Old 12th December 2019, 15:27   #5371

Re: Tata Hexa : Official Review

Originally Posted by aks_karthik View Post
I proudly say myself as a brand ambassador for Hexa. Almost 5-6 Hexa's been sold due to me.
I booked during the launch and due to onsite duty, dropped the plan. I have driven Hexa in all terrains and more & more miles as well
My consideration is modern gizmos or old work horse. So waiting till launch of Gravitas to decide
The Gravitas will offer the following over the Hexa

1. Electronic parking brake

2. Sunroof

3. Auto dimming IRVM

4. Powered driver's seat.

The Hexa offers the following over the Gravitas

1. Better 3rd row comfort

2. Better seat comfort for all rows

3. Better ride quality

4. 4×4 option

5. Independent rear suspension/Double wishbone front suspension

6. A proven platform/drivetrain

7. Most likely a better automatic too.

8. Better all round visibility

So you can see from the above points that the Gravitas excels Hexa only in creature comforts while the Hexa betters it in engineering quality and robustness. Take your pick.
ram87pune is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 15:42   #5372

Originally Posted by ram87pune View Post
All 2018 Hexas were XT 6 seaters and AFAIK all are sold out. Only 2 2019 XT are available in the plant.
Oh interesting to know no ATs are available in the plant! At one side don't see Hexa as the most hot selling car and here no stock available in the plant!

Originally Posted by TROOPER View Post
I have no idea about the break up for 2018 variants. What I do know is that there's a flat 1 lac discount on fresh makes. And dealer discretionary discounts on top of that. The 2.25 lac discount being marketed is not for fresh makes. Its for old stock.

As far as buying a 2018 make goes, I personally do not prefer it because I don't know how the car has been stored, handled and been cared for in the past say 15+ months. Also consider more niggles for the same compared to a fresh make.
Trooper, is it possible for you to check with your sales guy from whom did your deal?

While I do agree about the way the 2018 make cars would be lying at Dealer's backyard is a concern but usually if the Dealer is good they would fix/replace work/broken parts during their PDI, and Warranty and AMC will still be applicable so that should take care of it in future too. Just my thought
rudrah is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 16:26   #5373

Originally Posted by rudrah View Post
Oh interesting to know no ATs are available in the plant! At one side don't see Hexa as the most hot selling car and here no stock available in the plant!

Trooper, is it possible for you to check with your sales guy from whom did your deal?
Well Tata scaled down production thanks to the current slowdown and started building Hexa on order. So the backlogs have been cleared with the discounts offered. Not that it's hot selling.

Will ask him if there's any Hexa stock lying with him. For old factory stock, you can PM ram87pune.
TROOPER is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 17:10   #5374

Well Tata scaled down production thanks to the current slowdown and started building Hexa on order. So the backlogs have been cleared with the discounts offered. Not that it's hot selling.

Will ask him if there's any Hexa stock lying with him. For old factory stock, you can PM ram87pune.
Thanks for your help and response

The XMA is what i'm looking for.
Old 12th December 2019, 17:14   #5375

I just had an input/ update from plant.

Right now, only 2 Urban Bronze 6str XTs (Apr/ May 19 make) are there in vintage stock.
Both of these are offered 1.5L cash discount.

As I asked especially for XTA 7str in White/ Tungsten Silver color, it's there from Nov/ Dec batch with regular offers. Current one being 1L cash discount only.

So, even though the production of Hexa is supposedly scaled down, there seems to be adequate stock to cater the inquiries..
Dr.Vikas is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 17:39   #5376

Originally Posted by rudrah View Post
Thanks for your help and response

The XMA is what i'm looking for.
Had a chat with my dealer. He has no stock of Hexa. He said he'll check with the factory and revert about the old stock.

My personal opinion is, you could consider a freshly minted one. 1 lac and additional corporate and referral discounts, with hard bargaining for insurance would be a good deal on a freshly baked Hexa.

We did consider April batch ones, but felt its better to pay the premium than regular trips to the dealer for fixes
TROOPER is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 17:42   #5377

So you can see from the above points that the Gravitas excels Hexa only in creature comforts while the Hexa betters it in engineering quality and robustness. Take your pick.
Any confirmation whether Hexa will retain these features once it is back from its BS6 treatment hiatus ? Especially the 4x4 capability. I am afraid, TML may just tone down Hexa in an attempt to place it below Gravitas. I still don't understand how they will position Hexa along with Gravitas.

Last edited by padmrajravi : 12th December 2019 at 17:43.
Old 12th December 2019, 18:36   #5378

The Hexa offers the following over the Gravitas

5. Independent rear suspension/Double wishbone front suspension
Hexa rear suspension is not independent. It is a 5 link rigid live axle with coil springs.

Last edited by BlackPearl : 12th December 2019 at 20:24. Reason: Please quote only the relevant bits of a post. Thanks.
directinjection is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 18:53   #5379

Originally Posted by directinjection View Post
Hexa rear suspension is not independent. It is a 5 link rigid live axle with coil springs.
I thought all multilink suspensions at the rear are independent ones. Thanks for pointing it out.

And if the Hexa's rear suspension is based on a live axle then the degree of ride comfort achieved by Tata chassis and suspension engineers is even more commendable.
ram87pune is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 20:52   #5380

Originally Posted by padmrajravi View Post
I am afraid, TML may just tone down Hexa in an attempt to place it below Gravitas. I still don't understand how they will position Hexa along with Gravitas.
No matter how much they tone it down, the very body and space make the Hexa look like a whole segment above Gravitas. Given the market as it is today, TATA cannot tone it down further. All features present in the SUV are minimum requirements.

I feel TATA is going to re-position it above the Gravitas. Hexa may still remain TATA's flagship, costlier by atleast 2 to 3 lakhs variant wise. Crysta too would increase in price with the new BS6 so i guess Hexa's VFM tag will still remain.

As it is, the sales are low. It makes sense to take a risk and position it higher than Gravitas, they'll have nothing to loose. Maybe give it features like panoramic sunroof, electric and ventilated seats and tweak its exterior looks to make it look more like an SUV (it already has every characteristic that an SUV should have).

This would make the Hexa go neck to neck with the new XUV500 with Gravitas filling its gap (in terms of price).
abhi7013 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 21:10   #5381

Originally Posted by abhi7013 View Post
No matter how much they tone it down, ......
This would make the Hexa go neck to neck with the new XUV500 with Gravitas filling its gap (in terms of price).

Re-posting what I said a couple of pages ago on re-positioning.

I guess that's exactly what they are planning. Mayank Pareek said they'll re-position it. They cannot risk downgrading the Hexa. It'll piss off current owners and make the current Hexa more attractive to prospective customers. Also below 15 lac are the mileage sensitive segments. No point fighting a losing war with Ertiga, XL6, Marazzo and maybe Hyundai too in near future?

They'll probably throw some more bling-ware at it, electric seats, sunroof and whatnot and increase the prices. But just undercut the innova. As bhpian ram87pune said that the Hexa is profitable for TAMO, they'll be content with BS6 Hexa stealing 250-300 Innova customers per month.
They'll keep it MUV vs MUV. And let the Harrier and Gravitas take the SUV game ahead.
TROOPER is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th December 2019, 22:24   #5382

They'll keep it MUV vs MUV. And let the Harrier and Gravitas take the SUV game ahead.
If you ask me, the Gravitas looks more MUVish than the Hexa. Its just got a higher bonnet. They can make the Hexa look a lot like a capable SUV with a few tweaks to the body, bonnet and the tailgate. Then it would be like Toyota's crysta and fortuner pair with Gravitas and Hexa respectively.

Regarding posts on re-positioning, let's just hope TAMO management has the same thoughts!

Last edited by abhi7013 : 12th December 2019 at 22:25.
abhi7013 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th December 2019, 09:14   #5383

There is a rumor that the Hexa is going to be one of the models discontinued from next year, once existing stocks are over.

https://gaadiwaadi.com/tata-hexa-to-...f-rs-2-3-lakh/

Obviously, Tata will deny this officially, so that people don't stop buying the existing stocks.

Do we have other sources to confirm or deny this?
Old 13th December 2019, 09:56   #5384

Originally Posted by abhi7013 View Post
If you ask me, the Gravitas looks more MUVish than the Hexa. Its just got a higher bonnet. They can make the Hexa look a lot like a capable SUV with a few tweaks to the body, bonnet and the tailgate.
All I can say is Hexa leads the trio in presence. Can't deny that the Hexa looks MUVish. For how beautiful the Harrier is, the rear of the Gravitas looks too busy.

Originally Posted by sridharj77 View Post
There is a rumor that the Hexa is going to be one of the models discontinued from next year, once existing stocks are over.

Obviously, Tata will deny this officially, so that people don't stop buying the existing stocks.

To anyone who thinks that the Hexa would be discontinued. I have one question. Does it make sense to discontinue a product in the 4th year of its life cycle? I know many people would make the Aria argument, but the Aria barely sold.

Don't forget that the Hexa has been way more successful compared to the Aria. Now the sales are down because of the slowdown, a whole lot of competitors, the markets inclination to bling-ware, and our very own self sabotage specialist Tata Motors.

The chairman of Tata Motors himself has said that they wouldn't discontinue the Hexa.
Source https://auto.ndtv.com/news/contrary-...adline-2077912
TROOPER is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th December 2019, 09:57   #5385

Originally Posted by sridharj77 View Post

Yes - insiders have confirmed that the 2.2 Varicor is being readied for BSVI. The Hexa will be "paused" in April2020 when BSVI gets enforced. But she'll come back soon afterwards with the updated engine. Seems TML woke up (quite late) thankfully to understand that there is a need of that reliable & powerful engine in mass market. Even the MJD2.0 doesn't throw out 400Nm torque. This engine would be a real game changer for the Harrier too. I feel its less noisier than the MJD2.0.

There is no such thing as "existing stock" for the Hexa. Its made to order. Real exclusive luxury car this one.

Last edited by Reinhard : 13th December 2019 at 10:06.
Reinhard is online now   (6) Thanks