Old 4th February 2021, 10:25   #556

Re: Skoda Superb : Official Review

Congratulations on the Superb! The current Superb's design is deliciously neat and clean. I love the straight lines on the car.

Btw, you and your brother look so similar to me, it's just like you changed your shirt from black to white.
RavSam is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 10:54   #557

I I wanted to do the deal with JMD only as I got to know Autobahn Skoda is shutting down + their reputation is lousy.

Wait what?? Autobahn is shutting down? I seem to have missed this news on the forum.

Is this confirmed and can I sue them in that case, because I have their free-service plan on my Octy.

R_S
Old 4th February 2021, 11:14   #558

At the end, it came down to a brand new Skoda Superb.
Congrats GTO and all the best wishes to the new member of your family. A worthy car to share the garage with your big 5!

Originally Posted by roadie_swift View Post
Autobahn is shutting down? I seem to have missed this news on the forum.
Is this confirmed.
Yes indeed, You might have missed it here.

Last edited by kamilharis : 4th February 2021 at 11:17.
kamilharis is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 11:56   #559

Originally Posted by roadie_swift View Post
Is this confirmed and can I sue them in that case, because I have their free-service plan on my Octy.
If you are referring to the 4 year Service Package, it is sold by Skoda and not the dealer. It is valid in any authorised Skoda service center.
praveen789 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 12:14   #560

Originally Posted by kamilharis View Post
Yes indeed, You might have missed it here.
Thank you for sharing! This is bad news indeed. I just called the dealership and they claim it is "apparently some kind of dispute and we are trying to resolve it".

Originally Posted by praveen789 View Post
If you are referring to the 4 year Service Package, it is sold by Skoda and not the dealer. It is valid in any authorised Skoda service center.
Hi, actually no, I didn't get that one, the dealer had a similar one called B2B package, slightly more expensive but covering everything that's not covered (tyres etc too IIRC) under the 4YSP by Skoda.

I've written to Skoda India through the app, let's see what response I get. I'll keep the forum posted.

R_S
roadie_swift is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 12:23   #561

Congratulations Kunal! This is the benefit of having GTO as your brother

I feel GTO has wrote everything with caution so that the members shouldn't start believing Skoda blindly! Skoda Superb is a Superb caaaaar to be chauffeured around. This car gets an umbrella, which many costlier cars don't !!
.HEM is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 21:21   #562

Congratulations Please start a thread on how to negotiate discounts on new vehicles. I still can't believe how you managed to get the on-road price down to 33L for the L&K variant in Mumbai!!! Teach me the tricks O Master.
mopy95 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 16:21   #563

IMHO, 33 lakhs for a Superb is a steal. Our original choice - the fully loaded Seltos - costs like 21 lakhs in Mumbai. For 12 lakhs more, we jumped to a car that feels 2 - 3 segments higher and is far safer + luxurious too. Admittedly, the jump in budget is 50%, but my brother wasn't price sensitive (at one point he was considering spending 50 lakhs on a new C-Class) and the Superb feels totally worth it. I feel the Seltos is well priced at 20 lakhs (safety rating aside)...but the Superb is “underpriced” at 33 lakhs. Heck, my Superb L&K cost less than the Compass Facelift's top variant OTR! That's how overpriced the Compass is (and conversely, how well-priced the Superb is).
Congrats to you and your brother on going for a Superb - many, many years and miles of happy, safe motoring 2.0TSI with 7DSG DQ380 is drool-worthy. Safety is top-notch, and so is space, looks and comfort. What I found helpful in the Superb, is that it has a decent turning radius for such a long car. Euro-sedans typically have large TD, so one of the tests I did was to take U-turns in front of our housing complex to see if I can manage comfortably in one shot And I could, and I bought a 1.8TSI MT. It doesn't behave as a 4.86m car for most situations, and so it pretty easy to drive in the city!

I had also kept a can of 1l Castrol 5W40, but I didn't see the oil level going down in the first 2 years like older Superbs/Octavia have experienced (maybe driving cycles and lower kms or whatever). Its still the right precaution though!

Last edited by Eddy : 23rd March 2021 at 23:55. Reason: as requested
lancer_rit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 16:34   #564

Here are some images of the brown interiors of GTO's new Superb.

Skoda Superb : Official Review-1.jpg

Skoda Superb : Official Review-2.jpg

Skoda Superb : Official Review-3.jpg

Skoda Superb : Official Review-4.jpg
Aditya is online now   (34) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 16:47   #565

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
Here are some images of the brown interiors of GTO's new Superb.
Just curious, is there a car cheaper than Superb that offers shoulder airbags for rear seats?
Old 5th February 2021, 17:56   #566

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Just curious, is there a car cheaper than Superb that offers shoulder airbags for rear seats?
Skoda had the Octavia that had rear seat airbags in the L&K, but sadly the Octavia is no longer on sale today. In fact, during our purchase in 2019, that was actually the primary reason why I went for the L&K Octavia and not the Style / Onyx trim. Hopefully, they continue the trend when the 4th generation Octavia comes to our shores later this year.

Last edited by VivekCherian : 5th February 2021 at 17:58.
VivekCherian is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 18:05   #567

Pure classy looking car. When it comes to good looking , well built and great engine options, Skoda India has always delivered. They should work REALY HARD on ASS, dealers shouldn't be allowed to spoil the reputation and the amazing engineering and design work done by Skoda.

One issue that I have with Skoda is about the identity crisis they caused to Kodiaq by squeezing it to sell with another name i.e. Karoq. No attempt was made to keep its flagship product unique in terms of design. And that IMO, is a disrespect to Jozef kaban who designed Kodiaq. I remember seeing the video of how it was designed , the history behind the name etc. It was amazing.
hondafanboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 22:19   #568

Congrats GTO for your family’s ‘Superb’ acquisition!

The C-Class is a 35 lakh car masquerading as a 50-lakh one. On the other hand, the Superb is a 50-lakh car being sold as a 35-lakh one. It's a damn Audi A6 with a Skoda badge!!
This is very aptly mentioned & really a very important point for anyone planning to shop a car in that price range!
H0RSEPOWER is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2021, 01:51   #569

Congrats to Kunal and GTO on the New Superb!!! I've personally always loved the MK III Superb's design. I'm glad they didn't mess much with something that already worked. I've always found that Skoda's offers tremendous value, compared to the Big 3. There's so much Audi in there. This latest update certainly does spoil you even more. The interiors definitely look a class above. It's a steal for 33 lac on road...

About Skoda's dealer network in Mumbai, the last time I was at Autobahn to get my Yeti serviced, I heard that many dealers were shutting down. Autobahn was my closest workshop and the service was so so. My Yeti suffered an ECU failure and I was quoted 2 lac. I managed to find a VAG specialist in Pune who got it repaired for 20k. So yeah, reliability with Skoda is a concern, but find a specialist and you can most certainly hang on to any Euro Car a little longer.

Last edited by autoskooll : 6th February 2021 at 01:52.
autoskooll is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th February 2021, 13:03   #570

Congrats GTO. Your longstanding statement of "buying a nicer car and keeping it for a longer time" made me look for the Superb as well and I did a TD yesterday.

I am quite familiar with the last gen (new) Octavia; we have one 2019 model in the family and I drive it quite often. I feel just like Superb is 75% A6 for a lot lesser price, the last gen Octavia is 90% Superb minus the space and few additional features. In fact, the last gen Octavia is probably more fun to drive. I realised this after my test drive yesterday.

Now coming to the deal I am getting for the Sportline:

The SA told me, "Sir, you will get 2020 SL model BUT you have to pay the revised (Ex-showroom) price which is now 31.99L as opposed to 29.99L. Additionally, you will get a 75K discount on this price".

So in effect I will be paying additional 2L (minus 75K discount) for a 2020 car ? I asked the SA to recheck this. I thought the new price was only applicable on the newer 2021 model with more features. If I am opting for the 2020 model why will I pay the updated price and get an older model for a measly 75K off? Please help me out here if I am missing anything. Also, 75K off on the 2020 Sportline is pretty low, no?

I really miss the last gen Octavia. Although we did buy one of the last ones but I regret not buying one for myself (for my personal use) especially now, after test driving the Superb and realizing how similar the 2 cars are.

Last edited by Pancham : 6th February 2021 at 13:07.
Pancham is online now   (1) Thanks