or only beige?
Old 10th April 2016, 08:53   #477

Got a call from Elite Ford yesterday informing me that a 3.2 Titanium has been assigned to me, and delivery within next weekend. Told him that I went for another vehicle.

Just in case if any of you have booked at Elite Ford, Bangalore, there should be one 3.2 Tit if you do a quick follow up.
Old 10th April 2016, 11:04   #478

Can you please post some pictures and share details of the products?
Its OSRAM H11 type , 35 W , 4200 K . I purchased from a local distributor and paid Rs 8000 + Fitting , looks original to me . There are lot of spurious Philips in local market so I avoided. Also changed parking lamps to white LED of Osram which costed Rs 1000 ,No idea yet on warranty but since no wires were cut , I can revert back to original setup in case of any issues.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1045360.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1046210.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1046381.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1056468.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1057061.jpg  

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20160410_1103158.jpg  

Last edited by Turbanator : 10th April 2016 at 11:05.
Turbanator is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 10th April 2016, 13:09   #479

Has anybody taken delivery of/test driven the 2.2L Endy 4x4 (MT)
Please post your comment about the Engine performance and FE.
Old 10th April 2016, 16:58   #480

Originally Posted by dockap View Post
Nice. Endeavor looks cool in silver. Did you go all the way to the top? Almost 4 years back i had taken my XUV to the top. It was during the monsoon and the road was all slush as you reached the top with landslides and water running across into the valley. Dense fog with low visibility, It was really scary. I know this is endeavor thread but could not resist posting pics.
Hi doc, you are daring to go to the top in that weather. I turned back half way, next time would be better prepared. The whole trip was fun, enjoyed the drive.
In the hills mostly drove sport mode, better engine breaking and late gear shifts. Total of about 700 km for the trip and overall 8.8 km/l.
sknair is online now   (1) Thanks