Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews

Search this Thread
Old 31st October 2019, 22:52   #2086
BHPian

Re: Toyota Innova Crysta : Official Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohan41 View Post
I believe only Z variant has ESP/Roll-over mitigation.
Owners of G/V variants: Have you felt anytime uncomfortable without ESP? This is one concern I have before going ahead with 2.8G.
Another question is how good is the braking ? I have not found any data comparing braking distance of Crysta vs other vehicles. TIA

Hello, my Crysta is 2.8 G purchased in the month of February 2019. I shall share my experience, my vehicle stands at 30,200kms.

Most of the time, the vehicle is driven by me. I am a sedate driver. I maintain speeds till 120 kmph. I felt uncomfortable for not having ESP while driving during rains. Now the questions come ESP and rains ?

While you are travelling on an unknown roads or ghats during rains with mud, definitely ESP will help by assessing your steering input and braking. I want to bring to your notice that ESP also has certain limitations, it doesn't mean that if you have ESP you can throw the car as you like.

Braking -- It depends on a lot of factors. As long as you are at sane speeds and following speed limits in India genuinely, it should never be a problem. Anticipate the hurdle and brake in advance. My opinion is to increase the wheel width which in turn increases the contact patch on road provides more friction and more braking as well. The braking distance also increases with load. More the load, more is the momentum so you need to plan accordingly.

My advice is if possible drive any of your friends Crysta in G or V variants and then do the same with Z variant. You will be able to decide by yourself. Test drive vehicles might not live upto your expectations as they are abused a lot.

I would like to add a point here.

My Crysta had 7.5 mm thickness left out of 9 mm, even after driving 30,000 kms in both the front brake pads.