Register

Old 10th May 2025, 07:25   #6391
p$p

Re: Tata Hexa : Official Review

Originally Posted by anandtheleo View Post
Please get the engine mounts inspected, if possible, get them changed. It's not very costly for Hexa, should come within 5k for both A and B engine mounts. Also check the gearbox mount too while doing the above. These mounts are the ones that isolate the engine vibrations getting transmitted to the cabin.
Thanks... I will get those checked/replaced.

But why NVH is affected only at rpm 1200-1500...?
Old 10th May 2025, 08:48   #6392

Originally Posted by p$p View Post
Thanks... I will get those checked/replaced.

But why NVH is affected only at rpm 1200-1500...?
I am not too technically knowledgeable on this, but I there is something about Harmonic Resonance to do with it, which comes at a certain engine note/frequency.
Old 10th May 2025, 10:44   #6393
p$p

I am not too technically knowledgeable on this, but I there is something about Harmonic Resonance to do with it, which comes at a certain engine note/frequency.
Thanks again!
You mean higher stress. What confuses me is why the higher stress is felt only at particular (low) rpm level. By the way, my car is in a perfect condition. Very smooth & silent even at higher rpms.

Could this issue be Hexa-specific... Has any one else experienced this (other cars)?
Old 10th May 2025, 13:52   #6394

Thanks again!
You mean higher stress. What confuses me is why the higher stress is felt only at particular (low) rpm level. By the way, my car is in a perfect condition. Very smooth & silent even at higher rpms.

Could this issue be Hexa-specific... Has any one else experienced this (other cars)?
Since the 1.15L KM ownership how many times have you got the engine and gearbox mount changed?
I have a 4X4 Storme 400 which shares the same engine with Hexa.
Engine mount and gearbox mount replacement make a lot of difference in NHV levels. It’s good to replace the mounts every 50-60K KM.

In the recent oil change I have added Ceratech from Liqui Moly, which has made the engine sound very smooth and rev happy.
Old 10th May 2025, 14:09   #6395

Thanks again!

This vibration is coming from the propeller shaft. At 1.15L km, your car is due for TVD (torsional vibration damper) replacement. It’s a wear and tear part that needs to be changed every 60k km.

Get your engine and gearbox mounts inspected at the same time as well.
Old 10th May 2025, 15:34   #6396
p$p

Originally Posted by arvindmanju View Post
Since the 1.15L KM ownership how many times have you got the engine and gearbox mount changed?
I have a 4X4 Storme 400 which shares the same engine with Hexa.
Engine mount and gearbox mount replacement make a lot of difference in NHV levels. It’s good to replace the mounts every 50-60K KM.

In the recent oil change I have added Ceratech from Liqui Moly, which has made the engine sound very smooth and rev happy.
I have changed the mounts twice. I will soon be getting those checked again - Engine as well as Gearbox.

I have been using 5W40 (fully synthetic) Oil. As stated before, my car is otherwise very silent & smooth.
Old 10th May 2025, 15:46   #6397
p$p

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
This vibration is coming from the propeller shaft. At 1.15L km, your car is due for TVD (torsional vibration damper) replacement. It’s a wear and tear part that needs to be changed every 60k km.

Ohk... I will ask my Adviser to check these as well.

Will post an update in a few days.
Old 23rd May 2025, 20:49   #6398

Hello Members,

I had bought a 2017 model Tata Hexa XT on Feb 2024. From beginning my drive mode switch was not working and all the 4 lights stays ON. Last year I didn't get that repaired since it was taking time and major service was done. This year I booked for servicing for 10th April and till date the car is with the TASS. They are not able to figure out the drive mode switch issue and found multiple other issues like Air Bag assembly issue, wiring tweaking issue by past owner etc and now they are saying they cnt fix the switch.

Can a TASS raise their hands from fixing this? I told them I am ready to bear all the cost but they insist it will cost 1-2 lakhs if we proceed with the repair (wiring harness and ABS assembly replacement).

I have given them the hint that I am adamant and won't get scared by the estimation they throw at me thinking that I will skip this fix. Is fixing such issue a rocket science or should I show it to local repair guy? But they say they have tried everything but cannot diagnose... TASS should be capable enough to rectify such issues..

I am at Andheri Mumbai, members any technician recmmwndarion for my car in Mumbai?
Old 25th May 2025, 17:49   #6399
p$p

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post

Every thing is fine...

Engine Mounts (one since replaced)
Gear Box Mounts
Propeller Shaft
Torsional Vibration Damper

The NVH level continues to be slightly high while running at rpm 1200-1500
Old 20th June 2025, 12:09   #6400

As promised, updating that the ATF has been changed for my Hexa, did it in KHT motors in Mahadevapura, Bangalore. They took approximately 3 days to finish the job. Unfortunately could not be present when they did the service, but was told by the mechanic that the oil had deteriorated considerably and it was a good decision to change it.

The SA asked for my consent to change the oil cooler and given Zulu's feedback before I think it's part of the workshop manual to change the part during oil change (my guess, did not explicitly check).

Total service cost was 25k.
Hi, can you please tell me the SA name, it will be easy for me to get the AT oil changed. Thanks ahead
Old 20th June 2025, 12:12   #6401

As promised, updating that the ATF has been changed for my Hexa, did it in KHT motors in Mahadevapura, Bangalore. They took approximately 3 days to finish the job. Unfortunately could not be present when they did the service, but was told by the mechanic that the oil had deteriorated considerably and it was a good decision to change it.

The SA asked for my consent to change the oil cooler and given Zulu's feedback before I think it's part of the workshop manual to change the part during oil change (my guess, did not explicitly check).

Total service cost was 25k.

Not taken any long drive to check the difference in drive, but felt reasonably smooth on the drive back home from the workshop.
Kindly also share the location please as I'm not able to find kht motors in Mahadevapura
Old 20th June 2025, 12:37   #6402

Originally Posted by krishbvmk View Post
Kindly also share the location please as I'm not able to find kht motors in Mahadevapura
Hi Krish,

The center is in Mahadevapura, the road next to Decathlon. Mahindra India Garage showroom is in the same road. I notice that somehow Google Maps is calling it Commercial vehicles showroom now. But looking at reviews I see that they still do service for private cars.

The SA keep changing, the person I had interacted with 2 years back was one called Bharat, alternatively you can see if Sahas is there still. They have dedicated SA for 7 seater SUVs.

Hope this helps!